Customer Reviews


460 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (78)
2 star:
 (82)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars bonne musique
super musique pour un repas en tête à tête.
La livraison a été rapide et bon prix, je vous le recommande
Published 15 months ago by denis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but where is Joao?
An interesting middle of the road attempt at Bossa Nova, without quite connecting. But S'Wonderful is -- although credit should be given to Joao Gilberto's Amoroso 1977 album where S'Wonderful and Besame Mucho originated. Not a coincidence that Claus and Tommy were arranger and co-producer on Amoroso. Try the original and see how much Miss Krall admires Mr Gilberto.
Published on May 22 2004 by William Britton


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars bonne musique, Dec 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
super musique pour un repas en tête à tête.
La livraison a été rapide et bon prix, je vous le recommande
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Bestseller . . .'S Wonderful, 'S Marvelous!, May 13 2005
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
After the success of 1999 Platinum-Selling album, "When I Look In Your Eyes," Tommy LiPuma came up with another bestseller, "The Look Of Love." It has an excellent repertoire of wonderful and infinite songs by famous composers from Gershwin, Carmichael, Mercer, to Bacharach. This album won the "Best Engineered Album" in the 2002 Grammy Awards.

Diana Krall's sophisticated and elegant singing style as well as Claus Ogerman's superb orchestral arrangement brings out the very best of the 10 songs in this album. These songs have been interpreted countless times but Diana's interpretations made them musical treasures of a lifetime. Every song is a gem from the first track, "'S Wonderful" to the last track, "Maybe You'll Be There." My personal choices are the very charming "The Look of Love," a Bacharach/David composition and the title track, Gershwin Brothers' "'S Wonderful," Hamilton's "Cry Me A River" and Mercer's "I Remember You."

There's no doubt that Diana Krall is the reigning Queen of Jazz. It would be great if she will include in her repertoire such lovely songs as "Taking A Chance On Love," "How Long Has This Been Going On," "La Vie En Rose, "The More I See You," "Night And Day," "Just In Time," "My Romance," "Lullaby of Birdland," "Till The End Of Time" (based on Chopin's Polonaise No. 6) and "Full Moon And Empty Arms"(based on Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 2), to suggest a few. I'm sure she will do more than justice to these all-time favorites with her great voice and exceptional piano skills.

Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars insant classic, July 15 2004
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
this is an instant classic people!
i heard all her clips at [...] and bought the cd immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good bad day music, July 12 2004
By 
John H (Kansas City, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
If you haven't heard Diana Krall, you're missingout. She is a true jazz talent. I recommend The Look of Love highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have always HATED Jazz but...., May 25 2004
By 
Gerald Oleson (Bangor, Maine United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
I have always hated jazz. I much prefer classical music as well at the real rocknroll...I believe that rocknroll died the day Elvis went into the army. The other night I was channel hopping and ended up on the CBC looking at this attractive blonde singing Cry Me A River......turned out to be Diana Krall...Live in Paris.....
I was mezmerized.......the piano playing, the mellow mood....and to top it off Krall's exquisite diction....One can understand every word....Remember Simon and Garfunkel's mouthing and mumbling of word in Bridge Over Troubled Waters??? None of that here.....clear, precise, perfection...............G
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but where is Joao?, May 22 2004
By 
William Britton (San Gabriel, Ca. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
An interesting middle of the road attempt at Bossa Nova, without quite connecting. But S'Wonderful is -- although credit should be given to Joao Gilberto's Amoroso 1977 album where S'Wonderful and Besame Mucho originated. Not a coincidence that Claus and Tommy were arranger and co-producer on Amoroso. Try the original and see how much Miss Krall admires Mr Gilberto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a rebuttal to the feminist cranks..., May 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
You will notice some bad reviews of this album sprinkled among the glowing ones; because on this album the artist does not overlook the obvious but instead puts it to use, Diana Krall opens herself up to attack for being a sexy woman. Yes, she is good looking. Yes, she has great legs. Yes, she's wearing heels. What of it? She looks good, and all of it is icing on the cake - the music is wonderful.
The sad part of all of this is that if the photography that accompanies the album had featured Krall in sweats and Birkenstocks, these same bitter cranks would be singing the album's praises. Instead, she looks good, so they say the music is bad. That is rather pathetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have to disagree, April 20 2004
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
with what others have to say about this spectacular cd. Krall's voice is simply amazing, soothing, and relaxing. Forget Norah Jones, but this is what relaxing music is. Cry Me A River is as filled with so much emotion as one can ever imagine, after all, its my favourite track on the cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars BLUE JAZZ FROM THE KRALL (3 AND A HALF STARS), April 8 2004
By 
Torik (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
I would have given this cd 3 and a half stars.This is a very good song. Although some of the songs are long and do drag sometimes (BESAME MUCHO) many of them are excellent. The stand out songs are I REMEMBER YOU (the best in the album) and THE LOOK OF LOVE. This CD is good value although their could of been some room for improvment. If you do not like smooth jazz or slow music do not buy this CD! If u are a jazz fan or even a classical fan be sure you do buy this CD. Great vocal and orchestral arrangments make this CD even better. All in all this is a great CD for any smooth jazz fan or classical fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfectly Beautiful and Romantic CD, April 8 2004
By 
classicmoviefan (Rancho Mirage, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
I think it may be a bit of a shame this album is in the "jazz" catagory, for although Diana Krall may be a "jazz artist", on this miraculous CD she simply a singer of standards.... she has style, but (thank God), she sings these songs without destroying or molesting the lyric or melody that so many artists are prone to do today. THE SONGS are the stars on this album, not the "stylings" of a "diva"... how refreshing that is! These songs are not for those with limited attention spans who must have a driving beat and an occasional yelp or cry from the vocalist... these songs are for those who know how to listen and hear truly great orchestrations from veterans like Claus Ogerman (who orchestrated the most mellow of all Frank Sinatra's albums "Francis Albert Sinatra and Antonio Carlos Jobim" in the 1960s).. and this album is a tribute to that very sound. This album is lush, romantic, beautifully crafted and sensuous.. it is for a night of romance and for decompression from the traffic and noise of everyday life. I hope Ms. Krall will give us more albums like this masterpiece. TOP musicians, superbly crafted arrangements and a clear and clean vocalist who respects lyric, melody and emotion make this clearly a 5 star masterwork in every respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb7844ed0)

This product

Look Of Love
Look Of Love by Diana Krall (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews