Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Josey Wales Blu-ray
Hi Guys,
I bought The Outlaw Josey Wales blu-ray from amazon canada during the Postal industrial action,so my delivery was a bit late,nobody,s fault,jeez was it worth waiting for.I,m not going to give a review of the film itself,everybody know,s Josey Wales,one of thee very best western,s ever,great entertainment,IMO.
The blu-ray transfer is nothing short of...
Published on July 25 2011 by mr david cairns

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Outlaw Josey Wales
I really like Clint Eastwood and have enjoyed all of his movies up to date that I have seen. This one was not as enjoyable as most and will probably not watch it again. May just donate it to my Library.
Published 3 months ago by Zola Leishman


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Josey Wales Blu-ray, July 25 2011
By 
mr david cairns "wesnut" (kennoway, fife Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Hi Guys,
I bought The Outlaw Josey Wales blu-ray from amazon canada during the Postal industrial action,so my delivery was a bit late,nobody,s fault,jeez was it worth waiting for.I,m not going to give a review of the film itself,everybody know,s Josey Wales,one of thee very best western,s ever,great entertainment,IMO.
The blu-ray transfer is nothing short of MAGNIFICENT!!!!!!!! Picture Quality AND Audio,Josey Wales on blu-ray is a sight to see,absolutely stunning,HIGHLY RECOMMENDED,it,s almost a reference disc for the blu-ray format,Warners have done a brilliant job with this transfer,now lets go for Jeremiah Johnson!!!!
The Outlaw Josey Wales blu-ray is a MUST-BUY!!!!!!!
Thanks Warners,
Davy Cairns,Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, May 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and would recommend it to anyone. I hadn't watched many westerns , but now I am starting to and am enjoying them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Clint Eastwood knows how to make a movie and act in a movie. I love all of his stuff and think he is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Outlaw Josey Wales, April 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really like Clint Eastwood and have enjoyed all of his movies up to date that I have seen. This one was not as enjoyable as most and will probably not watch it again. May just donate it to my Library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, Jan. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of Eastwood's best. Great story, action and supporting cast too, especially Chief Dan George.
Gritty with tender moments and even laughs thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Western Classic, Feb. 19 2013
By 
Dartchie (Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Outlaw Josey Wales (DVD)
Nobody makes westerns better than Clint Eastwood. The "Outlaw Josey Wales" is one of Eastwood's classic's and is a movie I can watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clint creating a mythic character...the loner seeking justice, Oct. 21 2012
By 
Anthony Marinelli "marilread" (toronto on canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Here we are reviewing the films of the retrospective film edition offered to the public by Clint Eastwood, many of which were produced by his company, and what other film star has produced so many of his own films. The previous film scene marked a breakthrough for clint, and as the bonus material said his vision and values, evinced in The Bridges of Madison County, which did well among younger viewers, as well as his older fans. Love in that film is seen as a "mystery pure and absolute." As one reviewer stated on the bonus track an "iconic" film. Here we are in "Outlaw JOsey WAles" which is a hybrid film, bringing in several elements well blended by the writer a gunman on the run during the civil war and there is constant mention of sanctuary in Mexico, but he is an innocent man like a John Grisham novel, and decides to come in an dfight it out. This film really is about the innocent and their suffering, graphically displayed by director Eastwood, including a savage rape scene by a group of thugs, and this scene alone stays in your mind as he makes his way to kill the union officer, and slowly and excruciatingly puts the sword in him and slowly pulls it out...and thats the basis of the film those two images, group rape and vengeance and there's also an Indian chief who dramatically tells all that's wrong with the 19th century world and gives traditional Indian gripes, or are they just Indian gripes?, and then there's a final shootout among many images of crosses like "the bridges of madison County" and this is a film infused with violence, much as the human mind of these characters and their world and vengeance, although the cross is a christian image, this is played lightly is it a symbol of suffering of the innocent victims and they're scattered throughout this film...the film was supposed to be directed by the scenarist but clint took it over, and view his bonus material and introduction of the film, many of the reviewers are beginning to complain of mythic qualities he seems to be building..perhaps films which bring a literary character and more intelligence and depth to a film is not a bad thing...the films are increasing seen in a world context and not just located in the U.S. close to Mexico, which is always a good thematic avenue for clint to explore, and viewers enjoyed this film a s I did too when viewed again. Encore!! Good look at innocence betrayed and retribution! Or is it justice or vigilanteism?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outlaw josey wales, Aug. 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outlaw Josey Wales (VHS Tape)
This is thie finest work that Clint Eastwood did, also his favorite. I highly recommend it for all you duster fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Outlaw Josey Wales, Sept. 8 2009
By 
Delores Dennis "Del Dennis" (Mayerthorpe, AB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of Clint Eastwoods best movies... great performances by Clint Eastwood and Chief Dan George....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clint Eastwood's best movie: an American Classic, March 27 2004
This review is from: The Outlaw Josey Wales (Widescreen) (DVD)
Although Clint Eastwood gained his greatest critical acclaim as a director for 1992's "Unforgiven" and 2003's "Mystic River" -- both of which are incredible pieces of American cinema -- his best film remains this perennially popular Western from 1976. Here's Eastwood's own take on it: "I do believe that if I'd made that picture in 1992, in place of 'Unforgiven,' it might have received the same amount of attention, because I think it's equally as good a film. I think the subject matter of 'Josey Wales' is timeless." Orson Welles himself named it one of his favorite movies!
Yet critics at the time completely dismissed it as just another Clint Eastwood Western-Revenge flick. On the surface, the plot might give you that illusion: Missouri farmer Josey Wales loses his family to marauding Union cutthroats during the civil war. In retaliation, he joins Qunatrill's raiders in the guerrilla warfare that flames across Missouri. When the war ends, Wales refuses to surrender. He flies west across the country, chased by his former leader Fletcher (John Vernon in a great, sympathetic performance) and Terrill, the Union captain who murdered his family (Eastwood regular Bill McKinney). It seems Wales has no future except to stay alive long enough to get his revenge.
But...that's not at all what movie ends up being about. Gradually, Wales finds himself at the center of a growing community of outcasts from many different backgrounds: an old Cherokee named Lone Watie (Chief Dan George, in the film's most unforgettable performance), a band of Northern settlers (including Sondra Locke in her first role with Clint), a girl from another Native American tribe, the residents of a dying Texas town, and a red bone hound. Gradually, "The Outlaw Josey Wales" turns into a story about forgetting revenge and a fixation on death, and instead about embracing life and rebuilding a community. "Dying is easy for men like you and me," Wales says to a Comanche chief (Will Sampson) in one scene. "It's living that's hard." It's one of the most unexpectedly uplifting and moving films ever made. And, let's make no mistake about it, it's also an action-packed, tough, and exciting film.
Strangely, the film came out of extremely difficult circumstances and rough beginnings. Eastwood purchased the rights to Forrest Carter's novel "Gone to Texas," only to discover that the author was actually Asa (Ace) Carter, who had worked as a speech writer for George Wallace supporting racial segregation and had once created a subgroup of the Ku Klux Klan. Upon meeting Carter, Eastwood and his producer Robert Daley found the man to be a borderline sociopath (he drew a knife on one of Daley's secretaries at a restaurant). Regardless, Eastwood loved the beautiful story too much and pushed on with making the film. He hired Philip Kaufman to both write and direct the movie, now re-named "The Outlaw Josey Wales." Kaufman (along with Sonia Chernus) wrote a stunning script, but after only a few days on the set, it became obvious he wasn't working out as a director; his style clashed with Eastwood's. Eastwood quietly removed him as director and took over the job himself. As Eastwood's biographer notes, "Kaufman was to a degree the victim of Clint's growing confidence in his own abilities."
Despite this confused beginning, "The Outlaw Josey Wales" turned into a magical piece of Western cinema and a huge hit with audiences. It gets better and better with each viewing: a thrilling adventure when you first see it, its many layers of beautiful subtlety emerge each time you go back to it. Bruce Surtees's photography is astonishing, Jerry Fielding's music exciting and unusual for a Western, and every performance top-notch. Few films are as all-around well done as this American classic.
The DVD offers the film in a glorious widescreen transfer with a new 5.1 sound mix, but there are no extras. Considering the history behind the making of the film, this disc really ought to sport some fascinating commentaries and documentaries, but alas, nothing. Still, I can recommend few films higher than "The Outlaw Josey Wales."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Outlaw Josey Wales (Widescreen)
The Outlaw Josey Wales (Widescreen) by Clint Eastwood (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 16.20 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews