Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!
This movie was Awesome! I saw all the Movies in theatre but this one was my favorite. This movie, as with the other movies had a great message. This one says you're not alone no matter how lonely you feel and that people do care about you. It also says that if you believe in yourself then you will make it through the rough times. It shows tons of new Pokemon and the...
Published on Jan. 10 2004 by Rosebud

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sort of boring.....
The first two movies were okay, but this one was the boringest movie of all..........I wish they would released a subbed version of Pokemon on VHS and DVD.
Published on Dec 29 2002 by hotarutomoe


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, Jan. 10 2004
This review is from: Pokémon 3 the Movie (VHS Tape)
This movie was Awesome! I saw all the Movies in theatre but this one was my favorite. This movie, as with the other movies had a great message. This one says you're not alone no matter how lonely you feel and that people do care about you. It also says that if you believe in yourself then you will make it through the rough times. It shows tons of new Pokemon and the animation and script were incredible. This movie Rocks You just gotta' see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon Three - Entei Rules, July 15 2004
This review is from: Pokémon 3 the Movie (VHS Tape)
This is the best Pokemon movie out of the five I've seen, in my opinion. The music is absolutely amazing: if they could make a REAL soundtrack with the ACUTAL music, I'd buy it immediately. You've all heard summaries of it from the other raters, so I'm not going to give one to you here. The voices of the characters match with their personalities, the plot takes a step away from Ash-Please-We-Need-Your-Help-Only-You-Can-Do-It and the 'save the world' junk. Yes, for once, Ashy-boy DIDN'T ride on a mythological being, and he DIDN'T stopped one 'undefeatable I-Am-The-Strongest-Alive' 'Mon from destroying humanity, or whatever. The characters can relate to every-day, real people as well - some are strong, like Entei, some are along a lot, like Molly, and some are so determined it's scary, like Ash...and some are just place ditzy, like James of Team Rocket. This is worth every .5 of a cent, in my view, and I would get the DVD if I could. The character also change in the movie depending on the experiences they went through, much like actual people, instead of shrugging, and saying 'okay, that's over' like a few movies had done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To know the Unown..., Dec 30 2003
By 
April Harrop "Nishikawa Haruko" (Somewhere far, far away....) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pokémon 3 the Movie (VHS Tape)
This movie is the best Pokemon movie, after the first that is. I love both the soundtrack and the movie itself. I've watched it plenty of times, and still can't get enough of it!
Ash and friends arrive at what is supposed to be the most beautiful town anywhere, but are dissapointed to see a huge crystalized formation taking over a large mansion and moving towards the rest of the town. Ash must save a young girl who's unleashed the power of the Pokemon Unown. he must also find his way to where his mom has been taken inside the mansion. He battles a legendary Pokemon named Entei and travels through odd dimensions that are the dreams and wishes of the young girl, made real by the Unwon before he can rescue his mom and save the town.
I reccomend this movie to anyone, as it's a great family movie. I also think that the soundtrack should be purchased after seeing the movie so that you can hear the pop songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but not great, July 21 2003
Pokemon 3 is about the Unknown who feel sorry for a little girl who lost her family and so she instead creates this fantasy world where the legendary pokemon Entei is her best friend. WHen she craves a mother she sends Entei out, ironically enough Entei captures Ash mother. Ash then must go in and stop Entei and save his mother.
This movie unfortunatly suffered the same curse as the first with the story. Only instead of the story being a little to cutsey it's almost to dark. The little girl loses her family, then kidnaps someone elses parent. The action is good but unfortunatly the story is once again weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the first, May 14 2003
By 
Bruce Gray "gurpsgm" (Shenandoah Valley, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the third theatrical release of the Pokemon series, we are introduced to the "Unown" and their powers and abilities. This was almost as good as the first movie.
If you're unfamiliar with the basics, Pokemon (short for "POcKEt MONsters") are creatures a little like those from this world, but with strange and unusual powers and abilities that they use for their masters - masters that can be either good or evil. Ash and his friends train their Pokemon to fight battles with their enemies. They travel all over the planet to collect new and unusual types of Pokemon. They trap Pokemon in "Poke Balls" - a small device that hangs from a belt. When Ash's enemies release their Pokemon to do their work, Ash and his friends release their Pokemon, and they have a big battle.
The story revolves around Molly and her missing father. Molly's father had been involved in an archaeological expedition to find out more about the mysterious "Unown" - Pokemon that look like letters of the English alphabet. Molly's father accidentally falls victim to the Unown and his remaining work is shipped home. Molly finds the Unown blocks that her father unearthed and begins playing with them and accidentally activates their ancient powers. The Unown, sensing Molly's sadness, make Molly's dreams come true - her home becomes a crystal palace and they create a father figure for her - the enigmatic Entei, a lion-like Pokemon. As Molly's fantasy life becomes more real to her, the area that is affected by the conversion process started by the Unown grows. Soon it begins to threaten to engulf populated areas. Of course, Ash and company are nearby to help. Meanwhile, Molly expresses her desire to have a mother. Mysteriously, Entei responds by capturing Ash's mother and bringing her to the fantasy palace. Ash, along with his friends and Team Rocket (again) must stop the Unown and Entei before Molly's dreams become all too real.
This story is a fine addition to the Pokemon franchise. Its timeless story of what a little girl really wants if separated from her mother and father can foster discussions between parents and children. Molly, of course, finally understands what is important and the world returns to normal. This is possibly the most well done of the movies, although I liked the story and secondary plots of the first movie a little better. The art is top notch Anime at close to greatness, and the story finale with Molly making the final decisions, is not understated nor overstated.
There's also a Pikachu cartoon that younger fans of the TV show will enjoy.
Almost as highly recommended as the first Pokemon film, this deserves a place in a lot of home libraries and some school and counselor's (child psychologist's) collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed, April 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pokémon 3 the Movie (VHS Tape)
I usually love anime (especially pokemon) but that movie was... just sad and I don't mean it was a particullarly sad plot but it was a sad atempt at a movie. I thought that the story exemplified childish ignorance and selfishness in the little girl. I also didn't like that girl didn't care if she had her real parents or not that she would just take Ash's mom and Entie(or however you spell it) as replacements. The fact that Entie was meerly a figment of her imgination was disapointing aslo. The 'Unknowns' I thought were the reasonless part that brought the whole story togather. But as anoying as it was it was slitly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sort of boring....., Dec 29 2002
By 
This review is from: Pokémon 3 the Movie (VHS Tape)
The first two movies were okay, but this one was the boringest movie of all..........I wish they would released a subbed version of Pokemon on VHS and DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Movie, a must have!!, Dec 29 2002
By 
If you are an anime fan, you should buy this movie. I'm sure that many of you may think Pokemon is a childish, naive type of anime that's only for kids under age 10... however, Pokemon has more themes than just friendships even though it is not as sophisticated as Spirited Away...
Let me begin with graphics. I love the graphics in this anime, they are extremely detailed and varied in colours. There are scenes where 3D technologies are combined with 2D animations, they are rendered well, despite the fact that 2D is flat and 3D is more dimensional. Facial expressions are well reflected through characters' moods.
Next the sound. For North American anime fans, they know very well that almost every single anime is edited in some way so that the lip movements of characters fit the English voice acting. Well, you'd expect the same in Pokemon... As some of the earlier reviews point out, the Japanese version is longer in length and has more stuff to it; however, there is not a significant difference between the Eng and the Jap one. Personally I think the American voice actors and actresses for Pokemon have done a good job! They actually put their feelings and emotions into the anime to make it fit the overall atmosphere. (if you have seen Totoro's English version, that's what I call "bad voice acting"....) Some people hate the BGMs, because they are completely rewritten and recomposed. I love them, even they are miles away from the originals. The songs are cheerful and beautiful, "to know the unknown" for example.
Finally the story. Out of all 3 movies, this one is my favorite. The reason is because it teaches children and even adults lessons about love, loyalty, dreams, friendship, determination are intermixed in this film to make the story more complicated than most people expect. Every anime is childish in some way (except those blood lust ones), but every anime has its meanings and lessons about life incooperated inside... it's up to you to discover them.
Overall, Pokemon 3 is one of the best animes out there, it is not as childish as most people think, so get your hands on this great film before it becomes extinct in stores!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie was totally cool!!!, Aug. 14 2002
By 
Shannon (Miami, FL USA) - See all my reviews
I thought this movie was great!!! I'm not going to go into the whole summary, since every other reviewer has already done that for you. The only thing that I would change is that we see Molly being reunited with her father (and mother!!! for real!!) During the actual movie rather than during the credits. The only reason I knew it was there is because my sister likes to read the cast lists -_-' And for you people who wrote reviews that were against the movie, well, you shouldn't have watched it if you don't like Pokemon!!!!!! Plus, nobody who doesn't speak Japanese cares about how the Japanese version is. I'm sorry for flaming, but these reviews really tick me off!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Pokemon movie yet!, April 13 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Barberton, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
Molly Hale lost her papa and mama while they were searching for "unown", a new type of pokemon. The Unown come to Molly and give her a "papa", which is actually a pokemon called Entei.
Ash and Company come to Springfield (the city where this movie takes place) to look for a pokemon center. But, they see the city of Springfield is covered by crystals and soon learns that pokemon is changing the landscape. Soon, Ash's mom is kidnapped, pokemon battles happen and Molly learns some things.
This is the best pokemon movie so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pokémon 3 the Movie
Pokémon 3 the Movie by Michael Haigney (VHS Tape - 2001)
CDN$ 49.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews