Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Thunderbolt from Hell shattering aloud", July 15 2004
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance (Audio CD)
After much pondering, I've decided that Screaming for Vengeance is my favorite Judas Priest album-edging out Stained Class, Defenders of the Faith, and British Steel. This 1982 release is one of their most solid albums and the best tracks on this album are also THE best Priest tracks of all time.
"Hellion/Electric Eye" (the first track being a short instrumental introduction to the second) is classic Priest. "Electric Eye" is my all-time favorite Judas Priest song! The haunting lyrics, the verses that build up to the chorus, the killer guitar solos; I can't write enough about it! "Riding on the Wind" is a catchy rocker. It begins with a furious drum intro by Dave Holland (now in prison for a sexual assault conviction). It bugs me a little because parts of it sound like another Priest song but I can never figure out which. Maybe "Heading Out to the Highway." Still, it is one of the better tracks on Screaming. "Bloodstone" is awesome! It is another favorite of mine. It is a driving rocker and the guitar riffs are unbelievable! "(Take These) Chains" (written by R. Halligan Jr.) is a slower, catchy track. I'm sure a lot of fans find themselves singing the chorus. The line "Take them off of my heart" I've always thought was a little sappy but I like Halford's vocals in the line "I can't sleep at night." "Pain and Pleasure" is a monster track. I don't like it quite as well as the others, but a below average song off Screaming is better than most average tracks elsewhere.
The title track is the most furious song Judas Priest has ever done before or since. It kicks so much butt, words cannot do it justice. The fast and screeching "Freewheel Burning" off Defenders of the Faith has nothing on this track! "You've Got Another Thing Coming" is classic Priest. Next to "Living After Midnight," it is probably their most played single. Unlike "Living...," it is not commercial rock 'n roll, but powerful metal. "Fever" is an interesting track. It is slow in parts and then rocks. It has a beauty to it and is very catchy with excellent guitar at the bridge. "Devil's Child" is another rocker with killer, screeching vocals at the bridge. As for the bonus track "Prisoner of Your Eyes," I have a 1988 article from Blast! magazine that states that Glenn Tipton called the ballad one of the best songs Priest has ever done. "Devil's Child" as the live track is a bit disappointing as it is not nearly the best song off Screaming and it plays so close to the studio version. Still, with or without the bonus tracks, Screaming for Vengeance is awesome (it also sports the best Priest album cover). If you own only one Judas Priest album; this should be the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Thunderbolt from Hell shattering aloud", July 15 2004
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
After much pondering, I've decided that Screaming for Vengeance is my favorite Judas Priest album-edging out Stained Class, Defenders of the Faith, and British Steel. This 1982 release is one of their most solid albums and the best tracks on this album are also THE best Priest tracks of all time.
"Hellion/Electric Eye" (the first track being a short instrumental introduction to the second) is classic Priest. "Electric Eye" is my all-time favorite Judas Priest song! The haunting lyrics, the verses that build up to the chorus, the killer guitar solos; I can't write enough about it! "Riding on the Wind" is a catchy rocker. It begins with a furious drum intro by Dave Holland (now in prison for a sexual assault conviction). It bugs me a little because parts of it sound like another Priest song but I can never figure out which. Maybe "Heading Out to the Highway." Still, it is one of the better tracks on Screaming. "Bloodstone" is awesome! It is another favorite of mine. It is a driving rocker and the guitar riffs are unbelievable! "(Take These) Chains" (written by R. Halligan Jr.) is a slower, catchy track. I'm sure a lot of fans find themselves singing the chorus. The line "Take them off of my heart" I've always thought was a little sappy but I like Halford's vocals in the line "I can't sleep at night." "Pain and Pleasure" is a monster track. I don't like it quite as well as the others, but a below average song off Screaming is better than most average tracks elsewhere.
The title track is the most furious song Judas Priest has ever done before or since. It kicks so much butt, words cannot do it justice. The fast and screeching "Freewheel Burning" off Defenders of the Faith has nothing on this track! "You've Got Another Thing Coming" is classic Priest. Next to "Living After Midnight," it is probably their most played single. Unlike "Living...," it is not commercial rock 'n roll, but powerful metal. "Fever" is an interesting track. It is slow in parts and then rocks. It has a beauty to it and is very catchy with excellent guitar at the bridge. "Devil's Child" is another rocker with killer, screeching vocals at the bridge. Screaming for Vengeance is awesome (it also sports the best Priest album cover). If you own only one Judas Priest album, this should be the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what Metal is all about!, Oct. 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This album provided Priest with a "radioable" single (You've Got Another Thing comin') without selling out. It also opened the touring door to the US for all other Metal acts that followed from Maiden to Metallica. This tour was covered by an American entertainment TV show called PM Magazine, the predecessor to Entertainemnt Tonight. This was the beginning of the golden age for Heavy Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Priest's finest hour, June 20 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance (Audio CD)
In the Summer of 1982, English hard rockers Judas Priest released their most successful album entitled Screaming for Vengeance. This album was produced by Tom Allom(whom had produced their previous two offerings, 1980's British Steel and 1981's Point of Entry) and was recorded in Spain and Florida. This album still sounds great today(in 2004) especially Rob Halford's singing, which was just smoking on this album. From the classic opening The Hellion/Electric Eye medley(which had one of Rob Halford's best lead vocal performances ever as he sings in a lower octave then going to snarl) to the classics Bloodstone and Take These Chains(which was the only track not penned by frontman Rob Halford and guitarists Glenn Tipton and K.K. Downing whom penned the rest of the tracks on this classic album) to the hard rocking title track(with Rob's classic falsetto screaming vocal which would make Linkin Park's lead singer runaway after being assaulted in a fight) to the classic rock radio staple You've Got Another Thing Coming. The latter track was the reason why this album became Judas Priest's first Top 20 album in the States and their first Multi-Platinum album and their most successful. At a time when fluff like Duran Duran, Human League, Kajagoogoo and A Flock of Seagulls were big, this album and Iron Maiden's The Number of the Beast were a breath of fresh air saying that NEW WAVE was fluff and METAL was going to be king! This album is still a classic. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Priest Album, May 30 2004
By 
Terry Lindsay (Locust Valley, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance (Audio CD)
Well, this, in my opinion, must be JP's greatest LP. The awesome intro to the album with Hellion leading right into Electric Eye is dominating at first, but then you drive right into some equally massive tunes. After riding on the wind, a mediocre song, you are blown away by Bloodstone, with a super intro riff and a great chorus, thanks to rob, but that is just the beginning. (Take These)Chains is a great song, as is Pain and Pleasure (awesome guitar), but then the cd climaxes with such great tunes as the MTV favorite You've Got Another Thing Comin, the title song Screaming for Vengeance, and then my favorite song on the album, the AC/DC reminiscent Devil's Child. Album version is simple but insanely awesome, and the live version lives up to the studio in every aspect.
All in all, Screaming for Vengeance is the best non-compilation album... such great songs as were mentioned cannot be compared.
(Most people disagree with my opinion, but I do not think that Priest went downhill from here. They did experience a time of synthisizers and all that stuff (turbo), but they were just victims of changes. I think Ripper did a great job while he was here, and their later albums were better than some of their earlier LPs.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Priest's finest hour, May 19 2004
By 
Terrence J. Reardon (South Carolina and Mass., USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance (Audio CD)
In the Summer of 1982, English hard rockers Judas Priest released their most successful album entitled Screaming for Vengeance. This album was produced by Tom Allom(whom had produced their previous two offerings, 1980's British Steel and 1981's Point of Entry) and was recorded in Spain and Florida. This album still sounds great today(in 2004) especially Rob Halford's singing, which was just smoking on this album. From the classic opening The Hellion/Electric Eye medley(which had one of Rob Halford's best lead vocal performances ever as he sings in a lower octave then going to snarl) to the classics Bloodstone and Take These Chains(which was the only track not penned by frontman Rob Halford and guitarists Glenn Tipton and K.K. Downing whom penned the rest of the tracks on this classic album) to the hard rocking title track(with Rob's classic falsetto screaming vocal which would make Linkin Park's lead singer runaway after being assaulted in a fight) to the classic rock radio staple You've Got Another Thing Coming. The latter track was the reason why this album became Judas Priest's first Top 20 album in the States and their first Multi-Platinum album and their most successful. At a time when fluff like Duran Duran, Human League, Kajagoogoo and A Flock of Seagulls were big, this album and Iron Maiden's The Number of the Beast were a breath of fresh air saying that NEW WAVE was fluff and METAL was going to be king! This album is still a classic. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At their prime, May 10 2004
By 
S B "sdb70" (Phoenix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance (Audio CD)
This is quite simply the best Judas Priest record in the middle of their prime (1980-1984), and no hard rock/metal collection should be without it. With the remastering, this is perhaps their best sounding record. Every facet of metal music is represented and executed flawlessly - the speed ("Screaming for Vengeance", "Riding on the Wind"), the gothic ("Devil's Child"), the sexual ("Pain and Pleasure"), the sci-fi ("Electric Eye"), the political ("Bloodstone"), the pop hits ("You've Got Another Thing Comin'"), and the ballads ("Take These Chains", "Fever").
The remaster also contains two bonus tracks, as do all the Sony remasters, but unfortunately the song choice is not exactly apropo to the particular record and very little insight is provided in the liner notes. "Devil's Child" is a live version from a 1982 Memphis show - the DVD of which will be released with the 'Metalogy' box set (2004). (FYI: From the same show, the live version of "Screaming for Vengeance" is on the 'Priest Live' remaster and "Bloodstone" is on the 'Ram It Down' remaster.) "Prisoner of Your Eyes" is a studio outtake from the 'Turbo' sessions (1986) - a ballad that was originally written for a Julio Iglasias duet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Priest CD ever!, April 4 2004
By 
M. Puziss (Frederick, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance (Audio CD)
I may be in the minority,but I SOO much prefer this over British Steel.It has better songs,better solos,more mature lyrics and better vocals.Here is my track by track review:
1.The Hellion-?/5-Just an intro to "Electric Eye".
2.Electric Eye-5/5-My second favorite Priest song.Awesome riff,great vocals,cool lyrics and an AWESOME solo.
3.Riding On The Wind-5/5-GREAT drumming and AWESOME solos.Great song!
4.Bloodstone-5/5-Awesome song.Good solos and good vocals.
5.(Take These)Chains-5/5-THE most underrated song off of this album.AWESOME solo and cool chorus.This is the only song from this album that was not written by Halford,Tipton and Downing.
6.Pain and Pleasure-2/5-My least favorite song off of this album.Not very memorable.
7.Screaming For Vengeance-5/5-Usually,a Priest album has a speed metal track.This is this albums.GREAT vocals and AWESOME solos.This is much better than British Steel's speed metal song,"Rapid Fire".
8.You've Got Another Thing Comin'-5/5-THE BEST Priest song ever!Great chorus and good solo.This song is the reason why this album made the Top 40.
9.Fever-3/5-nothing special,okay.
10.Devil's Child-5/5-I could imagine AC/DC doing this song.The rhythm guitar and vocals are reminiscent of AC/DC.
11.Prisoner Of Your Eyes-5/5-Every Priest Remaster has a new track and a live track.As you can see,this is this album's new track.It is a ballad with good lyrics and GREAT solos.
12.Devil's Child(Live)-3/5-This version is not as good as the studio version.The background vocals are off key.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Feb. 6 2004
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
Screaming For Vengeance (1982.) Judas Priest's eighth album.
In 1982, Judas Priest released their eighth studio album, Screaming For Vengeance. It's amazing that the band had released eight albums before most heavy metal bands had even released their first! But what's even more amazing is that by the time those bands began surfacing, Priest remained on top. Their popularity in the eighties as heavy metal gods was unrivaled. Just about every band out there has one single album that just about every fan says is the best. With Judas Priest, that album is Screaming For Vengeance. Are all those fans who say it's the best album gravely mistaken, or are they dead-on accurate? Read on for my review.
All those fans who say this is Judas Priest's best album are correct. Sure, Stained Class, Defenders Of The Faith, and Painkiller give this one a serious run for its money, but this is the band's all around best. The Hellion/Electric eye kicks the album off. It's classic fast and furious eighties metal as only the metal gods could pull off. Halford's vocals are priceless. Another Priest classic, a little track called Riding On The Wind, can be found on this album. Many fans call this song their favorite Priest song, and why not? It rocks! Pain And Pleasure and Bloodstone are two of the band's most underrated rockers, and it's a shame these two tracks don't get more credit. Many people say the former is the weakest track on the album, but I don't agree with this at all. I think all the tracks on the album are excellent, and not one is weak in any way. The band's biggest hit, an eighties hard rock assault called You Got Another Thing Comin', can be found on this album. This track is severely overrated, but it's a good song worthy of its lofty reputation. The title track is one of the fastest and most furious tracks the band ever recorded. I can't believe one of their title tracks is THIS underrated! My overall favorite song on this album is the power ballad, (Take These) Chains. Many people credit Dokken for giving birth to the power ballad circa 1984, but those people are gravely mistaken. This is a TRUE power ballad - and one of the best ones ever written. The band closes out the album with an ACDC-inspired hard rocker entitled Devil's Child, which rocks hard and rocks right. All in all, one hell of an album!
Like the other Judas Priest remasters, this one contains two bonus tracks. Here you get a rare studio session entitled Prisoner Of Your Eyes, and a live take on Devil's Child. This unreleased studio session, Prisoner Of Your Eyes, is Priest at their slowest and most melodic. This is an amazing song, and it's a shame it never made it onto an actual studio album - until now. Finally, fans can hear this underrated masterpiece. And, of course, there's the live take on Devil's Child. This version of the song is NOT better than the studio one, but it isn't a whole lot worse either. As far as these live bonus tracks on the Priest reissues go, this is one of the better ones.
Screaming For Vengeance is Judas Priest's finest hour. Rob Halford and the boys would never again reach the height of musical creation quality they reached on this album, although there were several times where they would come close (Defenders Of The Faith and Painkiller come to mind.) If you're a fan of classic hard rock and heavy metal, your collection is NOT complete without this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best metal cd's ever...., Nov. 13 2003
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance (Audio CD)
Actually this is only Judas Priest cd I have, but i'm plannig to buy at least British Steel and Painkiller.
Screaming for Vengeance is a great record due mostly to the amazing guitars and of course the blistering voice of Rob Halford.
Even if you don't like too much the high pitched voice of Brian Johnson(AC/DC), I bet you'll like this voice because it has many variatoins and even when he sing hi-pitched it doesn't get annoying.
Now to the songs:
The Hellion/Electric Eye: I think that this is one of the best metal songs ever. It has incredible guitars and excellent vocals.
Don't you think he sounds a bit like ozzy when he says: "You think you've private lives Think nothing of the kind"?
Riding On The Wind: It doesn't sound too good at first listening but I bet it will grow on you.
Bloodstone: This is quite good. Especially this part: "How much longer will it take
For the world to see
We should learn to live
And simply let it be" And another tnihg: in the first verses he sounds a lttle bit like Axl Rose.
(Take These) Chains: One of the best! This mid-ballad is completely amazing. I like especially this part:
"I don't owe you anything
Why don't you get out of my life
Through it all the memories cling
And I can't sleep at night"
Pain And Pleasure: Many people dislike it but i don't think this is a filler at all. It is a great slow-burner.
"you bring me PAIN but you give me pleausure"
I lke especially when he says "Don't know what I like"
Screaming For Vengeance: Awesome! it's very fast and catchy.
I bet you'll sing it in the shower, I know I do, i even imitate his powerful scream. Try to sing the chorus:
"We are screaming for vengeance
The world is a manacled place!
Screaming, screaming for vengeance
The world is defiled in disgrace"
You've Got Another Thing Comin': Although it was the single it's not the best. It's good, simply not great. I like the begginig and this bit:
"Out there is a fortune waitin' to be had
You think I'll let it go you're mad"
Fever: when i saw the title i thought it was a song by Boney M(they do have one called like that)or something, but actually it's quite envolving.
Devil's Child: Could been better, but good. I like especially this bit:
"You took my heart
And left it blown to smithereens
I gave my body as a slave
You cut my flesh
And drank my blood that poured in streams
I'm left here broken and ashamed"
The Remasters Bonus Tracks:
Prisoner Of Your Eyes: Excellent! Amazing ! One of the best. Great and long solo(like I like it),great vocals and guitars. This song has everything.
"Love is blind
And love deceives you
You came along and captured me
Now I'm a prisoner of your eyes
Trapped in time
I cannot leave you
I'm just a prisoner of your eyes"
Devil's Child (live): I said it all up there except that this could have been a live version of Screaming for Vengeance or (Take These) Chains.
Nevertheless, it's a good live offering.
For what I know Judas Priest are a really great band and you know what?
THE PRIEST IS BACK!
I can't wait for the new cd...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Screaming For Vengeance
Screaming For Vengeance by Judas Priest (Audio CD - 2001)
Click for more info
In stock on September 4, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews