Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best American Live Album Ever.....
Across the Atlantic you have The Who's "Live At Leeds" & The Stones "Get Your Ya-Ya's Out"; but here in the good ole USA, there is only one band that has ever recorded a live album to rival their British counterparts overseas. Yes, Lynyrd Skynyrd. Ronnie Van Zant was one of the best front men on the planet...add a triple "mule" guitar attack, a killer rhythm section,...
Published on Nov. 16 2003 by "The Woj"

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been Much Better
First off, I'm an accomplished guitar player. Not some 1st year guitarist who listens to the Freebird solo and thinks he's found the Gods of rock and roll. Second, I was a HUGE Skynyrd fan during the seventies and eighties. I learned ALL their songs. That said, this is NOT the album to buy if you are either just getting started as a Skynyrd fan or want to buy a...
Published on July 2 2003 by liehd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best American Live Album Ever....., Nov. 16 2003
By 
"The Woj" (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
Across the Atlantic you have The Who's "Live At Leeds" & The Stones "Get Your Ya-Ya's Out"; but here in the good ole USA, there is only one band that has ever recorded a live album to rival their British counterparts overseas. Yes, Lynyrd Skynyrd. Ronnie Van Zant was one of the best front men on the planet...add a triple "mule" guitar attack, a killer rhythm section, 150% kick your @ss attitude and this album is the result. No need to get into specific songs, just let me say they have never sounded better. Plus you have 2 discs worth with the Deluxe release.
If you can put all the retreaded "greatest hits" releases in the back of you mind, you will never grow tired of this album. My only minor beef is the mixing of the guitars. Rossington's guitar is front and center; considerably louder in the mix than Collins (left channel) & Gaines (right channel). There are times when Gaines' guitar is barely audible. It is not until "T For Texas" we can really here Gaines with any volume.
I remember back in the 70's a friend of mine saying the Eagles were the best American band ever. Ha...Skynyrd is the Eagles on Jack Daniels & steroids....no comparison. Add to cart now, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Sound Quality, Nov. 26 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "southernrockfan" (Chesterfield, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
I admit I hadn't heard this material since I owned it on vinyl back in the late 70s. Hearing these CDs, I was blown away.
First, the sound quality: Normally, digital technology reveals analogs imperfections. The liner notes claim the 2" master was baked and fed through a vintage analog mixer. Whatever they did, this is one of the warmest, richly textured and best mixed live albums ever. It even makes my stock Tahoe stereo sound like a Levinson.
Next, Ronnie my buddie....on the original albums, due to time, they cut short many of the 20-40 second intros he does. But these CDs have it all. Hearing these for the first time, after knowing the music so well, added much to the enjoyment.
Lastly, about the band overall. In today's climate of over marketed, hyped-up cheezy artist, I cannot believe how many quality tunes this band put out in 4 albums and under 4 years. I can't think of another group that was as prolific.
Run, don't walk to get these CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skynyrd at Their Peak, July 9 2004
By 
L. Lawhead "LSquared" (SW Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
From it's original release, One More From The Road has been considered among the best live albums available. It's certainly at the top of my list. This is the record that really catapulted Skynyrd to the top of the heap, and it captures the energy that made them such an outstanding live act. This 25th anniversary edition has some great modifications. The tracks have been reconfigured to match the original set list, including the addition of "Simple Man". It also has all of Ronnie Van Zant's between song banter. So this is now the definitive document of Skynyrd at their peak. The double CD set is filled out with alternate takes of several songs (the album was complied from 2 shows at the Fox Theater in Atlanta). These alternate takes (and the alternate between song banter) are interesting, but not essential. Overall, it's as good as it gets. I'd give it more stars if I could!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Definitive Live Album, Feb. 27 2004
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
Back about a year and a half ago, I managed to pick up Lynyrd Skynyrd's excellent box set a pretty much becaem a huge fan overnight, loving every one of the 47 songs on the set. Of course, with so much overlap on many other Skynyrd recordings, I really wasn't in haste to get another album, but other fans eventually convinced me that the live album had to be heard. With that in mind, I broke down and bought the classic ONE MORE FROM THE ROAD. All I really need to say is that I definatly got my money's worth out of this one.
Regardless of whether think the live recordings provide better verions of the songs, or if you think the studio recordings sound better, this is still essential. Even for those who prefer the more polished studio sounds, there's still simply a whole different feel in hearing the band when it has a live audience in front of it. Skynyrd interacts well with its very enthusiastic audience, Ronnie in particular obviously relishing the comaradarie between himself and his fans. This chemistry can be felt by the listener of this record, even nearly 30 years after it was recorded. The songs themselves are played with energy and intensity, and many songs such as "Gimme Back My Bullets," "Searchin'" and even "Simple Man" sound better live than the studio releases.
The Deluxe Edetion, even though I never got to hear the original, is fantastic. The sounds is crystal clear, but still retains the warmth of vintage 70s equipment. The mix is very good, bringing ou the instruments well at all the right times (I will concede the Billy Powell's piano is a touch quiet in "Workin' For MCA," but the rest is fine). Even though it wasn't entirely intential, I was pleased to read that Collins' guitar solo in "Free Bird" is the original, and not an overbud. Live albums should be heard as they were played live. The alternate takes don't sound much different from the originally released numbers, but they are still outstanding and thus highly welcome.
The bottom line is this: no Lynyrd Skynyrd fan should be without this live album. It is an excellent demonstration of why they were such a popular live act, and captures them playing at their peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic rock doesn't get much more classic than this, Jan. 5 2003
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
One More From The Road could be up there with the great live rock albums. It's the only live document of the original (pre-plane crash) Lynyrd Skynyrd band and the only one you'd need. The band is on fire for this July 1976 performance. They run through the best known songs from their first four albums (Gimme Three Steps, Tuesday's Gone, Simple Man, Sweet Home Alabama, Saturday Night Special, Gimme Back My Bullets, Workin' For MCA, etc). The performances leave nothing to be desired. The highlight of this collection, for me at least, is the awesome version of T For Texas. If you think Free Bird rocks, check out the guitar interplay on this song. Wow! The version of Free Bird is very good also, but supposedly contains a guitar part overdubbed by Allen Collins. I usually frown on tampering with live material like that. I'd rather hear the original undoctored performance. I was less impressed with the cover of Crossroads, which is basically a remake of Cream's version. The guitarists seem to be trying too hard to recreate Eric Clapton's solo, but they do an admirable job.
This is a great album which any hard rock fan should own and anyone with even a passing interest in Lynyrd Skynyrd too. The newer Deluxe Edition would be the best choice to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One More From the Road "is a true classic!!", May 19 2002
By 
Gif (Bay Area , California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
This live CD really gets rollin from the very first song "Workin' for MCA" Which reveals just how tight this traveling band was, also highlighting the truly gifted Steve Gains on lead guitar, the newest member. As Workin' for MCA starts to end on its last note the beginning of "I Ain't the One" Starts up bringing you another great catchy rock song, again showing off one of the bands gifted guitarist. The CD continues to showcase the three guitarists of the band not fogetting to mention the crowd pleasing riffs played by the piano player or the bass player who endlessly plays a blues southern hopping bsss . As the CD plays on you will find most of the songs very melodic and most undoubtably finding yourself shuffeling your feet to the rythmic music of the Lynyrd Skynyrd band. The band plays their most popular songs like their anthem for the southern people "Sweet Home Alabama" following with the foot stompin' song "Gimmie Three Steps". Next the band does a remake of a song written originaly by J.J. Cale Called "Call Me the Breeze" Which has a piano solo in the song played by Billy Powell(I believe that it is by far the greatest acustic piano solo in all of rock n roll period!). And of course the most popular version heard on the radio the rock anthem "Free Bird" I give the CD 5 stars becauee you can play it over and over again and never get tired of the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Zenith of Southern Rock!, April 10 2002
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
Sure Lynyrd Skynyrd were could make phenomenal studio albums, but in the end (like most dirty, raunchy, simple, have a beer and rawk groups) their claim to fame was without a doubt the live show. In their prime they were a first class live act, and One More From the Road proved to be the perfect example.
It was the '70s, and in this long gone era the mainstream was loaded with great live acts. A live album could be an artist's entrance into the mainstream (The Allmans At Fillmore East, Kiss's Alive!), an artist's claim to fame (Frampton Comes Alive), or the peak of an artists' catalougue (see previous examples). Lynyrd Skynyrd was the perfect sample, and here they caputure it perfectly, performing all their best songs from Free Bird and Sweet Home Alabama to Call Me the Breeze and Tuesday's Gone in all their power and fury. Most, if not all of these versions are better than their studio counterparts and songs such as Searching, Travelling Man, T for Texas, and Crossroads are simply stunning on the live stage. Then their is of course their magnum opus the epic Free Bird, played ten times better than ever with the triple guitar onslaught.
However this new version isn't perfect. The alternate versions are at times exact replicas of their original release counterparts, making it at times repetitive. (Plus putting Free Bird at the beginning of a disc seems VERY misplaced) However this is made up for amazing liner notes (some of which are written by Cameron Crowe) and the overall quality of the music, not to mention the magnificent sound.
Bottom Line. If you love raw, energetic, raunchy, simple southern rawk then this is for you. In some ways I see this deluxe edition a cruel coincidence. The original Lynyrd Skynyrd was ended thanks to a tragic plane crash. This new edition was released on September 11th , one of the darkest days America has ever known. Lynyrd Skynyrd is so synonymous with American rock, and if you ever need to cut loose from all the terrible things that happen in the world, grap a drink and a burger and rock with some of the greatest rockers in the world, and one of the greatest live albums EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Remastered Live Album, Nov. 28 2001
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
Lynyrd Skynyrd released four studio albums prior to the release of this record and they were all outstanding. But as good as they were in the studio, Skynyrd really showed their chops on the road. Shortly after the release of their first record they toured as an opening act for The Who and did the unthinkable by actually blowing them off the stage. One More From The Road was released in late '76 and it captures all of their power and fury. For the tour they added guitarist Steve Gaines to the mix of Allen Collins and Garry Rossington bringing back the triple lead guitar attack that made them famous. Bolstered by Artimus Pyle's drumming, Billy Powell's boogie-woogie piano and Leon Wiliknson's steady bass, the band provides the firm backing for frontman Ronnie Van Zant's whiskey-soaked vocals. Standout tracks include the powerful "Workin' For MCA", the furious "Saturday Night Special", "Tuesday Gone", the rollicking "Call Me The Breeze" and of course their two most notable songs, "Sweet Home Alabama" and the flick your lighter on arena rock classic "Free Bird". This is a remastered deluxe edition that has several different live versions of songs and the original packaging including the original liner notes by a young Rolling Stone writer named Cameron Crowe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best version yet..., Nov. 5 2001
By 
Casey Newbold - Kerr (Melbourne, Australia.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
I have my uncle's copy of the original reissue (on loan), the 1996 reissue, and I recently got this one. Comparing the original to the 1996 showed me that the 1996 edition was indeed a fine reissue. However, this new reissue completely destroys both of them.
The packaging is incredible (so beautiful that you have to see it to fully appreciate it), the sound quality is absolutely outstanding (the 1996 reissue was very hissy and wasn't as "warm" as this), and the bonus tracks are extremely cool.
When I first picked my copy up, I thought I was stupid for spending all that money (in Australian dollars it's a bit on the expensive side) on an album that I already had. Sure, I thought the bonus tracks would have been nice, but I didn't think the sound quality or packaging could get any better than the 1996 release. Well, as soon as I opened it up and saw that the way the cover was done, and when I saw the cool crowd photo inside, I knew that I had made the right decision by buying it.
The sound quality is so good because it was remastered from the original masters and remixed on vintage equipment (tube-based, I'd assume, which would explain the "warm" feeling that these CDs have). Who did the remixing? Skynyrd's original live sound engineer. Also, if you have the 1996 version you'd know that during "Gimme Three Steps" the sound dies on one channel. Well, that's gone now! Although that may seem minor, it was an annoying glitch that took away from the album.
Extra audience response and speech have also been added to this new reissue, making it more like being at a Skynyrd concert than ever. Remember how Ronnie makes a "grrrrr" noise before "Tuesday's Gone"? We now find out that he did that because the piano broke. Little things like that really do make you feel like you're at the Fox Theatre in 1976.
The bonus tracks are outstanding. In fact, some of them are as good as -- if not better than -- the cuts that were used on the album. That's my opinion; you can be the judge if you buy this. The album cut of "Free Bird" actually contained a solo later overdubbed by Allen Collins. Because the original master for that wasn't available, we instead get the original version. The "Free Bird" solo on this is actually BETTER than the overdubbed one. Sure, there are a few mistakes, but it sounds more "authentic" than the overdubbed version. And it's a bit like having an extra bonus track because it's the first time we've heard it.
If you've been thinking, "I already have the other reissue -- it'd be a waste to buy this one," then you'd better think again! For any Skynyrd fan, this is an essential purchase, and if you aren't a Skynyrd fan but want to get into this great band, then this is even more essential. You just won't find a better Lynyrd Skynyrd album than the deluxe edition of "One More From The Road."
FLY HIGH, FREE BIRD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This could have been the Best, May 1 2003
By 
Jeff "jimbo" (somewhere, usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
First off, this is worth buying just because of the rarity of a live performance. This is one of the best live rock bands to ever pour whiskey on stage (more on that later). These guys were the warmup band for The Who until The Who noticed that people were leaving before they came on. Flat out, one of the alltime American rock bands. They cover some songs on this album that are not on any studio albums. What is disappointing is that this could have been even better. The sound mix sounds like the guy mixing it got far too loaded as the concert went on, and the mix gets worse as it goes along. In addition, the band got completely [drunk], and as the concert goes on, their playing suffers. At one point, Van Zant can't remember the words to a song, and you can hear one of the backup singers say "Whiskey, Baby". It's still a great album, but so disappointing that they were not at their best due to pouring down a few hundred gallons of booze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD)
One More From The Road (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) by Lynyrd Skynyrd (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews