Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The new capcom poster boy!
from the makers of the Resident Evil series comes Devil May Cry. Very few video game heros can so poeticly pull off there moves like Dante does. with the use of both a sword AND two guns, you and Dante travel through a haunted castle obliterating everything in your way. This game excels in making you feel like you are Dante. You feel like you can take down any obsticale,...
Published on July 8 2004 by ooocarl06

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Satanic fun for everyone!
Devil may cry, at first glance, will blow your mind with its beautifull graphics. But dont be fooled. Gameplay IS addictive, but the games subtle charms wear off pretty damn fast. The worst part about it is how it tries so hard to be resident evil, but just doesnt cut it. And what is SUPPOSED to ne a horrer title, is anything BUT horrifying. But, in order to give justice...
Published on June 19 2002 by ps2reviewboy


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fluid Gameplay... Weak Ending..., July 9 2004
This review is from: Devil May Cry - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
When I purchased this game I was hoping for a great Resident Evil Like game. After all this game was by the creators of Resident Evil. The Introduction cut scene was awesome and so is a few cutscenes. The whole greatness of the game is how fluid the gameplay is. You just feel awesome playing as the Badass Half Demon half human Dante. He has awesome moves, awesome weapons, awesome techniques! What more can you ask in gameplay where you can Jump like gravity barely affects you, fight like as if superman cant even beat you. The graphics are amazing but not incredibly amazing as other Capcom titles. Now what is the downside you say?! First off there is way too many enemies that keep coming back. Secondly the bosses later on are incredibly (well not impossible) and your best chances are to waste your red orbs on holy water, and devil stars. Lastly the gameplay is so short and the ending sucks as hell! I mean common when somebody dies let them die! Plus what kind of name change is Devil Never Cry?! That sounds retarded... Overall I'll give this A- or even a B+. Go buy the game now since it's cheap! I really want to play the second game but after all teh bad reviews about the storyline...well lets say if the storyline here sux then I'm scared!! Oh well enough said! Gameplay rox, Ending scene sux!
Game play: HIgh
Controls: medium
Cutscenes: Medium (Ending scene drops it down)
Bosses: low
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The new capcom poster boy!, July 8 2004
By 
ooocarl06 (placentia, california United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil May Cry - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
from the makers of the Resident Evil series comes Devil May Cry. Very few video game heros can so poeticly pull off there moves like Dante does. with the use of both a sword AND two guns, you and Dante travel through a haunted castle obliterating everything in your way. This game excels in making you feel like you are Dante. You feel like you can take down any obsticale, and over all you just feel cool!
This game's controls are some of the best that i have ever seen. You move fluidly, chop effectively, and juggle enemies to death. The two weapon combo really helps to amp up your combo strings, for example using the sword to slash the enemy into the air, then filling him with a barrage of bullets until they die.The game also has quite a nice way of leveling you up. Through collection os red souls, you can pay to level up Dante's move arsenal. Everything from a power slash to a double jump can be yours, for a price of course!
As for the storyline, it is worthy of a movie. You really feel like your accomplishing something when you run around the castle for the cause. Very few video games can pull you around like this one does, it can make you feel sad, angry, it can make you laugh, but over all it makes you feel cool!
inc onclusion, this is a must own game for anyone who has ever liked action. The controls are spot on, the storyline is amazing, and you have never felt cooler playing a videogame, BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Top 3 Games of All Time, June 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Devil May Cry - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
In my first review for Devil May Cry, I praised nearly every single detail about the fast paced, kick ass action adventure from the numerous challenging monsters, to the best leading man to ever grace the cover of a video game, Dante. Replaying the original over the years does not change my views on this spectacular game, but instead enhances it. Other than Metal Gear Solid 2, Devil May Cry is the best game ever created for the PS2. The main reason for this, as I said before, is the main character Dante. The son of Sparda and self employed demon slayer is the epitomy of cool. You see this guy coming at you, you turn the other way, it's really as simple as that. Although the game is short, playing on many levels of difficulty will enable you to showcase your numerous combo moves and new equipment you picked up throughout the game. Enemies are plentiful, and there are just enough weapons to hold you over. Devil May Cry is the definition of superb video gameing, and is a must for any PS2 owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Devil May Cry: Action Gaming at its Finest, June 12 2004
By 
Robin Welsh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devil May Cry - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Devil May Cry is one of those games that is a joy to play from beginning to end. It is packed full of intense action, an entertaining storyline and a very cool main character. Dante can best be described as a half man, half demon bad-ass, who wields swords, gauntlets and various projectile weaponry--such as his hand-made handguns, Ebony and Ivory. The game is 23 missions long and includes several secret missions as well.
DMC is very challenging. Every new enemy is harder than the previous one you faced, which keeps the game from becoming a pushover. The bosses are very well designed and can be considered a bit pattern-based. The enemies will keep you on your toes throughout the scope of the entire game. While this sounds daunting, rest assured that you may purchase items such as health, more devil trigger gauges (Dante's demon form) and even a large assortment of new moves to aid you in your battle.
There are almost no problems with Devil May Cry. There are very few minor issues. Camera placement--while usually very good--can hinder the action and prevent you from seeing your enemies. Recovery time from jumps and firing heavier weapons prevents accurate dodging of some attacks. But that's just nit-picking.
There's really no excuse to not own Devil May Cry. It is a brilliant action game with loads of style and amazing gameplay. It is near flawless, extremely entertaining, and perfectly designed. Don't hesitate to pick up a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect action game, May 13 2004
By 
TallNerdGuy (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil May Cry - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Like the title of this review suggests, this game may very well be the greatest action game ever spawned. Other than Halo, not too many games can compare to the sheer perfection of this game. This game may be an older PS2 title, but that doesn't mean anything. This game is a very original idea that isn't like anything else.
I call this game the perfect action game because it has lots of action, but not so much that it takes away from the story. Actually, the action and the cutscenes jump from one to the other with ease. The story is a very original concept and it will get you involved in the game in no time. The main character, Dante, is a bad-ass like no other. He is half-human, half-demon, and yes, he can unleash his inner demon to unleash devastating attacks unto his vicious enemies. Dante can also acquire many weapons in addition to his default-yet-cool twin pistols. Swordplay is smooth and powerful. Dante can clear a room of enemies, and the whole time he is being judged with a "style rating." The environments range from the large and open to the dark and cramped. True, the camera can be a bit troublesome, but a simple backflip can change that. So what if that tree is in the way? A true demon hunter can fight around the tree and slash away at the enemy's health!
So, all-in-all, this game is one that must be seen to be believed. So go out and play it and bask in the glory of Devil May Cry! Oh, and if you want to keep the love for this game alive, you might want to pass up Devil May Cry 2. It's nowhere near as good. Sorry. Let's rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best PS2 Titles to Date, Feb. 12 2004
By 
Kevin Wilson (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devil May Cry - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
DMC is one of the Sony Playstation 2's highest quality games to date... and I'm not even writing this while the game is a new release. Devil May Cry was released by Capcom during a somewhat dry period of video game releases, and while it's still somewhat overlooked, DMC has some of the most solid gameplay of any shooter to date.
The plot isn't terribly thick, and the game has its flaws.. so why is DMC so spectacular? The controls are simple, the characters enjoyable, the soundtrack and graphics spectacular... and above all else, the combat is stylish beyond any other. As of the writing of this review (February 2004) no 3rd person action games can rival the glory that is Dante's style. The sword / gun combination is spectacularly smooth. LoK: Defiance, Max Payne 2 and other third person action / adventure games do a wonderful job, but they can't quite meet the same stylish magnificence that DMC enjoys.
Dante comes across as a very generic hero, but in reality he has a lot more depth than many give him credit for. While's he's always putting forward the façade of a fearless, trash-talking hunter, he is simply confident - though cautious. Whenever Dante is confronted by something bigger or more powerful, he always cautiously checks his surroundings while dispensing a fair amount of wit.
DMC also keeps some elements of the survival horror genre from which it came, while introducing uniquely RPG elements (such as - in a sense, leveling up - increasing your max HP, you maximum duration to perform magical attacks, being able to upgrade your character and buy new moves / attacks) while keeping a stylish flare.
Devil May Cry isn't for everyone, but if you've ever enjoyed any straightforward action game, or anything from Capcom's survival-horror genre... or fantasy, or adventure... give DMC a try. It's a spectacular game, albeit a bit tough at times.
DMC1 is right up there with Metal Gear and the Final Fantasy series in terms of quality entertainment. Give it a shot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now this, is a game, Jan. 7 2004
By 
CastleD (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil May Cry - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
This is a late review but I wanted to comment on how great this game is. If you love tons of kick a$$ action, fighting monsters with cool sword combos, combo style points, and beautiful artistic graphics then you'll love this. At first I found this game very difficult, but once I got comfortable with the control of Dante I began to actually look forward to more enemies. The more the better. The moody, evil atmosphere that permeated the entire game was perfect, and resembled the same moody, evil atmosphere in my apartment when my girlfriend is mad at me for playing Playstation too much. The graphics, are a pleasure to the eyes. I liked the main character Dante and his sarcastic, cynical attitude, especially in the face of boss monsters that barely fit inside your tv set. However, they are no match for the boss monster that is my girlfriend.
After beating this game I tried it on "hard" mode, thinking I was all bad now with my complex combo prowess, but I was in for a rude awakening. It is incredibly difficult and I gave up after a few levels. Still, I enjoyed the challenge and that's where Capcom failed in the sequel. The best part of Devil May Cry was the incredible, but FAIR, challenge. Make it too easy and it's not the same game. (I never went near easy mode and never do on any game, except Return of the King shh).
A few complaints: Many have complained about the camera and I agree for the most part. On the one hand I love a cinematic camera as was used here, much of the time effectively. (For the best use of a cinematic camera see Ico). But on one too many occasions, mainly during boss fights, it seems the cameraman was trained at five towns community college and panned away from the central issue: me fighting a boss monster. It happened so many times, the playstation controller was in serious danger of mysteriously ending up underneath my feet, to be stomped repeatedly into smaller, more fundamental sub-atomic particles.
Also, I wasn't too crazy about Dante's voice. It should've been deeper. Other than that, this is one of the most enjoyable and inventive games I've ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Embarassment, Dec 12 2003
This review is from: Devil May Cry - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I think I've mentioned elsewhere that I'm not much of an action gamer, preferring RPGs instead. I do like to try out games in other genre, and Devil May Cry has certainly been the recipient of much critical (and enthusiast acclaim). With the price being as attractive as it is I decided that this would be my semi-annual dip into the world of compulsive destruction.
The story is straightforward. Girl drives into occult detective's office, stabs him with his own sword, then asks for his help in fighting the underworld. It seems that a BIG evil is planning to take over the earth and has set up shop in a castle on Malay Island. Dante, by the way, is the son of the demon knight who originally defeated this particular BIG evil. So revenge is also on the menu.
What ensues is a mad dash through a gothic nightmare that augments normal castle architecture with jungles, ships, airplanes, outer space, and, of course, hell. [I guess the story wasn't so straightforward after all] All of this is an excuse for some of the most detailed graphics that I have ever seen.
The animation is of such high quality that you can't always tell where a cut scene ends and the action starts again. And, lest I forget, an array of weapons, gadgets, and puzzles that kept me busy from start to finish. Very little was spared in making this a spectacular playing experience.
My only complaints aren't about the game, but my own mediocre skills. While I'm not exactly arthritic, my ability to deftly poke and stroke my controller is substandard. And Devil May Cry is a game that requires both pinpoint accuracy and good timing. Which means that the twelve hours of play that ended with me stumbling into the finale did nothing for my self-esteem. But if you have two thumbs (instead of ten) you will find this a delightful pastime - a must play, should own game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Devil May Cry Review, Dec 7 2003
By 
Maria E. Baquero "Gaming fan" (Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devil May Cry - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
This game kicks! It's a really hard game, so for those of you who aren't good at hard games, I suggest you get a Gameshark,Code Breaker,or Action Replay Max. With or without cheats this game will be awesome. Now, on to the story:
***SPOILER WARNING***
2,000 years ago, a demon was born and took control of Hell. His name was Mundus. Mundus wanted to take over the human world and rule both our world and the Underworld. But, there was a demon knight that awoke to justice and battled Mundus by himself. He defeated Mundus, but couldn't kill him. Instead, he locked him in a magically sealed vault. But beware humankind, the spell that seals the vault only lasts 2,000 years. After Sparda locked Mundus, he went to the human world and married a human woman and fathered 2 half demon half human twins. They were Dante and Vergil. 1 day, Mundus's forces attacked Sparda and his family to get revenge for sealing Mundus. They killed Sparda, his wife, and Vergil(or did they?). Dante escaped, he thought he was the only survivor, but Vergil had survived too. He doesn't know yet. We'll get to that. As the years came closer to the present, Dante became a demon slayer to avenge the death of his family. He forged 2 twin hand guns called Ebony and Ivory. He also got a sword. Now in the present, a demon woman finds Dante and tells him that the spelled cault is soon to be opened and that Mundus will try to take over the human world again.(Of course Dante doesn't know that she's a demon yet)Oh and the woman's name is Trish. They go to Mallet Island, where Mundus's vault is soon gonna open. When they get there, they go in different paths. Dante is the character you will control throughout the game and ONLY Dante. You will find more clues about Dante's past and Vergil's whereabouts as you progress in the game. I can't reveal more about the game. I can't say who Trish really is and what is going on with Vergil.
***SPOILERS OVER***
I hope you enjoy this game and that the ones that aren't good at hard games(like me, lol), get cheat device. Because this game doesn't have cheats, and believe me, it's hard. Oh and there's a movie of this game coming out in 2006. For more info, go to [...] and click on "News" and you'll see some info on the movie. I can't wait till' it comes out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars action,blood & gore,ultimate combate what else can u ask for, Dec 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Devil May Cry - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
i think devil may cry is sooooo awsome! it's kinda hard but my friend and his brother beate it so i know i can. the relistic action is to die for! the characters are pretty awsome 2. they got possesed puppets, devil like grim reapers and many more. the weapons are better than anything! u get unlimited amo on any hand gun which includes shot guns, 2 hand guns gernade launchers whatever! u got a blood rattling sword with like 5000 moves that come with it not to mention the moves u can buy! good story 2. i like it cause it's not simple not impossibly hard ( even though it's the hardest game iv'e got ) it's just right. it's different than resedent evil 1 & 2 & 3 resedent evil is to ordinary DMC is really original. u can jump off walls turn into way kewl demons and kick butt! the blood and gore is under control it's not jsut every were it's just not for kids hints the M on the cover! well rent it and if u like this stuff no doubt youll like it so of course youll buy it. have fun kicking butt!!!!! i know i do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil May Cry - PlayStation 2
Devil May Cry - PlayStation 2 by Capcom U.S.a. Inc. (PlayStation2)
CDN$ 39.99 CDN$ 11.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews