Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffalo Springfield Rocks!!
All in all, this is a truly worthy compilation along the lines of the Byrds' 4-CD box set from 1990.
Like everyone else, I, too, find it a bit redundant that CD #4 has "Buffalo Springfield" and "Buffalo Springfield Again" as those albums are readily available separately.
In addition, I'm a little disappointed that the "real",...
Published on Aug. 3 2001 by Don Levin

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity
I love Buffalo Springfield, one of the great lost bands in the history of rock and roll, but I didn't buy this box when it came out and I wouldn't buy it now. (Not that I could, probably, because it's out of print and very expensive to buy used.) The three complete Buffalo Springfield albums including both mono and stereo versions of the first album could have fit on...
Published 13 months ago by Dale Turner


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffalo Springfield Rocks!!, Aug. 3 2001
By 
Don Levin (West Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
All in all, this is a truly worthy compilation along the lines of the Byrds' 4-CD box set from 1990.
Like everyone else, I, too, find it a bit redundant that CD #4 has "Buffalo Springfield" and "Buffalo Springfield Again" as those albums are readily available separately.
In addition, I'm a little disappointed that the "real", original version of "Bluebird," which appears on the CSNY/Buffalo Springfield/Poco "Roots" bootleg, and Neil's lead vocal version of "Down to the Wire" are not included. No REAL collection of their work is complete without these two essentials.
Furthermore, it contains no concert material. The "Stampede" bootleg contains several songs from their January 1968 Whittier High School concert ("Pay the Price," "Nobody's Fool," "Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing," "Rock & Roll Woman"). Surely they could have resurrected some concert material -- poor sound quality isn't necessarily a bad thing; this is an instance where the adage "if there's no alternative, there's no problem" should apply.
Nonetheless, the first three CD's give one a great glimpse into the creativity and originality of Stephen Stills, Richie Furay and Neil Young during their formative years and how it influenced CSN, CSNY, Manassas, Neil Young & Crazy Horse, Poco, Souther-Hillman-Furay Band, et al.
Furay's acoustic demo of Nobody's Fool is heads above the versions that appear on Poco's "Pickin' Up the Pieces" and "Poco" albums. Furay's rendition of "Can't Keep Me Down" is every bit as good as the retitled "Can You Feel It, Too," which appears on Poco's "From the Inside" album.
Young's solo acoustical renditions of "Old Laughing Lady" and "Round and Round and Round" are just as great as the versions that appear on "Neil Young" and "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere" respectively.
"My Angel" shows Stills as the great "Bluesman" he is -- "Bluesman," incidentally, is the title of one of the best tracks on Stills' "Manassas" album. Stills later recut a different "My Angel" on his 1975 "Stills" album. Another Stills gem is his lead vocal and guitar picking on the Springfield's version of "What A Day." It's far-and-away better than the Poco version that appears on "Pickin' Up the Pieces."
The previously unreleased mix of "On the Way Home" is clearly one of the best cuts on the entire boxed set. You hear one of the best examples of Stills' country picking and some great Bruce Palmer bass riffs that are obscured when you hear this song on the "Last Time Around" album.
I can't understand why neither version of "Down, Down, Down" was ever released until now. It's neat to see how one part of this song ended up as part of "Broken Arrow" on "Buffalo Springfield Again" and another became part of the "Country Girl" medley on "Deja Vu."
What can I say, the acoustic demos are grand. It's also good to get clean mixes of songs that were previously only available in bootleg form, such as the "Stampede" collection, as well as alternate takes of previously-released tunes.
As an avid fan of Stephen Stills and Neil Young, I can say this boxed set is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity, March 4 2013
By 
Dale Turner "rockandrolldoctor" (Kelowna British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
I love Buffalo Springfield, one of the great lost bands in the history of rock and roll, but I didn't buy this box when it came out and I wouldn't buy it now. (Not that I could, probably, because it's out of print and very expensive to buy used.) The three complete Buffalo Springfield albums including both mono and stereo versions of the first album could have fit on two CD's with room to spare leaving two CD's for the demos and rarities. But, in answer to some other reviewers, any blame will have to be attributed to Neil Young because he is responsible for the way this box was put together. I'm no lover of record companies but in this case they're off the hook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Acid???, Dec 7 2003
By 
Gavin B. (St. Louis MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
Whenever I pay 50+ bucks for an exhaustive box set, I feel obligated to look at the purchase with a far more discerning critical eye than standard 14 dollar CD purchase. It's hard to be forgiving when the retail price is so high. That being said, this 4 CD collection will be the best sounding Buffalo Springfield you will ever hear. Neil Young was the right person to supervise the remastering of this project and he has done a great service to fans who have patiently waited for years the remastering to be completed. Perfectionism may be a pain in the posterior, but at the end of the day, you have Neil Young to thank for the cleaning the collection of Springfield's master tapes. The master tapes were probably in pretty bad condition after 35 years on someone's shelf and remastering them was time consuming, labor intensive process.
Here's my complaint. The actual chronology may be correct but there is a confusing mix of demos, remixes, outakes and unreleased songs that destroy the continuity of the original three albums. "Buffalo Springfield", "Buffalo Springfield, Again" and "Last Time Around" are the holy grail of our youth and should not be tampered with by anyone, even Neil Young. The order of the songs on those albums are so firmly imprinted in my subconscious mind that each time I hear a song out of order, I break out in a cold sweat, begin screaming, "Revisionist history!!!", before the enevitable grand mal seizure strikes. We're talking about sacred ground here, Neil!!!
It would have been far better to present the first three Buffalo Springfied albums in separate jewel cases with the orginal order of songs and the original artwork, than parking a jumbled mess of demos on the same CDs as the final takes. A seperate CD of demos and outtakes would have been fine, or even putting the session outtakes and demos at the end of each original album. The format of this box set probably makes sense to Neil Young and the rest of Buffalo Springfield, but there is a baffling clutter of "not ready for prime time" material on the first three CDs. If there is a rhyme or reason to all this discontinuity, it's well kept secret from Buffalo Springfield fans.
The only one I can listen is the fourth CD which presents the "Buffalo Springfield" and "Buffalo Springfield Again" in the exact chrnological order of the original albums, but repeating most of the studio cuts that have already been presented in the previous three CDs...Huh??? For some inexplicable reason, "Last Time Around" isn't entirely presented. Or is it? I'm confused by this gorgeous mess of Buffalo Springfield material in such a bizzare format...Hmmmm.... maybe I did take one hit too many of that speckled acid at Woodstock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE USUAL COMPLAINT, July 14 2003
By 
Michael (Philadelphia, Panama) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
The music on this disc rates five stars. The sound on Disc Four is breathtaking, and the demos are pure gold, especially for those interested in the evolution of a songwriter (Neil Young's "Down Down Down" demo, for example, contains elements of two future masterpieces, "Broken Arrow" and "Country Girl"). My complaint is the usual one voiced by those who review this monumental set--WHERE THE BLOODY HELL ARE THE LIVE TRACKS??? They have to be out there somewhere--it's hard to believe that there are no live recordings in existence of a band whose live performances are legendary for their passion and ferocity. Maybe, as I've heard (hopefully) expressed elswehere, they are being held back for another compilation. I understand the bootlegs STAMPEDE and SELL OUT offer amazing live performances with poor sound. Can't all the recording industry's modern technology clean up those tapes enough to satisfy the artists and let all of us here just how amazing this band was on stage? C'mon, guys, give us a break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Burned, Aug. 20 2001
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
This has to qualify for disappointment of the year. A seemingly endless batch of hit-and-miss demos and outtakes are mixed in with the released masterpieces, making for a tedious listen. In the end, this box diminishes the band's legacy instead of immortalizing it. The final insult: three songs from Last Time Around are arbitrarily deleted while the tracks from albums one and two appear twice -- and you STILL need to go elsewhere for a stereo mix of the debut outing. It's hard to miss Neil Young's ongoing contempt for his audience. The label could have squeezed all three original albums and at least 40 minutes of the worthy outtakes onto a double disc. A waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, Dec 26 2013
Two essential (IMO) things are missing:

1) Not all of the 3rd album Last Time Around is here. Granted, it wasn't as good as the first two, but still ....

2) The 9:00 version of Bluebird with the terrific jam in the middle.

One major redundancy: repeats of tracks from the first two albums.

Possible reason(s) - we're told Neil Young, for whom I usually have the greatest respect, had a major hand in this compilation. He had little involvement with Last Time Around, and so may have seen some of the tracks disposable. Also, the 9:00 Bluebird (which only appears on an early 70s 2-LP compilation called "Buffalo Springfield", creatively enough) was a Stills showpiece, and Young and Stills always had an intense rivalry which may have reared its head here.

Still, for what this set DOES have (the first two LPs, mono versions, demos, outtakes and alternates), this is valuable. But I see a box set of a band as historically significant as BS as an opportunity to be comprehensive,and should include all officially released albums (especially when there were only three to begin with) plus all singles and major alternate versions like 9:00 Bluebird. There's simply no excuse not to. Given what else is available, the 2-LP set could be re-released on CD, and we'd have a pretty comprehensive view.

Still recommended (****), with all these reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For fans only, July 18 2004
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
Buffalo Springfield was a great classic rock act, but sadly, they never really got the credit they deserved. This was strange, because the band contained some future rock stars, including Stephen Stills, Jim Messina and Neil Young. The band's folk/country rock stylings were excellent, but their popularity paled in comparison to the Byrds and Bob Dylan, the mastermind folk rockers of the day. What a shame. Just because these guys were less popular doesn't mean they were less interesting. How does the Buffalo Springfield Box Set measure up? Read on and find out.
PROS:
-THIS BOX SET FEATURES A TON OF RARITIES BY THE BAND THAT NEVER MADE IT ONTO ALBUMS. If you're one of the few die-hard Buffalo Springfield fans out there who can't live without owning all of the band's compositions, this set is for you. There are tons of demos, alternative takes, and even tracks that never made it onto the band's albums.
-THE FIRST TWO ALBUMS ARE HERE, COMBINED ONTO A SINGLE DISC! It's great to finally have the first two albums combined together like such. After all, it's easier to haul around a single disc instead of two of them!
CONS:
-THE SET IS A COMPLETE RIP-OFF! Sixty dollars for four discs worth of material? The entire studio discography that was commercially released could have fit on TWO DISCS, with plenty of room for rarities! A two-disc box would have been a much better value.
-THE SET IS REPETITIVE. Many of the songs are just alternative takes/versions, so there's a lot of redundancy in some places in the set.
-WHY ISN'T THE MATERIAL ARRANGED CHRONOLOGICALLY!? If you're one of those fans of the band who got used to the original arrangements of songs on the classic albums, this is bound to mess with your head.
-ABOVE ALL, WHY THE LACK OF LIVE MATERIAL!? The band was great live, so there's really no excuse for having four discs of material and not one live song.
OVERALL:
The record company could have done a two-disc, affordable set, but NO - they had to rip people off. I don't mean to diss Buffalo Springfield - they are a GREAT band and their stuff really needs to be heard to be appreicated - it's the record company I'm disappointed in. If you're a Buffalo Springfield die-hard, by all means shell out the cash for this set - I think you'll be really happy with it if you're a die-hard fan. If you're anything less, bypass it and get the albums separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what an awesome collection of talent this was, Oct. 22 2003
By 
G. Wallace (Hilliard, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
I don't understand Neil Young's choices for the box set, especially some of the duller demos and the many repeated stereo tracks (I appreciate having the mono version of their first album). But the best stuff on here as about as good as it gets for 60's pop. Young was brilliant from the start and evidently felt unappreciated. But the revelation on this set is a quartet of Stills demos ("So You got a Lover", "My Angel", "Hung Upside Down", and "Four Days Gone"), every bit as breathtaking as those George Harrison numbers on Beatle Anthology 3. Also thoroughly enjoyed Young's "One More Sign" and "Falcon Lake". Furay was a terrific singer, foreground or background, and Palmer was an innovator on bass right up there with contemporaries McCartney and Entwhistle. Lots of great music in this box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic intent, Oct. 12 2003
By 
Mason Williams (Mars) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
This Box set took 10 years to assemble, 8 of those were spent locating the best possible source tapes. Neil Young compiled the box. Neil as you all know is a stubborn man not to mention a mad scientist of sorts. This is the exact box he wanted out. I have no complaints myself. Each CD is it's own groove. You can pick one out and really have a good listen. When looked at as a whole it may seem a little redundant. Just think of it as 4 incredible mix tapes compiled by Neil for you. Never mind the repeat tracks, it's all part of a masterplan that only Neil has a good grip on. Every Neil Young fan should own this box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Less CAN be more., July 10 2003
By 
"woodstockvet" (Pawleys Island, SC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Box Set (Audio CD)
I've always liked these guys, but this is a mess: table scraps, studio banter, amplified clicks and pops. Look, there was only so much good music this unlikely and short-lived group was capable of, and it sure wasn't sufficient to spread over four CD's. Even some of their best songs were poorly recorded, especially on their debut. In places they sound like a garage band. And Stills, with his sophomoric lyrics, deserved less air time. Save your money, buy the second album and let Buffalo Springfield rest in peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa06b4c24)

This product

Box Set
Box Set by Buffalo Springfield (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews