Customer Reviews


272 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "SUSPIRIA"-Dario Argento's stylishly artistic masterpiece!
Okay, to all those fans of the Italian horror genre (or 'giallo' films as some would call them) I'd like to say that I am a longtime fan of horror movies and am also new to the Italian horror genre. I'd have to say as strange as it is, "Suspiria" (1977) was actually the first one to get me into the Italian horror films. Considering that I personally do NOT like...
Published on July 12 2004 by Blade

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic horror film finally on bluray but...
I love this movie but unfortunately the disc will not play on any bluray in Canada. Too bad...it is one of my favorite horror films.
Published 4 days ago by William McMaster


‹ Previous | 1 2 328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE AND WAY OVERATED!, Nov. 11 2003
By 
Robert E Kyte "Gimme' Stuff" (2476 Warm Spring Way, Odenton, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Suspiria (Widescreen) (DVD)
Wow, this movie was so bad I don't know where to begin.
I have read many rave reviews for this movie from critics and movie makers, such as John Carpenter for example. After watching the movie all I can say is, what are they talking about!!!!!!!?
There is now way you can tell em this is a classic, it is not even a good movie.
Tha acting is laughable!, the story is absurd, nothing feels real. the movie is completely unscary. It is not possible to have a movie be scary when the acting is laughable and there is no real character development.
This is by far one of the worst movies I have ever seen, the only reason so many people on here gave this movie a good review is because they think they are supposed to like it because critics and filmakers call it a classic.
The only way you can think this is a good movie is if you are a complete and utter moron!
Please do not buy this, don't make the same mistake I did and buy this movie based on so many good reviews. Curse all you gave this movie a good review, YOU OWE ME $20.
tHE ONLY POSITIVE IN THIS MOVIE IS THAT IT DOES HAVE A GOOD SCORE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suspiria - A Little Overrated, Oct. 27 2003
By 
Sean Jester "Book fan" (New Market, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Suspiria (Widescreen) (DVD)
For months I had been hearing about how great Suspiria was on the Internet. When planning a horror movie fest this Halloween, I decided to pick it up and give it a watch with some friends. I had been hyping the movie, and they were believing it.
The movie does look and sound excellent, hats off to Anchor Bay for making another older movie look like it was released in theaters months ago.
The movie began with the effective and famous death scene, and from there it went downhill. Silly dialogue and scenes building towards suspense are cut, seemingly in the middle. People say Argento doesn't focus too much on plot, and here it shows. Had this movie been more streamlined, with the imagery and the camerawork, this could have been what people had been calling it - a true masterpiece. But until that happens, the original Halloween stands as my all time favorite horror movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rent if you can, do not buy suspiria, Oct. 26 2003
By 
"massatari" (massachusetts, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
I am compelled to write this review because this movie gets an awful lot of flowery praise. To set the record straight, the movie does LOOK fantastic,, very vibrant colors, incredible lighting and sets that are perfect for a great horror film. Such an incredible production when put together with the great sound of the film.. the surround will blow you away on this movie especially hearing the footsteps around the academy. Now, the real nail in the coffin of this movie is the absolutely sophomoric plot that you are driven to stick with, given such a great looking movie. the story is slow, insipid and completley predictable, with one of the worst hurry-up endings since the original Hellraiser. So much time of this film is devoted to making you "feel" like you're watching a great horror movie, that the climax & deneumont seem as if the creators siad "oh crap, we have to wrap this up in about 5 minutes"..
so virtually NO scares, some decent gore for the time, but very few and far between, hackneyed story, awful ending that will make you feel like you really did waste about 2hrs of your life.
but, great looking movie, that hardly looks dated at all and great sound..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SUSPIRIA SUCKS, dont buy this movie!!, Oct. 22 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
this movie sucks, its one of the worst scary movies ever made!! i dont know how people like this movie. it made no sence ,it left alot of things out so watching it you were completly lost or confused. IT WASNT SCAREY AT ALL!!! the blood was so fake ,who has red orange blood?! i mean come on!! the acting was bad, the characters didnt seem scared enough. i'd compare this movie to a corny hunted house at a pumpkin patch or something.after watching the movie you'll feel confused and mad .nothing scary happend though out the movie. dont buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars far from the scariest!, Oct. 20 2003
By 
This review is from: Suspiria (Widescreen) (DVD)
i gave this film two stars only because of its stylized camera shots,and the use of the creepy music was a good choice but it all leads up to a bunch of nothing.
one over the top bloody death at the begining and a dog that turns on its owner by tearing at it's neck.
only to conclude with the killing of a witch that snores real scary and is invisible!!!
this is not the scariest movie ever.
i think it just might be the worst however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overrated but not bad, Aug. 3 2003
By 
Chris (AK ron, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
no can deny how stylish this movie is. the music is real good but at times is annoying. i also love the use of color and the last like 20 minutes is good. overall i would say this movie is overrated. this is the only dario argento movie i have seen so maybe i have to see some of his other movies first. also not as gory as i expected. stick with lucio fulci for italian gore flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What the fuzz is about?, July 16 2003
This review is from: Suspiria (Widescreen) (DVD)
Does all of you wrote good reviews to not regret your purchase? What a dumb director! I have seen all Argentos movies and any of them has the merit to be a good film.
Don't get me wrong: As an artist and 3 years in cinema studies I have About 200 horror DVDs in my collection and love 80% of them.
Yes the colors, lightning blah blah blah but Booooring! Sloww pace and actors dance, and speak, and walk and speak and go on... Mr Argento has forgotten something: A movie is to be seen not to be told! It's not a book it's a movie... There is just about 15 minutes in the whole thing that it worth seeing and each of these minutes are really great and that's why my 2 stars are for. Prepare a pillow for over an hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars moody, looks great but not scary, Oct. 30 2009
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
I bought this on the advice of a friend who collects this genre and he said it was a "must have".

First of all, except for one scene near the end of the flick there was nothing scary about this film. I admit that the film industry and our threshold has changed since Susperia was made so I can let that go for the most part.

The mood created by the film is excellent imo. It's camera angles, lighting and music are all very well done and what sets this film apart from much lesser movies. The plot is thin and the acting is wooden with the exception of a couple of characters portrayed. There are some gruesome scenes but they are more or less easy to take. I can easily imagine they would have grossed out and scared the hell out of viwers when it first came out.

I liked the film and can see the significance of it in the history of the this genre.

Only for true fans of this type of movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What the fuzz is about?, July 16 2003
This review is from: Suspiria (Widescreen) (DVD)
Does all of you wrote good reviews to not regret your purchase? What a dumb director! I have seen all Argentos movies and any of them has the merit to be a good film.
Don't get me wrong: As an artist and 3 years in cinema studies I have About 200 horror DVDs in my collection and love 80% of them.
Yes the colors, lightning blah blah blah but Booooring! Sloww pace and actors dance, and speak, and walk and speak and go on... Mr Argento has forgotten something: A movie is to be seen not to be told! It's not a book it's a movie... There is just about 15 minutes in the whole thing that it worth seeing and each of these minutes are really great and that's why my 2 stars are for. Prepare a pillow for over an hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fairytales from hell, July 15 2003
This review is from: Suspiria (Widescreen) (DVD)
Dario Argento chose to temporarily leave his giallo roots behind for this halucinatory and supernatural thriller.
This is easily one of the best Argento films, spawning a truely chilling and beautiful soundtrack, cowriten with the infamous band Goblin.
This films relies heavily on atmosphere and Arento never fails to deliver beautifuly dark sets and halucinatory colors. This film is truely a work of art and would set a standard for future Italian film makers.
With one of the most ruthless and chilling murder scenes that I have ever wittnesed, this film is truely in a class of its own.
Some tips about this particular DVD- I would actually recommend getting the three disc set rather than this one and also the daemonia music video is extremely cheesy and is not worth your time of day, unless you want to see a bunch goofy looking metal heads attempting to look evil and vampirical while churning out Goblin's theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10526ee8)

This product

Suspiria
Suspiria by Dario Argento (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews