Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of the trilogy, May 16 2010
By 
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance (Audio CD)
Screaming is for me the best of the three (Screaming, Defenders and Turbo) which i like to see as a trilogy. The three of them are good, but Screaming is a little bit ahead of the two others. All songs are great and, i am still wondering why this album went not bigget that it did.

i really like the underdogs songs like chains, pleasure, Fever and devil's child are classics that can easily challenge another things coming as best songs of the album...

If you have to buy only one album from that group, that need to be this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Thunderbolt from Hell shattering aloud", July 15 2004
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance (Audio CD)
After much pondering, I've decided that Screaming for Vengeance is my favorite Judas Priest album-edging out Stained Class, Defenders of the Faith, and British Steel. This 1982 release is one of their most solid albums and the best tracks on this album are also THE best Priest tracks of all time.
"Hellion/Electric Eye" (the first track being a short instrumental introduction to the second) is classic Priest. "Electric Eye" is my all-time favorite Judas Priest song! The haunting lyrics, the verses that build up to the chorus, the killer guitar solos; I can't write enough about it! "Riding on the Wind" is a catchy rocker. It begins with a furious drum intro by Dave Holland (now in prison for a sexual assault conviction). It bugs me a little because parts of it sound like another Priest song but I can never figure out which. Maybe "Heading Out to the Highway." Still, it is one of the better tracks on Screaming. "Bloodstone" is awesome! It is another favorite of mine. It is a driving rocker and the guitar riffs are unbelievable! "(Take These) Chains" (written by R. Halligan Jr.) is a slower, catchy track. I'm sure a lot of fans find themselves singing the chorus. The line "Take them off of my heart" I've always thought was a little sappy but I like Halford's vocals in the line "I can't sleep at night." "Pain and Pleasure" is a monster track. I don't like it quite as well as the others, but a below average song off Screaming is better than most average tracks elsewhere.
The title track is the most furious song Judas Priest has ever done before or since. It kicks so much butt, words cannot do it justice. The fast and screeching "Freewheel Burning" off Defenders of the Faith has nothing on this track! "You've Got Another Thing Coming" is classic Priest. Next to "Living After Midnight," it is probably their most played single. Unlike "Living...," it is not commercial rock 'n roll, but powerful metal. "Fever" is an interesting track. It is slow in parts and then rocks. It has a beauty to it and is very catchy with excellent guitar at the bridge. "Devil's Child" is another rocker with killer, screeching vocals at the bridge. As for the bonus track "Prisoner of Your Eyes," I have a 1988 article from Blast! magazine that states that Glenn Tipton called the ballad one of the best songs Priest has ever done. "Devil's Child" as the live track is a bit disappointing as it is not nearly the best song off Screaming and it plays so close to the studio version. Still, with or without the bonus tracks, Screaming for Vengeance is awesome (it also sports the best Priest album cover). If you own only one Judas Priest album; this should be the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Thunderbolt from Hell shattering aloud", July 15 2004
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
After much pondering, I've decided that Screaming for Vengeance is my favorite Judas Priest album-edging out Stained Class, Defenders of the Faith, and British Steel. This 1982 release is one of their most solid albums and the best tracks on this album are also THE best Priest tracks of all time.
"Hellion/Electric Eye" (the first track being a short instrumental introduction to the second) is classic Priest. "Electric Eye" is my all-time favorite Judas Priest song! The haunting lyrics, the verses that build up to the chorus, the killer guitar solos; I can't write enough about it! "Riding on the Wind" is a catchy rocker. It begins with a furious drum intro by Dave Holland (now in prison for a sexual assault conviction). It bugs me a little because parts of it sound like another Priest song but I can never figure out which. Maybe "Heading Out to the Highway." Still, it is one of the better tracks on Screaming. "Bloodstone" is awesome! It is another favorite of mine. It is a driving rocker and the guitar riffs are unbelievable! "(Take These) Chains" (written by R. Halligan Jr.) is a slower, catchy track. I'm sure a lot of fans find themselves singing the chorus. The line "Take them off of my heart" I've always thought was a little sappy but I like Halford's vocals in the line "I can't sleep at night." "Pain and Pleasure" is a monster track. I don't like it quite as well as the others, but a below average song off Screaming is better than most average tracks elsewhere.
The title track is the most furious song Judas Priest has ever done before or since. It kicks so much butt, words cannot do it justice. The fast and screeching "Freewheel Burning" off Defenders of the Faith has nothing on this track! "You've Got Another Thing Coming" is classic Priest. Next to "Living After Midnight," it is probably their most played single. Unlike "Living...," it is not commercial rock 'n roll, but powerful metal. "Fever" is an interesting track. It is slow in parts and then rocks. It has a beauty to it and is very catchy with excellent guitar at the bridge. "Devil's Child" is another rocker with killer, screeching vocals at the bridge. Screaming for Vengeance is awesome (it also sports the best Priest album cover). If you own only one Judas Priest album, this should be the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Killer Album, April 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This album is a gem. How these guys went from selling out arenas to having trouble selling tickets in my home town, I'll never know. These guys are all around great musicians with a throat slashing arsenal of heavy hitters. I would highly recommend this album to those who appreciates the roots of heavy metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great video quality, Feb. 27 2013
By 
Pierre Masse - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was very impress with the video quality considering it was recorded in the 80`s. I would recommend this to anyone that wants to capture Priest in their prime. To me screaming for vengeance is my favourite album. Sounds very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is what Metal is all about!, Oct. 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This album provided Priest with a "radioable" single (You've Got Another Thing comin') without selling out. It also opened the touring door to the US for all other Metal acts that followed from Maiden to Metallica. This tour was covered by an American entertainment TV show called PM Magazine, the predecessor to Entertainemnt Tonight. This was the beginning of the golden age for Heavy Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Metal Masterpiece, June 22 2004
By 
David Girod (Westminster, Maryland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance (Audio CD)
You have to OWN "Screaming for Vengeance". This album showcases one of the greatest bands of the 70's & 80's (and hopefully with the newly reunited Priest of the 2000's?!) I see other reviewers have tried to do a song by song rundown of the tracks on this disk, I won't even attempt that. The entire album is a guitar driven dream, Glenn Tipton and K.K. Downing are truly Metal Gods! And the fantastic vocals by Rob Halford make "Vengeance" on of the greatest rock albums of all time! This was the golden age of metal for Priest and if you have been hesitant in buying this disk because you thought that maybe the music wouldn't hold up after twenty years, think again! "Vengeance" is still as exciting and fresh as when it first arrived. If you are only vaguely familiar with Priest or plan on seeing them for the first time this year as Ozzfest, then start your Priest collection here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Priest's finest hour, June 20 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance (Audio CD)
In the Summer of 1982, English hard rockers Judas Priest released their most successful album entitled Screaming for Vengeance. This album was produced by Tom Allom(whom had produced their previous two offerings, 1980's British Steel and 1981's Point of Entry) and was recorded in Spain and Florida. This album still sounds great today(in 2004) especially Rob Halford's singing, which was just smoking on this album. From the classic opening The Hellion/Electric Eye medley(which had one of Rob Halford's best lead vocal performances ever as he sings in a lower octave then going to snarl) to the classics Bloodstone and Take These Chains(which was the only track not penned by frontman Rob Halford and guitarists Glenn Tipton and K.K. Downing whom penned the rest of the tracks on this classic album) to the hard rocking title track(with Rob's classic falsetto screaming vocal which would make Linkin Park's lead singer runaway after being assaulted in a fight) to the classic rock radio staple You've Got Another Thing Coming. The latter track was the reason why this album became Judas Priest's first Top 20 album in the States and their first Multi-Platinum album and their most successful. At a time when fluff like Duran Duran, Human League, Kajagoogoo and A Flock of Seagulls were big, this album and Iron Maiden's The Number of the Beast were a breath of fresh air saying that NEW WAVE was fluff and METAL was going to be king! This album is still a classic. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Priest Album, May 30 2004
By 
Terry Lindsay (Locust Valley, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screaming For Vengeance (Audio CD)
Well, this, in my opinion, must be JP's greatest LP. The awesome intro to the album with Hellion leading right into Electric Eye is dominating at first, but then you drive right into some equally massive tunes. After riding on the wind, a mediocre song, you are blown away by Bloodstone, with a super intro riff and a great chorus, thanks to rob, but that is just the beginning. (Take These)Chains is a great song, as is Pain and Pleasure (awesome guitar), but then the cd climaxes with such great tunes as the MTV favorite You've Got Another Thing Comin, the title song Screaming for Vengeance, and then my favorite song on the album, the AC/DC reminiscent Devil's Child. Album version is simple but insanely awesome, and the live version lives up to the studio in every aspect.
All in all, Screaming for Vengeance is the best non-compilation album... such great songs as were mentioned cannot be compared.
(Most people disagree with my opinion, but I do not think that Priest went downhill from here. They did experience a time of synthisizers and all that stuff (turbo), but they were just victims of changes. I think Ripper did a great job while he was here, and their later albums were better than some of their earlier LPs.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best JP CD ever- non compilation, May 27 2004
By 
Terry Lindsay (Locust Valley, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screaming for Vengeance (Audio CD)
Well, this, in my opinion, must be JP's greatest LP. The awesome intro to the album with Hellion leading right into Electric Eye is dominating at first, but then you drive right into some equally massive tunes. After riding on the wind, a mediocre song, you are blown away by Bloodstone, with a super intro riff and a great chorus, thanks to rob, but that is just hte beginning. Chains is a great song, as is Pain and Pleasure, but then the cd climaxes with such great tunes as the MTV fav. You've Got Another Thing Comin, the title song screamin for vengeance, and then my favorite song on the album, the AC/DC reminiscent Devil's Child. Album version is simple but insanely "riffalicious" and awesome, and the live version lives up to the studio in every aspect.
All in all, Screamin for Vengeance is the best non-compilation album... such great songs as were mentioned cannot be compared. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaddb0d5c)

This product

Screaming For Vengeance
Screaming For Vengeance by Judas Priest (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews