Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE USUAL COMPLAINT
The music on this disc rates five stars. The sound on Disc Four is breathtaking, and the demos are pure gold, especially for those interested in the evolution of a songwriter (Neil Young's "Down Down Down" demo, for example, contains elements of two future masterpieces, "Broken Arrow" and "Country Girl"). My complaint is the usual one voiced...
Published on July 14 2003 by Michael

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arguments, fights, broken noses...you gotta love Springfield
I could compare this set to a set like the Beatles Anthology...so I will. The anthology is what this set should be..live music, long jams, interview interludes from key players and what about that unreleased Stampede album that I hear about? This was a lost opportunity really but that's not to say there aren't worthy things on it. The set has tons of demos, which I...
Published on Dec 29 2002


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Acid???, Dec 7 2003
By 
Gavin B. (St. Louis MO) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Box Set (Audio CD)
Whenever I pay 50+ bucks for an exhaustive box set, I feel obligated to look at the purchase with a far more discerning critical eye than standard 14 dollar CD purchase. It's hard to be forgiving when the retail price is so high. That being said, this 4 CD collection will be the best sounding Buffalo Springfield you will ever hear. Neil Young was the right person to supervise the remastering of this project and he has done a great service to fans who have patiently waited for years the remastering to be completed. Perfectionism may be a pain in the posterior, but at the end of the day, you have Neil Young to thank for the cleaning the collection of Springfield's master tapes. The master tapes were probably in pretty bad condition after 35 years on someone's shelf and remastering them was time consuming, labor intensive process.
Here's my complaint. The actual chronology may be correct but there is a confusing mix of demos, remixes, outakes and unreleased songs that destroy the continuity of the original three albums. "Buffalo Springfield", "Buffalo Springfield, Again" and "Last Time Around" are the holy grail of our youth and should not be tampered with by anyone, even Neil Young. The order of the songs on those albums are so firmly imprinted in my subconscious mind that each time I hear a song out of order, I break out in a cold sweat, begin screaming, "Revisionist history!!!", before the enevitable grand mal seizure strikes. We're talking about sacred ground here, Neil!!!
It would have been far better to present the first three Buffalo Springfied albums in separate jewel cases with the orginal order of songs and the original artwork, than parking a jumbled mess of demos on the same CDs as the final takes. A seperate CD of demos and outtakes would have been fine, or even putting the session outtakes and demos at the end of each original album. The format of this box set probably makes sense to Neil Young and the rest of Buffalo Springfield, but there is a baffling clutter of "not ready for prime time" material on the first three CDs. If there is a rhyme or reason to all this discontinuity, it's well kept secret from Buffalo Springfield fans.
The only one I can listen is the fourth CD which presents the "Buffalo Springfield" and "Buffalo Springfield Again" in the exact chrnological order of the original albums, but repeating most of the studio cuts that have already been presented in the previous three CDs...Huh??? For some inexplicable reason, "Last Time Around" isn't entirely presented. Or is it? I'm confused by this gorgeous mess of Buffalo Springfield material in such a bizzare format...Hmmmm.... maybe I did take one hit too many of that speckled acid at Woodstock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE USUAL COMPLAINT, July 14 2003
By 
Michael (Philadelphia, Panama) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Box Set (Audio CD)
The music on this disc rates five stars. The sound on Disc Four is breathtaking, and the demos are pure gold, especially for those interested in the evolution of a songwriter (Neil Young's "Down Down Down" demo, for example, contains elements of two future masterpieces, "Broken Arrow" and "Country Girl"). My complaint is the usual one voiced by those who review this monumental set--WHERE THE BLOODY HELL ARE THE LIVE TRACKS??? They have to be out there somewhere--it's hard to believe that there are no live recordings in existence of a band whose live performances are legendary for their passion and ferocity. Maybe, as I've heard (hopefully) expressed elswehere, they are being held back for another compilation. I understand the bootlegs STAMPEDE and SELL OUT offer amazing live performances with poor sound. Can't all the recording industry's modern technology clean up those tapes enough to satisfy the artists and let all of us here just how amazing this band was on stage? C'mon, guys, give us a break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arguments, fights, broken noses...you gotta love Springfield, Dec 29 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Box Set (Audio CD)
I could compare this set to a set like the Beatles Anthology...so I will. The anthology is what this set should be..live music, long jams, interview interludes from key players and what about that unreleased Stampede album that I hear about? This was a lost opportunity really but that's not to say there aren't worthy things on it. The set has tons of demos, which I always like to hear and I actually appreciate the mono version of the first Springfield album on disk 4 after reading about the mix Neil and Stills made in Neil Young's "Shakey" Biography...It is really good and was put there as a means to contrast between the tinny version.
Most of the songs aren't exactly a revelation as fans will know the songs anyway but what is a revelation at times is how much better the demo songs sound recorded as a band as opposed to bits and pieces as with the first Springfield album.
I'm holding out hope for a live album in the future although I think half the problem there is that few decent quality recordings exist. So yes, I'd recommend this but if you are a fan you will have bought this already probably...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffalo Springfield Rocks!!, Aug. 3 2001
By 
Don Levin (West Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Box Set (Audio CD)
All in all, this is a truly worthy compilation along the lines of the Byrds' 4-CD box set from 1990.
Like everyone else, I, too, find it a bit redundant that CD #4 has "Buffalo Springfield" and "Buffalo Springfield Again" as those albums are readily available separately.
In addition, I'm a little disappointed that the "real", original version of "Bluebird," which appears on the CSNY/Buffalo Springfield/Poco "Roots" bootleg, and Neil's lead vocal version of "Down to the Wire" are not included. No REAL collection of their work is complete without these two essentials.
Furthermore, it contains no concert material. The "Stampede" bootleg contains several songs from their January 1968 Whittier High School concert ("Pay the Price," "Nobody's Fool," "Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing," "Rock & Roll Woman"). Surely they could have resurrected some concert material -- poor sound quality isn't necessarily a bad thing; this is an instance where the adage "if there's no alternative, there's no problem" should apply.
Nonetheless, the first three CD's give one a great glimpse into the creativity and originality of Stephen Stills, Richie Furay and Neil Young during their formative years and how it influenced CSN, CSNY, Manassas, Neil Young & Crazy Horse, Poco, Souther-Hillman-Furay Band, et al.
Furay's acoustic demo of Nobody's Fool is heads above the versions that appear on Poco's "Pickin' Up the Pieces" and "Poco" albums. Furay's rendition of "Can't Keep Me Down" is every bit as good as the retitled "Can You Feel It, Too," which appears on Poco's "From the Inside" album.
Young's solo acoustical renditions of "Old Laughing Lady" and "Round and Round and Round" are just as great as the versions that appear on "Neil Young" and "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere" respectively.
"My Angel" shows Stills as the great "Bluesman" he is -- "Bluesman," incidentally, is the title of one of the best tracks on Stills' "Manassas" album. Stills later recut a different "My Angel" on his 1975 "Stills" album. Another Stills gem is his lead vocal and guitar picking on the Springfield's version of "What A Day." It's far-and-away better than the Poco version that appears on "Pickin' Up the Pieces."
The previously unreleased mix of "On the Way Home" is clearly one of the best cuts on the entire boxed set. You hear one of the best examples of Stills' country picking and some great Bruce Palmer bass riffs that are obscured when you hear this song on the "Last Time Around" album.
I can't understand why neither version of "Down, Down, Down" was ever released until now. It's neat to see how one part of this song ended up as part of "Broken Arrow" on "Buffalo Springfield Again" and another became part of the "Country Girl" medley on "Deja Vu."
What can I say, the acoustic demos are grand. It's also good to get clean mixes of songs that were previously only available in bootleg form, such as the "Stampede" collection, as well as alternate takes of previously-released tunes.
As an avid fan of Stephen Stills and Neil Young, I can say this boxed set is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Burned, Aug. 20 2001
Ce commentaire est de: Box Set (Audio CD)
This has to qualify for disappointment of the year. A seemingly endless batch of hit-and-miss demos and outtakes are mixed in with the released masterpieces, making for a tedious listen. In the end, this box diminishes the band's legacy instead of immortalizing it. The final insult: three songs from Last Time Around are arbitrarily deleted while the tracks from albums one and two appear twice -- and you STILL need to go elsewhere for a stereo mix of the debut outing. It's hard to miss Neil Young's ongoing contempt for his audience. The label could have squeezed all three original albums and at least 40 minutes of the worthy outtakes onto a double disc. A waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For fans only, July 18 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Box Set (Audio CD)
Buffalo Springfield was a great classic rock act, but sadly, they never really got the credit they deserved. This was strange, because the band contained some future rock stars, including Stephen Stills, Jim Messina and Neil Young. The band's folk/country rock stylings were excellent, but their popularity paled in comparison to the Byrds and Bob Dylan, the mastermind folk rockers of the day. What a shame. Just because these guys were less popular doesn't mean they were less interesting. How does the Buffalo Springfield Box Set measure up? Read on and find out.
PROS:
-THIS BOX SET FEATURES A TON OF RARITIES BY THE BAND THAT NEVER MADE IT ONTO ALBUMS. If you're one of the few die-hard Buffalo Springfield fans out there who can't live without owning all of the band's compositions, this set is for you. There are tons of demos, alternative takes, and even tracks that never made it onto the band's albums.
-THE FIRST TWO ALBUMS ARE HERE, COMBINED ONTO A SINGLE DISC! It's great to finally have the first two albums combined together like such. After all, it's easier to haul around a single disc instead of two of them!
CONS:
-THE SET IS A COMPLETE RIP-OFF! Sixty dollars for four discs worth of material? The entire studio discography that was commercially released could have fit on TWO DISCS, with plenty of room for rarities! A two-disc box would have been a much better value.
-THE SET IS REPETITIVE. Many of the songs are just alternative takes/versions, so there's a lot of redundancy in some places in the set.
-WHY ISN'T THE MATERIAL ARRANGED CHRONOLOGICALLY!? If you're one of those fans of the band who got used to the original arrangements of songs on the classic albums, this is bound to mess with your head.
-ABOVE ALL, WHY THE LACK OF LIVE MATERIAL!? The band was great live, so there's really no excuse for having four discs of material and not one live song.
OVERALL:
The record company could have done a two-disc, affordable set, but NO - they had to rip people off. I don't mean to diss Buffalo Springfield - they are a GREAT band and their stuff really needs to be heard to be appreicated - it's the record company I'm disappointed in. If you're a Buffalo Springfield die-hard, by all means shell out the cash for this set - I think you'll be really happy with it if you're a die-hard fan. If you're anything less, bypass it and get the albums separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stampede it is not., June 5 2003
By 
Robert Cossaboon "devil doll" (The happy land of Walworth, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Box Set (Audio CD)
Stampede was the legendary lost album by Buffalo Springfield, which supposedly had some fine tracks, such as Neighbor Don't You Worry, Sell Out, Down To the Wire, and many other hitherto unheard of gems. Well, to give the box-set some credit, a few of these gems have been brought to light. There is a fine version of Young's composition, Down To The Wire, which is sung by Stills. Also included is a song, "Down Down Down", which would later be recycled for the Country Girl suite on CSN&Y's Deja-Vu album. There are some good unreleased tracks, but they get buried in the mountain of demos you have to fast forward through to listen to. To get down to the Nitty Gritty, this set has too much fat and grizzle on it. The demo tracks are neither shed new light on the composition in question nor are they of good audio quality. A whole disc (the fourth) is devoted to a remastering of the first two Springfield albums. Biiiiig deal. The songs were already scattered across the first three discs at least twice over! I'm not big on remastering, because usually this involves tweaking a bass line here, and adjusting a treble there to what essentially was the same song in the first place. The remasters here do no justice to anything. Did you know that there was an extended version of Bluebird that lasts for over 8 minutes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue, but worth the wait, June 16 2002
By 
Richard A. Jenkins "Richard A. Jenkins" (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Box Set (Audio CD)
Because of litigation that originated with one of the original members (it wasn't Neil Young), it appeared that there would never be a "Buffalo Springfield" box set and for some reason Atlantic never put their wonderful 2-album compilation from the early 70s on CD. The box set actually contains worthwhile written info (e.g., all their tour dates) and an only moderately whitewashed history of this contentious bunch. Historically, this is an important collection, because "Buffalo Springfield", along with "The Byrds" constitute the springboard for so much country-rock, folk-rock (& unfortunately icky "soft rock") that emerged in the late 60s and through the 70s. More than "The Byrds", though, there music emcompassed a wide range of influences from country to Latin. Yes, casual web surfer, there was alot more to these guys than the grossly overplayed "For What It's Worth".
Several things keep this from being a "five star": the alternate mix of "On the Way Home" lacks the instrumental vitality of the one that was released. The long version of "Bluebird", one of the few "legendary" long versions worth the time, is not included. This had appeared on the 70s compilation and its absence here makes no sense. Finally, there's little real live material. I was too young to see these guys live (I think I was in elementary school when they broke up), but many people say they that they were truly at their best live and songs like the previously released "long version" of "Bluebird" hint at this. Even a few less than perfect "bootleg" tapes would have been a nice addition (Neil Young has some and they've been played on various radio interviews with him).
Still & all, a valuable addition to any serious rock-n-roll collecetion & material you don't have to be a boomer to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Buffalo Springfield Again and Again!, Jan. 21 2002
By 
Dominique Morrow (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Box Set (Audio CD)
Box sets take different approaches; at one extreme they are like the Beatles Anthology series, which take alternative, cuts from an artist's career, shedding insight as to how materials were developed. You get to hear how the artist developed and matured and you also get music that has never been heard before. For a true fan, that is a delightful and amazing experience. The other approach is to take the greatest hits and other mostly previously released material and put them in one central release (for convenience I guess). This was the Eagles box set approach (it did include some never released concert material). Unfortunately, from my point of view, this set takes the latter approach.
I am not a record company marketer or retailer, however I suspect that most box sets are bought by true fans of an artist. Who else but a true fan would pay $50.00 to $60.00 ($150.00 for a recently released Grateful Dead set) and listen to four CDs worth of material from one artist?
Chances are the true fan already most of this music. Where is the alternative of "Blue Bird", the mistakes on "Mr. Soul", the false start on "Special Care" or the unreleased version of "For What It's Worth"?. But before you start clicking on those "not helpful " buttons, please understand that I love this music. Buffalo Springfield is one of the truly seminal and important bands of the sixties. They blended rock, country, folk and soul into a unique and timeless sound. After waiting many years for a box set, this package was a let down. Additionally, several of the other reviewers pointed out that many previously songs were left out, so that you don't even get the satisfaction of knowing that you have a complete set! My problem is with the packaging and marketing, not with the music! Hopefully, there will be more stuff from the vaults later.
Still, if you have never replaced those vinyl records or you've heard a few songs on the classic rock stations and want to hear more, then this a pretty good set to own. The rest of us will just have to be patient and hope that someone from the band or the record company is listening. Please don't wait too long...were' getting old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Rock & Roll History..., Dec 18 2001
By 
Ronald J. Eckberg (Walnut, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Box Set (Audio CD)
The Buffalo Springfield box set is, in short, an absolute necessity for anyone interested in the history of rock and roll. The Springfield had a short, tumultuous history as a band, but their influence has stretched far and wide. Just think of it... Three tremendous musicians that went on to give birth, not just to solo careers, but to CSN, CSN&Y, Manassas, Poco, and Souther-Hillman-Furay.
In undertaking an anthology like this there is no way to win. Everybody will have an opinion on what should have been included and what should have been left off. Personally, I wish I could get my hands on every recording -- legit or bootleg -- as well as any video of their performances. The demos here are interesting in the sense of giving us a peek at how the songs were first presented in their raw form. I especially enjoyed Young's "Flying on the Ground...", Still's "Four Days Gone", and Furay's pure and simple "Sad Memory".
Stills and Young went on to greater fortune and fame after BS and sadly, Furay is sometimes overlooked as a result. Make no mistake about it; as this box reveals Furay could hold his own against two future giants. "What A Day" is a great Furay song, with a great arrangement, and well performed with Stills on the lead. (One of the interesting things about BS is how often the writer would not sing the lead on his own song...). My fav BS song beyond all doubt is "On The Way Home" written by Young and given an infectious arrangment and incredibly uplifting vocal performance by Furay.
I could easily go on and on... JUST BY THIS THING! YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Box Set
Box Set by Buffalo Springfield (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews