Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wandering in the deserts of space
'There are those who believe
that life here began out there...'
Thus begins the tale of Battlestar Galactica, full of meaning and hope and mystical importance, spoken with the majestic voice of Patrick Macnee (best known from The Avengers).
Okay, enough theology for the moment.
Or, maybe not. The first episode, a movie-length introduction to the...
Published on Feb. 13 2006 by FrKurt Messick

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect in every way
Like Mary Poppins-it is almost perfect in every way. Unfortunately, scenes that the Sci-fi Channel edited out to make rooom for additional episodes are still edited out. You can see them under deleted scenes. The Problem is that it is a pain when you want to watch the entire episode in Chronological order and you have to do it in your head instead of seeing it on the...
Published on Oct. 30 2003


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wandering in the deserts of space, Feb. 13 2006
By 
FrKurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (Bloomington, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Epic Series (Limited Edition Cylon Head Packaging) [Import] (DVD)
'There are those who believe
that life here began out there...'
Thus begins the tale of Battlestar Galactica, full of meaning and hope and mystical importance, spoken with the majestic voice of Patrick Macnee (best known from The Avengers).
Okay, enough theology for the moment.
Or, maybe not. The first episode, a movie-length introduction to the series, along with the first several episodes, definitely has theological undercurrents. It is the fight between good and evil. It is a wandering in the desert (of space) looking for the promised land. It is about hope and humanity, sensitivity and courage.
And, as a 12 year old (when I first saw it) I of course understood none of this. I merely loved the special effects in my own home (as opposed to the Star Wars which required payment at the movie theatre), the characters and the technology. I was amazed that every computer on the bridge set of the Galactica actually worked.
Today I'm amazed that the computer on which I'm typing this review has more power than all those computers combined!
The story is basic. Ambush in space because of a monumental betrayal by a sinister bad guy who is in turn double-crossed (Baltar), a quickly-organised escape from the evil mechanical Cylons (who both symbolise the terrors of technology as well as of autocratic rule--remember the Cold War?), a daring journey, and finally a hope. Unfortunately the series became a wandering in the desert with little hope for reaching the promised land, and in television-series timelines and lifelines, this just wasn't acceptable.
In video form, the entire series was not available. It was frustrating that not all of them are available, as watching them in sequence left some gaps. However, there are enough dedicated fans who would purchase these (as is evidenced by the amount of BG 'junk' being auctioned at ebay and other such places) that the DVD generation has made all of the episodes available. This includes the complete set of Battlestar Galactica (please note that Galactica: 1980 is a different, if related, series).
The series was fated only to last one year, due to high costs (a million an episode may be a standard 'ER' actor's salary, but back then it was big bucks even in Hollywood), a slumping viewership (which in retrospect was never as small as reported), and an overall lack of direction (not just that of the fleet). The journey was just taking too long for the era of instant gratification.
The first episode is a three-hour extravanganza. The whole premise is set up here, and the rest of the episodes look back to this set-up. The acting is fairly basic, occasionally rising above a level playing field (particularly Lorne Greene, the leading figure as Commander Adama), but the audience was supposed to be so 'wowed' by the special effects and sets that they wouldn't notice the slightly-above-average acting. For the time, the effects were great; some scenes still hold up well.
The plot of this film goes from the destruction of the colonies, through the assembly of the 'rag-tag, fugitive fleet' to a final battle with some Cylon Death Stars, leaving an open-ended but hopeful conclusion between Apollo (Richard Hatch) and Starbuck (Dirk Benedict in pre- A-Team days).
Outstanding episodes of the series include Living Legends (guest starring Lloyd Bridges), the Man with Nine Lives (with Fred Astair), the War of the Gods (with Patrick Macnee out of the shadows of Imperious Leader) and the three-episode arc when the Galactica encounters a planet named Terra, which is very earth-like in appearance.
There are documentary/interview segments worthwhile, including Dirk Benedict, Glen Larson (the creator/producer) and long-term fan and advocate/star, Richard Hatch. There is also a trailer for the new Sci-Fi soon-to-be released series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and very enjoyable., Oct. 16 2007
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Epic Series (Limited Edition Cylon Head Packaging) [Import] (DVD)
This IS the complete series of Battlestar Galactica. I started watching the show when I was a teenager. All of the episodes are in this set. When they find Earth that's in the Galactica 1980 series NOT in the 1978 BSG series.
The quality of the DVD's are excellent and the commentaries are wonderful to listen to. I also enjoyed watching the deleted scenes and the bloopers.
I also really liked the packaging and the booklet that was included in the boxed set. I highly recommend it.
The new BSG series is not 100x times better than the 1978 series. It's basically just a remake without the charm and fun of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect in every way, Oct. 30 2003
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Epic Series (Limited Edition Cylon Head Packaging) [Import] (DVD)
Like Mary Poppins-it is almost perfect in every way. Unfortunately, scenes that the Sci-fi Channel edited out to make rooom for additional episodes are still edited out. You can see them under deleted scenes. The Problem is that it is a pain when you want to watch the entire episode in Chronological order and you have to do it in your head instead of seeing it on the screen. In some cases it is impossible to tell where a scene goes, and in the case of "Magnificent Warriors" no such deleted scenes are provided. I knew Glenn Larson put a lot of Mormon Theology into his creation, but the story lines made it easy to overlook. I'm dissappointed that they have been manhandled. I was hoping they would show scenes deleted from the original cuts-like the one where Apollo sees the cloven hoof and finds out who count Iblis really was. When they say deleted scenes-they evidently mean scenes deledted by Sci-fi Channel to make room for comercials. I paid 83.00 for a substandard collection of episodes..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Epic Series, Feb. 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I still prefer this old classic to the new one.
If your into the classics and don't mind the old special effects then this is one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, March 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Epic Series (Limited Edition Cylon Head Packaging) [Import] (DVD)
This old Battlestar Galatica series anre quite fascinating... with concept but effects are cheesey. LOve Lorne Greene and beautiful girls on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battlestar Galactica, Dec 21 2011
A fantastic complete set with the pilot episode, great packaging and for our collector and fan he is more than happy that this series was available. If you are a fan of the original than this is a must have item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars La première serie Baltlestar Galactica, Aug. 2 2012
By 
Leduc Pierre (Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Québec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Je voulais voir la première serie en entier avant d'acheter la nouvelle. Ce fut plus de nostalgies qu'autres choses. par contre on y voit des acteur comme Patrick Macnee ( The Avengers),Lloyd Bridges,Fred Astair,ainsi que les débuts de Jane Seymour.Les effets CGI n'en sont qu'à leurs débuts, mais bien fait pour l'époque. Mais en spécial à moins de 35 dollars ,c'est une aubaine. Maitenant à moi la nouvelle serie.
N.B. POUR VOIR LA PREMIÈRE SERIE AU COMPLET, IL VOUS FAUT ACHETER AUSSI,Galactica 1980: The Complete Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the Past, July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
good price, good shipping and a fun blast from the past... not as good as the reboot, but still a great show that reminds me of when I was a kid...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Retro-TV shows, April 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm old enough to have seen these episodes in their first run broadcast dates. I definitely like these better than the latest versions of BattleStar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brought back memories, March 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It may be old but it's a gem . The old story line of how man fight for survival on earth and the heavens continues .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews