Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this track
I was pleasantly surprised that this was still in circulation. This movie has the BEST soundtrack and is worth every penny. It's actually more like their own band, rather than a mash up of 'hits' at the time the movie came out. Very happy with this purchase and works great.
Published 5 months ago by Gavin Phinney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Agree with a previous post
The soundtrack to Rock Star is very good and reminds me of going to high school in the 80's; however, I think the Steel Dragon tunes should have been recorded with a live, raw feel instead of the super-slick studio polish. I was specifically disappointed with "We All Die Young" and "Blood Pollution"; it's as if the producer added parts to the the songs with a "wouldn't...
Published on Dec 22 2002 by Bill Coffee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars rock and roll buries everything, April 10 2003
By 
Daniel J. Hagerman "milkboydanny" (barnegat, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock Star (Audio CD)
being a big fan of soundtracks, i picked up this gem because i liked some of the songs in the movie. whoever had the idea for assembling such a who's who of rock was a genius and it all works(you can read in most of the other reviews who the who's who actually are and from where they come)
as for the non-steel dragon songs we have motley crue, bon jovi, ted nugent, kiss, inxs, the verve pipe and everclear (sounding heavier and better than ever)
the songs are strong and rocking. i was also surprised at the diverse array of artists. steel dragon sounding nasty as motley crue(hell, blood pollution was written by twiggy ramirez from marilyn manson) and then you have inxs with the great song devil inside.
all in all this is one album every rock star should own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is very good... Buy it now!, March 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Rock Star (Audio CD)
I really liked the movie and had to buy the soundtrack, due to amazing songs. Out of all the movies I have seen over the years, this is THE FIRST soundtrack I have bought. I do not buy soundtracks, but I bought this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Steel Dragon, March 16 2003
This review is from: Rock Star (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely fantastic soundtrack, with the only flaw being in the sequence of the songs.
First - The Music:
All of the Steel Dragon songs absolutely rock! The songs capture the essence of the 80's hard rock scene and are just as authentic and feel just as relevant to the time period as Stillwater and Spinal Tap did for their respective films. The Steel Dragon lineup includes drummer Jason Bonham, bassist Jeff Pilson, guitarist Zakk Wylde, and vocalists Mike Matijevic of Steelhart and Jeff Scott Soto of Yngwie Malmsteen fame. All of the Steel Dragon songs take you right back to a time where simple riffs and screeching vocals had your heart racing faster than a freight train. Aside from the Steel Dragon tunes, the album is rounded out by many other 80's hair-band favorites including Bon Jovi, Motley Crue, and Kiss. There's even a nice short piece by Trevor Rabin who composed the film score, but is also an 80's mainstay in his own right, having penned almost all of the hits from the Yes resurgence album 90125 (released in 1983).
Now - The Sequence:
The soundtrack follows the sequence of the film. And because of this, we are taken back and forth between very relevant Steel Dragon songs and very out-of-place tunes such as "Devil Inside" by INXS and "Stranglehold" by Ted Nugent (which, at just over 8:00, is altogeher too long to be included on this album). Clearly, they should have grouped all of the Steel Dragon songs together so that the listener could truly appreciate this fantastic band. In fact, I think it would have been a five star album if they expanded the library of songs by Steel Dragon, ended the album with the excellent Verve Pipe rendition of "Colorful", and tossed everything else. That way, the album still would have flowed in sequence with the movie, but all of the extra distractions would have been removed.
As it is, this is a terrific soundtrack, so don't let me nitpick it too much! With just a little tweaking, it could have been perfect. But, even still, this is well worth the price and is a must-have for any fans of good old 80's rock and roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Star Really Rocks!, Feb. 16 2003
By 
This review is from: Rock Star (Audio CD)
This CD is the best. The music is incredible! The song "Stand Up" blows me away. Steeldragon is the greatest band alive. If you get this CD I gaurantee you satisfaction!!! Best CD EVER!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Fake parody of Rock Music, Jan. 30 2003
This review is from: Rock Star (Audio CD)
It's really poor. I hope it wasn't constucted in over a day's worth of time. Despite having musicians like Twiggy Ramirez on it. It has the same cheap feel that you get listening to Nsync. It's a very fake, glossy, parodied, summaried, watered-down version of Rock N' Roll, they should have just left it to Nick Carter's solo effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THis Rocks, Jan. 18 2003
This review is from: Rock Star (Audio CD)
This Album Rocks! If you don't think so, turn your stereo up and set the EQ right!!!
Sure a more live sound would have been better for the Original Steel Dragon songs, but they still rock and this is surely how they would have made the Album Versions if this was made in the 80's!
I would love to hear a full album by the guys who made these songs! They would make an awesome live band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LONG LIVE TO HARD ROCK AND ROLL!!, Jan. 16 2003
By 
This review is from: Rock Star (Audio CD)
Rock Star is the picture of 80's Metal sleaze scene. Forget about the end of of the movie, whatever. Steel Dragon rocks... Oh, Blood Pollution (Heaviest bass of Jeff Pilson), Wasted Generation (Lyrics about the pathetic up-coming end), Livin The Life (Spirit of the Movie!!), Stand Up (The outsmashing bass of the drums of Jason Bonham makes your heart stop for a few seconds), Long Live Rock N'Roll (Jeff Scott Soto and Zakk Wylde teaching Dio and Blackmore hahahha), Reckless (Criticize new bands), Colorful (Pathetic grunge band "The Verve Pipe") and finally, We All Die Young, (amazing performance of Steeheart's Mike Mijatevic).
Rockers:
Vocals: Mike Mijatevic (Steeheart), Jeff Scott Soto (Y. Malmsteen)
Guitars: Zakk Wylde (Ozzy)
Bass: Jeff Pilson (Dokken)
Drums: Jason Bonham (Jason Bonham Band)
Oh... And we still have Livin On A Prayer (Bon Jovi), Wild Side (Mötley Crüe) and Lick It Up (Kiss)
Extremely amazing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars TALKING HEADS: "Once in a Lifetime", Jan. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Rock Star (Audio CD)
The song "Once in a lifetime" is featured in the movie and not on the soundtrack. This is very disappointing to leave out such a classic rock song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Agree with a previous post, Dec 22 2002
By 
This review is from: Rock Star (Audio CD)
The soundtrack to Rock Star is very good and reminds me of going to high school in the 80's; however, I think the Steel Dragon tunes should have been recorded with a live, raw feel instead of the super-slick studio polish. I was specifically disappointed with "We All Die Young" and "Blood Pollution"; it's as if the producer added parts to the the songs with a "wouldn't it be cool if we did..." attitude instead of a "simple is best" attitude. Overall, though, I like the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone, Sept. 13 2002
By 
joule "jpjoule" (McAllen, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rock Star (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic soundtrack but it is not for everyone. If you don't like anything 80's than you had better avoid this album. If you liked the 80's of say Bananarama, Wang Chung or Tears for Fears but can't stand the sounds of Poison, Great White, Whitesnake, Judas Priest and Autograph then forget it. But if you have been been waiting 12 years for some new music in the classic style you love then pick up this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock Star
Rock Star by Trevor Rabin (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews