Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best American Live Album Ever.....
Across the Atlantic you have The Who's "Live At Leeds" & The Stones "Get Your Ya-Ya's Out"; but here in the good ole USA, there is only one band that has ever recorded a live album to rival their British counterparts overseas. Yes, Lynyrd Skynyrd. Ronnie Van Zant was one of the best front men on the planet...add a triple "mule" guitar attack, a killer rhythm section,...
Published on Nov. 16 2003 by "The Woj"

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been Much Better
First off, I'm an accomplished guitar player. Not some 1st year guitarist who listens to the Freebird solo and thinks he's found the Gods of rock and roll. Second, I was a HUGE Skynyrd fan during the seventies and eighties. I learned ALL their songs. That said, this is NOT the album to buy if you are either just getting started as a Skynyrd fan or want to buy a...
Published on July 2 2003 by liehd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best American Live Album Ever....., Nov. 16 2003
By 
"The Woj" (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
Across the Atlantic you have The Who's "Live At Leeds" & The Stones "Get Your Ya-Ya's Out"; but here in the good ole USA, there is only one band that has ever recorded a live album to rival their British counterparts overseas. Yes, Lynyrd Skynyrd. Ronnie Van Zant was one of the best front men on the planet...add a triple "mule" guitar attack, a killer rhythm section, 150% kick your @ss attitude and this album is the result. No need to get into specific songs, just let me say they have never sounded better. Plus you have 2 discs worth with the Deluxe release.
If you can put all the retreaded "greatest hits" releases in the back of you mind, you will never grow tired of this album. My only minor beef is the mixing of the guitars. Rossington's guitar is front and center; considerably louder in the mix than Collins (left channel) & Gaines (right channel). There are times when Gaines' guitar is barely audible. It is not until "T For Texas" we can really here Gaines with any volume.
I remember back in the 70's a friend of mine saying the Eagles were the best American band ever. Ha...Skynyrd is the Eagles on Jack Daniels & steroids....no comparison. Add to cart now, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skynyrd at Their Peak, July 9 2004
By 
L. Lawhead "LSquared" (SW Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
From it's original release, One More From The Road has been considered among the best live albums available. It's certainly at the top of my list. This is the record that really catapulted Skynyrd to the top of the heap, and it captures the energy that made them such an outstanding live act. This 25th anniversary edition has some great modifications. The tracks have been reconfigured to match the original set list, including the addition of "Simple Man". It also has all of Ronnie Van Zant's between song banter. So this is now the definitive document of Skynyrd at their peak. The double CD set is filled out with alternate takes of several songs (the album was complied from 2 shows at the Fox Theater in Atlanta). These alternate takes (and the alternate between song banter) are interesting, but not essential. Overall, it's as good as it gets. I'd give it more stars if I could!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Sound Quality, Nov. 26 2003
By 
"southernrockfan" (Chesterfield, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
I admit I hadn't heard this material since I owned it on vinyl back in the late 70s. Hearing these CDs, I was blown away.
First, the sound quality: Normally, digital technology reveals analogs imperfections. The liner notes claim the 2" master was baked and fed through a vintage analog mixer. Whatever they did, this is one of the warmest, richly textured and best mixed live albums ever. It even makes my stock Tahoe stereo sound like a Levinson.
Next, Ronnie my buddie....on the original albums, due to time, they cut short many of the 20-40 second intros he does. But these CDs have it all. Hearing these for the first time, after knowing the music so well, added much to the enjoyment.
Lastly, about the band overall. In today's climate of over marketed, hyped-up cheezy artist, I cannot believe how many quality tunes this band put out in 4 albums and under 4 years. I can't think of another group that was as prolific.
Run, don't walk to get these CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD In My Collection!, Sept. 28 2009
By 
Leo Landry (Burlington, ON, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
Skynyrd at their very best! If you like Skynyrd, you will love this live CD. Ronnie sounds great & the 3 guitar rifts are special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Live American Rock, June 2 2004
By 
Glenn Nippert "musicologist" (Alpharetta, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
Lynyrd Skynyrd were like an American Rolling Stones. They rocked, rolled, boogied and played some good ole' honk. This is definately one of the best live albums of all time. The sound is great, the band is in top form, all the hits are here and you feel like you are in Atlanta at the Fox Theater rockin' out to the Spirit of '76. You can definately feel this band pounding through your speakers, calling you home to the days of classic Southern Rock. Ronnie Van Zant, you are missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the fabulous fox in '76, April 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
I have a huge collection of live music. I bought this cd last summer and since then it has become one of my favorites. These are great performances of some of Skynyrd's best tunes. The sound quality is excellent. It comes neatly packaged and I believe its well worth $27. I would highly recommend it to any LS fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Definitive Live Album, Feb. 27 2004
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
Back about a year and a half ago, I managed to pick up Lynyrd Skynyrd's excellent box set a pretty much becaem a huge fan overnight, loving every one of the 47 songs on the set. Of course, with so much overlap on many other Skynyrd recordings, I really wasn't in haste to get another album, but other fans eventually convinced me that the live album had to be heard. With that in mind, I broke down and bought the classic ONE MORE FROM THE ROAD. All I really need to say is that I definatly got my money's worth out of this one.
Regardless of whether think the live recordings provide better verions of the songs, or if you think the studio recordings sound better, this is still essential. Even for those who prefer the more polished studio sounds, there's still simply a whole different feel in hearing the band when it has a live audience in front of it. Skynyrd interacts well with its very enthusiastic audience, Ronnie in particular obviously relishing the comaradarie between himself and his fans. This chemistry can be felt by the listener of this record, even nearly 30 years after it was recorded. The songs themselves are played with energy and intensity, and many songs such as "Gimme Back My Bullets," "Searchin'" and even "Simple Man" sound better live than the studio releases.
The Deluxe Edetion, even though I never got to hear the original, is fantastic. The sounds is crystal clear, but still retains the warmth of vintage 70s equipment. The mix is very good, bringing ou the instruments well at all the right times (I will concede the Billy Powell's piano is a touch quiet in "Workin' For MCA," but the rest is fine). Even though it wasn't entirely intential, I was pleased to read that Collins' guitar solo in "Free Bird" is the original, and not an overbud. Live albums should be heard as they were played live. The alternate takes don't sound much different from the originally released numbers, but they are still outstanding and thus highly welcome.
The bottom line is this: no Lynyrd Skynyrd fan should be without this live album. It is an excellent demonstration of why they were such a popular live act, and captures them playing at their peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, But..., Oct. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it first came out and I've always loved these songs and these performances. The deluxe edition, with remixes from the original 2" tapes, brings out the sound beautifully...with one exception. Billy Powell, on piano/keyboards, is way too far down in the mix. When he's soloing, the piano should be in your face, but instead it's at the same volume level as the guitars. The original version of this album had a better mix, but not the same sound quality.
Too bad the mixing guy, Kevin Elson, wasn't paying attention to the original mixes - or he doesn't like Billy Powell's playing. I may have to pick up the 1996 remaster to supplement this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Recordings I've Heard By Them. Fabulous., Aug. 25 2003
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
Digipack version. Excellent remastered sound. Two disc set of live songs housed in digipack. Contains bonus songs not found on the original release. Cool liner notes. Cool thick booklet with many rare photos of the band. The fifth Skynyrd album and first live album. They are awesome live and if you heard this I'm pretty sure you would agree. One More For The Road?... More like one more for my collection. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This could have been the Best, May 2 2003
By 
Jeff "jimbo" (somewhere, usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
First off, this is worth buying just because of the rarity of a live performance. This is one of the best live rock bands to ever pour whiskey on stage (more on that later). These guys were the warmup band for The Who until The Who noticed that people were leaving before they came on. Flat out, one of the alltime American rock bands. They cover some songs on this album that are not on any studio albums. What is disappointing is that this could have been even better. The sound mix sounds like the guy mixing it got far too loaded as the concert went on, and the mix gets worse as it goes along. In addition, the band got completely [drunk], and as the concert goes on, their playing suffers. At one point, Van Zant can't remember the words to a song, and you can hear one of the backup singers say "Whiskey, Baby". It's still a great album, but so disappointing that they were not at their best due to pouring down a few hundred gallons of booze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD)
One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) by Lynyrd Skynyrd (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews