Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful tribute to the best band ever.
Yo, record companies, artists, marketers, take note - THIS is the way to make a box set. In four CDs you get literally EVERYTHING that Joy Division ever recorded - you get both studio albums, first of all, but it doesn't stop there. You also get the posthumous album Still, the outtakes compilation Substance, the bootlegged debut Warsaw, a whole CD of previously unreleased...
Published on Nov. 16 2001 by Angry Mofo

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Insanely brilliant music, but the presentation is flawed...
I have nothing new to say that has already been said about the content of this box set, so I'll cut to the point. I don't know how the original 1997 version of this set was packaged, but the 2001 edition is done very poorly. The digipak is very thin which makes it succeptible to dents and is marred very easily. If you are like me, shelling out (dollar amount) for poor...
Published on Nov. 14 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful tribute to the best band ever., Nov. 16 2001
This review is from: Heart and Soul (Audio CD)
Yo, record companies, artists, marketers, take note - THIS is the way to make a box set. In four CDs you get literally EVERYTHING that Joy Division ever recorded - you get both studio albums, first of all, but it doesn't stop there. You also get the posthumous album Still, the outtakes compilation Substance, the bootlegged debut Warsaw, a whole CD of previously unreleased live material, and more.
In short, this contains everything for everyone - mega-completist Joy Division fans, more normal people, EVERYONE. Album tracks, B-sides, rarities, bootlegs, live material, the whole lot. You want the famous "She's Lost Control," "Shadowplay," "Love Will Tear Us Apart" or "Isolation"? Can do. You want the not-famous "Komakino"? "Dead Souls"? "Atmosphere"? Sure. What, you want to hear them perform "Disorder," "Colony" and "Atrocity Exhibition"? No problem. Are you after the rare instrumental "Incubation"? It's got 'em all. (The only thing it's missing are the few bonus tracks from the Warsaw bootleg - but let's be honest here, "Gutz" is not such a huge loss.) And that's not even mentioning the absolutely awesome booklet of photos, lyrics, and essays. The thing is put together with LOVE (as opposed, to say, the Pink Floyd box set, a pure cash-in). Messieurs Sumner, Hook, Morris (and Madame Curtis) - excellent, excellent work. This is a beautiful tribute to the unquestionably best and most absolutely unreservedly wonderful band in the whole wide world, a band insane enough to make songs that had NO chance of climbing the pop charts, to release singles that didn't appear on studio albums, to make the most minimalist and yet most resonant drum and bass hooks ever, to write the most beautiful, sad and achingly poetic lyrics in the history of music, to deliver them with so much force it's scary, and to live and die by them. There are still people to whom Joy Division means the world. It's just that resonant.
And if that doesn't convince you, this set contains two absolutely priceless treasures - EXTREMELY rare, previously unreleased cuts of Ian Curtis' two ultimate compositions, "Ceremony" and "In a Lonely Place." The quality is far from perfect, and one of them isn't even present in its entirety, but these are the ONLY existing studio versions of these songs that have Ian Curtis on vocals. "Ceremony" is pretty great, but it pales in comparison to "In a Lonely Place" - truly the saddest and most heart-wrenching song Ian ever wrote. If "The Eternal" was a vision of his own funeral, "In a Lonely Place" is a message from beyond the grave, an absolutely incredible, painful stunner of a song delivered in a voice that sounds like it's already left the earth. Two minutes and twenty five seconds in, the recording stops abruptly, as does the third disc of the set, leaving only the silence of Ian Curtis' suicide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joy Division Could Have Been Recorded Next Year, Jan. 8 2004
By 
This review is from: Heart and Soul (Audio CD)
It strikes me how ahead of their time this band was. A mostly guitar band who's production sensibilities forshadowed some of what "electronica" has done over the past twenty years..or a least in the progressive margins. Not so surprising when you know that the surviving members of this band made many great dance classics and were big supporters of dance music life. Whether any of us would have seen Ian Curtis boping around at a rave party in ' 91 if he had lived that long is another perplexing Joy Division question. Certainly none of this sounds like the Junior Vasquez mix of New Order's "Regret" that came out ten years ago now. But you do get Joy Division, and more perspective on history, human organizations and their flaws and human frailty in general than I am sure going to get from my state college education. I just watched a Dead Kennedys live tape that was buried in my collection made the same time as Joy Division was doing their work. Ian Curits in his take on the horrors of humanity and what we seem capable of doing to each other as well as the vast sorrows that this creates...does lack the sarcasm and more straight forward "**** you!" that Jello Biafra had while they both were intellects. Additonally, punk purists may not have had patience for their evolution into studio processing, synthsizers and very early drum machines. Some may find a band's or an artists' evolution very exciting and downright inspiring. This is music for people that make music. Again, that shows how close to the "punk" spirit they really were. They make YOU want to form a band. But..one warning..my box set was not made very well..and the cardboard fell apart. I just have the CD's in a disc folder ...a disappointment considering how packaging and quality were always New Order, Factory and Joy Division mainstays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As close as we're likely to get, Sept. 23 2001
This review is from: Heart and Soul (Audio CD)
Yes, there was definitely too much of a lag between the European release and the US release of this one -- so much so that I myself had to take advantage of the fact that I was living in Spain to get my hands on this one a couple of years ago. Even still, after all this time I'm still somewhat at a loss for words to describe "Heart and Soul," so that's a good sign.
One thing that I can say is that everything about this box set is just beautiful, from the packaging to the lyrics to the songs themselves. The cost may be a bit off-putting right now, but it's probably the most thorough anthology that's likely to come around, so it's well worth it. You get all the tracks from "Unknown Pleasures," "Closer" and "Substance" (though not "Still") -- plus some assorted live and demo versions that had been previously unreleased.
The albums and the compilation are standards, of course. Some of the demos are pretty much hit-or-miss, and I've heard that the sound mixes and even the playing itself at Joy Division concerts were often pretty bad. But even with the diminished sound quality, the live tracks here (particularly the ones from The Factory in Hulme -- roughly the first half of disc 4) have this rollicking, transcendental power that makes current bands like Nickelback, Staind and Fuel, not to mention the pretense behind most of the genre of "emo," seem like adolescent journal entries put to bland rock arrangements in comparison. And there are a few songs toward the end (the live "Autosuggestion" and particularly "Ceremony" and "In a Lonely Place" -- the latter two from the last recording session before Ian Curtis's suicide) where you can really hear how close he was to the final breakdown. Personally, I haven't been able to listen to these few songs since Madrid.
Then there's a booklet containing all the lyrics, listings of releases and recording sessions and even books, a couple of stream-of-consciousness articles on what Joy Division were all about and a more straightforward, strictly journalistic account from "Mojo" (courtesy of good ol' Jon Savage, one of the compilers). The photos are pretty eye-catching, too -- particularly the vidcaps.
Sure, some stuff got left on the cutting-room floor (the typo-ridden liner notes acknowledge this). Sure, you may never hear their version of "Louie Louie." And, sure, the songs and the lyrics and the packaging all whisper that eternal "What if. . . ?" When you're talking about a band like Joy Division (and especially a man like Ian Curtis), there will always necessarily be more questions than answers. At the very least, "Heart and Soul" tips the ratio a bit more in our favor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth fasting for a week to buy, Aug. 29 2001
This review is from: Heart and Soul (Audio CD)
Oh, dear, poor America. Has it taken them this long to receive the box set? Oh, the cruelty. Mind you, everyone's probably imported it.
This takes me back. I remember being in Florida surrounded by sun, sea, and pneumatic women, and all I could think about was getting back home to hear 'Unknown Pleasures'. Perverse? Absolutely, but when that velvety dark treacle washes over you....Mmmmmm. For ages I thought he was singing "where will we live?" and "there's no room for the weeds". I thought it was a song about housing problems in Manchester. And "the way to Rome". What was he doing in Rome, about to be thrown to the lions? There's a lyric book now to set you straight, although there are annoying printing errors. You used to get a lot of that from Factory Records, their now defunct label, which once released a New Order live video with wrong track listings. Curtis lyrics stand up on there own as poetry and it's a testament to the guy that I can still quote so much of 'Closer' off the bat while I've forgotten Bowie's, or whatever. He was a genius at the opening line which pulls you into a song. "This is the hour where the mysteries emerge..." There, he's got you. It's not easy just to write about emotions in an abstract way and he was the master. Some lyrics like "the blood of Christ on their skins" are a bit of a cringe but you can put that down to youth. Also I don't think he'd lived enough to claim he'd "Walked through water, run through fire", but what the hell.
The music? Well, the first thing I ever heard of theirs was 'Atmosphere' over the radio and i thought it was awful, mainly because of the dodgy vocals. I still think so, but I'm glad I persevered, with qualifications. 'Unknown Pleasures' borrows a lot from the Velvets. 'Closer' sounds a bit progressive rock (which all musicians end up doing, come what may) with hippy lyrics about journeying to the sun, but let's not carp. It's Genius. The only thing missing is their 'Warsaw' bootleg version of 'No Love Lost', which was classic. This is a fantastic release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth the money, IF . .. ., April 10 2009
This review is from: Heart and Soul (Audio CD)
Alright you have to understand that I am obsessed with the band so this does not apply to me as I have all three albums in those recent collectors editions and this box set but IF you are not that insane over them and just like them a lot I would only suggest buying this if you dont have Closer or Unknown Pleasures the price may be a little steep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE meaning of Heart and Soul..., Sept. 10 2004
By 
This review is from: Heart & Soul (Audio CD)
I had more than a passing knowledge of Joy Division when I decided to purchase this box set, and from the time I bought it, untill the time I put the cds into my stero, I was nervous it would be a waste of money. I was VERY quickly realizing that those fears were silly at best...This collection is astounding. With songs like Atmosphere, The Eternal, New Dawn Fades, and Atrocity Exhibition, you get a real sense of what thoughts and emotions drove Ian Curtis to be one of the most haunting vocalists on record. In Atrocity Exhibit, the lyrics paint the picture of himself, and make it quite apparent why he would eventually kill himself. Joy Division's music is Ian Curtis's Heart and Soul, he put everything he was into his lyrics, and in the end that is his legacy. This collection is a must for anyone who loves music, or who loves poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fix This Box, July 10 2004
By 
Daniel Cronin "D Cronin" (Grand Blanc, Mi. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heart and Soul (Audio CD)
I would never think about giving this set anything but 5 stars. I have nothing to add to the reviews of this set. It is perfect. I just want to encourage the industry to package their material better than they do. When I shell out $60 for a box set, I would love it if the book didn't fall apart, or if the cd trays would stay glued to the box.
Word of advise-don't count on the industry to fix this. Buy yourself a hot glue gun (their inexpensive) and you can fix the trays as thy fall off. I used it on this one and the echo and the bunnymen box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The past has become the future., May 26 2004
This review is from: Heart and Soul (Audio CD)
First of all, I have reviewed several items and this is only the second time I have granted one with 5 stars (the other being The Wipers box-set) so don't confuse me with the kind of people who give an album five stars if they like the way a singer phrases some of the words on the fifth track. I only give the best 5 stars. This means, obviously, that this is the best. On disc one, you have Disorder, a song which takes the listener straight to Manchester at night time with all the shining lights being viewed from a passing car. I've yet to meet someone who doesn't see those things when they hear that song. Insight, Candidate, Wilderness...it goes on & on. Interzone doesn't sound great on this disc compared to the version on disc three. The highlights, in my opinion, are New Dawn Fades, Day Of The Lords and Excercise One. One is shocked when they hear The Only Mistake or Something Must Break because you wonder how these songs were not included on any of the bands LP's. Disc two contains the most touching music I have ever heard. The Closer material is exceptionnaly astonishing. Sound Of Music is a very good rarity. Isolation is a song that nobody in this world could possibly dislike. Colony = adrenaline. A Means To An End is possibly my favourite JD song. Heart & Soul is one of Curtis' best pieces of poetry. Twenty Four Hours is another frantic slice of brilliance. Then come The Eternal and Decades - no words could describe, no actions determine. Love Will Tear Us Apart + These Days are just...unexplainable. Then comes disc three : absolute enjoyment. Lot's of intriuging stuff. The Drawback is great. These Days and Interzone sound better than ever. Transmission sounds a bit dull and flat but yet doesn't fail to arouse interest. It closes with Ceremony and In A Lonely Place, two songs that you will not care about the bad quality if you listen to the beautiful melodies. Curtis must have been aware of his fates coming, because Ceremony couldn't be more poignant. Disc four is unexplainable. Joy Division were a live band. No doubt about it. Just when Dead Souls sounds as if it's about to break, Curtis comes in and powers it straight ahead. Every song is breathtaking live. The only flaws are towards the end from the later concerts : Peter Hook has gone terribly wrong during Heart & Soul (what is he playing?) and Isolation sounds a bit lifeless although is still very listenable. This is more than just music. It's a whole way of life. There are hundreds of people out there waiting to hear this music and be taken away by it's stunning power and, whether you like it or not, as Curtis did, they will live and die for the unexplainable beauty that he sings about in the last verse of Isolation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Punk/Post Punk/New Wave Band, Dec 29 2003
This review is from: Heart and Soul (Audio CD)
Of all the bands to come out of the punk era and its aftermath, I would view Joy Division as the best and, possibly, the most influential. From the perspective of uniqueness, nobody sounds quite like Ian Curtis, whose voice is characterized by a largely monotone self-expression of his longing and despair, or Peter Hook who, with his haunting and propulsive yet melodic sound, is the best bass player of the past 25 years for my money.
As another reviewer has touched upon, I would approach listening to this music as a cathartic act to be taken in small doses. It cannot be denied that much that lies within these discs is depressing to varying extents. However, there is also a sense of poetic beauty in songs like "Atmosphere," "Heart and Soul," and "Love Will Tear Us Apart."
Unlike their contemporaries, Joy Division also infused a degree of intellectualism and deconstructionism into their music, thanks to Curtis's literary sense and the band's production sensibilities. Deciphering the lyrics on some songs conjures up abstract paintings, emotional trauma, and metaphors of infamous historical events. This box set aptly encapsulates the enigma that is Joy Division, a rock band for the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost the only JD you need, Dec 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Heart and Soul (Audio CD)
As the back of this boxset says, "With few exceptions, everything Joy Division recorded and released is contained here". The only other recording I can recommend in addition to this would be the live Amsterdam recording. Passover, Day of the Lords, and New Dawn Fades all sound much different and more majestic done live than the studio recordings. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heart and Soul
Heart and Soul by Joy Division (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews