Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Let's not get ahead of ourselves.
This movie truly made me rethink my pompous blow-hard nature: that is to say, I'm fanatical about Jean Genet, madly in love with Brad Davis, and I even MOSTLY like Fassbinder. But for some reason, I can never seem to get through the first half of this movie.
Jean Genet's forbidden story of Querelle was, simply put, never meant to be translated into a movie. The...
Published on July 12 2003 by Tim C

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Wild Boys
An ambitious and original movie, Rainer Werner Fassbider`s "Querelle" is an interesting effort with some compelling moments but ends up being too flawed as a whole. This experimental release presents a surreal and dreamy mood that showcases Querelle`s (a marine played by Brad Davis) search for himself and his true nature. His search will lead to some risky relationships...
Published on April 9 2004 by gonn1000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Wild Boys, April 9 2004
By 
This review is from: Querelle (Bilingual) (DVD)
An ambitious and original movie, Rainer Werner Fassbider`s "Querelle" is an interesting effort with some compelling moments but ends up being too flawed as a whole. This experimental release presents a surreal and dreamy mood that showcases Querelle`s (a marine played by Brad Davis) search for himself and his true nature. His search will lead to some risky relationships with a couple of his mates, presenting a movie that combines campy moments with some introspective and symbolic ones. What we have here is a film that explores human desire, narcisism, homo(sexuality) and seduction in an unique and peculiar way, even if the characters are too self-absorbed and the plot drags in many scenes. "Querelle" is too ambiguous and ethereal to deliver a convincing resolution, even if it delivers an unusual dark atmosphere with compelling settings and brilliant direction (the photography is also good, displaying excellent colours and textures). The acting is not very intriguing and the weird characters turn this into an unusual yet cold cinematic experience. Fassbinder presents some good ideas here, still this effort is to sparse and disjointed to become a solid movie.
Not bad, just too uneven to convince.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Let's not get ahead of ourselves., July 12 2003
By 
Tim C (Richmond, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Querelle (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie truly made me rethink my pompous blow-hard nature: that is to say, I'm fanatical about Jean Genet, madly in love with Brad Davis, and I even MOSTLY like Fassbinder. But for some reason, I can never seem to get through the first half of this movie.
Jean Genet's forbidden story of Querelle was, simply put, never meant to be translated into a movie. The internal struggles of Querelle were too innate, too complex...to ever be categorized and flow-charted and minced down into two hours of a panel-by-panel film script.
Now, with that said, I think Fassbinder made an excellent attempt to put you right up inside the taboo story of our favorite murderer/hero. The scenery is luscious, the costumry finely detailed, the casting superb. Not to mention the delicious sailor booty of a certain leading man, Brad Davis.
Still, I find this movie left me with much to be desired. After the torrid affair of Querelle and Nono, I wanted to roll over and go to sleep (no underlying meaning meant). Even THEN, there was only so much tension up until that point, and the plot manuevering that Fassbinder undertook did nothing to appease me. For example, the lusty leiutenant who writes of Querelle in the novel, keeps, instead, a tape recorded diary. With any horribly tedious passages taken directly from the text. In terribly stiff monologues.
Scary stuff.
All in all, I rated this movie with four of five stars. It perfectly compliments any Genet collection and makes for wonderful ornamentation on your DVD shelves. But if you've never heard of Jean Genet or never saw a Fassbinder movie, you should probably buy a different homoerotic brothel-lined story of metamorphoses and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decadent,Immoral, Jean Jenet at his best, I loved it., Dec 16 2001
By 
"yaaah69" (albuquerque, nm United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Querelle (VHS Tape)
I bought the dubbed version of this movie, but, had seen it first with subtitles. The dubbed version is by far the best. As you miss so much trying to read the captions.

This was close if not the last movie Brad Davis made before he died of aids. Being shunned by producers here in the U.S. He went to Europe to work and lucky for us he did.
Querelle,(Brad Davis) Is anchored on a merchant ship in Brest,France. He enters a brothel, to find his brother wrapped around the owner, Jeanne Moreau(Lysiane) And finds out about his homosexuality thru the toss of the dice.
This is not a gay thing, but, rather a discourse on homosexualism. Querelle, does not believe in two men loving each other , but, two men can enjoy each other and why-not indulge your sexual desires to the max..After loosing the toss-of-the-dice, he tells Gunther, 'we will not Kiss' and Gunther replies, "that goes without saying".

Ms. Moreau is stunning and puts out a song that is haunting, and tells of Querelles love for his brother, might be more than brotherly love!!

I found this movie to be very intriguing, and found myself trying to catch all the phallic symbolism on the etched window panes and the writting on the walls of the local W.C.
Franco Nero, plays the Lietenent who is much enamored with Querelle and tapes his longings for him.. This is a must see for those who can cope with the amoral,decadence and troubled mind of Jean Genet and Fassbinder; and can cope with homosexuality, explicit. I give this film a **** stars rating.this is the vhs version-dubbed ciao yaaah69
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Quriously Quirky "Querelle", Aug. 27 2001
By 
J. Michael Click (Pineville, Missouri, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Querelle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Films are a lot like wine. Some become finer with age, others simply go flat. "Querelle" has neither improved nor deteriorated since it first made the rounds of U. S. arthouses back in the early 1980's. It was potent rotgut then, and it's still potent rotgut twenty years later ... okay for a quick buzz, but ultimately an unsatisfying selection that may not settle well. The film's appeal lies within the main ingredients that promise a flavorful mix: source material by Jean Genet; direction by maverick German filmmaker Rainer Werner Fassbinder; and star performances from an impressive international cast headed by Franco Nero, Jeanne Moreau, and (especially) gay icon Brad Davis who is cast as the overtly homosexual title character. Unfortunately, the final product is contaminated by some unneeded artificial flavors and colors, specifically: preachy and pretentious narrative interruptions; some disconcertingly choreographed sequences that would more properly belong in a stylized musical romp rather than a dramatic character study; and an incoherent script that diverts the core of the movie away from plot and character development and allows the director to indulge in too much visual grandstanding (the phallus-shaped turrets, the coital etchings in the tavern glass, etc., etc.). Some of these minor elements might have blended well if they had been added in balanced proportions, but the haphazard recipe followed resulted in a bitter mess that is sure to leave many connoisseurs with an unpleasant aftertaste and a queasy stomach. If you're still determined to sample this unusual concoction, may I recommend the DVD? The contents may be flawed, but the packaging is outstanding, and the film is presented with great style. This is one film that requires a wide-screen viewing; otherwise, you'll be left wondering if something you missed over on the side might have been a key to understanding and appreciating the whole experience. (No.) And just remember afterwards, when your head is spinning and you're wondering why, oh why, you indulged ... you were warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not for everyone...., Aug. 17 2001
By 
Eric McDowell (Johnson City, TN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Querelle (VHS Tape)
Wow--what a film for a director's swan song! I've watched it twice and I'm still stunned--not positive if it's drama, comedy, soft porn, a combination of all three?? One thing I feel sure about--it's obvious that Fassbinder doesn't mean his audience to take the film completely seriously (See his 1971 release "Beware of a Holy Whore" and you'll know what I mean) as he still gives audiences his Douglas Sirk-colored view of the world--irony and HEAVY melodrama. With the film's narrator's comments, the "stagey" look and humor, the film almost feels like glossy high camp, and the director's use of "distancing" techniques to keep audience involvement at bay (excerpts from chapters of Genet's story, I assume) keep us from getting too involved, presumably to get us into this critical mode of looking AT the film (instead of getting "swept away" by it) and what it says about human desire and folly, among other things. Jeanne Moreau is fantastic (as always) and Franco Nero is as wonderful a picture of male beauty as you'll ever get, but Brad Davis's performance seems curiously wooden and unexpressive. Still, it's fun to watch and great to have among my Fassbinder collection. If you watch this film, prepare for something....well....just downright strange!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Once upon a time there was a ship full of oily sailors..., July 13 2001
This review is from: Querelle (Bilingual) (DVD)
...and it only gets more confusing after that. 'Querelle' is a difficult movie to follow. I've watched it quite a few times and I end up with something new after each viewing. Querelle (Brad Davis in a way-too-tight sailor uniform) appears to be just another resident meanie in the port of Brest. OK, a very sexually-repressed meanie. He hasn't come to the realization that he just wants to be loved. How he comes to that realization is the plot of the movie (...or is it?). Along the way, Querelle murders, fondles a cop, smuggles drugs and flirts with his commanding officer.
The movie is an eerie, voyeuristic experience painted in sepia tones. Although Querelle participates is numerous kinky episodes, there is nothing pornographic here in the sense of flailing flesh and hungry moans (lots of sweaty sailors, though) and everything that happens moves the plot along.
The DVD is a welcome change from the Columbia and EDDE edition VHS tapes (but I would rather have the original Columbia VHS artwork instead of the big "Q" here). The print is anamorphic (2.35:1) and of a pretty good quality for 1982. I did notice a few frame shakes here and there but nothing too jarring. You also get the original English mono track and an alternate French track. There's no trailer included for this movie but there's a couple of other unrelated ones.
So sit back and prepare to scratch your head and say "What the..." Querelle is definately not a disappointing flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Bizarre, April 4 2002
By 
Jose R. Perez "Jose" (Yonkers, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Querelle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Brad Davis is captivating as the sailor boy prostitute "Querelle" desired by men and women alike in this odd, yet gentle masterpiece. Clearly not for all audiences, the movie is dark and often harrowing, at times recalling other classic Genet adaptations, and occassionally, even the legendary "Midnight Express" which made Davis a star. Like the latter film, there are moments here that shock the viewer into action, perhaps fewer than necessary, and yet always mezmerizing and accomplished. Steeped in an aura of bright, almost unimaginable color, "Querelle" is one of those gay-cinema classics that deserves a place in an adult video collection (like "Taxi Zum Klo" for example.) Yet remember - this is a harrowing vision, and clearly not for every member of the family. Still, Davis is superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rub a Dub Dub, Aug. 6 2002
By 
Andrew Mackintosh (Boulder, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Querelle (Bilingual) (DVD)
First of all when you get the DVD version, you have the opportunity to watch the film as it was originally filmed - in English. Anyone who speaks French and can read lips knows that the film was dubbed into French (and not just bad sync-sound) - the film was later released back in the states with English subtitles under the French dub (talk about a triple threat).
I must say that I love this movie for tackling issues that 20 years ago were definitely still taboo in the mainstream. Although not a masterpiece in terms of plot development, I believe it stays true to the development of Jean Genet's characters - and of course the cinematography is stunning. Like watching a live action Tom of Finland cartoon directed by David Lynch at times... Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awful picture quality, get VHS instead, July 15 2001
This review is from: Querelle (Bilingual) (DVD)
What a shame that the distributors are so cynical to release this great film under such poor conditions. The subtle oranges and pinks have been thrown together by a quick and presumably cheap transfer to DVD that they all now merge into some garish red. It's almost unwatchable compared to the VHS copy I own. I thought DVD was supposed to be the ultimate in picture quality... forget it, don't be conned. It's just another way to get us to buy the things we've already got. One more thing: get this - they say that, as a special feature of the DVD, it comes with theatrical trailers - THE TRAILERS ARE FOR OTHER FILMS! AAuuughghghhh!What a [bad deal]... keep your money... you have been warned.
The people who released this DVD should be in jail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Each Man Kills the Thing He Loves, March 8 2002
This review is from: Querelle (Bilingual) (DVD)
There is no doubt that this is an unusual film, but one that contains several layers of meaning. Most of the content is symbolic and philosophic, but it is an interesting attempt at dealing with subjects such as narcissism, sibling rivalry, homosexual desire, jealousy and violence. Brad Davis' Querelle is a cipher, and he plays him as such, but his acting is quite remarkable. It is a shame he did not live long enough to give us the benefit of seeing him develop more as an actor. Jeanne Moreau is, of course, a formidable presence. This is a film that will only work for some people: being gay certainly helps. Rent it first and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Querelle (Bilingual)
Querelle (Bilingual) by Rainer Werner Fassbinder (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 75.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews