Customer Reviews


717 Reviews
5 star:
 (339)
4 star:
 (159)
3 star:
 (76)
2 star:
 (73)
1 star:
 (70)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!!!
No regrets whatsoever!!! She is a classy lady with an extraordinary voice and spectacular stage presence. Multitalented and versatile in her creativity!
Published 14 months ago by Michael Benedict

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, but yet not fantastic
Yes, Alicia Keys has all there is to start a successfull career in music business - young, gifted and beautiful. But still - her first album to me seems to be a bit overrated. Her arrangements are somehow confusing, disturbing, they don't always match the songs.

Lately I saw her in a TV show, singing unplugged. Wow, it was a lot better than from her CD...
Published on Feb. 27 2004 by Sista


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!!!, Feb. 20 2013
By 
Michael Benedict "Michael Benedict" (Québec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs In A Minor (Audio CD)
No regrets whatsoever!!! She is a classy lady with an extraordinary voice and spectacular stage presence. Multitalented and versatile in her creativity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop singing along with Alicia, Dec 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs In A Minor (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this woman. This album is nothing short of amazing. I can't get enough and have this album on repeat!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Way better then Diary of Alicia Keys, June 19 2009
By 
Aaron B. (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs In A Minor (Audio CD)
I bought Diary of Alicia Keys first before I got Songs in A Minor and it was ok. I only really listned to and liked 7 songs out of the 15. I had a feeling her first album was going to be the same effect. In fact I ended up liking 10 out of the 16 which was a improvment. I feel that this is her best album yet and defently is one you should own. Fallin', Don't Call Me No More, Girlfriend, Butterflyz, A Women's Worth and Jane Doe. Other good tracks are Rock Wit U, Goodbye and Mr. Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing artist, Dec 3 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs In A Minor (Audio CD)
Alicia Keys is extremely talented. She writes, performs and produces all of her own work. Her voice is beautiful. Definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Great CD! High recommendation!, June 30 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs In A Minor (Audio CD)
Great Cd! I do think some of the lyrics could have been better. The profanity in it was not necessary at all. she can express herself better with out it. the top 10 songs on the cd are:
10. Caged Bird
9. Jane Doe
8. Mr. Man
7. Womans Worth
6. Butterflyz
5. How Come U Dont Call Me
4. Girlfriend
3. Fallin'
2. Why Do I Feel So Sad
1. Never Felt This Way
P.S.: this is just from the top of my head and from my point of view. i didnt pick fallin as #1 because i wanted to give all of the other songs to stand out and to kind of come to your attention more. anyway, i think all of the songs are pretty good and i think it would be a great buy for you or a friend!
i also highly recommend her 2nd cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KEEP LISTENIN 2 IT, May 21 2004
By 
This review is from: Songs In A Minor (Audio CD)
wen i 1st bought this cd, i didnt really listen 2 the songs + just skimmed thro them, but wen i actually sat down + listened to it properly and the words, i couldnt believe i had actually even considered this was "rubbish". Alicia talents could not have shined thro more amzazingly + beautifully. Everythin from the lyrics to the beat of the songs themselves, are written so soothingly.
Theres a real calmness 2 this album, so if ur goin thro a stressful time + just wana wind down 2 som calming but cool sounds then this is an album 4 u!
HOPED MY REVIEW HELPED U MAKE THE RITE CHOICE! ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALICIA - GREAT TITLE, GR8 SOUND, GR8 EVERYTHING!, April 29 2004
This review is from: Songs In A Minor (Audio CD)
If uve read any of my other stuff, ul know im about to go fru all songs...
1. Piano & I - a beatufil is cheesy piano-opening 2 songs in a minor. 4/5
2. Girflriend - a lovely funky starting song. 4.5/5
3. How Come U Dont Call Me - a gr8 rendition of Prince's song. 4.5/5
4. Fallin' - amazing & soulful. 5/5
5. Troubles - a nice, ballad-type song with gr8 lyrics and vocals. 4/5
6. Rock Wit U - long opening, then gets real gd. 4.5/5
7. A Womans Worth - a nice song about different sexes. 4/5
8. Jane Doe - gr8 funky song. 5/5
9. Goodbye - i like it. 4/5
10. The Life - ditto. 4.5/5
11. Mr Man - worst song. 3/5
12. Never Felt This Way - beautiful cover of brian mckinghtely, also interlude. 5/5
13. Butterlfyz - 1st song she wrote. quite gd. 4/5
14. Why Do I Feel So Sad - im lovin it. 5/5
15. Caged Bird - amazing! 5/5
best songs (top 5)
5. Y Do I Feel So Sad
4.Jane Doe
3.Caged Bird
2.Never Felt This Way
1. Fallin'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice, April 3 2004
This review is from: Songs In A Minor (Audio CD)
I've owned this CD since she came out with it, and I really liked it. Sure some of the songs are covers or contains some elements of other artist's music, but name an artist or group who has never done that before and I will be surprised. Bands like Radiohead or singers like D'Angelo have done the same. That doesn't mean that they don't have talent.
People who say that Alicia Keys can't sing or doesn't play the piano that well don't know what they are talking about. "Patternisms"?? Song structure maybe?? Do you expect a concerto from her for pete's sake?? Sure, with some practice, a novice could play "Never Felt This Way", but try singing at the same time!! Yah I know, it's hard right? Now try singing and playing "Butterflyz". Thought so. So to say she doesn't have talent really is a false, ignorant statement. I just felt that I had to support her, I think she sings and plays the piano beautifully. Don't listen to these ig'nant fools
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Debut, March 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs In A Minor (Audio CD)
I hate hearing people bash others for writing "simple" songs that they can play. Let me challenge you - learn to write songs - this is a REAL musical skill. Anyone can PLAY pop songs whether it be on piano or guitar, but few can WRITE flawless R&B as Alicia Keys does on this remarkable debut. Give her credit for creating a lasting musical treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, but yet not fantastic, Feb. 27 2004
This review is from: Songs In A Minor (Audio CD)
Yes, Alicia Keys has all there is to start a successfull career in music business - young, gifted and beautiful. But still - her first album to me seems to be a bit overrated. Her arrangements are somehow confusing, disturbing, they don't always match the songs.

Lately I saw her in a TV show, singing unplugged. Wow, it was a lot better than from her CD ... Sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10803e7c)

This product

Songs In A Minor
Songs In A Minor by Alicia Keys (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews