countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
29
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
26
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$11.21+ $3.49 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 7, 2004
Despite the fact that I don't like Iron Maiden or Judas Priest, I love Motorhead. They give a speed and power that isn't heard in any of the other music. Bassist Lemmy has a talent like no other before or after him. The speed of songs like "Ace of Spades" combine gritty rock n roll with punk and thrash to make a completely enjoyable experience. The guitars are a great pressence on this album. The drums fly with a speed and hit with perfect timing that is mindblowing to most drummers. Lemmy's voice gives a bassy and gutter sound comparable with Metallica and other metal bands.
I suggest this album to any metal fan who does not own it. I also suggest it to punks who would like to open their mind to other types of music. It helped me and I listen to metal like a second language. This album is amazing and not many other albums compare.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2005
Wow.....More quality from Motorhead. You haven't heard Rock until you've heard this. How do they do it? Avril isn't punk, she's pop. Ihave to get this for all of my band. Motorhead are up top, along with Led Zeppelin and The Ramones. It's a shame that Motorhead are disbanded....I am a young viewer and happened upon Motorhead by chance. A major point in my life,as all 'head fans will know. The moment my CD player got to The Ace Of Spades i was hooked. I can class myself a fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2004
This is a no-nonsense metal album from a no-nonsense metal band. They just want to make gritty, uncommercial, obnoxious heavy metal that will live through the ages as one of THE metal albums. My favorite song on the album is probably the hard driving title track, or maybe 'Love Me Like A Reptile'. This is one of my favorite heavy metal albums of all time. Take it from me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2002
ok lets just say you where picked to go on that tv show survivor and you could only bring one cd with you what would it be.well for me it would be motorheads ace of spades.this would make me the first person voted off as i would play this cd at max volume just to ... of my tribe mates.this cd is dirty loud and just nasty.the chase is better then the catch,fast and loose,we are the road crew come on what classic heavy metal songs you know that if this band moved next store to you your lawn would die.how could you not love a song called love me like a reptile and of course jailbait this is motorheads best its one of my top ten lps of all time,and yes it is true lemmy is god
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2002
This is a great album. Motorhead was one of the standout groups of the NWOBHM in the late 70's and early 80's. This new wave of metal was the revenge of the young metal bands who had not been given attention because of punk. Lemmy had done time in Hawkwind and was a Hendrix roadie. He put together a power trio and Motorhead was one of the few NWOBHM bands to become a lasting sucess. Iron Maiden and Def Leppard were the only others who became well known. Motorhead played fast, but they are not thrash. They just used an up tempo style. Thrash was however, influenced by NWOBHM as well as punk. Thrash would end up being hardcore punk, with heavy metal guitar playing. This is Motorhead's best known album. It has some classic tunes. If yu want some real dirty metal, put Motorhead in and let fly. Don't expect quality like DIO, Maiden, or Priest, because Motorhead have not commited themselves to playing great or putting together great records. They are just the worlds best bar-band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2003
"Ace Of Spades" must be regarded as a true classic in the line of hard rock. The album was released in 1980, over 20 years ago, and have a blend of heavy metal and punk rock with an obvious rock 'n' roll inspiration. The opening title track is Motorhead's most well known song ever and it points out the direction of what's to follow. At the time this album was released it was probably the heaviest, fastest and loudest you could find, but shortly after we got bands like Venom and Metallica among others, and with hindsight "Ace Of Spades" is a rather melodic effort from the three piece band.
You don't have to be a hard core fan of heavy metal to appreciate this one. In fact this is a record that should be included in any music lover's collection, it can be regarded as a document of the inspiration and development of hard rock as a genre. "Ace Of Spades" is a very important album, and together with "Overkill" it is Motorhead's finest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2015
Ace Of Spades has got to stand out as one classic album in rock history. I'm not a huge fan of heavy metal, but this is beyond that. This is just great hard rock. NOBODY does this kind of stuff better than these guys!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2016
As a dedication to the 2/3 of the original band that has recently been turned into angels (??), it couldn't be more perfect to put on this great reedition of that classic album on the turntable like in the good old days (yes, i'm a first generation fan) and let it rock and roll (like Lemmy said "This ain't metal, this ain't punk, this is rock and roll) Indeed, Mr. Kilmister ; loud, efficient and visceral !

PS. The shipping was as fast as this music, and the product, a delight !

Highly recommended !

Regards, SAM.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2014
Ce disque est une vraie décharge d'énergie! N'acheter pas ce disque si vous chercher des compositions savamment pensées, car vous serez déçus! Achetez-le si vous êtes à la recherche de bon heavy metal vintage à écouter sans réfléchir une seconde. C'est un album ultra reptilien qui va vous chercher aux trippes avec un son très lourd et assez nonchalant. Une très belle découverte pour les gens qui veulent d'une musique simple et extrêmement efficace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2001
If you like hard music, then you must own this album! Motorhead's early stuff is amazing! The drums, bass, and guitar are really incredible, this cd has good enough sound quality to follow all of it. Fast Eddie's guitar just rips, on many of the tracks he just GOES OFF, and you wish they didn't fade the song out because you could just listen to his jams all day. Philthy Animal Taylor's drum work is so damn good, he is the only Motorhead drummer, he is fast, he hits hard, and some of the cymbal work is so intricate (I know, "intricate" to describe Motorhead???--but it is TRUE) And finally Lemmy himself, the core of the band, when he isn't playing speed metal or bone crushing chords on his bass, he is just smoking all over the thing! Kids, put away the new metal, and check out some real metal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.05