Customer Reviews


241 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated! An excellent Christmas movie
The Grinch's answering machine message: "If you utter so much as one syllable I'LL HUNT YOU DOWN AND GUT YOU LIKE A FISH!... If you'd like to fax me, hit the star key."

Just one of the many hilarious lines from this movie. The direction, artistry, costumes, make-up, acting, and comedy are all top-notch. I'd have to say this is the best cinematic interpretation...
Published on Feb. 27 2012 by Stu

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Grinch
I have long since enjoyed this little tale about a hermit living high up on mountaintop overlooking Whoville in dusgust. I recently accompanied a young cousin, & had the opportunity to view this latest presentation, & though it is rather slow in the beginning, it really picks up after Little Sarah Loohoo invites The Grinch to receive an award down in town. A request made...
Published on Jan. 28 2003 by Draconis Blackthorne


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated! An excellent Christmas movie, Feb. 27 2012
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
The Grinch's answering machine message: "If you utter so much as one syllable I'LL HUNT YOU DOWN AND GUT YOU LIKE A FISH!... If you'd like to fax me, hit the star key."

Just one of the many hilarious lines from this movie. The direction, artistry, costumes, make-up, acting, and comedy are all top-notch. I'd have to say this is the best cinematic interpretation of a Seuss story available. There are burping jokes for the kids (and us immature adults) and risqué jokes for the adults (they'll fly over any kid's head).

Definitely recommended for all ages! Don't miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So THAT'S how he stole it..., May 5 2004
By 
MZ (Minnesota) - See all my reviews
That was Jim Carrey in that costume? I don't think anyone could have pulled it off better, but for me, Taylor Momsen, who played Cindy Loo Who, was the most enjoyable to watch. What a gifted little actress. Christine Baranski and Molly Shannon, both musically-inclined favorites of mine, also danced across the screen.
So this isn't exactly the same storyline as the one penned by the good doctor himself. But it is very close, with some details added in to give adults a few more chuckles.
And if you like it for nothing else, you will love the fantasy world created by some outstanding set and costume design; terrific old and new music; and vivid special effects.
Worth a viewing or two for all of you Who's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puttin' on the Seuss, Dec 10 2006
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
Many kids

Enjoy Christmas

They like it a lot

And this film

Is about the Grinch

Who did not

The film gives the background, and fills in some blanks

The Grinch as a child was subjected to pranks

He fancied a Who, with the name Martha May

He tried to impress her and to his dismay

They laughed at his efforts, his gift and his face

So he destroyed the classroom and fled from that place

Then,

He moved to Mount Crumpet

And made him a home

While the green hairy creature seethed under the dome

Until one cold day at the town Christmas party

When young Cindy Lou showed him how to be hearty

Then Mayor May-Who went and spoiled all the fun

By taunting the Grinch 'til he came all undone

He went up his mountain, and he started scheming

And when he was through he was smiling and beaming

He'd ruin their Christmas; he knew what to do

Revenge is the sweetest when it's overdue

If you've read the story you know how it ends

How the Grinch stole that Christmas from his former friends

So what happened next?

I won't give it away

This Christmas this movie will show every day

So if you're a Grinch you can run, but not hide

As you try to stifle the feeling inside

Just gather the kids for a clean yuletide treat

Merry Christmas to all!

(Now this poem's complete)

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SUV vs. STATION WAGON, Feb. 25 2004
By 
Welcome to the year 2000. Alot of things have changed since 1966.
Just as you wouldn't compare an encyclopedia to the internet, there's no sense comparing the Grinch cartoon to Grinch the movie.
Fortunately the original feature is still with us and still enjoyed by children every holiday season. Now, however, they have a version for their generation as well.
Kids today live in the world of high tech flash and kid TV stations that blare dumb jokes and comercials 24 hours a day.
They play extreme sports, have their own fashions and vacation in Disneyworld. Movies need to be in touch with their audience and this one is.
Some people complain that it's "too loud" and garish - they cringe at the nasty jokes ( which are funny enough to be forgiven and - compared to the really vapid trash in so many movies today - are nothing ) and bemoan the dark edge of some of the scenes. Alas, not everything can be all things to all people - - -unless they are kids.
Ask an eight year old to give you his oppinion and he'll probably tell you that it was funny and cool and sometimes scary.
It doesn't get much better than that.
The Grinch also gives us something else - a benchmark performance. I always suspected Jim Carey had uncommon talent but his scripts up till this one were dreadful. His portrayal of the Grinch belongs in the company of Karloff's Frankenstein, Lugosi's Dracula, Betty Davis in All About Eve as a quintessential pairing of actor and role.
Ron Howard's direction must have been good because I didn't notice it. I got the feeling you were watching people having fun while working. It flows well and the characters instead of the camera propell the film. A nice touch, perhaps the directors, is the last long pull out from the banquet hall in Whoville to an arial view to a cosmic view that reveals itself to be in actuality an extreme close up of a single slowflake drifting with it's million brothers on route to a fleeting existance before melting. I think that puts the themes of greed, revenge, rage and our time together nicely in perspective.
The Flintstones are a beloved classic too but the movie version had no merit. Are you really going to be upset that now there are two succesful versions of Dr. Seuss' wonderful book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who Holiday Happiness, Jan. 3 2004
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
When Ron Howard was directing this film, I bet he had no idea that it would become a masterpiece worthy of Dr. Seuss' timeless classic. Everything in this movie is impeccable, the acting, the plot, the sets. Definetely not something you would want to pass up.
Whoville is probably the best place to be around for Christmas. Christmas Avarice that is. All anyone thinks about around the cheerful holiday time is getting presents. The Grinch is angry about this, and a couple other things. He is always left out of Whoville, and is in a little bit of denial. To ease his pain, he play's mindless tricks on the unsuspecting residence of Whoville. Little Cindy Lou is having some doubts about Christmas too. As Christmas inches closer, maybe she can save Christmas, and have the Grinch be a part of it also.
Jim Carry is a genius. No one else could've been a better Grinch at all. The girl who played Cindy Lou was just wonderful. She made you sympathize and understand what Whoville (and the world) is coming too. If only this could've happened in our world instead of Whoville. An instant family classic for the whole familia to watch and just plain laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Moose Hole - How Howard Saved Christmas, Dec 28 2003
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
"The more the Grinch thought, "I must stop this whole thing!
Why, for fifty-three years I've put up with it now!
I MUST stop this Christmas from coming!
... But HOW?"
Every child, if they were brought up properly that is, has grown up with the short stories created by Dr. Seuss. Stories ranging from The Cat in the Hat to Yertle the Turtle to The Lorax with their delightful creatures and clever situations have captured the imaginations of not only the younger generation but the baby boomers as well. So is it any wonder that Universal Pictures, the studio that gained the rights to the classic tales, rushed two of the famous author's most famous works into production, The Cat in the Hat and How the Grinch Stole Christmas? The Cat is an easy sell since the concept has never been put on film but The Grinch is a bigger challenge. The challenge the live action feature faces is the 1966 television cartoon classic, which has become a staple of the Christmas holiday in the United States, and therefore comparisons between the two would be highly criticized among fans. Will the teaming of rising director Ron Howard and famous comedian Jim Carrey change all perspectives on the holiday treat? Only one thing can truly be said: Universal executives clearly have guts for at least attempting this.
The story focuses on the magical city of Whoville and the hermit-like citizen who plans to ruin the holiday rituals they care so much about. Everyone in the city of Whoville loved celebrating the holidays but one they loved the most was Christmas. All the houses are covered with lights, the streets are lined with decorations, and the stores are flooded with Whos wanting gifts for their loved ones. It seems everyone is filled with the Christmas spirit except for The Grinch. Living up on Mount Crumpit, The Grinch has despised the citizens of Whoville and their "Whobilation" and decides upon a plan to steal Christmas. Disguised as Old Saint Nick, he will go down into the city, take away all the gifts and decorations, and dump them on Mount Crumpit. But there is one little girl who believes The Grinch does have a good heart and hopes to change his ways before it is too late. The story for The Grinch works out amazingly despite the lack of material from the book from which the film is based. Considering the short story doesn't go into the details of The Grinch or any other characters presented, it was quite ingenious for Howard and company to develop the back story that they did. If they hadn't, the feature would have been a lot shorter then it was and wouldn't have been worth presenting on screen.
The cast for this take on a classic Seuss tale is relatively small, which is to be expected, but those that do have significant roles do a wonderful job at presenting amusing characters that may or may not have been seen in the Christmas legend. Though Jim Carrey may not have been the most obvious choice to play the title character, it has to be said that Ron Howard made an excellent decision after what has been seen on screen. Carrey, who had fallen from his comedic status thanks in part to the disaster known as The Cable Guy, has brought himself back to the mainstream audience with delightful and disguising character. Everything he does comes off with such comedic timing that one forgets about anybody else who could have filled the role. Taylor Momsen is absolutely adorable as Little Cindy Lou-Who and fits the character captured the story perfectly. At times she does seem a little too cute for her own good but that is a slight squabble compared to the rest of her performance. Her reactions come off perfectly with Carrey's exuberant performance. And Anthony Hopkins gives a stirring performance narrating portions of the film. At times, he slips into his Hannibal Lecter-like creepy voice but only in the appropriate areas. Obviously the younger audience will not get the slight reference to the thriller but adults will get a rise out of it.
Overall, Howard's version of The Grinch exceeds even the cartoon classic in its entertainment value but will it be an enduring classic? Not entirely. This film could have been an absolute disaster if Carrey had not been cast as The Grinch and Howard had not helming the project but luckily everything worked out for the project. As entertaining as the feature is, not everything works for it. The song sung by Taylor Momsen near the beginning could have been easily cut since it had really no reason to be placed in the film in the first place. Another problem was the kind of humor that was used. Sure, a butt joke here and there would be entertaining and funny but at times the film goes a little too far and some of the gross-out-humor gets annoying and just plain disgusting for the age group that this film is aimed at. A younger audience shouldn't be prevented from watching this but parents should take some caution for some scenes that the younger children will probably question about. Outside of those small problems, How the Grinch Stole Christmas proves to be an enduring holiday tale once again that doesn't fail to catch the imagination of the public, no matter what age they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars THE ORIGINAL CARTOON IS THE ONE TO BE BOUGHT, Sept. 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
Everyone thought Seuss's classic a smash.
And those that did thought that this movie was trash!
The movie Grinch wasn't the same, that is clear,
With its green hairy suit and its big derriere.
And it seemed out of place adding lines that were trite
To a great children's story that was written just right!
So the Grinch had a childhood and a love life, so dreary?
It all seemed quite un-Grinch-like and far, far too eerie.
And the Who folk in Whoville, with pug noses, blunted,
Were like nightmarish puppets with large teeth unstunted.
Their perky behavior just left me quite bored.
Giving quite enough glee for a year to be stored!
Hello! You should just run away from this tripe.
That smells like a little Who's gym socks, full ripe!
And what has become of the great name of Seuss?
Why these live movies that his stories abuse?
The goal wouldn't be to gather more dough
By tacking the Seuss name to movies, quite slow?
Why, yes, it's quite clear that this must be the plot.
Would Dr. Seuss like this? I really think not!
So as the Yule season draws closer, it's clear,
It's time to choose which Grinch to buy for the year.
Don't give the live movie a clear second thought,
When the original cartoon is the one to be bought!
Douglas McAllister
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Grinch that made Christmas!, Sept. 10 2003
By 
James Ferguson (Vilnius, Lithuania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must have seen this movie a kazillion times now, and I can still find enjoyment in it. My kids love it and it is the most frequently watched movie in the house. The Grinch is tame enough for two year-olds, mostly because Jim Carrey creates such a lovably gruff character that it is hard not to be taken in by him. What I enjoy most is the little Grinch, one of the many liberties Ron Howard took with the classic story and had so much fun in the process. Why we even find out the Grinch had a love interest! This is a movie that builds on the original, makes a soft statement on the commercialization of Christmas by making little Cindy Lou into a Whovian version of Virginia. There is a witty banter and playful allusions such as the dropping of car keys into a fish bowl at a Christmas party, where we are first introduced to baby Grinch as his parachuting basket gets caught up in trees and he looks in on his future household. But, Howard never loses sight of the story, retaining its rich Christmas character, and providing more depth to the Grinch. The DVD has many extra features to round out the film. Too bad it doesn't have a copy of the orginal to go with it. A real family treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Humbug!, Jan. 29 2003
Before even seeing it, I knew this live-action remake of the Dr. Seuss classic wouldn't hold a candle to the animated version, but I still found it to be a dull movie. The visuals are fantastic; Who-ville is peppered with enough quirky production design to make even Tim Burton blush. But the buck stops there, folks. The script is nothing more than a shoddy extension of the original story, and it completely fails. There's no heart to this new story at all. And what's with the toilet humor? I'm a silly person who laughs at the dumbest things imaginable, but I know when to laugh and when not to laugh. How could I find this movie funny? It ruined a beloved childhood character of mine. Since when does the Grinch eat glass? Since when is he so rude to Cindy Lou Who? Even at the end of the film, the Grinch is still a cranky son of a gun. Don't buy this for the kids. Instead, opt for the original animated classic, which is being sold for a bargain price. They'll remember that for the rest of their lives, but this movie will soon be long forgotten.
P.S. - Jim Carrey was a little too Carrey-esque for the role of the green guy, but he wasn't terrible. I think a better choice would have been Tim Curry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Grinch, Jan. 28 2003
By 
Draconis Blackthorne (The Haunted Noctuary) - See all my reviews
I have long since enjoyed this little tale about a hermit living high up on mountaintop overlooking Whoville in dusgust. I recently accompanied a young cousin, & had the opportunity to view this latest presentation, & though it is rather slow in the beginning, it really picks up after Little Sarah Loohoo invites The Grinch to receive an award down in town. A request made by the Mayor triggers a memory sequence in which the Grinch experiencd some rather traumatic events in his childhood, & all Hell breaks loose after that. He serves in his capacity as villain, as revealing the programmed habits of the townspeople who celebrate xmas, motivated by nothing more than greed. The Grinch asks the question, "is that all xmas means to you?" This sheds a luciferic light on them all, revealing them for the money & gift-hungry drones that the are. In a particularly memorable scene, The Grinch acts as accuser, then proceeds to lay waste their town.
I can already hear someone saying to Me, "you think too much". To which I would answer, "no, you think too little". There are subtleties that can be picked up if one only wishes to see them. The "Evil" character in most any presentation, serves in his or her capacity as a catylist. Indeed, in most cases, "evil" serves as a catylist for change. In this respect, it serves as a positive & cleansing element that instructs in harsh lessons for the commoner.
However, since I Am acquainted with the original story, the outcome was predictable, although the pervasive question remained: "What does xmas have to with having a 'big heart'? Or the ability to show compassion towards those who deserve it?" Personally, I do not celebrate this xian holiday, but may participate in certain activities for the gift factor. The Winter Solstice is My Yuletide. It is all relative.
So, when The Grinch removes all of their precious little holy-day decorations, the whos begin to realize their erronious materialistic activities, & realize the root of their holiday. They consequently gather together in a large cluster, & celebrate the "true spirit" of xmas. "Evil" has once again purified the lies & deceptions.
Even through this quaint Seuss tale, the neccessity of catastrophe proves itself evident, as pain is indeed a harsh, though sometimes neccessary element. In its own way, this film speaks to the efficacy of The 9th Satanic Statement.
There is one female member amongst the whos who is just entranced by The Grinch, as she practically has orgasms as he displays his misanthropy. The "bad guy" lure. There's always at least one.
It would have been nice to preclude or follow this film with the original animation. Carey makes for quite an appropriate Grinch character, & the costuming was very sufficient. Hail The Grinch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Widescreen)
CDN$ 23.99 CDN$ 18.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews