Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumph of human Imagination
Sir Adam got it almost right! Good review, by the way.
This is an awesome story about the importance of the story. Yes, the moral lesson of "The Neverending Story" is the importance of the story itself (and by extension the importance of human imagination). If one has read some of Joseph Campbell's "The Power of Myth" one understands this...
Published on July 18 2004 by SystemStructure

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong disc in case maybe?
The Movie says wide-screen on the back of the box yet when I play the movie it's in full screen. Also, It's a double sided disc with the first and second movies in the series, the case says absolutely nothing about the second movie. As far as I can tell, this is supposed to be the first movie only. I would have much rather had a double sided disc with full screen on one...
Published on April 26 2011 by Karl Domes


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumph of human Imagination, July 18 2004
This review is from: The Neverending Story (Widescreen and Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Sir Adam got it almost right! Good review, by the way.
This is an awesome story about the importance of the story. Yes, the moral lesson of "The Neverending Story" is the importance of the story itself (and by extension the importance of human imagination). If one has read some of Joseph Campbell's "The Power of Myth" one understands this completely. It is that Native American idea of "he who does not have the stories has nothing."
The key force of destruction in this tale is "the Nothing" literally non-existence or the lack of imagination. The world in which "The Neverending Story" takes place, Fantasia, is a conglomerate universe composed of the dreams and hopes of all people. Every story ever told and every character who has ever lived exists somewhere in Fantasia. So that somewhere in Fantasia, Paul Atreides wanders a desert landscape while somewhere else in Fantasia Alice falls down the rabbit hole.
Fantasia, this conglomerate world of human dreams, is dying. The reason is that people in the real world no longer dream... of anything. It is a very modern tale about the death of the human capacity to, as John Lennon put it, IMAGINE. Without the capability to imagine anything, people become easily manipulated by forces greater than them... this is where the real villain comes in (more about that after the next paragraph).
The main protagonist, Atreyu, is the alter ego of the real life boy who is reading the story. The real life boy, therefore, is filled with imagination, brimming with it, in fact. He exists in a real world where nobody imagines anything anymore. Therefore, the alter ego (in Fantasia) of the real life boy with imagination is a young champion who is trying to save imagination itself and its conglomerate world, Fantasia.
The real villain of the story is, at least from a Christian context, Lucifer, or the Devil himself. He is the "force behind the Nothing" who is attempting the death of all imagination. This explains the creature known as the Morg. As Sir Adam mentioned in his review, this is the major adversary for Atreyu (and the real life boy who is his generator). The Morg is, in his own words, "a servant of the force behind the Nothing." The Morg is, I believe, a demon, or fallen angel servant who has somehow crossed the border into Fantasia and put on the guise of that mythical creature of destruction, the werewolf. The Wolf image is only a guise used by the demon to try to blend in with his surroundings.
Of course, we know who wins in the end. This is a very complex movie and a VERY relevant one to the times in which we are living. I see people around me who are quite literally mental cripples who are incapable of imagination. Without the stories, we are nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, Dec 21 2011
This review is from: The Neverending Story (Widescreen and Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I received it really fast, many days before the due date! However, the case is a little broken. Good seller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, March 13 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great movie for children of all ages (including adults like me). I watched this on DVD when my kids were young about 25 years ago, and have owned the DVD for several years. I decided to "move up" to the Blu-ray version and was not disappointed. Both the picture and sound are considerably bigger. Eric
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NeverEnding Nostalgia..., June 1 2004
By 
David L. Gilbert (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Neverending Story (Widescreen and Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
If there was ever a work of art that personified the imagination of childhood- all the joys, the fears, the dreams and sheer wonder of life and all its possibilities - one would need to look no further than "The NeverEnding Story."
Looking at this film through older, more cynical, world-weary eyes, it's easy to discount it and point out its many faults. YES, the acting is unbearable at times. YES, the last twenty minutes are overly preachy. And YES the narrative progresses aimlessly with no rhyme or reason. But you know what? I don't care. I even found myself getting teary-eyed at some points, something I rarely do.
I agree with the other reviewers. If you didn't see and love this film as a kid, you won't enjoy it now. I watched the DVD with my (now ex) girlfriend, who yawned and groaned and rolled her eyes throughout the whole thing. A shame, really. I felt like she missed the boat. If this movie captured you as a kid, you owe it to yourself to let it capture you again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
very happy customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Un classique extraordinaire!, Feb. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Revivez la magnifique histoire sans fin, film de mon enfance, que j'ai adoré revoir sur Blu-ray. Une image et un son impeccable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eternal classic, Jan. 10 2014
By 
Y. Gendreau "Teddy" (quebec, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Neverending Story (Widescreen and Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Watched it as a child, now my kids love it.

Beautiful story, everything is real, not computer generated like today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bastian’s Purpose, July 14 2013
By 
marriedutopianstriver "Seeker Of Heaven On Earth" (blogspot and tumblr) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: NEW Neverending Story (DVD) (DVD)
“The Neverending Story” is a film that centers around a boy named Bastian Bux who finds refuge in using his imagination and reading fiction books having to do with quests. He ends up reading a book set in the world Fantasia and unintentionally discovers that he plays a role in the outcome of this mystical world. Somehow, the destinies of Bastian Bux and the warrior Atreyu become intertwined. Atreyu gets help in his journey from a luck dragon named Falkor. The following actors/actresses are featured in “Neverending Story”: Barrett Oliver, Noah Hathaway, Tami Stronach, Alan Oppenheimer, Thomas Hill, Deep Roy, Tilo Pruckner, Moses Gunn, Sydney Bromley, Patricia Hayes, and Gerald McRaney. “The Neverending Story” is a brilliant fantasy film for audiences of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Neverending Story, March 18 2013
By 
Tamara Mac Aloney (ontario,canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this was a present for my son ,he loves this movie.i got it for him.can always watch it any time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Magical Story, July 19 2012
By 
B. Beck "Barb Beck" (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is one of my favorite fantasy movies ever. It is a magical beautiful story and beautiful movie with loads of adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Neverending Story (Widescreen and Fullscreen) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 18.70 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews