Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars On The Jazz!
I love it when a DVD comes together!
The hit 80s TV series that helped save the NBC network finally makes it way to DVD. The A-Team is the story of a Vietnam crack commando unit made up of four men: Colonel John "Hannibal" Smith, Lieutenant Templeton Peck (a.k.a. Face), Captain H.M. (Howlin' Mad) Murdock, and Sergeant B.A. Baracus (Mr. T).
They were committed...
Published on May 1 2004 by Sparky

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good 80's Tv Classic Show
The stories of these 4 'Nam vets that survives as soldiers of fortune to hire if em if ya can find them and have a problem and noone else can help lasted for 4 seasons.
They were a crack commando that were sent to prision for a crime they didn't commit after they escaped from a maximum security stockade to the LA underground.
The cons: the no violence or no...
Published on April 28 2004 by David FERNANDEZ SABIO


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Ask not at whom Campbell laughs . . ., June 7 2004
By 
Robert Koehl "Village Idiot" (Plano, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Team: Season One (DVD)
Joseph Campbell could never have envisioned this when he published his treatise, "The Hero with a Thousand Faces." But here's a television series where week after week after week, we watched THAT EXACT SAME outline unfold against a different backdrop, and we loved every second of it: the journey, the call to action, the successful first try, the dark Cambellian cave (where the guys usually created a military arsenal out of pitchforks and stuff) from which the heroes rise up with the newfound power (or half-thrown together quasi-military equipment and a classic Pensor movement)to vanquish the antagonist and live to fight another day.
I do like how the late George Peppard's character pays frequent tribute to the man for whom he was namesake: Hannibal (*NOT* the cannibal, no this was the guy who took on the Romans with Elephants). Overall, it was a fun series if you could get past the fact that you were watching the EXACT SAME story again and again. (At least till the final season, where they all became CIA spies working for Robert Vaughn.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The A-Team Season One DVD needs extras!!!!!!!!!!!, June 4 2004
By 
R. A Moscatello (Bronx, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Team: Season One (DVD)
The A-Team to me is one of the greatest television shows of all time. The charisma of all of the cast was tremendous. The show only had anout 90 episodes, but every season up to the last is great. The last season was not that good. The show already had it's run. The first season is the best season. I was one of the first people to get the A-Team DVD. I recieved it in the mail. Today is June 4th. My opinion on the DVD is it has no extras. NOT ONE EXTRA. There is closed captioning, but that's it. No bonus like the Columbia House DVDs. There are 4 disks with 14 episodes. The first three disks have 4 episodes. The last disk has 2 episodes. There are no extras. The menu is like the ones from the United Kingdom, if you ever saw there A-Team DVDs. If you search on google, and put in A-Team Shrine, they have pictures of what the UK DVDs look like. It is the same thing. Universal made the UK DVDS. Poor Job by Universal, by not including commentary by Mr T., Dirk Benedict, Dwight Shultz, and others. I would of liked outtakes, or just something. The episodes certainly make up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On The Jazz!, May 1 2004
By 
Sparky (Marquette, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The A-Team: Season One (DVD)
I love it when a DVD comes together!
The hit 80s TV series that helped save the NBC network finally makes it way to DVD. The A-Team is the story of a Vietnam crack commando unit made up of four men: Colonel John "Hannibal" Smith, Lieutenant Templeton Peck (a.k.a. Face), Captain H.M. (Howlin' Mad) Murdock, and Sergeant B.A. Baracus (Mr. T).
They were committed of a crime they didn't commit and escaped from a maximum security stockcade to the Los Angeles underground and survived as soldiers of fortune, helping out those in need.
The first season of The A-Team is probably my favorite. Everything was just original and raw, where they didn't have a care but for themselves and their attitudes were more rough and comedy came as a result of their actions and insults, rather than trying to intentionally be funny. In later seasons it's the opposite, where the guys seem to become more soft and sensitive to the situations and feelings and comedy seemed to be more of the intent rather than their rough image, and the shows tended to follow the same formula every week.
There are 14 episodes in Season 1:
Episodes 1 and 2 - Mexican Slayride Part 1 and Part 2 - The two hour pilot. When a newspaper reporter from the L.A. Courier gets kidnapped by outlaws in Mexico, fellow reporter Amy Allen seeks out The A-Team to rescue him. Features the only time Faceman is played by Tim Dunigan instead of Dirk Benedict.
3. Children of Jamestown - The A-Team is hired to save a girl from a cult led by the Rev. Martin James. Upon freeing the girl, The A-Team is captured and looks to escape and return the favor to James. The lesson is, nobody takes Hannibal's boots.
4. Pros and Cons - A friend of B.A. escapes prison and gets caught, but not before telling B.A. of the illegal fight-to-the-death matches the prison warden makes them take part in where the winner goes "free," only to become hunted.
5. A Small and Deadly War - A straight cop discovers a SWAT team gone bad and hires The A-Team to expose them.
6. Black Day at Bad Rock - B.A. is wounded from a previous job that went slightly wrong. The Team takes him to a doctor in Bad Rock, who helps B.A. but also calls the sheriff and has them arrested thinking they're a part of a biker gang. Hannibal and Face escape jail, but refuse to let out the jailed gang leader. When he informs them the rest of the gang is coming to set him free, The A-Team strikes a deal with the sheriffs to protect the town and in turn they aren't arrested.
7. The Rabbit Who Ate Las Vegas - A professor who has discovered the perfect formula for gambling is kidnapped by a casino owner. The A-Team pose as federal agents to rescue him, but when the casino owner is killed they become the prime suspects and must find the real killer to prove their innocence.
8. Holiday In The Hills - On their way back from a mission, The A-Team's plane crashes in the Carolina hills, where they stumble across a mob of hillbillies getting ready to burn a man at the stake. The A-Team saves the man and Murdock takes him for medical attention, while the rest of the guys defend their position while waiting for Murdock to return with help.
9. The Out-of-Towners - The A-Team heads to New York City, where a group of local shopkeepers are being bullied into paying money for "protection" they don't want.
10. West Coast Turnaround - The A-Team is hired by a 'Nam vet to transport his crop of watermelons before they spoil, but they are met with resistance from another local rancher who controls much of the valley and is trying to put him out of business.
11. One More Time - The A-Team is finally captured by Col. Lynch, but his authority is quickly taken away by the U.S. gov't, who strike a deal with the Team to send them to Borneo to rescue a general (who B.A. punched in Vietnam) and his daughter, who are being held captive by guerrilas.
12. Til Death Do Us Part - The A-Team is hired to save Jackie Taylor from marrying Calvin Cutter against her will. Jackie and Calvin had been dating, but once Jackie's father died and she inherited his company (which Cutter works for), Calvin's real intentions became clear. But since Calvin owns most of Wilson County, Jackie really had no way to escape him. Features classic moments such as Murdock almost marrying the groom, and Faceman getting married?! Definitely one of the best episodes!
13. The Beast From The Belly Of A Boeing - Hijackers take over an airplane and make demands for money and that the FBI and police not be involved if they want the passengers to survive. Hannibal and Face pose as the president and vice president of Beller Air to infiltrate the plane, while Murdock and B.A. sneak onboard while fueling up the plane. The only problem is the plane takes off when it's not suppose to and B.A., who is afraid of flying, goes into a state of comatose, and it's up to Murdock to save the Team.
Definitely a must own DVD set for all A-Team fans and those of classic 80s TV series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Love It When A Plan Comes Together, March 29 2004
By 
Brian C. Booth (West Greenwich, Rhode Island United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Team: Season One (DVD)
Finally, one of the greatest shows of all time is coming to DVD! The A-Team, which focuses on "...a crack commando who were sent to prison for a crime they didn't commit, and promptly escaped into the LA underground. Today, still wanted by the government, they survive as soldiers of fortune. If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find them, maybe you can hire, The A-Team." This show is very fun to watch. The on-screen chemistry the characters have with each other is amazing. You can tell they really enjoy working with each other; Col. John "Hannibal" Smith, the brains of the operation, Lt. Templeton "Face" Peck, the swift, charming con artist, Captain H.M. Murdock, a talented and incredibly goofy pilot, and Sgt. B.A. Baracus, the muscle. With every episode you can always count on plenty of action (the most violent show during it's 5 year run, yet no one was ever killed or even shot), comedy, and simply good times. Watching it, you'll be amazed as to the improbable ways the team gets through improbable situations. A great pick for anyone who justs wants to kick back, and watch a fun show. I can't wait to have all 5 seasons as part of my DVD collection, as well as what I hope to be the up-coming movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, June 22 2004
This review is from: The A-Team: Season One (DVD)
I watched The A-Team when it started on primetime TV in the 80's and though this is not a TV show I want to own on DVD I did enjoy watching this show when it was on TV and it was pretty entertaining. It got some heat from the critics but I didn't think it was a terrible show and the 80's cheese factor of this show make it fun and amusing to watch and if you have a friend who owns this boxset it is worth borrowing and watching it and I'm sure it's worth buying if it is one of your absolute favorite TV shows and I definitely think The A-Team is a lot better then what the critics say about it but it's not tops on my list of TV shows to own on DVD but that doesn't mean that I don't like the show but just that there are other TV show boxsets that I plan on buying instead but if I happened to received it as a birthday or Christmas present I wouldn't turn my nose up at it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The A-Team Escapes Again, May 4 2004
By 
MARKUS H. MCLAUGHLIN (Hudson, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Team: Season One (DVD)
"Why do people get a thrill seeing their name in the paper?" - B.A. Baracus (Mr. T)
I grew up with the Team and watched every single episode and I am thrilled to death to see the Team on DVD and re-live every episode again and again. I never get tired of B.A. and Murdock's antics or Hannabal's plans always working out or
Face's scams getting the job done.
One of my all time favorite episodes was during the first season (1982-1983.) It was about a former commander and his daughter who get captured on a communist island and the Team are forced to rescue them after being captured by Col. Lynch (William Luckling) and then turned loose by high government officials in a top secret operation.
I look forward to a future feature film based on this great series and I want Mr. T to be in it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good 80's Tv Classic Show, April 28 2004
By 
David FERNANDEZ SABIO (Torrejón de Ardoz, Madrid Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Team: Season One (DVD)
The stories of these 4 'Nam vets that survives as soldiers of fortune to hire if em if ya can find them and have a problem and noone else can help lasted for 4 seasons.
They were a crack commando that were sent to prision for a crime they didn't commit after they escaped from a maximum security stockade to the LA underground.
The cons: the no violence or no death of nobody seen on camera or the gun fights were nobody gets shot.
I only give 3 stars because the decision of Universal of no including English language subtitles.They include English captions thing that can't be displayed on my PAL Tv set
due to system restraints.
I hope Universal look forward this thinking on the no US or no English countries or the deaf or hard of hearing people that needs that subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A-team finally released on DVD -But no Extras, June 20 2004
By 
Teresa A. Spencer (Phoenix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The A-Team: Season One (DVD)
I'm glad to see that the first season of the A-team has been released on DVD. I hope that sales are good, so that Universal will release the rest of the seasons on DVD as well.
However, the lack of extras is a letdown, that's why I give it only 4 stars. I plan to write to Universal, and "politely" tell them that they shot themselves in the foot because of the lack of extras. I know of a few people who might not buy the DVD's for that reason. They will just put up with the videotapes and DVD'S that Columbia House released. And where there is one, there could be a thousand. And that can amount to loss of big $$$ to Universal. So it makes more sense to pay the actors some money, charge a little, and make better sales because people like to listen to the actors talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I pity the fool that buys this dvd, April 25 2004
By 
Deafheaven (Sudbury, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The A-Team: Season One (DVD)
C'mon folks. How can you like this mindless dribble. It is everything your parents warned you about concerning tv. It has all the drama of baywatch without the babes. If bad acting is your thing, this is the set for you. What is more annoying? George Peppard and his silly gloves, Mr. T. and his horrendous acting (actually this could be said about all those involved), the incredibly annoying Murdoch or the fact that every episode features a 15 minute machine gun duel where nobody ever gets shot. If cabbage cannons are your thing (yes, cabbage cannon) then outside of perhaps the old Batman series, this is the only place you are likely to find something like that. Get ready all you Dukes of Hazzard fans, this is right up your alley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars you want the A-Team, July 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The A-Team: Season One (DVD)
I am giving this collection 4 stars, because it gives you exactly what you want---the first season of the A-Team, a fun and wacky TV-series from Prime time's golden 80's era of action. Those who buy this dvd want exactly what it offers---an escape to our youth, back to our teens. Great fun and I hope they release the whole series. You got to start with Season One though! If you did not see the series in the 80's, then do some research as to whether it is your cup o' java. IT followed a time honored theme of bullets flying and no one getting hurt ( in fact, in the end, it was almost always fists that won the day ), and added ribald humour and style.
Murdock,,,Face...Hannibal, BA...we miss you guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The A-Team: Season One
The A-Team: Season One by Ron Satlof (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 39.99 CDN$ 34.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews