Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I recommend that film to all who like historical films. It makes you realize all the work and all the troubles that those pioneers had to go true.
Published 1 month ago by Jean-Pierre Bélisle

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars How can I review it when I didnt get it?
I still haven't received my order. What is the problem and where is it? how can I review it? Where is it?
Published 22 months ago by Marion Fraser


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, March 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dish (Widescreen) (DVD)
I recommend that film to all who like historical films. It makes you realize all the work and all the troubles that those pioneers had to go true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best movies ever!, Feb. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dish (Widescreen) (DVD)
great price, good condition and a wonderful
family movie of a great event! I never knew
how Australia was part of the 1st moon walk!
good music and great acting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars How can I review it when I didnt get it?, May 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dish (Widescreen) (DVD)
I still haven't received my order. What is the problem and where is it? how can I review it? Where is it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you love "Freddy Got Fingered" and "The Waterboy"..., Feb. 8 2002
By 
Pat Kelly (Here, There & Everywhere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dish (Widescreen) (DVD)
...then, hooo-boy did you pick the wrong movie.
This is a quiet, charming little character piece with no sex, no explosion, and real people doing real things.
For anyone born after 1962, it will be a revelation of how important the world thought it was to land on the moon. A history lesson, of a time out of memory or before you were born.
For those born earlier, this movie fulfills a dual function. It is a delightfully funny movie with dozens of interesting offbeat characters, and an intelligent plot. It is also the only film I've ever seen that accurately captures the often miserable broadcast quality of the moon landings. Most documentaries and films use footage that the astronauts themselves took on either film or better quality video. The actual broadcast we baby boomers saw live was a shadowy, grainy, nearly indecipherable mess.
Filmed on location on the 200-ft wide dish where the events took place, this movie scores big on the little touches: the security guard who is convinced that's Neil Armstrong on his walkie-talkie, the rather unusual selection for the American National Anthem, the cadet hopelessly infatuated with the mayor's rebel daughter, the father who has to keep asking his 8-year old son about the technical details of the moon launch. (Anyone who lived through the time knows how spot on that situation was.) The music choices, ranging from the Australian classic "The Real Thing" by Russel Morris to "Good Morning Starshine" by Oliver, are accurate for the era and appropriate.
Give yourself about 10 minutes into the film to get adjusted to the sometimes thick Australian accents, and you be pleasantly rewarded for your investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cute movie in the vein of waking Ed Devine, Sept. 9 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Dish (Widescreen) (DVD)
The back storyline is of the use of the huge receiving antenna (dish) in Parkes, in New South Wales, Australia to pick up the transmission from the first astronauts on the moon. This is supposed to be a real story but it is as real as Donald Duck is.

This is really about people finding out about their selves and others through the trials and tribulations of making ancient technology work under adverse conditions. The story is told as one big flashback through Cliff Buxton's (Sam Neill) eyes. We see a loves lost and found story, a young lovers that are tongue tied story, a you are not so bad for a snot story, and may more stories of interaction.

Actually, the long shots that are of the real location and nearby are quite beautiful. In addition, who ever picked the background music to match the time of the story made some great choices.

Reilly - Ace of Spies ~ Sam Neill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Dish Delivers!, April 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dish (Widescreen) (DVD)
With typical subtle Australian humor, The Dish is the true story of one of the elements of Apollo 11 moon landing. The year is 1969, and the music reflects this time period perfectly. The Dish refers to an enormous radio telescope in Australia, in the middle of a sheep paddock. This particular radio telescope was the only facility that was able to receive transmission from the Apollo mission on the moon. Through a series of mishaps, the crew of this particular instillation managed to overcome enormous odds to transmit live feed from the moon. This film never gained the popularity it enjoyed in it's native Australia, which is a real pity since it is just delightful. If you would like to experience a slice of history that changed the world in a positive direction, please get your hands on this film! I guarantee you will be pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feel good cinema at its finest, Feb. 25 2004
This review is from: The Dish (Widescreen) (DVD)
As a history buff (specifically the history of the Apollo Age of NASA), I thought i knew all there was to know about the moon landing. This movie proved me wrong. It is not the life-and-death drama of Apollo 13, which was released just a few years before The Dish, but the filmmakers and the actors do a fine job in making the audience realize that the moonwalk was not just an American venture--it was a venture of all humankind.
There is just enough humor in the movie to make it a pure pleasure to watch, and Sam Neill and Patrick Warburton are excellent, as are the rest of the actors. A definite must for anyone who wants to know more about Apollo 11 or just enjoys a good drama-comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Feel Good Movie, Feb. 1 2004
By 
OverTheMoon (overthemoonreview@hotmail.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dish (Widescreen) (DVD)
Apart from the fact that everyone working on "The Dish" should have be fired for their mistakes, they did at least get it right in the end. What am I talking about? Well if you have not seen The Dish then it is about time that you did. Basically the plot goes like this - A Dish in the outback of Oz is supposed to help NASA keep an eye on the Apollo mission when Apollo rounds their side of the Earth. Cue lots of little things like wrong equations because Oz is upside down, or is it Houston that is upside down?, and you got yourself a thriller.
Its a simple story but a good story and a really feel good one when all is said and done. I loved this little film and so will you. Well worth renting and certainly DVD ownership is not a bad thing at all. Very nostalgic and certainly the sentimentality is well earned.
Great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Science and Love Chose to Be Daring, Sept. 25 2003
By 
C Esparza "PharOueste" (San Francisco, left of Albuquerque) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dish (Widescreen) (DVD)
The Dish can hold its own as a nice film about AustraliaÕs role in making the world look more like a village by telling the story of its villageÕs decision to build a huge radio dish in its sheep paddock. The larger historical plot tries to be thrilling but is a little anticlimactic. The movie lives up to our attention with stories of the shy & kamikaze young lovers, sarcastic friends & loved ones, wide-eyed kids (of all ages) savoring history, a wife lost and even and officious security guard thinking he is talking to Neil Armstrong. One of my favorite lines in The Dish comes when the mayor comments admiringly and questioningly to and about the enthusiastic uniformed young man seeking his daughterÕs affection. The other line is the response the security guard gets when, during a pivotal blackout, he demands, ÒWho goes there?Ó Patrick Warburton and Sam Neill do a nice job and surprise us with their performances of gentle nerds compared to sexier characters they have played in the past. This is a popcorn movie. You could consider watching it with The Right Stuff (which features Australia in a beautiful, almost mythic scenario), Local Hero, or My Brilliant Career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars American grandeur tamed by small-town Aussie charm, Sept. 14 2003
By 
Govindan Nair (Vienna, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dish (Widescreen) (DVD)
The title refers to a satellite dish located in the small rural Australian town of Parkes which suddenly finds itself thrust into a piece of monumental space history. NASA has tasked the small Aussie team responsible for the dish with transmitting some of the early signals from Apollo 11 as it places the first two men to set foot on the lunar surface. Despite near fatal glitches and other mishaps, the small Aussie team does not fail to deliver the hometown its moment of glory. Nor does the movie fail to charm despite its lack of either heavy drama or boisterous comedy. It is only a subtle movie of this kind that manages to bring to the fore the cultural differences between the Yankies and Aussies who otherwise seem to share so much in common. Strongly reminescent of The Coca Cola Kid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa99c23a8)

This product

The Dish (Widescreen)
The Dish (Widescreen) by Rob Sitch (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 76.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews