march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars736
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 26, 2004
This movie will make you laugh the first time you see it. The second time you see it you will curse it for its sentimentality. But the sentimentality is purely superficial. The third time you see it you will come to know and mourn its sad tragic core. There are a million improbable rescues in this movie. Our heroes confront a million deadly dangers and by sheer fate, chance, or the perverse will of the script writer our heroes always get off the hook. I do not feel I am giving anything away when I say that. The movie demands to be treated like a sublime, beautiful, and humorous joke. But underneathe all of those escapes and rescues, underneathe the jokes and one-liners, underneathe the sight gags and grand visual frivolity is a darker story. There is a scene ( I won't give it away) where that bold swashbuckler Inigo cofronts Count Rugen - the man who murdered his father. They have a duel and in the last instant Inigo finally tells Count Rugen what he really wants. It is, actually, the one thing Inigo ever wanted in his entire life. That mere sentence, what Inigo says to Count Rugen, is one of the greatest lines in movie history. It is, in itself, the true tragic and spiritual center of the film. All of those escapes and rescues and jokes are totally false. They make us feel good but they lie. The movie itself admits openly that the film is merely a fantasy - a fantasy in the good sense that it ignores the grotesquely limited constraints of realism; but also a fantasy in the sense that it is what wounded children ( all of us) had wished had happened. No one who sees this film will have any regrets.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2004
The Princess Bride is a timeless romantic comedy directed by Rob Reiner. This entertaining movie is a fairy tale full of charm, humor, and plenty of excitement. Fighting, torture, revenge, giants, escapes, miracles, and true love are among the many thrilling situations that keep viewers on the edge of their seats.
The movie contains a story within a story. It begins with a sick little boy in bed (Fred Savage) and his grandfather (Peter Falk) who comes to visit the boy and read him the story of The Princes Bride. The boy at first is unhappy because he thinks his grandfather is reading him a story about kissing, but he soon realizes that although the story is about true love, it is filled with all types of adventures. As the fantasy part of the story unfolds, both the boy and the viewers are transported to a medieval, make-believe place, Florin, where Buttercup (Robin Wright) meets and falls in love with Wesley, (Cary Elwes) a farm boy, whom she orders around with his only response being "As you wish." They soon fall in love but he decides to leave to seek his fortune, only after promising to return and marry Buttercup. Buttercup then receives news that the Dred Pirates attacked Wesley's ship and that he died. Years later, after being forced to become engaged to the evil Prince Humperdinck (Chris Sarandom), Buttercup is kidnapped by an odd group of three: Vizzini, (Wallace Shawn) the brains of the group; Montoya, (Mandy Pantinkin) a Spanish swordsman; and Fezzick (Andre the Giant) the strong giant. A man in black who turns out to be Wesley pursues the kidnappers and Buttercup. With the help of a wrinkled miracle maker (Billy Crystal), and Wesley's new friends, Montoya and Fezzick, he and Buttercup are reunited and live happily ever after.
Under the thrilling direction of Reiner, and the funny situations created by scriptwriter, William Goldman, the movie can be appreciated by a person of any age. It captures the young crowd with its exhilarating adventures involving fireswamps, swordfights, and sandpits. The movie also appeals to an older crowd because of its clever comedy and romance. Who cannot be amused by Billy Crystal's antics and declarations that Wesley is only "mostly dead?" The plot and the sub-plots are not only well developed but they flow smoothly, supporting the main theme of the movie, which is overcoming obstacles in order to find your "true love." Nevertheless, my only negative comment is that the movie leaves one loose end; you do not know what happens to the evil Prince Humperdinck.
The cast including the actors with cameo roles do a terrific job in connecting all of the characters and subplots. For example, Wesley is trying to reunite with his one true love; along the way he befriends Montoya who is trying to avenge his father's death. Wesley and Montoya both need the help of Miracle Max, who has his own axe to grind with Prince Humperdinck. Other things that are great and visually amazing about this movie are the swordplay scenes between Inigo and Wesley and Fezzik's battles, which are all excellently choreographed.
This movie will definitely become a part of you. You will find yourself repeating some of the movie's well-known lines like, "My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father, prepare to die," or phrases such as, "As you wish," "Inconceivable," or "Mawige." It is a funny and enjoyable movie that can be seen over and over again without losing its magic. If you have not seen this movie yet, you are missing out on something special. The Princess Bride is a must have for any home movie collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2004
A classic movie with wit and charm in abundance. This is one of 'those' movies that have such memorable lines that they become part of pop culture. It's a fantasy story about a farm boy (Cary Elwes) who is a servant to a beautiful girl (Robin Wright Penn). He is poor and loves her dearly and she comes to love him. In order to provide for her, he sets off to make his fortune... and the story goes from there.
It is full of quick wit and humor, with cameo appearances by Billy Crystal as 'Miracle Max.' The line of humor tends to be somewhere in the neighborhood of Monty Python, especially in the realm of quotable lines, and Mel Brooks, all with the classic Rob Reiner touches. Cary Elwes does a fine job of being very dry in delivery of his lines while Mandy Patinkin gives a most excellent performance as the mercenary swordsman/ex-drunk in search of vengeance for the killer of his father. It's a flight of fancy that is sure to please if you have a bit-o-wit to keep up with the fine dialogue.
A definite winner.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2003
The movie starts out with Peter Falk visiting his grandson (Fred Savage) who is sick in bed. To help pass the time, he is going to read him the story of The Princess Bride. The story centers around a girl named Buttercup ( Robin Wright Penn). She is in love with a farmboy named Wesley ( Carey Elwes). He says that he has to leave to make his fortune so that he can return and marry her. However, a lot of time passes, and Buttercup assumes that Wesley is dead. Unfortunately, Wesley finally returns after she has already agreed to marry the evil Prince Humperdink ( Chris Sarandon). Along the way Wesley fights and eventually becomes friends with a giant played by Andre the Giant, and a very talented swordsman Inigo Montoya played by Mandy Patakin. The three use their skills to try and save the princess from making a mistake and to reunite her with her Wesley.
The Princess Bride is a movie that you can watch time and time again and it will still be enoyable. In my opinion, it gets better after each time that you see it. It is an amazing tale filled with fantasy, adventure, and perhaps one of the most well executed romance stories of all time. Cary Elwes, Billy Crystal, Andre the Giant, Mandy Patakin, Chris Sarandon, Christopher Guest, Peter Falk, Robin Wright Penn, and Fred Savage make up the great cast. The Princess Bride brings you adventure, fantasy, an incredible romance story, and a great cast all tied up into one unforgettable film. If there was ever a film that you needed to own on DVD, it was this one. I was extremely happy when it was re-released with the Special Edition. The special features make a very nice addition and let you see the film in a whole new light. I highly recommend this DVD!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2003
Who would have thought with a title like "The Princess Bride" that I would be introduced to this film by my 4 sons who had played it over and over again? The title had me thinking that it was a chick film, but with 4 males from 18 down to 4 watching it over and over again, it had to be something more. I sat down, and was pleasantly surprised with a tale of swashbuckling adventure, with unapologetically cartoonish characters. The tale is narrated at times by a grandfather portrayed by Peter Falk as he is reading this tale to his cynical grandson, played by a young Fred Savage.
When the tale goes beyond the realm acceptable by a reasonable person, the grandson complains to the grandfather, who always offers to quit reading the story, but gives enough of a teaser as to leave his grandson begging for more.
Is this movie silly? YES, YES, YES! Is it fun? YES! With the magical cast assembled here, they can take this preposterous tale and make it sing. If you cannot suspend your sense of disbelief for the duration of a movie, get something else, heavier and darker. If you want a cute little diversion of a movie, pop this one in. It is a fun, up-beat, fast paced movie.
As I detest spoilers I won't give you any more plot elements, but rest assured, the ending is good. Don't be surprised if little boys in your household start yelling, "I'm Inigo Montoya, you killed my father. Prepare to die!" and jumping about the house. (After hearing that line a few hundred times I had to see the movie.)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2015
This edition of The Princess Bride very good. Commentaries of which there are 2 both are good and informative like with Andre The Giant for example. Love the various lines like ... Yes your very smart.. Shut up; Hello My is __________ you killing my father prepare to die among others. The menu for this excellent the only thing missing is The black masked man \ Wesley. Other then that great. 25th anniversary talk on the film and others great. Great film I have own the VHS back in the day and the DVD also.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
A love story that is fit for the whole family - and the young girls will like it even more. The formula was old fashion but it worked. However, be warned of a torture scene which may be too intense for the young. I actually don't think that scene was necessary and believe a misjudgement on the part of the script writer or director had resulted in this 'blemish' in an otherwise wholesome family fare.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
This is one of my all time favorite movies. Most of my friends can quote nearly every line of this movie, which can get annoyingly funny when you have 6 or 7 people in the same room doing all the lines of the characters. hehe

I picked up this Blu-Ray of it because its the 25th anniversary edition with a whole bunch of extras that my DVD version doesn't have. Considering when this movie was made the video quality is pretty good for blu-ray.

Who should buy this movie? EVERYONE!!! Its a timeless story of boy meets girl, boy leaves girl to find adventure and money, and boy gets killed off by the Dread Pirate Roberts and girl gets engaged to the evil Prince and.... well you get the idea.

Its filled with adventure, sword fights, giants, villains, heroes, princesses, miracles, rodents of unusual size and humor. This movie has something for everyone. Boys, girls, men, women and even rodents of unusual size will love this movie.

Its actually inconceivable how anyone could not like this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2003
If you have ever heard someone say - somewhat dramatically - "My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die." This is the movie from which that immortal line came.
The Princess Bride is a bedtime story read to Peter Falk when he was a child and now he is reading it to his grandson played by Fred Savage. Savage is fantastic as he goes from enduring his grandfather's visit in the beginning to earnestly protesting plot line injustices as the storytelling progresses. The transition from Falk's bedside reading, which is only a few short scenes, to the actual story is amazing - really brings something out in the story.
The story itself is of the love of Buttercup (Robin Penn) and her father's hired hand, Wesley (Cary Elwes). Costuming makes the time setting look like the Robin Hood time frame. When Wesley goes off to make a means for himself so he can come back and marry Buttercup, he is kidnapped by the Dread Pirate Roberts who takes no prisoners. Wesley assumed dead, it is arranged that Buttercup will marry Prince Humperdink (Chris Sarandon), who is a scheming prince planning to spark a war by orchestrating Buttercup's death and framing the neighboring country, Gilda. Meanwhile, Wesley turns back up and thinks that Buttercup has betrayed him. He pursues her and rescues her from Humperdinks agents, Vizzini (Wallace Shawn), Fezzik (Andre the Giant) and Inigo Montoya (Mandy Patinkin). Realizing the misunderstanding, they are freshly in love but the double faced Humperdink attempts to come between them and continue his plans for his bride's demise. It is only true love that can defeat their dire situation and some strange alliances that can defeat his plans. Billy Crystal plays a wonderful Miracle Max with Carol Kane as his wife.
This is a heartwarming story that is wonderful at any age and one that you are sure to watch over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2001
Is "The Princess Bride" the best movie of all time?
Probably not. Roger Ebert isn't always right. :) But "The Princess Bride" is among my favorites.
The whimsy of childhood tales and adventurous dreams, mixed with witty dialogue and solid storytelling, "The Princess Bride" "The Princess Bride" is as entertaining as any movie can be.
Clean and wholesome without being saccharine-dull, "The Princess Bride" is filled with intelligent barbs and comments that keep me coming back for more. The plot is as classic as any myth, its romance as honest as any love story, and the action as swashbuckling as anything Errol Flynn ever did.
Sure, "Citizen Kane" might be better made. And "Casablanca" might have more to say. I don't care. Give me "The Princess Bride!"
Whether you enjoy a campy "This is Spinal Tap" or "Rocky Horror Picture Show," or anything Monty Python has made, you will laugh at the subtle lines, and cheesy romance for years.
Not every comedy can be watched a dozen times. Fewer still can be watched two dozen times. I'm no movie buff, but I've seen "The Princess Bride" somewhere between 30-50 times. Funny... hilarious, every time.
Watch with your children and grandchildren, your church group and your girl/boy friend. You won't be disappointed.
I fully recommend "The Princess Bride." Then read the book. Just as funny.
Anthony Trendl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse