Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great CD to have hot wild sex to !!
Anytime I'm getting ready for a hot, sweaty session of raunchy good fun in the love shack I pop in this CD!! Crank up "Wild, Sweet and Cool" while you're getting busy and neighbours be damned !! There's gonna be a whole lotta noise !! Does this scene sound familiar to any other TCM music fans out there?
Published on June 28 2007 by brucie boy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that bad
This is Crystal Methods's second album "Tweekend" it took them almost 5 years to come up with a follower to the great "Vegas", unfortunately this isn't as good as their debut. "Tweekend" is not that bad, it got it's moments but only a few great one's compared to what i've expected. It's very noisy too, very rock influented but with a addition...
Published on April 12 2004 by Josephll


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great CD to have hot wild sex to !!, June 28 2007
By 
brucie boy (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tweekend (W/1 Hidden Track) (Audio CD)
Anytime I'm getting ready for a hot, sweaty session of raunchy good fun in the love shack I pop in this CD!! Crank up "Wild, Sweet and Cool" while you're getting busy and neighbours be damned !! There's gonna be a whole lotta noise !! Does this scene sound familiar to any other TCM music fans out there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grew on me, Aug. 24 2004
By 
420chillin (Mississauga, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tweekend (W/1 Hidden Track) (Audio CD)
I must admit, after picking up this CD I felt dissapointed after Vegas. PHD and Name of the Game were the only two songs to really jump out at me. Since rediscovering this album, I've found that it's a great piece of work, which really should never be compared to Vegas, as both carry a fundamentally different sound. Tracks such as PHD, Roll It Up, The Winner, Ready For Action, Blowout, and Tough Guy (Best song BY FAR) are highlights on this recording with only one significant downfall: Track 4, Murder.
Definitely good as an electronica album, or for fans of altered states.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A strong second album., June 15 2004
This review is from: Tweekend (W/1 Hidden Track) (Audio CD)
The Crystal Method's debut album, Vegas, is widely hailed as a classic, and appropriately so. The gritty and hip yet epic CD redefined what the "American techno" sound was, and made quite a name for the Method. Tweekend is their follow-up.
It's no Vegas, but as another reviewer here aptly put, "Did you really want it to be?" Tweekend is all attitude, something the opening track PHD makes sure you're VERY aware of from the get-go. The Method seems to have developed a love affair with the electric guitar and bass during their time since Vegas, and they wail throughout this entire album. Tweekend seems to follow a louder, stronger, harder doctrine, only really slowing down during Over The Line and Ten Miles Back (and even then, just barely). Fans of Vegas need not worry, however. Despite the massive changes to their sound during the first half of the CD, the second half drops into a more "classic" and electronic sounding style akin to Vegas. Never sounds like Vegas, mind you, but it sounds a bit more familiar to those looking for it.
Hip, aggressive and in-your-face, Tweekend is the kind of album that gives neighbors serious headaches. Tracks like The Winner, Roll It Up and Blowout scream to be driven (quickly) to, and would be very at home in a BMW, Audi, or Mitsubishi commercial. Ready For Action and Name Of The Game pump enough adrenaline into your speakers to make you want to start doing push-ups or shadow-box in your living room. Tweekend is Vegas' evil little brother, the one who wants amps that go to 11 on a volume scale of 1 to 10, and the one who has no problem throwing a major big beat party, with or without you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The CD That Doesn't Stop Giving, May 8 2004
This review is from: Tweekend (W/1 Hidden Track) (Audio CD)
This CD is by far my favorite CD to go running to and I really enjoy it. This CD has The Name of The Game, And Murder featuring Scott Weiland of Stone Temple Pilots. Other lesser known songs are Over The Line and Wild Sweet Cool. The whole CD is amazing but those songs truly stand out. This CD is an excellent rainy day CD, it will truly make you feel like you are sitting out in the sun somewhere. This Cd never stops giving, the more you listen to this CD the more it will grow on you and become a permanent part of your stereo. The Crystal Method has truly outdone themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Tweek-END, April 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Tweekend (W/1 Hidden Track) (Audio CD)
This is by far the worst Crystal Method CD of all time.
It is uninspired, unintelligent, and over all an hour of time that you'll want back. In short, it sucks... go buy Vegas or Legion of Boom instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not that bad, April 12 2004
This review is from: Tweekend (W/1 Hidden Track) (Audio CD)
This is Crystal Methods's second album "Tweekend" it took them almost 5 years to come up with a follower to the great "Vegas", unfortunately this isn't as good as their debut. "Tweekend" is not that bad, it got it's moments but only a few great one's compared to what i've expected. It's very noisy too, very rock influented but with a addition of some hip hop flavours too. Tom Morello and Scott Weiland appears on the album which is quite interesting to hear. The songs to check are "PHD" which is a great electro song with robotic voices, "Name of the game" noicy song with scratching and a mix between hip hop and rock, Not one of my favorites but notable. "Ten miles back" heavy drums and a very unique sound. "Over the line" which is slow, the only song. The rest are quite mediocre at best. The album is not bad at all like many say but compared to their last album it's a dissapointment. Still a good album, if you're into electronica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Calling all FREAKS!", Jan. 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Tweekend (W/1 Hidden Track) (Audio CD)
"Tweekend", the long awaited follow-up to the Crystal Method's successful debut "Vegas", failed to capture the same success as it's predecessor, but is still worth a listen. I gave the disc 3 stars, but it's more like 3.5. "Tweekend" features 2 stand out tracks that, in my opionion, are worth the price of admission alone. "PHD", the discs first track, is a raw powerful groove filled journey through what sounds like an electronic wasteland. If there could be such a thing as "heavy" dance music, this is it. "PHD" starts the CD off with a promising bang, but then the disc just falls short to capture the listener's ears again until "Name of the Game" kicks in. Still to this day, "Name of the Game" is the best use of hip hop elements I've ever heard in electronic dance music/techno....period! "Name of the Game" is a massive audio attack on the senses and delivers that powerful wall of sound heard throughout "Vegas" that TCM fans love. However, the rest of the disc feels like the band just used their time, and money, to experiment and try different things (guest vocalists, etc..), but fail to come up with anything memorable that really gets the listener's attention. Is "Tweekend" a miserable CD? No, not at all. It has some powerful moments, but lacks powerful songs. It's the type of CD you'll end up loving 1 or 2 tracks from and dismiss the rest as "filler". For more great techno/electronica in the same hard style as the Crystal Method, I highly recommend mr.deviant's "Techno Obsession". If "Tweekend" fails to satisfy your hunger for agressive, hard dance music, then "Techno Obsession" will deliver the goods!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Come on, (explicit)! You's a Man a Minute Ago!, Jan. 16 2004
By 
TorridlyBoredShopper "T(to the)B(to the)S" ("Daddy Dagon's Daycare" - Proud Sponsor of the Little Tendril Baseball Team, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tweekend (W/1 Hidden Track) (Audio CD)
After successfully showing their international audience how technotronic music and themes from The Dark Crystal could energize dancefloors (and N2O - The Playstation videogame using Vegas as a soundtrack) and move minds, the Method decided to release the much anticipated Tweekend. It took a while to make to get it to me, too, and I found myself waiting eagerly for it to fall into my lap because I knew it would be good. And, quite honestly, I found myself happy with what they had constructed following the success they'd already established themselves as.
Scott Kirkland and Ken Jordon are one of those rare acts that actually seem to understand that star power doesn't mean you have to go with the glitter and the gloss. When Tweekend initially dropped, it came with an award of free passes to meet the duo backstage and I happened across one of those wonderful prizes. So, after a show that comprised almost all of their older hits and most of their newer album, I met the two and they were really a far cry from what one would expect from people producing quality material. Their energy level was there, mind you, and so was the creativity that you can feel flowing through the speakers when you play a little of their album. So, in that sense, it wasn't so unusual for a pair of people enjoying their music and actually giving something to it, too. What was interesting was that they seemed like people that enjoyed making music and that poured themselves into that tinderbox, taking all that time to actually make something and make it right. It wasn't about being seen but rather being heard. And I liked that about them.
For anyone that's never listened to the band, they have a way with beats that makes a person want to shed your boring pace. Coupling sounds that filter through the body and that incubate somewhere in the "makes you want to move" section of the mind, they throw in build and body, bulking up songs with the power of lyrics that sometimes explore and sometimes trip to the sounds that pump you up. They understand how to do that with skills they honed on Vegas, taking an already toutable product and making it better to levels I find had to express. In some songs that meant layering the beat a little more, and in other songs that meant laying down claims that seem to want to stand up and bash someone's face in. Its like they took an idea and they layered it with attitude, making some songs actually make you feel the energy that states, "come on (explicit), you's a man just a minute ago" (as taken from Tough Guy) and "(explicit) true caliber pimp status (PHD)."
I'm not sure I'd classify one section of this album as better than another section of it, but I would go as far as to say that were certain portions of this album that spoke to me more soundly than others. Were I to want to beat someone down, for instance, I might turn to PHD or Tough Guy before doing so because they make these oganic particals feel like they are empowered. I also think that Name of the Game was a great choice to drop off the album, and that Ten Miles Back made me want filtered through me like an electronically synthesized drug. Regardless, however, there's a minute for ever mood and the whole of the flow is a contagion. For those reasons and because these sounds are some of the best ways to spend even the most exploratory of Tweekends, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different than Vegas but just as good, Nov. 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tweekend (W/1 Hidden Track) (Audio CD)
At first listen, this CD doesn't draw you in like Vegas does. However, "Name Of the Game" is by far their greatest song to date and is a blueprint for the rest of "Tweekend". The songs are more energentic, and pack a punch where material on "Vegas" is more subdued. "PHD", "Wild Sweet Cool" and "Name Of The Game" rock as hard as any music out there. The rest of the disc pulls you in gradually and honestly gets better with every listen, which is one of the great qualities of a Crystal Method disc.
The two discs complement each other and if you buy one you really should buy the other for the total Crystal Method experience - skip the remix CD. Don't forget to save your money for the new release in January of 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near the quality of Vegas, Oct. 26 2003
By 
kc-scout "Diverse Music Fan" (Kansas City, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tweekend (W/1 Hidden Track) (Audio CD)
I wanted this CD to be Vegas II, but it isn't. Every group wants to grow and they did. Just more towards techno and less towards what made them great. So they'll just blend into mediocrity. Check out Vegas and More. Amazing how good they were when they were poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafeb5d20)

This product

Tweekend (W/1 Hidden Track)
Tweekend (W/1 Hidden Track) by Crystal Method (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews