Customer Reviews


460 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (78)
2 star:
 (82)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars bonne musique
super musique pour un repas en tête à tête.
La livraison a été rapide et bon prix, je vous le recommande
Published 19 months ago by denis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but where is Joao?
An interesting middle of the road attempt at Bossa Nova, without quite connecting. But S'Wonderful is -- although credit should be given to Joao Gilberto's Amoroso 1977 album where S'Wonderful and Besame Mucho originated. Not a coincidence that Claus and Tommy were arranger and co-producer on Amoroso. Try the original and see how much Miss Krall admires Mr Gilberto.
Published on May 22 2004 by William Britton


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars bonne musique, Dec 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
super musique pour un repas en tête à tête.
La livraison a été rapide et bon prix, je vous le recommande
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars insant classic, July 15 2004
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
this is an instant classic people!
i heard all her clips at [...] and bought the cd immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good bad day music, July 12 2004
By 
John H (Kansas City, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
If you haven't heard Diana Krall, you're missingout. She is a true jazz talent. I recommend The Look of Love highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have always HATED Jazz but...., May 25 2004
By 
Gerald Oleson (Bangor, Maine United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
I have always hated jazz. I much prefer classical music as well at the real rocknroll...I believe that rocknroll died the day Elvis went into the army. The other night I was channel hopping and ended up on the CBC looking at this attractive blonde singing Cry Me A River......turned out to be Diana Krall...Live in Paris.....
I was mezmerized.......the piano playing, the mellow mood....and to top it off Krall's exquisite diction....One can understand every word....Remember Simon and Garfunkel's mouthing and mumbling of word in Bridge Over Troubled Waters??? None of that here.....clear, precise, perfection...............G
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but where is Joao?, May 22 2004
By 
William Britton (San Gabriel, Ca. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
An interesting middle of the road attempt at Bossa Nova, without quite connecting. But S'Wonderful is -- although credit should be given to Joao Gilberto's Amoroso 1977 album where S'Wonderful and Besame Mucho originated. Not a coincidence that Claus and Tommy were arranger and co-producer on Amoroso. Try the original and see how much Miss Krall admires Mr Gilberto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a rebuttal to the feminist cranks..., May 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
You will notice some bad reviews of this album sprinkled among the glowing ones; because on this album the artist does not overlook the obvious but instead puts it to use, Diana Krall opens herself up to attack for being a sexy woman. Yes, she is good looking. Yes, she has great legs. Yes, she's wearing heels. What of it? She looks good, and all of it is icing on the cake - the music is wonderful.
The sad part of all of this is that if the photography that accompanies the album had featured Krall in sweats and Birkenstocks, these same bitter cranks would be singing the album's praises. Instead, she looks good, so they say the music is bad. That is rather pathetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have to disagree, April 20 2004
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
with what others have to say about this spectacular cd. Krall's voice is simply amazing, soothing, and relaxing. Forget Norah Jones, but this is what relaxing music is. Cry Me A River is as filled with so much emotion as one can ever imagine, after all, its my favourite track on the cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars BLUE JAZZ FROM THE KRALL (3 AND A HALF STARS), April 8 2004
By 
Torik (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
I would have given this cd 3 and a half stars.This is a very good song. Although some of the songs are long and do drag sometimes (BESAME MUCHO) many of them are excellent. The stand out songs are I REMEMBER YOU (the best in the album) and THE LOOK OF LOVE. This CD is good value although their could of been some room for improvment. If you do not like smooth jazz or slow music do not buy this CD! If u are a jazz fan or even a classical fan be sure you do buy this CD. Great vocal and orchestral arrangments make this CD even better. All in all this is a great CD for any smooth jazz fan or classical fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfectly Beautiful and Romantic CD, April 8 2004
By 
classicmoviefan (Rancho Mirage, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
I think it may be a bit of a shame this album is in the "jazz" catagory, for although Diana Krall may be a "jazz artist", on this miraculous CD she simply a singer of standards.... she has style, but (thank God), she sings these songs without destroying or molesting the lyric or melody that so many artists are prone to do today. THE SONGS are the stars on this album, not the "stylings" of a "diva"... how refreshing that is! These songs are not for those with limited attention spans who must have a driving beat and an occasional yelp or cry from the vocalist... these songs are for those who know how to listen and hear truly great orchestrations from veterans like Claus Ogerman (who orchestrated the most mellow of all Frank Sinatra's albums "Francis Albert Sinatra and Antonio Carlos Jobim" in the 1960s).. and this album is a tribute to that very sound. This album is lush, romantic, beautifully crafted and sensuous.. it is for a night of romance and for decompression from the traffic and noise of everyday life. I hope Ms. Krall will give us more albums like this masterpiece. TOP musicians, superbly crafted arrangements and a clear and clean vocalist who respects lyric, melody and emotion make this clearly a 5 star masterwork in every respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Her peak only score once?, Feb. 15 2004
By 
welek (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
An anxiously awaited release following her hugely successful Grammys winning album WHEN I LOOK IN YOUR EYES, this fully titled and themed romantic collection (albeit boasted with the support of a rich London orchestra team) lacks the former's vibrant variations of tunes and it appears more like a complimentary package for both industry and the fans thereafter.
Though 'S WONDERFUL will remain the most sultry fore track after all listenings, with CRY ME A RIVER and I GET ALONG WITHOUT YOU VERY WELL both serve up well deep emotional vocal approach, which is something unique of the sonorous Canadian jazz pianist/songstress.
However songs like BESAME MUCHO and the title track THE LOOK OF LOVE are apparently letting down, completely not creative but rather sort of a cliché sampling in popular jazz business. Worst, the latter made me skip past the torturing MAYBE YOU'LL BE THERE at the end in most of my listenings. In delight the lusciously moody DANCING IN THE DARK does earn some credits, the extended beats arrangement would actually replay in my remote mind afterwards.
I'm quickly looking forward to better years in Diana Krall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Look Of Love
Look Of Love by Diana Krall (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews