Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars fun movie
fun pirate movie, lots of humor and action, fun for kids and adults, the whole happy family can enjoy it.
Published 10 months ago by Shane M. Jeffrey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of the series, but... the music!
Not the best of the Pirates movies- the plot was somewhat weak and it definitely had a last-movie-of-a-series flavour, wrapping up loose ends and culminating in a massive showdown. Farfetched is something of a trademark for the Pirates movies, and this was no exception. If I had to recommend a Pirates movie, it would not be this one- I enjoyed the first two much more...
Published 25 days ago by Heather


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of the series, but... the music!, June 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not the best of the Pirates movies- the plot was somewhat weak and it definitely had a last-movie-of-a-series flavour, wrapping up loose ends and culminating in a massive showdown. Farfetched is something of a trademark for the Pirates movies, and this was no exception. If I had to recommend a Pirates movie, it would not be this one- I enjoyed the first two much more. The theme is darker than the other movies and it is lacking much of the comic relief of the second.

However, the soundtrack by Hans Zimmer was lush and incredible as usual (and the movie merits watching just for the music). Capt. Jack Sparrow was everything a Sparrow fan could want. Excellent acting from Geoffrey Rush and Johnny Depp. The heartrending (pun intended) finale was very well done. This is a movie that I will watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Bilingual), Dec 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Encore plus féerique que les 3 autres ...avec des sirènes une fontaine magique et tout les pirates qui font de se films la conclusion de la série des pirates des caraïbes ... Merci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Have to finish the series., Sept. 25 2013
By 
RockabillySole (Kingston, ON. Canada.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Movie isn't anywhere near as good as the other Pirates, but, you just have to have it to round out your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun movie, Sept. 19 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
fun pirate movie, lots of humor and action, fun for kids and adults, the whole happy family can enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whole series is good, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought the whole series for my grandchildren and they found them all to be very intertaining. I even watch them all with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars piratees, Dec 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i enjoyed the movie, but i believed a stereo type is being created to please the populace and make money. this is a movie to rent, not to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Pirates, Feb. 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great series of movies and I was glad to be able to complete this saga. The acting to the characters was of the par with past movies and up to the expected caliber. Hopefully the established level of entertainment value will continue with the newer series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At World's End, Aug. 28 2007
By 
I can't honestly rate the DVD and bonus features and such as it isn't out until December 4th (a date I wait for with bated breath) but I can say that this is one of most spectacular movies I've ever seen. Exciting, funny, romantic, it's got it all. As a trilogy, the entire thing works perfectly. However, the plot may be slightly confusing for someone who is not obsessed like I am. :) Anyway, there are really only two complaints: one-the multiple Jack scene is not nearly as funny as it's supposed to be, and two-this film is much more entertainig if viewed as a trilogy, because all the character arcs and the romance and such are complete. If it is viewed by itself, it loses some of that. Ideally, if you were to watch this for the first time, I would recommend renting them all and watching them close together, over a weekend for example.
Note: After this film came out, I bought the special limited edition. Don't buy it, it's not worth it. There's only one good documentary, about the Maelstrom, the "hours" bonus features are actually around 1 hour and 5 minutes, and there aren't even any commentaries...none at all! It feels very rushed. The film's great, but the extended edition isn't worth your money...perhaps one day they'll bring out a good special edition to this movie, but this one isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Series Lost A Bit Of Its Edges But Still Worth It", Dec 17 2007
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pirates Of The Caribbean: At World's End (2-Disc Limited Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Who would have tought that a movie based on a Dysneyland ride who be so succesfull to the point that it would get two more sequels?Not me,that`s for sure.But after seing the first movie,"The Curse Of The Black Pearl" wich came out in 2003,i was totatly into it,it had a great story,great cast of characters and plenty of humor as well.The sequel,"Dead Man`s Chest" was just as good if not better when it was released in 2006,telling the story of Davy Jones.At the conclusion of that second film,Captain Jack Sparrow was eaten by the Kraken and the remaining crew decided to search for Jack with hopes that he was still alive somewhere.Now this is where the third chapter in the "Pirate Of The Carribean" series continues with "At World`s End".

At the end of the last movie,Captain Barbossa returned and offered a ride to those who wanted to search for Jack.Now they are gone searching for Jack,but Jack has his own problems as he must fight his personnal demons in a desert as he faces clones of him.That scene was just sort of comfusing even if it had some sort of humor in it as well.The problem with "Pirates Of The Carribbean : At World`s End" is that there are so many subplots to the point where it becomes comfusing and just crazy.The Calypso story was quite interresting but it wasn`t developped enough tought we do learn a lot about her and her relation with Davy Jones.It was in fact Calypso who broke his heart and Davy,in return locked his heart in a chest,that explains some things we didn`t quite know about.

There is also Will Turner`s desire of rescuing his father,Captain Sao Feng(Chow Yun-Fat)is a new arrival in the series(he is great in his parts but his role with all the events happening is nearly forgettable),The Will-Elizabeth relationship at the conclusion of this movie will never quite be the same.There is also the nine Pirates Lord story and there is just too much for anyone,not counting the who`s with who in the movie,as it just becomes a story of betrayal and it just makes no sense anymore.Both fans of the series and those who have never seen it.The story,as nearly every third movie in a trilogy or series is complex and can be hard to understand as it explain events in the series and the second movie,while still being a movie on its own.The actors played their parts very well and there is even an appearance by famous rock star Keith Richards,guitarist of the Rolling Stones,as Jack`s father and a funny joke between Jack and him.Being a rock`n`roll fan i found that very cool!

I expected a little better but i can say that i still knew it wouldn`t be as good as the first two.The movie has too many subplots but it does end in a great way.I don`t want to spoil the movie as this one is the most revelative and it explain a lots of things and it even sets a path for more movies in the serie.If there is going to be more movies(Depp says he would like to do some more),i hope they get better than this one,but the story set with this third installement could really make great movies if they can have a good script and have the actors return to play their roles.Overral i would have to say that this movie despites some low points,turned out to be entertaining and true to the serie with lots of twists,action and special effects.Its worth watching if you have not seen it as of yet,if you have seen the other two then this one is certainly worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My 8 year old loves Captain Jack, July 11 2011
By 
K. Bell (Calgary, AB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The latest craze for my son's grade 3 friends, aided by the most recent Pirates release. Depp gets it just right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pirates Of The Caribbean: At World's End (2-Disc Limited Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 41.99 CDN$ 23.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews