Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You know what they say? Laws are made to be broken"
XXXXX

"LAW I: A robot may not injure a human being or, through inaction, allow a human being to come to harm.

LAW II: A robot must obey orders given it by human beings except where such orders would conflict with the first law.

LAW III: A robot must protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the first or...
Published on April 1 2012 by Stephen Pletko

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun popcorn movie
I really don't know why this movie got such a bad rap. Will Smith plays Will Smith (when does he not?) in this visually engaging mystery. The action scenes are there, the effects are decent and the cast is better than a movie like this needs (minus 1 small unfortunate appearance by Shia Labeouf). Easily worth the money, this movie will keep you engaged from start to...
Published 19 months ago by Michael


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You know what they say? Laws are made to be broken", April 1 2012
By 
Stephen Pletko "Uncle Stevie" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
XXXXX

"LAW I: A robot may not injure a human being or, through inaction, allow a human being to come to harm.

LAW II: A robot must obey orders given it by human beings except where such orders would conflict with the first law.

LAW III: A robot must protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the first or second law."

The above is found printed on-screen at the beginning of this sci-fi action film.

This movie is loosely based ("suggested by," according to the end credits) on Isaac Asimov's short-story collection also entitled "I, Robot."

Some people don't seem to like this movie, but I found it interesting.

This movie is set in Chicago in the year 2035. By this time, anthropomorphic ("human-looking") robots are doing menial tasks for humans. All robots have as their core programming the three laws indicated above. But something seems to go wrong and a human is found dead. (Not just any human, but a genius roboticist played by James Cromwell.)

Enter homicide detective Dell Spooner (Will Smith who also was one of this movie's executive producers) who has to try to solve exactly what happened. A robopsychologist (Bridget Moynahan) aids Spooner in his investigation. (Believe it or not, even robots need shrinks.)

Yes, this movie has plenty of action and special effects. The action, though, is not mindless and I found myself pausing to think. As well, the special effects were done well and did not take over the movie. I liked especially how the robots interacted with humans. (The technique used for the robots was "motion capture" and I found it to be quite effective.)

As I said, this is an action movie that gives you pause to think or consider artificial intelligence and even what it means to be human with respect to such things as consciousness, uniqueness, death, having a purpose in life, free will, creativity, and evolution.

This movie has good background music that aided each scene.

Finally, the DVD itself (the one released Dec. 2004) is excellent in picture and sound quality. It has several extras.

In conclusion, this is a good, futuristic sci-fi movie that causes you to think. And don't worry: no actual robots were hurt during the making of this movie!!

(2004; 1 hr, 55 min; wide screen; 39 scenes)

<<Stephen Pletko, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtle 3d..., April 27 2014
By 
Edmonson (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The 3D version of this movie is not particularly amazing. The 3D is not very punchy and the 3D is mostly limited to the displacement of space behind the TV and not the space between the TV and the viewer, though even the deep space doesn't often seem magnified to any great degree. There are a few instances when shards of glass seem to blow out into the viewers space, but other than that don't expect much 3D effects in front of the screen. I found the 3D on movies like Dredd, Star Trek: Into Darkness, Resident Evil: Retribution, Prometheus, or The Avengers to be much more thrilling to watch. If one has enhancements on their TV to exaggerate the 3D then this helps somewhat but still it doesn't come close to comparing with some of the other films I've mentioned. The aspect ratio on this film is such that it does fill the whole screen so that is a plus. The movie itself is also well done, but if one already has it on blu-ray then one might not find it worth upgrading to 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars effets spéciaux, April 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I, Robot [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
effets visuels très bien réussis et l'approche futuriste de sentiments accordé a une machine nous croire que la machine pourrait
possèder une âme sans avoir recour a du 10w40.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I, Robot [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Execelent no problem !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I, Robot [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Superbe couleur et détail impressionnant sur une Samsung UN60F8000 et un lecteur blueray de la PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant Amazon shopping experience, Jan. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I, Robot [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I ordered this Blu Ray along with the Blu Ray version of One Week and the DVD version of One Week as a gift for a friend. All three were ordered on a Monday morning and they were delivered the next day by 5:00PM and that was with the no cost shipping option which says 3 to 6 days delivery!

Outstanding service and unbeatable prices (mostly) which pretty much sums up all of my purchases from Amazon.ca and its affiliates. It beats having to drive anywhere in Toronto, fight to find parking, fight through endless crowds at malls, and deal with lackluster retailers who are only interested in you going away.

As long as the service remains as it has...I can't see any reason to buy anything from local stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed fun formula predictable, Nov. 2 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I, Robot (DVD)
Detective Del Spooner (Will Smith) is not a fan of robots and on the surface looks like he does not believe they are as benign as advertised. The top inventor of the robots Dr. Alfred Lanning (James Cromwell) commits suicide (presumably). He leaves a message that has Spooner assigned to the investigation. Why Spooner?

Spooner gets suspicious and will not leave the suicide lie. Naturally his boss Lt. John Bergin (Chi McBride) says drop it. The head of the robotics firm says drop it. Susan Calvin (Bridget Moynahan) knows he is crazy and says drop it. Even his own mother says drop it.

V.I.K.I. (Fiona Hogan) is mistrustful of Spooner's motives.
So does Spooner finally come to his senses and drop it?
Is he paranoid or are his suspicions founded?

This is definitely a Will Smith vehicle with a few CGI robots thrown in. The title of course came from a Robert Heinlein novel. From here we have all the standard cliché and scenarios as a boss who does not believe the same and kowtows to authority, an obvious bad guy, a girl that puts her foot in everyone mouth, standard red herrings, and much more.

Still this is great fun and Will makes the movie. There are plenty of "action" scenes, "stay in the car" scenes, "shower" scenes, "chase" scenes, and even cliffhangers.

I, Robot (Bantam Spectra Book)
I, Robot By Isaac Asimov (Hardcover)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will Smith, Oct. 30 2013
By 
S. Franey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I, Robot (Full Screen) (DVD)
For anyone who doesn't know, you get a beautiful shot of Will Smith naked in a shower.... NAKED IN A SHOWER!! You don't see the front, but damn, that man is HOT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great movie, 3D is pretty good in some area but not all over. I would still recommend this to anyone, great story it does make you think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun popcorn movie, Dec 25 2012
By 
Michael (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Robot (DVD)
I really don't know why this movie got such a bad rap. Will Smith plays Will Smith (when does he not?) in this visually engaging mystery. The action scenes are there, the effects are decent and the cast is better than a movie like this needs (minus 1 small unfortunate appearance by Shia Labeouf). Easily worth the money, this movie will keep you engaged from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I, Robot (Bilingual) [Import]
I, Robot (Bilingual) [Import] by Alex Proyas (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 16.08 CDN$ 16.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews