Customer Reviews


460 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (78)
2 star:
 (82)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfectly Beautiful and Romantic CD
I think it may be a bit of a shame this album is in the "jazz" catagory, for although Diana Krall may be a "jazz artist", on this miraculous CD she simply a singer of standards.... she has style, but (thank God), she sings these songs without destroying or molesting the lyric or melody that so many artists are prone to do today. THE SONGS are the stars...
Published on April 8 2004 by classicmoviefan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Her peak only score once?
An anxiously awaited release following her hugely successful Grammys winning album WHEN I LOOK IN YOUR EYES, this fully titled and themed romantic collection (albeit boasted with the support of a rich London orchestra team) lacks the former's vibrant variations of tunes and it appears more like a complimentary package for both industry and the fans thereafter.
Though...
Published on Feb. 15 2004 by welek


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfectly Beautiful and Romantic CD, April 8 2004
By 
classicmoviefan (Rancho Mirage, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
I think it may be a bit of a shame this album is in the "jazz" catagory, for although Diana Krall may be a "jazz artist", on this miraculous CD she simply a singer of standards.... she has style, but (thank God), she sings these songs without destroying or molesting the lyric or melody that so many artists are prone to do today. THE SONGS are the stars on this album, not the "stylings" of a "diva"... how refreshing that is! These songs are not for those with limited attention spans who must have a driving beat and an occasional yelp or cry from the vocalist... these songs are for those who know how to listen and hear truly great orchestrations from veterans like Claus Ogerman (who orchestrated the most mellow of all Frank Sinatra's albums "Francis Albert Sinatra and Antonio Carlos Jobim" in the 1960s).. and this album is a tribute to that very sound. This album is lush, romantic, beautifully crafted and sensuous.. it is for a night of romance and for decompression from the traffic and noise of everyday life. I hope Ms. Krall will give us more albums like this masterpiece. TOP musicians, superbly crafted arrangements and a clear and clean vocalist who respects lyric, melody and emotion make this clearly a 5 star masterwork in every respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Her peak only score once?, Feb. 15 2004
By 
welek (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
An anxiously awaited release following her hugely successful Grammys winning album WHEN I LOOK IN YOUR EYES, this fully titled and themed romantic collection (albeit boasted with the support of a rich London orchestra team) lacks the former's vibrant variations of tunes and it appears more like a complimentary package for both industry and the fans thereafter.
Though 'S WONDERFUL will remain the most sultry fore track after all listenings, with CRY ME A RIVER and I GET ALONG WITHOUT YOU VERY WELL both serve up well deep emotional vocal approach, which is something unique of the sonorous Canadian jazz pianist/songstress.
However songs like BESAME MUCHO and the title track THE LOOK OF LOVE are apparently letting down, completely not creative but rather sort of a cliché sampling in popular jazz business. Worst, the latter made me skip past the torturing MAYBE YOU'LL BE THERE at the end in most of my listenings. In delight the lusciously moody DANCING IN THE DARK does earn some credits, the extended beats arrangement would actually replay in my remote mind afterwards.
I'm quickly looking forward to better years in Diana Krall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music That Touch You, Feb. 1 2004
By 
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
True jazz lovers argue that Krall only has reached such a high popularity, as she indeed has, thanks to a shrewd marketing. That argument could be used just as effectively on singers like Norah Jones. As for Krall, she has a soft and sexy voice that appeals to many mainstream listeners who aren't concerned so much about jazz and how she plays the piano.
The marketing people behind Diana Krall's music is of course tempted to polish and popularize the music as much as possible. As is seen at once when looking on the cover of _The Look Of Love_, this is what they have done. The album begins with S'Wonderful played with bossa nova rhytms and a laid back vocal. The whole album is actually very much inspired by bossa nova, which provides a romantic atmosphere - again suiting Krall's looks and voice and the many listeners.
On Krall's first albums, _Stepping Out_, _Only Trust Your Heart_, and _All For You_, the romantic atmosphere is somewhat missing. The marketing wasn't so much aware of her commercial oppertunities that they regulated her own sound. The albums as a result sound more raw, resulting in more piano from Krall and more jazz-like compositions and atmosphere. What i miss, though, when hearing her earlier work, is exactly what _The Look Of Love_ has to offer: the richness of the sound, the polished sound quality, the not so jazz-like songs etc. The intro on I Get Along Without You Very Well for instance, is beautiful and heartbreaking. So is all other songs on the album. I understand people's objections to Krall's music, but at the same time I feel that the music is gripping, moving, meaningful and whatever words there is to express good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing in Surround, Jan. 26 2004
By 
Jay L. Rudko (Pembroke Pines, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
It's hard not to be totally engrossed (no, not grossed out) when Diana's smooth voice tackles on the standards with a charm and style that have to be experienced to be appreciated. The technical quality is more than up to the challenge of these fine songs and Diana's treatment of them. The album opens with one of the best renditions of "S'Wonderful" I've ever heard. "I Remember You" was superb, as is the title track. Made me want to write "Love Letters" to her. Stunning! I used the DVD-Audio disc for this review. If you haven't experienced what this format can do for music, run-don't walk- to your nearest stereo shop and have a listen. If you have a DVD player, you can listen in Dolby Digital. The sound, although not up to the true DVD-Audio quality, is still amazing. Al Schmitt did a truly outstanding job on the surround mix. The stereo version, in high resolution 24-bit, 96kHz digital, is also quite wonderful, but it's the surround version that makes you feel like you're in a small, smoky jazz club. You must hear this in surround!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Luscious music, lush sound, a mood that melts you away, Sept. 28 2003
By 
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
After the first listen to this album, I was a goner. It was on a romantic weekend with my wife, and the luxury hotel we stayed at had put the disc in the room, a wise choice for both their business and the guest's contentment. The fluid, sensual flow of Diana's croon sweeps you up, gently massages away thoughts of the hard world of concrete and clocks, melts your anxieties and woes, and lulls you on its gentle, swaying stream of steamy, lush vocal waters into a soft and sultry place in your heart. One classic song after another is made fresh, each one so delicious that at the end you're thinking, "More, I want more." The only possible complaint about this disc is that is finally does come to an end. After the last smooth, lazy note has stopped vibrating in your mind, your next thought is "I hope she has more albums." Luckily, there are some -- and I made sure I got them too. This album is a charmer, a favorite, a "can't-possibly-go-wrong" musical purchase, an enduring pleasure, and a classic in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diana continues with a successful formula, April 20 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
Following the success of her two previous albums, Love scenes and When I look in your eyes, Diana recorded another album in similar style. It doesn't quite make the same impact, but that may be due to raised expectations because this is still a high quality album.
Diana has once again selected songs from the Great American Songbook to fill the album, though this time she also has included a sixties song, The look of love, which was a hit for Dusty Springfield, and a fifties song, Cry me a river, which was a hit for Julie London.
S'wonderful was originally a top five American hit in 1928 for the long-forgotten Frank Crumit. Love letters was a hit for its writer, Dick Haymes, in 1946, but only really became popular when Ketty Lester covered it in the sixties and had a huge international hit with it. Elvis Presley and Alison Moyet have also had huge hits with their covers. I remember you is another 1940's song that waited for the sixties to gain popularity, this time via a Frank Ifield cover.
Diana sings these songs as well as anybody, and also plays piano on all tracks. However, all tracks feature either the London symphony orchestra or the Los Angeles session orchestra, so Diana does not get the chance to show just what she can do with a piano.
This is a wonderful album that confirms Diana as the leading jazz lady in the world today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid & Slickly Done, March 27 2003
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
Krall is close to defining the mood of late night cool. She's become extremely popular over the last few years... largely in part due to THIS album. It is slick and well produced; perhaps a bit over-produced. This album is not about a singer and her piano, and 3 bandmates backing her up. This album is about rich textures and many helping hands. If you ask me, there are too many orchestra and string arrangements in the background taking away from Krall's wonderful piano playing... as well as the rest of the band (McBride on bass, Erskine on drums, and Malone on guitar). My favorite releases from Krall are still "Love Scenes" and "All For You". Her "Live In Paris" release is excellent too. This disc is very good and it can easily grow on most 30-somethings or 40-somethings looking for something other than rock or country to please their ears. It's immediately likable. It's silky smooth, fresh & ready-to-go, party perfect jazz. LOOK OF LOVE gets a high score due to it having a few of my favorite tunes redone beautifully by Krall & Co... "S'Wonderful", "Cry Me A River", "The Look Of Love" and "The Night We Called It A Day".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good musician, but mediocre singer, Jan. 13 2003
By 
Susan Fong (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
I do think that Diana Krall is a talented musician. She has good taste in her musical selections. However, she is NOT a very good singer. Her voice is weak. Her diction is poor, and her phrasing is often sloppy and unimaginative.
I would consider the following women great singers: Lena Horne, Aretha Franklin, Ella Fitzgerald, Doris Day, Judy Garland, Rosemary Clooney, Julie Andrews, and Barbra Streisand. These are artists whose voices are multi-octave. These gifted performers have the ability to exhibit power or subtlety consistently and appropriately. Their technical skills are immaculate (with the exception of Judy Garland in her later years when her substance abuse caused her to slur her words). These magnificent singers bring exceptional clarity, sophistication and originality to their interpretations of classic American pop songs. They can infuse the music with profound emotion.
Diana Krall's vocals are superficial and pedestrian in comparison. The quality of her voice is tenuous and inconsistent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Unsung Hero in Diana Krall's "The Look of Love", Jan. 7 2003
By 
Barbara J. Major "bjbear71" (Upper Darby, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
I've read a lot of reviews on this CD and absolutely no one has bothered to acknowledge the obvious: a popular singer needs to surround themselves with great arrangers. After all, that's what Sinatra did. Unlike other comments I've read on this particular album, I'm here to state that the bulk of this album has Diana Krall not performing with a small group, but instead in a lush setting with a full string orchestra which delivers some sexy and sultry bossa nova arrangements. These arrangements could have only been written by the master of such arrangements, Claus Ogerman. Just listen to those extended endings on "Love Letters" and "Dancing in the Dark" if you want to hear arranging and musicality at its finest.
There have been critics who have panned the arrangements of "S'Wonderful" and "Besame Mucho" as not new because Claus also used them (to great success) on Joao Gilberto's "Amoroso" album in 1977. Still, Diana has put her own mark on these songs even though they are the same orchestral arrangements Claus did several decades ago. They are absolutely timeless, so nothing about either track sounds dated.
There simply isn't much not to like on this album if you are 1) a fan of Diana Krall; 2) a fan of bossa nova; 3) a fan of fine musical standards and 4) a fan of Claus Ogerman.
Diana did a very smart thing in wanting to work with Claus and have him do the arrangements for this album. It's to her credit and thanks to her excellent judgment, she may have just introduced a whole new audience and even a couple of generations to the talents of Mr. Ogerman.
--bj
January 2003
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Jazz Singer, Nov. 13 2002
By 
Bluejay Way (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look Of Love (Audio CD)
I have to speak up. This is not my favorite Diana Krall album, and - with all due respect to Bruce Weber - I'm a little put off by the photographic overkill in this CD package. But, big deal - so someone had a funky idea about how she should be marketed - it's been done since the earth cooled - and it makes her no less an artist.
As for Diana Krall's musical talent, I don't see how it can be questioned. She has a style, and she interprets music within that style. Her melodic and lyrical sensitivity is amazing, her rhythmic sense is impeccable, AND she's doing all this while plunking out some very tasty stuff on the keys...
Jazz is every bit as much about the silence between the notes as it is about the notes. If Diana Krall isn't the singer you want her to be, music fan, then listen to Sinatra sustain his notes (which he does very nicely) and get off her case.
Right now, I'd rather gear down and listen to an artist giving me consistently lush, complex and textured interpretations of great music. This album gives me that in spades - "S'Wonderful", "I Remember You" and "Dancing in the Dark" are particularly delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Look Of Love
Look Of Love by Diana Krall (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews