Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Substantial entertainment!
Gingersnaps is one of the most original and savvy horror movies of the genre. The story centers around two teenagers, sisters who represent opposites on the spectrum of physical beauty. They aren't interested in boys or the shallow social life of their local high school. Sexual harassment and peer hazing are endured with wry boredom by our heroes. These girls are...
Published on June 28 2006 by Snowbrocade

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Snappy acting
couple of sisters with vivid imagination are misunderstood. One gets bit by a "you know what" and the fun begins. Naturedly this is mistaken for a different type of change in life.

All the elements are there:

Caring (haven't got a clue) parents.

Blond with nasty attitude antagonist.

Drug dealer that does werewolf studies on the...
Published on July 21 2006 by bernie


‹ Previous | 111 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars awesome werewolf movie, May 9 2004
go see this one now if you like your horror movies, with great scares, acting, and effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 10 2014
This review is from: Ginger Snaps (DVD)
I got all tree really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Ginger Snaps" A Howling Good Time, Nov. 12 2008
By 
R. L. Rheubottom "tarryrob" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Ginger Snaps" A Howling Good Time

"Ginger Snaps" takes the old cautionary tale of Little Red Riding and turns it on its furry ear. Instead of Lon Chaney Jr. howling at the moon and chasing poor unsuspecting girls through the woods - enter the Fitzgerald sisters, Ginger and Brigitte (Katharine Isabelle and Emily Perkins) two slightly morbid, teenage sisters entering puberty who are about to experience "the curse," and put a whole new humorous lycanthropic spin on the phrase "that time of month." Ginger has "the bite" put on her by a werewolf while walking through the woods with her sister. She then begins to experience "the change" much to the horror of her younger sister Brigitte. Ginger begins experiencing cramps, ill temper, hair in strange places, and a new found "taste" for boys much to the horror of Brigitte who must hide her sister's secret, clean up the mess, and find a way to help end the terrible curse before Ginger "snaps" again!

"Ginger Snaps" is a horror at it's best. The film benefits greatly by a strong cast, particularly Perkins and Isabelle as the Fitzgerald sisters, Kris Lemche as a dope dealing, knight in shining armor/love interest, and Mimi Rogers - who is a real hoot playing a well meaning but ineffectual "Beaver Cleaver" house mom trying to help her teenage daughters deal with the trials of puberty.

Though Karen Walton and John Fawcett's script was written tongue in cheek - the film has many genuinely horrific moments. There is more than enough blood, gore and entrails here to keep any bonafide horror fan happy. That being said, because this Canadian film production had a tight budget, it relies primarily on acting, atmosphere and suspense building to deliver the scares - probably a plus rather than a minus. Our lycanthrope is seen only in glimpses a la "Alien" until near the end of the film. Thankfully, the makeup and special effects it does employ are innovative and decently done.

Director John Hawcett does a fine job creating a dark chilling atmosphere. He moves the plot at a good pace, deftly interweaving moments of horror and humour. Though the scares come fast and frequent, Fawcett wisely takes the time to give us glimpses into the amusingly macabre life and relationships of the Fitzgerald sisters. Their situation may be fantastic and comic, but the Fitzgeralds, though misfits, are in many ways average teens, dealing with everyday teenage problems (problems with parents, teachers, peers, bullies, boys, etc.) and thus draw empathy from the audience. The gritty dialogue and snapshots of high school life help to underline this realism and contribute to the viewer's willing suspension of disbelief.

The only place where I felt the film didn't quite work was the ending which seemed cliché when compared to the innovativeness of earlier parts of the film. I won't go into any in depth criticism and spoil it for those who haven't seen the film, but suffice it to say that perhaps the reason for this may have been that it was written with a sequel in mind ("Ginger Snaps" ultimately became a trilogy).

As a caution, though definitely not gratuitous, some may feel that the language, gore, nudity and explicit sexuality is over the top.
Though not perfect, "Ginger Snaps" is still the most innovative horrifying piece of lycanthropic lunacy to come down the pike in decades. I highly recommend it to fans of the genre. "Ginger Snaps" is a howling good time!

Rob Rheubottom
Winnipeg, MB Canada
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good romp!, Jan. 5 2008
By 
B. Armitage (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ginger Snaps [Import] (DVD)
A rocking little werewolf flick, lots of blood and fun! Too bad the sequels were so bad...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, Aug. 31 2011
By 
Jorge Bechara (Bs As, Argentina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ginger Snaps (DVD)
Great product! Seller is 100% reliable. Dvd in excellent condition. Packaging 100%. Recommendable. Thanks a lot! Hope doing business again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best horror movies.....ever !!!!!!, Feb. 1 2010
By 
F. Desbiens - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ginger Snaps takes the old myth of the werewolfs and gave it a brand new look. A darkly humorous streak colors this Canadian production (which spawned two sequels) that smartly parallels lycanthropy with puberty. Morbid teenaged sisters Ginger and Brigitte find themselves growing apart after Ginger is bitten by a werewolf and begins to undergo unusual "changes." There's three things that makes this film so special then all the other crap that come out nowadays. First, this movies give a new look to the lycanthropy which makes it very different from all the others werewolf movies, like American Werewolf In London, The Wolfman and The Howling. Now you might be wondering, " How can this movie be any different from all these other films that you just mentioned ". Well, let me explain. In any other Werewolf movies, when someone is bitten, or scratched by a werewolf, the transformation is often associated with the appearance of the full moon. Well, in this film (and the sequels), they gradually become one as days goes by. The second major aspect in this film are the strong performance by Emily Perkins and Katharine Isabelle as the two sisters, and the chemistry they have is just stunning. At one point, you could actually believe that they are sisters. If Twilight is only for girls, well Ginger Snaps is for both. And if your afraid that there's is maybe not enough blood or gore in this movie, don't worry there's plenty in the last twenty minutes. The third and final thing that make this movie outstanding is the ending, i won't spoil it, but i will say, that it's breathtaking and very poetic. I've been a horror movie fan my entire life, and it's been a while since i've seen such a great horror film like this one. A Canadian film was needed to show in Hollywood how to make a horror movie.

Rating: Two very big thumbs up !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Sept. 2 2009
By 
elfdart - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
i delayed wathing ginger snaps for years because of the dvd cover. it gave me the impression of some really cheesy 90's b movie and i didnt want to waste the time. but. a friend strongly recommended that i watch it, and thank god i did. this is one of the best paranormal movies i've seen.

the story is about two sisters and one night walking home, the elder, ginger, gets bitten by a 'dog'. slowly the bitten sister begins to change, in a social sense as well as a physical sense. she begins taking an interest in a boy she and her sister previously looked down upon, she distances herself from her sister, brigitte, with whom she shared a very close bond before the bite, and she even experiments with drugs. in addition to this her hair begins to change colour and she grows more of it all over her body. she even grows a tail. brigitte becomes concerned and looks into many possibilities, one of which is that her older sister was bitten by and is now changing into a werewolf. she then goes about trying to find a cure, while having to deal with ginger, who is getting cravings for blood and is changing into something that is less and less like the sister she was once so close with.

what mkaes this movie different than a lot of other paranoral horrors is that there is a really stong femenine voice present in both of the sisters. other than buffy, women play the wilting heroine in horrors, and in alot of other genres as well. not so in this movie. ginger has a very powerful personality throughout the whole movie. even before the change, she'd stick up for brigitte when she got picked on and would talk back to people who would speak against either her or her sister. after the change she exuded an even more pronounced air of self- confidence. she doesn't show doubt. brigitte on the other hand at first seems very timid and meek, which she might be, brigitte displays an inner strength that ginger lacks. she resists the temptation of power, which she would get if ginger bit her and she turned into a werewolf. she seems like a follower at the beginning, but she's just loyal.

something else that makes this movie interesting is that it's an allegory of puberty for girls. after ginger gets bitten, she also gets her period for the first time. then when she is reacting weird to being bitten by a werewolf, adults just assume she's acting so abnormal because 'its that time of the month' instead of seeing it for what it is. it's a great social commentary on how society tends to deal with women as something foreign and potentially scary, especially around menstruation. the funny thing was that it was women voicing these views. the mom just fluffs off ginger's moody behaviour as 'growing up', and the school nurse does the same thing when ginger tells her about her symptoms. all of the ginger snaps movies have some sort of feminist theme if you look for it, but this one is the most blatent and deals most directly with how as a society we choose to perceive women as foreign, evil, and abnormal.

even without the allergical reference this was an awesome movie. it was fast-paced and suspenseful. on my top five list for paranormal movies of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entre soeurs, April 3 2012
je trouve ce film vraiment génial de sa version french traduit pour le Quebec Qui se nomme Entre soeurs. Un histoire qui se tien du début à la fin, un film facile à écouter et à regarder des million de fois, j'adore ce film de loup garou je le recommande au personnne qui aime les film dans ce concept je le trouve simplement MERVEILLEUX!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ginger Snaps [Import]
Ginger Snaps [Import] by John Fawcett (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 51.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews