Customer Reviews


274 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Whacked
Since I seem to be on an Italian horror kick, it's essential that I touch down on Dario Argento, and what better example than Suspiria. In the much shunned subgenre of Italian horror, Dario Argento is one director who actually won the critics over a time or two. You look on any top ten scary movie lists, you can bet Suspiria is on it. This film isn't really...
Published on March 31 2003 by Stanley Runk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic flim, bungled DVD
This has been my favorite horror film for the past 15 years, and I was SO excited to get this DVD. Yes, the picture quality was the best the movie has ever looked-- Razor-sharp picture and ultra-intense colors. However, anyone who is familiar with this film knows half of "Suspiria" is the incredible soundtrack by Goblin. On the old Magnum VHS/Image LD, the music was so...
Published on June 4 2003 by ChillOutBear


‹ Previous | 1 2 328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars New viewers, take it from me this is great!, Dec 3 2002
By 
sben24 "shaolinrenegade" (Wilmington, DE United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
Deciding to take previous reviwers advice, on how good this movie is i bought this movie becuase i just seen Jennifer Connelly in Phenomena, a 1985 Argento film. I was creeped out and amazed on how eerie the movie was. I particualrly enjoyed the score.
Anyway, I started looking into this Dario Argento character and aparently he is a God in Italian cinema. Even though he is not too famous in the states the people who do watch his films love him. Kind of like the Those "Zombie freaks" that love Romero.
This apparently is his definitive masterpiece of a three part trilogy involving withces.(the third is not made yet) The way this guy freaks you out and shoves the violence and suspense down your throat has been unseen before by me and quite frankly i enjoyed it. The score is scary as hell and the lighting will make you wish you stayed sober for the movie. Each death scene has never been done before and beleive me you will want to take your eyes off of it. The last 15 minutes of the movie will make you turn the light back on and lock the all the windows why you sit in your bed in silence trying to ponder what you just watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL....., Dec 1 2002
By 
Mark Norvell (HOUSTON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
I saw "Suspiria" on its' release in 1977 with a group of friends and no one liked it but me. I was just blown away. It's been at the top of my list for years. I've since owned various incarnations of it ever since it appeared on tape. There's never been a good print of it until Anchor Bay got a hold of it. I now own the 3-disc set on DVD and couldn't be happier with it. The film is intoxicating from start to finish. Jessica Harper was the ideal choice for the American ballet student who dances her way right into a witches' coven in a German dance academy. Joan Bennett and Alida Valli are solid ice as the acadamys' overseers. What Argento can do with colors, sets and atmosphere are phenomenally on display here. The Goblin score is almost unbearably intense. Schoolgirls take on a menacing aura as the newcomer (Harper) struggles to fit in and establish some sort of independence much to Bennetts' and Vallis' chagrin. Harper is curious as to the teachers' nightly activities and when her also suspicious roommate disappears, she sets out to uncover the truth. The rain of maggots on the girls from the rotting food in the attic is still an unsettling sequence. But the murder set pieces are the real chillers. These are some of the most elaborate, garish and grisly deaths Argento has orchestrated in any of his films. The climax when Harper discovers the ancient witch Helena Marcos' resting place only to have her rise and summon the corpse of Harpers' roommate is one of the most terrifying sequences Argento has ever done. When Harper stabs the witch in the neck all Hell breaks loose and the walls literally come tumbling down in flames. With "Deep Red", this is my favorite of Argentos' films. The interviews with Harper and others on the Anniversary disc are really entertaining and informative. And the entire Goblin soundtrack is on another disc as well. A fantastic package and collectors' item. "Suspiria" ranks as one of the best horror films ever made by anyone. Simply a modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative Italian horror masterpiece, Nov. 21 2002
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
This film from Italian director Dario Argento, a brilliantly vibrant, Neo-Expressionist horror fable, stylishly tells the tale of an American student studying in a strange ballet school overseas. Suzy travels to Germany to begin her study of ballet, but upon arrival she is only met with a series of absurd events. First an expelled girl from the school is murdered, and the blind piano player is killed by his own watch dog, and even maggots drop from the ceiling! Suzy's friend is suspicious and says the school is run by a coven of witches, and try's to escape but is killed. After visiting a psychiatrist who studies the occult, she decides to find out once and for all the truth of the school.
This film is creepy in its story, visuals, music, and direction. Sharp red, blue and black colors fill the screen, giving this film an almost surreal feel. The direction is amazing, very stylish, and captures the murders and other scenes in very intelligent scary shots. This is what horror is about, and is a must see for any fan of horror. I love the strange visuals of this film, the spooky music by Goblin, the colorful and baroque sets, and the horrifying scenes of the deaths, that are done in such a brilliant and creepy way, make this film feel more than a B-movie. For fans of horror, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dance, baby, dance..., Oct. 20 2002
By 
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
A mysterious ballet academy. Two ambiguous ladies. A Snowwhite prototype. Killer dogs. Hands coming out from the dark. Throat-cutting razors. Black magic seances. And the direction of Dario Argento. What better could one expect? Answer: Anchor Bay Entertainment's work!
Presented in a new film transfer supervised by Argento and cinematographer Luciano Tovoli, SUSPIRIA is offered in a wonderful 3-disc package. Disc 1 shows the movie in a widescreen presentation (2.35.1) enhanced for 16x9 TVs and in Dolby Sorround 2.0 for the Frenc and Italian Soundtrack. The English Soundtrack is presented in Dolby Digital Sorround EX and in 6.1 DTS-ES! A sight for sore ears!!!! Extra features present different theatrical trailers, TV spots, radio spots, the original Daemonia music video, poster and still gallery and the usual talent bios. Disc 2 shows an unprecedently released interview named SUSPIRIA: 25TH ANNIVERSARY, an all-new 52-minute documentary featuring director and co-writer Dario Argento, co-writer Daria Nicolodi, cinematographer Luciano Tovoli, Goblin, stars Jessica Harper, Stefania Casini and Udo Kier (appearing also in a funny easter-egg: find a clue related to Argento's first movie in the menu and click on it!) Disc 3 is the original Soundtrack Cd performed by the Goblin. The package presents also a 32-page booklet on the story of the movie, with a lot of pics, and 10 great lobby cards. What are you waiting for? The witches are back....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dario Argento�s Most Recognized Work, Aug. 30 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Suspiria (Widescreen) (DVD)
Suspiria definitely grew on me since I didn't like it after the first viewing. After a second and third time though, I came around because I realized just how influential this film must have been. You can watch movies like Suspiria and Phantasm and think about all the other movies that were influenced by these early genre films. I went into Suspiria thinking the actors would be speaking Italian with English subtext. Much to my surprise, everyone speaks English, or badly-dubbed English. I also thought they would show the killer but then I realized this movie is like Argento's other films where all you see of the killer is an arm and a black glove. In the giallo style, nobody knows who the identity of the person is until later in the story. Sure, the movie has its share of bad acting and dialogue, but what can you do. In my opinion, it's certainly much better than some of Argento's other movies like Phenomena.
I picked up this DVD after reading the rave reviews all over the internet. AMAZING! This is some of the best restoration I've ever seen, the picture is sharp and the colors are very intense. The sound is remastered, but also limited to the fidelity of the original recording. This gives the movie somewhat of a tinny hollow sound, but the good part is that it makes use of the surrounds for the score and for the loud rainstorm at the beginning. Hearing the creepy Goblin score in all channels really makes this movie even more effective. I would recommend this movie as a rental first to see if you like it. If you do, then this DVD is a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Caps and Heels and Hair ........, Aug. 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
There's just something about this movie that causes you to focus:-
[a] On the footwear - especially Jessica Harper's towering and totterting moments in the rain at the Airport; and
[b] Alida Valli's 'sensible clogs' - they rival the Lotte Lenya mules in 'From Russia with Love'.
[c] NOW about the hair - was the Oldman "Dracula" inspired by Valli's hair???
Then there's the pristine dental work - - - one has to behold that too!
However, this little GEM of a Thriller [Slasher? What Exactly Is it? It IS one of the best examples of a Collector's Series, all one ever wished to know about "Suspiria" is here!] It probably went on to inspire the look of "Diva", "TiTus", "Miami Vice" {?} AND was probably inspired by "Vertigo" - so similar in visual concept .... a subtle homage?
It's a noisy, atmospheric and almost irritating little [?] work and still is very, very effective after 25 years? Oh yes, and will continue to amaze and somewhat confuse everybody.
Color choices are superior - especially the day-glo blood, and nothing quite surpasses that original first homicide, except maybe the barbed-wire sequence ...... Very quriky and odd and totally original - just think what director DARIO ARGENTO could do if unleashed in Hollywood!
Miss Harper [rarely seen today - currently in "Minority Report"] is perfect as the innocent abroad, the Great Valli suitably terrorises as the 'assistant' to Joan Bennett's quaint Madame Blanc ..... nasty work afoot along the lines of the original "Fall of the House of Usher" complete with airborne drapes .... make sense? Not really, it's more of a totally visual [and sonic] experience. The dubbing IS dreadful, but somewhat appropriate, as if one has had just that one drink too many and the words seem to be slightly slurred and somewhat unintelligible.
Technically a very superior product - beautifully restored and the sound IS tremendous.
ALSO, quite superbly presented in the snap-case format - No fumbles, and there's absolutely no danger of damaging this collector's item .....
Highly recommended for the serious collector - a prize!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Hype Is As Mystifying As The Movie!, Aug. 6 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
Having seen reviewers that compared Dario Argento to Alfred Hitchcock and Kafka, I rented "Suspiria" and settled down for what I hoped would be a great movie experience. Having watched it twice now, I'm STILL not sure what to think of it!!!
Hmmm...I think that if Dario Argento purposefully wanted to focus more attention on psychological terror, and less on story, I think he should have gone ALL the way with it. It's a stylish, freaky film, but there are STILL boring moments of exposition and plot (I mean, really, who cares about the dance school?!). I thought that the first 10 minutes or so of the movie were fantastic...from the atmospheric shots in the airport, the cab ride in the rain, to the first couple of murders, all accompanied by that insane music...absolutely ground-breaking and great. But then after that, it all slows down. There's the silly dressing-room scene ("people with names that begin with 's' are really snakes"), the dance practice scenes, the getting-to-know-the-staff scenes, etc. Pretty boring.
Either make the plot better, or GO FOR IT, and abandon plot exposition entirely. Go all the way with the surrealism, or learn how to write a better script and story. That's my view.
But I should say that I'm intrigued now, not only by this film, but by all the hype that surrounds Argento, his movies, and even his daughter. Looking at reviews for his other "masterpieces," I see frequent disclaimers about his convoluted and poorly executed plots, but he's still called the "Lovecraft of horror films." I saw his "Phantom of the Opera" and was shocked at how ridiculously HORRIBLE it was. I mean, really pathetic. I haven't seen "Deep Red" or "Inferno" yet, but they've GOT to be better than that!
In the end, "Suspiria" doesn't strike me as a "beautiful" "art" film...it's a supernatural slasher flick! But the music, strange sets, and weird, colored lighting do add up to a strangely satisfying horror experience, far more interesting than any of the "Friday The 13th" sorts of movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great cult film - just don't watch it on a playstation 2, July 17 2002
By 
"mandrakexxx" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
Most of you probably already know whether or not you want to own this flick. So i'm just going to offer a few words of advice: DON'T WATCH IT ON A PLAYSTATION 2!!! About 4 minutes and 10 seconds into chapter 6 the screen will turn green and digitized and remain that way until you either eject the disc or hit "reset." Ironically, the film is psychedelic enough without the inclusion of this odd glitch. I have tried two copies of the disc on the machine and both suffered from the same problem. If you fast forward through the 4 minute 10 second mark in chapter 6 you will be able to bypass the problem, however.
Other than that, this hallucinatory and dreamlike film is quite cool, but definitely not for everyone. Mainstream audiences (don't expect anything resembling "Scream") will probably be put off by glaring displays of illogic and a lack of concrete explanations for everything that transpires in the film. What you can expect is a trippy rollercoaster ride through a colorful funhouse of various shocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Horror Films ever., June 25 2002
This review is from: Suspiria (Widescreen) (DVD)
Dario Argento clearly originates from the Hitchcockian school of suspense. In typical Argento fashion the characters and plot are all but ignored in his effort but it seems difficult to imagine why his films seem of such high quality. There is not a better director with regards to camera angles and lighting that I have ever seen, it is no wonder he writes all of his own screenplays. His films do not need dialogue or deep character development because it simply isn't what he sets out to do. Argento intrigues you and allows you to trust a film and then is willing to completely shift it's direction just to scare you. The plush colors and impossible camera angles that consistently make you wonder how the hell he got up there to get that incredible shot are what make Argento's films great and clearly his own.
Susperia is Argento's masterwork. Albeit, Tenabrae and Inferno are also both done very well, this is one of the greatest horror films ever made and not enough people have seen it. Argento's style is accentuated in this film and he is free to do whatever he wants visually because of the broad script he works with here. The film is like any nightmare you have had that sticks with you for most of the day. I have no question that may be where Argento gets some of his bizarre ideas. The beginning of the film simply shows a girl walking through a thunder shower and the way the scene is filmed and the music is placed makes you realize just how good Argento is at creating suspense in a scene that would normally be filmed with far less attention. Another thing that makes Susperia a great horror movie is the soundtrack, a soundtrack in which I would argue is more frightening than both Halloween and The Omen. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who loves great horror (there are few great films in that genre), although Argento's style is often difficult to appreciate at first to those accustomed to conventional film work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It would be a shame to miss this one !, June 3 2002
This review is from: Suspiria (DVD)
I first discovered "Suspiria" on French TV ; I loved it, and although it was not my Argento's favorite, I decided to purchase this limited-edition (mainly because it included the soundtrack... How splendid...). I made a good choice, because when first watched it, I was stunned : I was discovering a totally new movie ! The transfer is -- let's say the word -- a masterpiece, and the beautiful rendition of the colour effects and camera work are fantastic, almost a miracle ! But most af all, this version is uncensored. I thought French version was complete (which was the case for "Deep red", for instance) ! How naïve ! All the killings were partially cut ; believe me, for those who knew what can now be called "the old version", the end of the first murder is an astounding and perverse surprise ! To conclude, I'd congratulate Anchor Bay for their great work and their respectfull and delicate treatment of that cult movie. The extras are great, and the box set also contains stills... I love stills... Don't miss this one, you could be very sad...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suspiria
Suspiria by Dario Argento (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 101.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews