Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (129)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Whacked
Since I seem to be on an Italian horror kick, it's essential that I touch down on Dario Argento, and what better example than Suspiria. In the much shunned subgenre of Italian horror, Dario Argento is one director who actually won the critics over a time or two. You look on any top ten scary movie lists, you can bet Suspiria is on it. This film isn't really...
Published on March 31 2003 by Stanley Runk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic flim, bungled DVD
This has been my favorite horror film for the past 15 years, and I was SO excited to get this DVD. Yes, the picture quality was the best the movie has ever looked-- Razor-sharp picture and ultra-intense colors. However, anyone who is familiar with this film knows half of "Suspiria" is the incredible soundtrack by Goblin. On the old Magnum VHS/Image LD, the music was so...
Published on June 4 2003 by ChillOutBear


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars If Luis Bunuel had directed a horror film . . ., June 14 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
. . . oh, but then, he did (*The Exterminating Angel*, *Los Olvidados*. Et cetera). Okay, if he had directed a GORY horror film, *Suspiria* would probably have been the one. Surreal in the extreme, director Dario Argento's movie eschews coherent plotting for sensorial assault. The result is a mixture of mind-blowing mastery and almost-laughable incompetence. The mind-blowing mastery part would include the entire opening sequence, with Jessica Harper's arrival in a Berlin airport radiating hallucinatory lighting and existential menace, followed by the baroquely photographed murder of a young woman who attends the ballet academy. The fate of the blind piano player at the academy, and the red-lit scene where the girls fearfully whisper to each other while a silhouetted figure behind a sheet makes beastly-sounding snoring noises, would also fall under this category. The almost-laughable incompetence parts would include stuff like the really lame episode involving a toy bat attached to a string. Generally, the bigger the scare that Argento goes for, the harder the movie falls on its face. The genius of *Suspiria* is in its dreamlike mood, largely aided and abetted by the architecture of the ballet academy itself -- surely one of the most triumphantly spooky sets in the history of horror films. And underneath it all is the classic score, enjoyable all by itself even without the film, by the Italian group Goblin. Therefore, considering the movie's overall strength while forgiving its moments of weakness, I recommend *Suspiria* without reservations, especially for the ladies out there: the movie was based, apparently, on a DREAM of Argento's then-wife, Daria Nicolodi. (This may explain why the film repeatedly comes up short in the plotting department: there's just no basis in reality, here.) It's a movie about women co-written by a woman on whose dream it's all based. Have fun, girls. [The limited-edition 3-disc set is very affordable, as far as limited-edition 3-disc sets go, so I guess I recommend that version. The 2nd disc is unnecessary -- the material on it is short enough to have fit quite comfortably onto Disc 1, especially when you consider that *Suspiria* is only a 90-minute film. The 3rd disc is a nice touch, however: the complete Goblin score. Also includes a dozen or so "lobby-card reproductions" that all non-collectors will probably put in the circular file.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classic flim, bungled DVD, June 4 2003
By 
ChillOutBear (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
This has been my favorite horror film for the past 15 years, and I was SO excited to get this DVD. Yes, the picture quality was the best the movie has ever looked-- Razor-sharp picture and ultra-intense colors. However, anyone who is familiar with this film knows half of "Suspiria" is the incredible soundtrack by Goblin. On the old Magnum VHS/Image LD, the music was so powerful. It really plunged you into the creeped-out atmosphere of the movie. But some fool at Anchor Bay decided to mix down the music! The opening taxicab ride through the storm originally had the main theme playing much louder, but on the DVD this music practically disappears into the background. Sound levels are inconsistant throughout- a ballet lesson by the Nazi-esque Miss Tanner is very loud, but the famous double murder at the beginning of the film is subdued to the point of losing much of it's impact! In effect, this movie has been practically castrated!
I'm glad the movie is available, I just wish that whoever did the sound mixing for the 5.1 would have done justice to the film's original sound design. I could have done without the faded and unspectacular lobby card reproductions too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent camera work, colours, great print ... ends there, May 5 2003
By 
This review is from: Suspiria (Widescreen) (DVD)
Let's give credit where credit is due. Suspiria has beautiful colours, fantastic camera work, and a nice transfer. It ends there. The basic plot and appalling acting let the film down. As for the horror scenes - well, let's remember that it was made in 1977 and the horror scenes would have frightened audiences then - the R rating was fitting for the time. Times have changed, and audiences expect more of horror films.
DVD SUMMARY:
If you are like me, and heard so much about Suspiria, you will want to see it to satisfy your own curiosity. Aside from the bad points regarding the acting and plot, I am pleased to tell you that Anchor Bay have delivered a STUNNING print of this movie on DVD. It's so pristine that it's hard to believe it was filmed in 1977. Everything about the print deserves 10 out of 10. It should be reference for how to restore an old film. I have the Single Disc edition DVD, which is probably the best version to buy if you haven't seen the film. You still get the same version shown on the 3-disc, and some extras (but not the documentary), and also the DTS soundtrack.
Suspiria is a difficult DVD movie to find to rent, so if you are interested in seeing it, just buy the single edition DVD (it's cheaper). Despite the fact that I don't really love the movie, I am still glad to own it because of the camera work and colours - as well as the excellent DVD transfer. Nothing can quite prepare you for the incredible restoration work that Anchor Bay have done. Bravo Anchor Bay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rent then Buy!!!!, May 2 2003
By 
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
Suspira has alot of happy memories for me from when i was a teenager and first discovering the enjoyment of a horror cinema. I first discovered Dario Argento when i got my mother to hire me the heavily cut VHS version that was only avalible in Australia, (the uncut version has only been avalible here for a short time). When i watch the film for the first time i was caught up with the visual contexts of the film and thought the story of a covern of witches at a school was wicked !!!
From there i went on to see all his other films of Dario and thought over time his direction seems to have got weaker. However, you know that your in for an interesting viewing if its directed by Dario.
Anyways, to my delight Suspira was released on DVD uncut and full of extras this year and i purchased it straight away. After 10 years i watched this film again and the following is based on this viewing not just happy horror memories from yester year.
I still believe that for Italian cinema in the 70's this was one of the best films. It is accessible to international audience due to its mixture of italian and english dialogue and actors. However, i did notice that the english over dubbing was over dramatic and made some tense scenes simply laughable.
Furthermore in the scene with the girl and the wire, (its not barbed people, i mean it just looks like what it , large amounts of un-barbed wire in circle formations), how she didnt see the wire before jumping in is beyound me. It nearly a fully lite room and the wire is only about a metre down from her postion. Its like seeing a shark fin in a tank and jumping in. This was my first real " oh for the love of god" moment of this film and made me question the creditabilty of the film somewhat.
Furthermore in the first murder how do we go from the girls room to the rooftop. There is no transion scene from point a to b to c. We just go from the room to the what i guess is just below the roof top as she falls through the centre of the window on the ceiling of the main foyer. It just didn't make sense and hurt any antipation or horror at the scene.
I mean when i watch a horror movie i have to be caught up in the atmosphere and the story so that my mind and body begin to tense up but when u are in this state and suddnely you get a muddled scene like this is just changes the mood instantely.
Apart from this though the film still held up to my adult eyes and i still really enjoyed the visual style to the movie. The best thing though to come from this movie though is the music. I believed when i was teenager and i still believe today that the chantting of ' witch witch witch' is damn spooky and the way in which the electronic tone increases as the movie goes on is effective, (however get a load of the guys that composed the track on one of the extras, what a joke !!!! the word SAD comes to mind).
Overall, the film is a piece of quality italian horror and if u classify yourself as a horror expect you will have already added this too your collect. If your new to it all u may just find it all a bit hokey as the next generation of horror shows how dated this film is. Horror, like everything changes, and what was impactful in the late 70's and early 80's just doesnt cut it with some of the more recent horror films avalible and the new generation who watch them but for a piece of classic horror history, intriguing storyline, (its not as bad as some reviewers have stated), the interesting and spooky sound track and the visual style of Dario, its a worthy purchase.
However, i recommend that if your not familar with it to rent first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whacked, March 31 2003
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
Since I seem to be on an Italian horror kick, it's essential that I touch down on Dario Argento, and what better example than Suspiria. In the much shunned subgenre of Italian horror, Dario Argento is one director who actually won the critics over a time or two. You look on any top ten scary movie lists, you can bet Suspiria is on it. This film isn't really frightening-in fact most people think it's stupid and/or corny- but it's certainly original. The plot isn't much to brag about, this film is all about style. I've always thought you could make a movie about anything and make it interesting if you presented it correctly. Usually it's only the film snobs that pick up on the wild visual style Argento uses, but you certainly don't have to be a film snob to see it. Alot of the people I suggest this to usually think it's boring and silly. Granted these people aren't familiar with the genre and get scared to death by films like The House On Haunted Hill remake. Sure, Suspiria has it's parts that drag a bit, and the dubbing makes it sound corny(as usual), but all I can tell you is to view it with an open mind. Go into it understanding that the Italians make horror films different from American directors. And don't mistake different for dumb. Argento's movies are pretty whacked out(in fact, he's pretty whacked out, check out his documentaries), and not all of them are masterpieces, but he's really got vision. He's not a schlockmeister like his fellow countryman in Italian horror, Lucio Fulci(schlockmeister perhaps, but I love him to death), he's the kind of director that's likely to be studied in a film class. He doesn't go for the all out gore attack like Fulci, but Argento's violence is certainly not for the squeamish. The first murder scene in Suspiria is probably one of the most intense ever put on film. I'll guarantee you everyone in the room will stop what they're doing to see it! It may not have the Fulci gore, but it's got ten times more intensity. I've rarely seen music used to such a great effect. So, I'd definitely check this one out if you'd like to see Italian horror with an artsy edge. In fact, you should see Suspiria just to say you've seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dario's dream-like, horror masterpiece, Feb. 6 2003
By 
Keith W. Johnson (Summerville, SC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Suspiria (Widescreen) (DVD)
If you've never seen a Dario Argento film and are curious as to why he has such a huge cult following, "Suspiria" is a great place to start finding out. The atmosphere Argento creates in the film fills you with such a sense of heavy dread, it's no wonder that he claims that this film and "Inferno" (an inferior but stylish follow-up) were exhausting to make. Most likely, he probably creeped himself out. "Suspiria" will make your skin crawl, even when nothing seems to be happening. Argento even makes falling rain seem disturbing. The film moves like a dream, and the Goblin soundtrack is haunting. This is the best, creepiest music I have ever heard in a horror film. The storyline is basic, as in most Argento films, and what moves the viewer is not the story (centering around a dancing-academy run by a coven of witches) but the style and dreamy-quality of Argento's directing. The gore is strong in this movie, so sensitive viewers beware. For any fan of good horror, this film is a must. If you've never seen Argento, now is a good time to start. And start with "Suspiria"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lotsa Sizzle With Little Steak....., Feb. 4 2003
By 
Daniel V. Reilly (Upstate New York, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
I've been hearing about Suspiria for years; I had seen it once, ages ago, on Cable, and didn't really think much of it. I dedided to buy this 3-disc set on the strength of the reviews here on Amazon, and the past quality of Anchor Bay's DVD line.
The package itself is gorgeous; The set includes a great booklet with a ton of information about the film, and a packet of 8 lobby card reproductions. Disc one is a restored, uncut version of Suspiria, and it looks absolutely stunning. The colors are crisp and vibrant, and the sound is spectacular. The story, however, is lacking. In fact, it's virtually non-existent.
The plot is reminiscent of a fairy-tale: An American student arrives at a German Ballet school, and strange murders ensue. That's pretty much it. The murders are gruesome, and the ending is intriguing, if somewhat abrupt. My overall feeling about the film was that the over-stylization was there to cover the total lack of coherent plot. There's a lot to look at, but in the end, what's the point? Disc one also includes Radio & TV spots, American & International trailers, Poster, Print Ad, and stills gallery, and a video of the Suspiria theme by Daemonia, which is REALLY gay. (I don't mean homosexual; I mean gay, like seeing guys in their 40's and 50's dressed up like goths...freaky stuff.) There's also a hidden outtake of the Udo Kier interview, which is pretty funny.
Disc 2 is the mostly sub-titled 25th Anniversary documentary, which has interviews with Director Dario Argento, Star Jessica Harper, and others. Some interesting stuff, but not nearly enough for 52 minutes. I didn't find any Easter Eggs on this Disc.
Disc 3 is the Suspiria score on CD; Their music is very unusual, and fits the movie well. It's a nice extra; The main theme has been stuck in my head for days. Unfortunately, there isn't a track listing, so I have no idea what the song titles are.
I don't feel cheated by Suspiria; The package and extras are so attractive that you more than get your money's worth. I just would have liked some steak to go with the sizzle....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film, great DVD, Jan. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
Personally I liked Argento's Deep Red better than Suspiria, but Suspiria is still a landmark of horror and it goes with out saying that it's an absolute must for any fans of the genre. Anchor Bay's DVD had great A/V presentation, but I lament their inclusion of the soundtrack CD, as I think an isolated music track would have been preferable (how many times is the average person likely to listen to the cd anyway?). Some of the extras include a terrible music video (i have no idea why this was included) and a 52 minute documentary. A full 52 minutes may sound impressive but it does tend to drag on in spots and there is very little information to be garnered from it. It's worth a look at least once though, even if the soft white subtitles are a chore to read. You also get a nice booklet and a few lobby card reproductions.
Overall, this 3 disc set is a decent buy and is worth it if your a big fan of the film, but most fans will do fine with the standard edition. Dragon are releasing a version soon which has three discs also but instead of the documentary it includes the excellent 80 minute Dario Argento's world of horror doco. It might be worth your while waiting for that to come out. Still, kudos to Anchor Bay for finally giving this film the treatment it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New viewers, take it from me this is great!, Dec 3 2002
By 
sben24 "shaolinrenegade" (Wilmington, DE United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
Deciding to take previous reviwers advice, on how good this movie is i bought this movie becuase i just seen Jennifer Connelly in Phenomena, a 1985 Argento film. I was creeped out and amazed on how eerie the movie was. I particualrly enjoyed the score.
Anyway, I started looking into this Dario Argento character and aparently he is a God in Italian cinema. Even though he is not too famous in the states the people who do watch his films love him. Kind of like the Those "Zombie freaks" that love Romero.
This apparently is his definitive masterpiece of a three part trilogy involving withces.(the third is not made yet) The way this guy freaks you out and shoves the violence and suspense down your throat has been unseen before by me and quite frankly i enjoyed it. The score is scary as hell and the lighting will make you wish you stayed sober for the movie. Each death scene has never been done before and beleive me you will want to take your eyes off of it. The last 15 minutes of the movie will make you turn the light back on and lock the all the windows why you sit in your bed in silence trying to ponder what you just watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL....., Dec 1 2002
By 
Mark Norvell (HOUSTON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
I saw "Suspiria" on its' release in 1977 with a group of friends and no one liked it but me. I was just blown away. It's been at the top of my list for years. I've since owned various incarnations of it ever since it appeared on tape. There's never been a good print of it until Anchor Bay got a hold of it. I now own the 3-disc set on DVD and couldn't be happier with it. The film is intoxicating from start to finish. Jessica Harper was the ideal choice for the American ballet student who dances her way right into a witches' coven in a German dance academy. Joan Bennett and Alida Valli are solid ice as the acadamys' overseers. What Argento can do with colors, sets and atmosphere are phenomenally on display here. The Goblin score is almost unbearably intense. Schoolgirls take on a menacing aura as the newcomer (Harper) struggles to fit in and establish some sort of independence much to Bennetts' and Vallis' chagrin. Harper is curious as to the teachers' nightly activities and when her also suspicious roommate disappears, she sets out to uncover the truth. The rain of maggots on the girls from the rotting food in the attic is still an unsettling sequence. But the murder set pieces are the real chillers. These are some of the most elaborate, garish and grisly deaths Argento has orchestrated in any of his films. The climax when Harper discovers the ancient witch Helena Marcos' resting place only to have her rise and summon the corpse of Harpers' roommate is one of the most terrifying sequences Argento has ever done. When Harper stabs the witch in the neck all Hell breaks loose and the walls literally come tumbling down in flames. With "Deep Red", this is my favorite of Argentos' films. The interviews with Harper and others on the Anniversary disc are really entertaining and informative. And the entire Goblin soundtrack is on another disc as well. A fantastic package and collectors' item. "Suspiria" ranks as one of the best horror films ever made by anyone. Simply a modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suspiria
Suspiria by Dario Argento (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 20.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews