Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Great cult film - just don't watch it on a playstation 2
Most of you probably already know whether or not you want to own this flick. So i'm just going to offer a few words of advice: DON'T WATCH IT ON A PLAYSTATION 2!!! About 4 minutes and 10 seconds into chapter 6 the screen will turn green and digitized and remain that way until you either eject the disc or hit "reset." Ironically, the film is psychedelic enough without...
Published on July 17 2002 by mandrakexxx

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Practically unwatchable
The idea of a ballet school hiding a coven of witches sounds like rich fodder for an atmospheric horror film (I imagined it as a cross between Rosemary's Baby and Don't Look Now), but Suspiria is a terrible movie. I admit that some of the imagery is moderately unsettling, and the first twenty minutes had me alarmed, but Dario Argento wastes all his energy on gaudy,...
Published on April 20 2002 by Michael Giaccio


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great cult film - just don't watch it on a playstation 2, July 17 2002
By 
"mandrakexxx" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
Most of you probably already know whether or not you want to own this flick. So i'm just going to offer a few words of advice: DON'T WATCH IT ON A PLAYSTATION 2!!! About 4 minutes and 10 seconds into chapter 6 the screen will turn green and digitized and remain that way until you either eject the disc or hit "reset." Ironically, the film is psychedelic enough without the inclusion of this odd glitch. I have tried two copies of the disc on the machine and both suffered from the same problem. If you fast forward through the 4 minute 10 second mark in chapter 6 you will be able to bypass the problem, however.
Other than that, this hallucinatory and dreamlike film is quite cool, but definitely not for everyone. Mainstream audiences (don't expect anything resembling "Scream") will probably be put off by glaring displays of illogic and a lack of concrete explanations for everything that transpires in the film. What you can expect is a trippy rollercoaster ride through a colorful funhouse of various shocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Horror Films ever., June 25 2002
This review is from: Suspiria (Widescreen) (DVD)
Dario Argento clearly originates from the Hitchcockian school of suspense. In typical Argento fashion the characters and plot are all but ignored in his effort but it seems difficult to imagine why his films seem of such high quality. There is not a better director with regards to camera angles and lighting that I have ever seen, it is no wonder he writes all of his own screenplays. His films do not need dialogue or deep character development because it simply isn't what he sets out to do. Argento intrigues you and allows you to trust a film and then is willing to completely shift it's direction just to scare you. The plush colors and impossible camera angles that consistently make you wonder how the hell he got up there to get that incredible shot are what make Argento's films great and clearly his own.
Susperia is Argento's masterwork. Albeit, Tenabrae and Inferno are also both done very well, this is one of the greatest horror films ever made and not enough people have seen it. Argento's style is accentuated in this film and he is free to do whatever he wants visually because of the broad script he works with here. The film is like any nightmare you have had that sticks with you for most of the day. I have no question that may be where Argento gets some of his bizarre ideas. The beginning of the film simply shows a girl walking through a thunder shower and the way the scene is filmed and the music is placed makes you realize just how good Argento is at creating suspense in a scene that would normally be filmed with far less attention. Another thing that makes Susperia a great horror movie is the soundtrack, a soundtrack in which I would argue is more frightening than both Halloween and The Omen. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who loves great horror (there are few great films in that genre), although Argento's style is often difficult to appreciate at first to those accustomed to conventional film work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It would be a shame to miss this one !, June 3 2002
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
I first discovered "Suspiria" on French TV ; I loved it, and although it was not my Argento's favorite, I decided to purchase this limited-edition (mainly because it included the soundtrack... How splendid...). I made a good choice, because when first watched it, I was stunned : I was discovering a totally new movie ! The transfer is -- let's say the word -- a masterpiece, and the beautiful rendition of the colour effects and camera work are fantastic, almost a miracle ! But most af all, this version is uncensored. I thought French version was complete (which was the case for "Deep red", for instance) ! How naïve ! All the killings were partially cut ; believe me, for those who knew what can now be called "the old version", the end of the first murder is an astounding and perverse surprise ! To conclude, I'd congratulate Anchor Bay for their great work and their respectfull and delicate treatment of that cult movie. The extras are great, and the box set also contains stills... I love stills... Don't miss this one, you could be very sad...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Practically unwatchable, April 20 2002
By 
Michael Giaccio (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
The idea of a ballet school hiding a coven of witches sounds like rich fodder for an atmospheric horror film (I imagined it as a cross between Rosemary's Baby and Don't Look Now), but Suspiria is a terrible movie. I admit that some of the imagery is moderately unsettling, and the first twenty minutes had me alarmed, but Dario Argento wastes all his energy on gaudy, day-glow sets (not at all frightening, just tacky) and loopy, labored death sequences that are never effective. The excessive, fake-ish gore is neither harrowing nor gleefully exuberant, it's just tedious and stupid. The plot is incoherent, and not in a good way--I have no problem with movies that follow dream logic or sacrifice common sense for cinematic effect, but this one is just a cluttered, sloppy mess that stumbles forward in fits and starts. The terrible dubbing was irritating; I don't know whether there were multiple dialogue tracks recorded for this film but the one presented on this DVD is awful. I like Jessica Harper very much, but she's wasted (except for the googly eyes, which are put to good effect). Lots of potential in the premise, but terribly executed; all of Argento's over-the-top-and-off-the-cliff pyrotechnics are just distracting, not scary. The final sequence is hysterically funny, an orgy of cheap gross-out horror effects that doesn't make any sense or build upon the "story" up to that point. And then that's it--it just ends. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Strong Stylish Supernatural Thriller., April 11 2002
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
An young american dancer (Jessica Harper) got accepted in the most Famous School of Ballet in Rome. When she arrives in Rome, everything in her life is about to Change. When she sees, a scared young woman, who was later Murder by a mysterious Person. Then it`s goes down-hill from there until she nears strange noises and is troubled by a Bizarre Occurrences. She discovers that the School is merely on the front of the problem and she`s in is more far inexplained sinsiter events from the Unseen Organisation.
Directed by Dario Argento (Deep Red, Phenomena, Opera) gives an terrific entertaining film, which the director`s best movie. Written by Argento and Daria Nicolodi brings an Scary Dark edge to the film, also thanks by a Perfect Cinematography by Luciano Tovoli (Single White Female) and Moody Excellent Score by the Golbins (Dawn of the Dead). This 3-Disc Set is Great, it`s has an strong anamorphic Widescreen (2.35:1) transfer and an surprising excellent digitally remastered soundtrack on the DTS 6.1 Expanded Surround Sound and the Dolby Digital 5.1 Expanded Surround Sound. The DVD has Music Videos, Trailers, Bios, Interview, An Documentary, Hidden Feautre, An CD Soundtrack and More. This is Argento`s Dark Masterpiece, which is Unique and Brilliant in it`s own way. This Film is Digitally Remastered in THX for Picture Quality and Sound. Don`t miss this Instant Cult Classic. Technovision. Grade:A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Anchor Bay treatment yet!!!, March 28 2002
By 
PACorps (Kirkland, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
I first saw the now OOP laserdisc copy almost 12 years ago, and never forgot this film. When I saw this Limited Edition, I just new it had to go in my collection.
Like the "Dawn of the Dead" Anchor Bay DVD, "Suspiria LTD Ed." almost makes you forget you're watching a film made over 20 years ago. Crystal clear picture, excellent sound and vibrant colors all make this a real treat. Sure, the price is much more steep than the regular DVD release, but it's well worth it.
Most everything the average viewer would want to know about this film is included in this package, including an extensive disertation plus Jessica Harper interview found in the enclosed booklet. And speaking of Jessica Harper, though she's obviously aged quite a bit since the film was made still has that little girl innocence and cute too-big head in the recent on-camera interview.
The Goblin "Daemonia" video is delightfully cheesy, but it appears the lead member Claudio Simonetti is the ONLY original member of the group in the video (the drummer in particular looks a little too young to be an orginal member of a band that's had roughly a three-decade history); I may be wrong on this.
An overall 5-star rating goes to this disc; perhaps some behind-the-scenes footage captured during the prodution would've been nice, but I can't complain with what's presented here...
..except for one thing: there's a rumor running around that the first murder scene is not fully uncut. It's reported that some frames of the close-up pan down the front of the hanging girl's body are missing (notice how the cut starts at her legs and works down), though I know of no other version of "Supiria" where this is different...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SUUUUUUSSSSSSSPPPPPPPPPPPIIIIIIIRRRRRRRIIIIIAAAAA, March 28 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
Well I rented this movie the day that I turned 16.
I was allowed to watch horror films before that
but I couldn't go and rent it nor could I be 100 % sure
that I would be led into the movies or not.
In december I saw this limited edition and bought it. I know it was a bit expensive. the film was excellent. Maybe the
problem was that some dialouges in the film suffered from bad
sound qualities but that didn't make different. the 2nd disc is great and third which features the score is good to. On the disc you could find also a music video (which is terrible and the most laughable video you'll ever see in your entire life. And I think it was made in 2001.) The film you don't have to say it and the documentry excellent. There is just one problem. it is missing subtitles. I wanted to se the italian version but there seemed to be missing English subtitles. So if you don't speak or understand italian you could only see the English version (It was shot on many different languages but the original language for the film was English).
But rent the movie before buying the DVD. Because not everyone likes it. And this version. I hope this isn't to late because there are not many copies left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Foolish and Boring..., March 24 2002
By 
scott belba (auburn mass USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suspiria (VHS Tape)
Dario Argento's film Suspiria is one of his better films. However this is not a very good film. As with most Argento fare there is plenty of blood and gore to keep some fans happy, but the rest of us just keep saying "Get on with it." After reading about how scary and shocking this movie was I decided to borrow it from a friend and watch it.
The plot surrounds an American dancer who attends a European ballet school only to find out that it seems to be a witch's coven. However by the time Argento gets around to the point I had lost intrest in the film. Dario Argento has long been respected by horror fans for his movie making and directing. This reviewer can't understand why people fimd this man so good. Dario Argento is not the worst director (That honor goes to the Italian director Lucio Fulci, see Zombie review) but he makes a strong case at times. This is a slow moving movie that show's that with enough stage blood and FX anyone can be considered brilliant. Some of Argento's film have not been as bad like Phenomena, however his debut with The Bird With the Crystal Plumage shows that he may just be good at thowing blood around. A real good friend has almost all of his films and I have seen quite a few of them. I am a big fan of horror and I will watch anything that looks interesting, that is why I have seen his movies. Dario needs to go remember that under all the blood there is still a movie to be watched. Argento and Fulci are one and the same. Both use too much blood (most likely to make up for there lack of talent) and are very sucsessful at there craft. I will say one thing for the both of them. They are out there making there movies and making a living at it by following there dreams, but remember the same can also be said for Ed Wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I was a little apprehensive at first, but I liked it!, March 19 2002
This review is from: Suspiria (Widescreen) (DVD)
I really feel that most of the horror movies out there are garbage. Modern horror, in particular, is so formulaic (slapstick comedy mixed with gore) and predictable it is amazing they even draw an audience. As a genre it has a ton of potential and some of my favorite films fall into this category: Jaws, The Shining, Alien, The Vanishing (Spoorloos), etc. However, for every good horror film there are a 100 mediocre to awful films that shouldn't have even been made. What is lacking in these films is the cerebral and atmospheric elements that are the essence of fear. I guess this is what attracted me to "Suspiria." I always heard a lot about this film and Argento's reputation. It sounded like something that I would like, but Argento's notoriety for gore put me off seeing it. If used appropriately gore doesn't bother me, but I am no way a "gore fiend." I assumed that "Suspiria" would just be the gratuitous gore-fest that ruins so many titles in the horror genre. But itching for something different and creepy I finally bit the bullet and watched it. I must say I was very pleased. The plot is very loose. I've read that many people think the plot is non-existent, but I think the plot is pretty clear (pay attention to the last scene and then rewatch the beginning). Though it is not super intricate, it is satisfying. But where "Suspiria" is really effective is in its imagery and use of sound. It is extremely atmospheric and hallucinatory; almost like a dream. There are many scenes where the girls are simply walking down the hallways, and every time it is creepy as hell. The use of light and primary colors are particularly effective. As far as the gore goes, yes there are a few very discomforting scenes. However, by today's standards they are pretty tame. In fact, I would say that the 'X-files' have more graphic scenes then what is in "Suspiria." If you want to laugh and have a shock around every corner like in "Scream," "Suspiria" is probably not the film for you. But if you want to sit back, turn off your mind and get [pulled] into a bizarre, haunted, moody dream, "Suspiria" may be just the film your looking for. I'm glad I picked it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It all seems so absurd, fantastic!, March 2 2002
By 
This review is from: Suspiria (VHS Tape)
Narration from Suspiria: "Suzy Banyon decided to perfect her ballet studies at the most famous school for dancing in Europe. She chose the celebrated Tamm Academy of Freiborg. One day, at nine in the morning, she left Kennedy Airport, New York, and arrived in Germany at 10:40 PM, local time."
So begins a journey that the American girl would never have anticipated in her wildest dreams. A student, Patty Newman, is seen leaving the in the pouring rain scared... That is nothing compared to the gruesome manner of her death at her girlfriend's flat. It ends with the painted ceiling glass bulging out and shattering towards the foyer, followed by Patty's garrotted, bloody body crashing downward from a worm's eye view. Exquisite! Bulging is also used in Inferno when the body of Mark's fellow student crashes down in front of him.
Suzy is the only likeable character here. She is pretty, shy, humble, but most important of all, she is intelligent and intuitive, which helps her during her stay. And Jessica Harper makes her a credible unique person the viewer roots for.
Alida Valli is also effective as the forbidding Miss Tanner, a typical supervisor-type Guardian. 1940's star Joan Bennett (Madame Blanc) is a more tempered Guardian, but nevertheless gives the presence that she is in charge. I don't know who plays the fat piggy-eyed servant. The character, who plays a semi-important role here, seems to have been raised on ugly pills all her life.
This movie if anything, is representative of Dario Argento's wild use of lights. Red and blue are the key colours here. The exterior of the academy is red, as are the carpeted panels in the hallways. My favorite use of red is when the girls are in the practice hall, converted to a makeshift dormitory. The hall is bathed in a hellish red glare. The shape of the directress behind Suzy and Sarah is nothing compared to the guttural, asthmatic snores emanating from that mysterious personage. Creepy with a capital creep! Red is also the colour of blood, and there is a lot of that here, as well as the wine Suzy has to drink during her restricted diet.
Blue light is seen when Ms. Tanner marches up the attic to find out where the maggots are coming from. The creatures fall down through ceiling cracks and into dorm rooms, causing mass hysteria among the girls. Suzy freaks out, but that's nothing compared to the reaction of the other girls. Pandemonium, to say the least. The way Argento stages their emergence is unexpected and gradual.
And Goblin's wild and weird score of screams, insanely pounding drums, guitars, echoing hisses of "witch" and of course sighs (Suspiria is Italian for sigh) might as well mirror Argento's perverse mind.
Suspiria is more a triumph of design and suspense rather than logic (e.g. why kill Daniel the pianist?), and it's important to remember that in order to enjoy this stunning film. American and British horror have nothing on this masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suspiria
Suspiria by Dario Argento (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 20.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews