march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars52
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$15.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 16, 2003
Rock Star is the picture of 80's Metal sleaze scene. Forget about the end of of the movie, whatever. Steel Dragon rocks... Oh, Blood Pollution (Heaviest bass of Jeff Pilson), Wasted Generation (Lyrics about the pathetic up-coming end), Livin The Life (Spirit of the Movie!!), Stand Up (The outsmashing bass of the drums of Jason Bonham makes your heart stop for a few seconds), Long Live Rock N'Roll (Jeff Scott Soto and Zakk Wylde teaching Dio and Blackmore hahahha), Reckless (Criticize new bands), Colorful (Pathetic grunge band "The Verve Pipe") and finally, We All Die Young, (amazing performance of Steeheart's Mike Mijatevic).
Rockers:
Vocals: Mike Mijatevic (Steeheart), Jeff Scott Soto (Y. Malmsteen)
Guitars: Zakk Wylde (Ozzy)
Bass: Jeff Pilson (Dokken)
Drums: Jason Bonham (Jason Bonham Band)
Oh... And we still have Livin On A Prayer (Bon Jovi), Wild Side (Mötley Crüe) and Lick It Up (Kiss)
Extremely amazing!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2001
I bought this CD not even seeing the movie yet and I'm not disappointed in the least. It is awesome! I recommend it to anyone who, like myself, grew up listening to, rocking out to and loving the 80's hard rock, heavy metal bands. I am proud to say that I love that kind of music and do miss it! So it is a welcome relief to be able to hear it again. The new songs by the movie's band, Steel Dragon, are awesome. They fit right in and flow smoothly along with the classics of Motley Crue, Kiss, Bon Jovi and Nugent on the CD. You would never know they were written in 2001. The only complaint & it is just a very minor one, is the inclusion of The Verve Pipe's song & INXS, "Devil Inside". While they do stand out from the other songs and don't really fit in, they are at the end of the CD & grouped together so you can easily skip them, if you want to ;-) Overall a fun, fist pumping, head banging CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2004
The best heavy metal soundtrack since Trick or Treat (1986). Steel Dragon rocks! Steel Dragon, unfortunetly a band that does not exist, trumble the world with two amazing voices: Mike Matijevic's (from Steelheart) and Jeff Scott Soto's (from Talisman). Mike does the backvocals on Stand Up and lead We All Die Young and Blood Pollution. Jeff shines on Long Live Rock N Roll, Stand Up and Wasted Generation. This CD holds the best perfomance of Jeff's whole career. You won't find anything like this in his Talisman or solo albuns. From Mike, check his first two Steelheart albuns out. They rock!! Amazing band. Mike has one of the best metal voices since Dave King left Fastway! And, of course, you also take home Zakk Wylde's guitar riffs. He is the best guitarrist there is ou there. Man, Steel Dragon is the band of our dreams! You guys should stick together!! A must have...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2001
First, Steelheart is NOT Steel Dragon (although Steelheart's singer does sing some of the songs). Second, Mark Walberg didn't sing in the movie - he lip-synched everything over the vocals of Mike Matijevic (Steelheart) or Jeff Scott Soto. Still, I think he gave an incredible performance in the movie. Steel Dragon (the fictional band in the movie) is in reality Zakk Wylde (Ozzy Osbourne's guitarist), Jeff Pilson (Dokken's bass player), and Jason Bonham (the son of Led Zepplin's drummer), and Nick Cantonese (guitar). These musicians also appear in the movie, and do a good job. The six Steel Dragon songs on the soundtrack are solid and raucous and anthemic, with plenty of melodic hooks, screaming guitars solos, and lots of bottom end bass and drums. Steel Dragon covers the old Ritchie Blackmore/Ronnie James Dio song "Long Live Rock and Roll." The great legendary Sammy Hagar even wrote one of the songs - Stand Up - performed by Steel Dragon. Modern bands such as Everclear and The Verve Pipe adds songs to the CD, along with 80s rockers like Bon Jovi, Ted Nugent, Motley Crue and KISS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2001
This is a splendid Soundtrack compilation encompassing all that we know and love about 1980's Heavy Metal. What better songs to typify that great era than "wild Side", "Lick It Up', and "Livin' on a Prayer"?
The shining moment, though, is provided by Michigan platinum Pop rockers The Verve Pipe whose gem "Colorful" closes the album in fine fashion. I can't imagine seeing Mark Walburg lip-synch (on film) over Brian Vander Ark's tender and very emotional vocals on this entrancing and emotionally-moving piece. Very similar in style and nature to the band's 1997 breakthrough hit "The Freshmen". A very fine return to form for this band! So glad it was included among the "heavier" songs here. Though this song is far from Metal it is so heavy in an altogether different emotional way that it surely belongs.
The 5 Steel Dragon originals personify the well-known style of the 1980's and are brilliant (though they sound dated which can be a very good thing in this instance). And they should be since they were penned by such authorities as Sammy Hagar, Autograph's Steve Plunkett and Desmond Child. One is a great power ballad (of course, since these were a staple of the "Hair Band" craze) "We All Die Young". Also the heavy "Blood Pollution" which is the song the tribute band in the film (featuring The Verve Pipe's Brian Vander Ark) took their name from. A fitting cover of the appropriately titled classic "Long Live Rock and Roll" is given the Steel Dragon 2001 treatment making a total of 6 new SD songs included. For those unaware, Steel Dragon features 80's metal alumni Zach Wylde, Jeff Pilson, Jason Bonham, Nick Catanese and vocalists Jeff Scott Soto and Mike Matijevic. A true all-star Metal band of the highest caliber to say the least. Playing the music they love, no doubt.
Any collection including quality KISS, Bon Jovi and Motley Crue 1980's classics is guaranteed to sell based on that fact alone. But leave it to The Verve Pipe to provide the soundtrack's most enticing cut both lyrically and musically in 2001. "The show is over close the storybook, there will be no encore..."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2001
What's great about a soundtrack like this is to listen to it before you see the movie and go in pumped to hear it blasted over a huge screen. All of the songs are featured in some way during the movie but the Steel Dragon songs really stand out. I would have preferred a soundtrack with just their originals. Great, heavy, high octane fuel for any hard rock fan. Zakk Wylde does his usual guitar wizardry on these songs which are all done very well. The last track by Trevor Rabin is an instrumental mixture of material that should have been longer.
Mark Wahlberg is very believable in the movie especially in 2 scenes where he is singing Steel Dragon songs. The other songs from that era blend nicely into each other although "Devil Inside" by INXS seems out of place. It's an appropiate song from them but it's not a rockin' tune. Overall, the album is very polished and deserves many listens by all metal fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2002
If you're a headbanger, you'll love this album. My favorite songs on the CD are "Blood Pollution", "Long Live Rock and Roll", and "Stand Up and Shout". "Blood Pollution" is a great throwback to all the 1980s heavy metal. For me, the drums in the intro and the opening chords are the stuff that got me addicted to this song. I almost got ear-bleed the first time I listened to it 'cause I just friggin' cranked it all the way up (well, almost anyway). "Stand Up And Shout" is an awesome song, but not an original. I think Dio was the original artist. "Long Live Rock and Roll" is the new rock anthem for the ages. My own anthem used to be Twisted Sister's " We're Not Gonna Take It", but it's not anymore because Twisted Sister just plain stinks.
Well, that's my two cents on the album. See ya later.
P.S.: Why did they have Everclear on here? Was the guy who picked the music on drugs?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2002
I remember when the movie trailer for this film came out and I thought that the soundtrack was going to be pretty good. I never did think much about it again until I rented the movie the other day. Just hearing the clips played in the movie was enough for me to take a chance and go out and buy the soundtrack. I can't state enough how much fun this album is. The oldies thrown in there (Kiss, Bon Jovi, Motley Crue, Ted Nuggent, Inxs) are nice trips back down memory lane, but the music by the fictional band Steel Dragon in the movie makes this a must own album. Wow, what a lot of fun!! Made me feel like I was back in the 80's headbanging to all my favorite big hair metal bands again. I know those days have past us by, but at least for as long as the album lasts, you get sent back in the wayback machine and remember how much fun the music was back then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2001
First off, I'm not a huge fan of Heavy Metal I do like some, but not all. This album however is really great. The best cuts are the Steel Dragon songs, in particular the power ballad, "We All Die Young". Mark Wahlberg does NOT sing on any of the songs, although he does sing bits and pieces of stuff in the movie. The "classic" songs mix in very well with the new Steel Dragon songs. What's even better is the placement of these songs in the movie. KISS's "Lick It Up" being probably the best placed song in the film, check it out and you'll see what I mean!! It really is too bad that there isn't really a group called "Steel Dragon". Hearing the songs on the album you'd think that it was a real band that had been together for years. A really great soundtrack to a pretty damn good movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2002
Well i must say that after watching the movie i new that i had to have the soundtrack. With such greats as Zak Wylde, and Jason Bonom involved in the music writing and production i was truly satisfied. The soundtrack is great, it has that hard beat of metal that was left back in the 80s with a new millenium sound. The only dissapointment is that the AC/DC track that was in the movie is not on the soundtrack. What gives?? How you can you make movie based on 80s metal and leave them out.. But all in all its a must buy. If you want screaming guitars and hard pounding drums to bring you back in time with a new millenium sound then this soundtrack is for you. Need more movies like this and keep those soundtracks coming. Metal will never be like it was back then. Well we can at least think so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items