Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated! An excellent Christmas movie
The Grinch's answering machine message: "If you utter so much as one syllable I'LL HUNT YOU DOWN AND GUT YOU LIKE A FISH!... If you'd like to fax me, hit the star key."

Just one of the many hilarious lines from this movie. The direction, artistry, costumes, make-up, acting, and comedy are all top-notch. I'd have to say this is the best cinematic interpretation...
Published on Feb. 27 2012 by Stu

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars NjFranks
Jim Carey is brilliant!! Taylor Mumson is perfect as Cindy Lou Who. Overall a fun adaptation of Dr. Seuss' original cartoon. Glad to have it in my Christmas movie collection!!!
Published 6 months ago by NjFranks


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated! An excellent Christmas movie, Feb. 27 2012
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
The Grinch's answering machine message: "If you utter so much as one syllable I'LL HUNT YOU DOWN AND GUT YOU LIKE A FISH!... If you'd like to fax me, hit the star key."

Just one of the many hilarious lines from this movie. The direction, artistry, costumes, make-up, acting, and comedy are all top-notch. I'd have to say this is the best cinematic interpretation of a Seuss story available. There are burping jokes for the kids (and us immature adults) and risqué jokes for the adults (they'll fly over any kid's head).

Definitely recommended for all ages! Don't miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puttin' on the Seuss, Dec 10 2006
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
Many kids

Enjoy Christmas

They like it a lot

And this film

Is about the Grinch

Who did not

The film gives the background, and fills in some blanks

The Grinch as a child was subjected to pranks

He fancied a Who, with the name Martha May

He tried to impress her and to his dismay

They laughed at his efforts, his gift and his face

So he destroyed the classroom and fled from that place

Then,

He moved to Mount Crumpet

And made him a home

While the green hairy creature seethed under the dome

Until one cold day at the town Christmas party

When young Cindy Lou showed him how to be hearty

Then Mayor May-Who went and spoiled all the fun

By taunting the Grinch 'til he came all undone

He went up his mountain, and he started scheming

And when he was through he was smiling and beaming

He'd ruin their Christmas; he knew what to do

Revenge is the sweetest when it's overdue

If you've read the story you know how it ends

How the Grinch stole that Christmas from his former friends

So what happened next?

I won't give it away

This Christmas this movie will show every day

So if you're a Grinch you can run, but not hide

As you try to stifle the feeling inside

Just gather the kids for a clean yuletide treat

Merry Christmas to all!

(Now this poem's complete)

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The service was great., Jan. 24 2012
By 
Pat Heipel (ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
The service was great and my granddaughters were thrilled to get the video. They were surprised that I got it that fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprised., May 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
I can't believe I liked this movie. I hate Jim Carrey. He was nothing like he is in his other movies. This movie is great. I love how they added more to the story than the original cartoon version. A must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Too much of a good thing?, May 10 2014
Y'gotta understand: I love Jim Carrey. I think he is the greatest comedian since Dick Van Dyke--skip Mike Meyers and Robin Williams--Jim Carrey is nothing short of a genius, but this is a movie that simply did not need to be made. Certain stories don't need to be two-hour spectacles. "Dumbo," for instance, at only one hour running time, is Disney's shortest full-length animated motion picture, and it doesn't need any more length. It does everything in one hour that it needs to do. Adding to it would detract from its power. More is less. The same is true of the story of the Grinch; it doesn't need any more detail added; both the book and the 1/2-hour cartoon carry the story as far as it needs, and the addition of more details simply weakens the plot. No, I can't abide this picture in spite of my admiration for Jim Carrey. If you don't have Dr. Seuss' story in your DVD collection, I strongly suggest that your money is better spent on the cartoon with Boris Karloff as your narrator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The grinch. Why?, Feb. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A story, a tale of bullying and friend ship. What we all can learn about love, giving and the one person it takes to reach out and say why?, and this movie is fun and imagitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awsome movie, Jan. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
this was a great movie, we just loved watching it again! it is a great movie for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NjFranks, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
Jim Carey is brilliant!! Taylor Mumson is perfect as Cindy Lou Who. Overall a fun adaptation of Dr. Seuss' original cartoon. Glad to have it in my Christmas movie collection!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun movie for the family, Dec 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
Great movie I bought it as a gift for my niece and she loves this movie I don't have any complaints never been disapointed with amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a Xmas tradition, Nov. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
we watch this every year now, it beats Scrooge, the Grandkids love it and Jim makes it more believable , we love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen)
CDN$ 23.99 CDN$ 16.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews