Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game
Shipping was fast, packaged neatly, game in perfect condition just as described. My favourite of the Devil May Cry games, I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to purchase it.
Published 12 days ago by Sophia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good game bad camera!!!
i really liked this game... i had alot of fun but the abrupt camera angles made some of the boss battles much more frustrating than they had to be... it's worthy of all the praise graphic wise... and for the most part it's pretty fun... when your lining up your target and suddenly the camera angle changes and theres a pillar in the way... i understand this is a really...
Published on July 15 2004


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game, April 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil May Cry (Video Game)
Shipping was fast, packaged neatly, game in perfect condition just as described. My favourite of the Devil May Cry games, I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to purchase it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, March 11 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Devil May Cry (Video Game)
Few games have the graphics or game play that Devil May Cry has! This game was very unique in its style. Dante became a house hold name! This is an incredible game for action, adventure and feeling like a HERO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new genre of its own, Sept. 13 2005
By 
Ryan G (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil May Cry (Video Game)
I give this game 5 star because it created a new style of game. Survival action gothic horror fighting game. It's totally original and groundbreaking in a lot of areas. The graphics are great a little grainy but very solid. The visual style however is unlike anything I have seen. Its dark and evil and F*%$ cool. The controls are almost flawless. Camera angles are a little strange @ first, but u get used to them quickly. The combat is totally badass the first time I have seen swords, shotguns, and magic mixed together. That's not all the sound design is amazing some of the best music and sound ever in a video game. Freaking badass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good game bad camera!!!, July 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Devil May Cry (Video Game)
i really liked this game... i had alot of fun but the abrupt camera angles made some of the boss battles much more frustrating than they had to be... it's worthy of all the praise graphic wise... and for the most part it's pretty fun... when your lining up your target and suddenly the camera angle changes and theres a pillar in the way... i understand this is a really challenging problem for 3-d game designers but you would think by now someone would get it right! i can't finish it... it gives me a headache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fluid Gameplay... Weak Ending..., July 9 2004
This review is from: Devil May Cry (Video Game)
When I purchased this game I was hoping for a great Resident Evil Like game. After all this game was by the creators of Resident Evil. The Introduction cut scene was awesome and so is a few cutscenes. The whole greatness of the game is how fluid the gameplay is. You just feel awesome playing as the Badass Half Demon half human Dante. He has awesome moves, awesome weapons, awesome techniques! What more can you ask in gameplay where you can Jump like gravity barely affects you, fight like as if superman cant even beat you. The graphics are amazing but not incredibly amazing as other Capcom titles. Now what is the downside you say?! First off there is way too many enemies that keep coming back. Secondly the bosses later on are incredibly (well not impossible) and your best chances are to waste your red orbs on holy water, and devil stars. Lastly the gameplay is so short and the ending sucks as hell! I mean common when somebody dies let them die! Plus what kind of name change is Devil Never Cry?! That sounds retarded... Overall I'll give this A- or even a B+. Go buy the game now since it's cheap! I really want to play the second game but after all teh bad reviews about the storyline...well lets say if the storyline here sux then I'm scared!! Oh well enough said! Gameplay rox, Ending scene sux!
Game play: HIgh
Controls: medium
Cutscenes: Medium (Ending scene drops it down)
Bosses: low
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The new capcom poster boy!, July 8 2004
By 
ooocarl06 (placentia, california United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil May Cry (Video Game)
from the makers of the Resident Evil series comes Devil May Cry. Very few video game heros can so poeticly pull off there moves like Dante does. with the use of both a sword AND two guns, you and Dante travel through a haunted castle obliterating everything in your way. This game excels in making you feel like you are Dante. You feel like you can take down any obsticale, and over all you just feel cool!
This game's controls are some of the best that i have ever seen. You move fluidly, chop effectively, and juggle enemies to death. The two weapon combo really helps to amp up your combo strings, for example using the sword to slash the enemy into the air, then filling him with a barrage of bullets until they die.The game also has quite a nice way of leveling you up. Through collection os red souls, you can pay to level up Dante's move arsenal. Everything from a power slash to a double jump can be yours, for a price of course!
As for the storyline, it is worthy of a movie. You really feel like your accomplishing something when you run around the castle for the cause. Very few video games can pull you around like this one does, it can make you feel sad, angry, it can make you laugh, but over all it makes you feel cool!
inc onclusion, this is a must own game for anyone who has ever liked action. The controls are spot on, the storyline is amazing, and you have never felt cooler playing a videogame, BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary game, July 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Devil May Cry (Video Game)
First of all I think this game is completly kick ass. Phantom, Virgil, Griffon, Nightmare, and Mundus are all very awsome. I love this game because it is very kick-ass and so is Dante. One of my favorite moments in the game is the first Nelo Angelo battle including the movie at the beggining and end of the fight. So, play Devil May Cry, and feel free to kick alot of ass. Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best damn games I've played for PS2, July 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Devil May Cry (Video Game)
First of all I think this game is completly kick ass. Phantom, Virgil, Griffon, Nightmare, and Mundus are all very awsome. I love this game because it is very kick-ass and so is Dante. One of my favorite moments in the game is the first Nelo Angelo battle including the movie at the beggining and end of the fight. So, play Devil May Cry, and feel free to kick alot of ass. Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Top 3 Games of All Time, June 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Devil May Cry (Video Game)
In my first review for Devil May Cry, I praised nearly every single detail about the fast paced, kick ass action adventure from the numerous challenging monsters, to the best leading man to ever grace the cover of a video game, Dante. Replaying the original over the years does not change my views on this spectacular game, but instead enhances it. Other than Metal Gear Solid 2, Devil May Cry is the best game ever created for the PS2. The main reason for this, as I said before, is the main character Dante. The son of Sparda and self employed demon slayer is the epitomy of cool. You see this guy coming at you, you turn the other way, it's really as simple as that. Although the game is short, playing on many levels of difficulty will enable you to showcase your numerous combo moves and new equipment you picked up throughout the game. Enemies are plentiful, and there are just enough weapons to hold you over. Devil May Cry is the definition of superb video gameing, and is a must for any PS2 owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DMC ROCKS MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, June 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Devil May Cry (Video Game)
this game rocks i lov it the sound is real cool you get heaka cool wpons such as aloster(electic sord)and you get to play as a kick @$$ dude his name is dante. if you want a starer devil may cry get the second one becuse thats a easer vesion then get this 1 . oh yea my name is dmctrigger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5daead4)

This product

Devil May Cry
Devil May Cry by CAPCOM U.S.A. INC. (PlayStation2)
CDN$ 39.99 CDN$ 11.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews