Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid collection
If you want a gorgeous, inexpensive two-CD set of classical Christmas music (vocal and instrumental), this is a splendid compilation. It offers great performances by outstanding artists in both well-known and lesser-known works that range from the ethereal to the sumptuous, and would be a delight worth having even at a considerably higher price. If you're starting a...
Published on Dec 30 2003 by A reader and a writer

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry the songs and singers weren't what I expected. A little too classical for my liking.
I thought I would hear a few more classical Christmas songs by great singers but what I found was a little too classical and it was infrequently played over the holiday season.
Published 19 months ago by Peter Gagnon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid collection, Dec 30 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Christmas Adagios (Audio CD)
If you want a gorgeous, inexpensive two-CD set of classical Christmas music (vocal and instrumental), this is a splendid compilation. It offers great performances by outstanding artists in both well-known and lesser-known works that range from the ethereal to the sumptuous, and would be a delight worth having even at a considerably higher price. If you're starting a Christmas collection or are on a tight budget, this may be all you'll need to purchase--and if you already have a large collection of seasonal music, don't miss the chance to add this beautiful set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious but not solemn sacred classical works, Dec 4 2002
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Christmas Adagios (Audio CD)
This set of two CDs will appeal to those who are drawn to the #1 Christmas Album and, in fact, has some of the same cuts on it. However while I felt the other album had a tendency to get overly solemn and almost dreary at times, this overall has a lighter, more listenable quality to it. In fact, this could have some appeal to those who don't generally go for classical music, because there is a relaxing quality to the selection with little which is excessively operatic. There are operatic voices here such as Luciano Pavarotti, Kiri Te Kanawa, Placido Domingo and Leontyne Price, but the deliveries are low key and melodious.
If you have any taste at all for the classical sound of Christmas music, this is most highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely beautiful compilation of classical Christmas music!, Dec 13 2010
Ce commentaire est de: Christmas Adagios (Audio CD)
I just purchased this Christmas CD and I'm delighted with my purchase. What a beautiful compilation of musical pieces. The two CD set includes all of the more common hymns as well as many pieces that are less known. I love the mix. I get to listen to such talented singers as Leontyne Price, Luciano Pavarotti, Kiri Te Kanawa and Marilyn Horne to name a few. And you can't beat the sound of some of the world's best choirs such as The Choir of King's College, Cambrige with David Willcocks and The Academy of St Martin in the Fields. This is Christmas music at its best! I know that I will be listening to this CD for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Adagios - Great Bargain, Jan. 12 2012
By 
Gerry Dawson (Nepean, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Christmas Adagios (Audio CD)
Christmas Adagios is a two-CD collection of both vocal and instrumental "seasonal" music, on the Decca label, currently selling at a bargain price of $10. As per the title "Adagios", all of the music is taken at a slow, leisurely pace but is, nevertheless, festive music. Selections range from religious vocal works of the 16th century by Palestrina, through Vivaldi and Bach pieces, well-known traditional Christmas carols and secular works, to more modern songs, such as Silent Night and White Christmas.

The set include 45 pieces, running for over 2 1/2 hours. Performers include a host of well-known classical soloists, choirs, and orchestras, including Pavarotti and Leontyne Price, The Bach Choir and Choir of King's College, and David Willcocks and Neville Marriner, to name a few.

I have some 20 Christmas CDs, but this is the one that gets played the most. If you are looking for a great collection of traditional seasonal music, this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real music of Christmas, Dec 10 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Christmas Adagios (Audio CD)
This music may be to "high brow" for some but what a pleasant change from the thousands of versions of Jingle Bells! It brings the meaning of Peace and Joy to music, I love listening to this anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Music to listen too, Nov. 27 2013
By 
Spoonman42 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Christmas Adagios (Audio CD)
I purchased this album because I like to have Christmas music playing in the background and I felt that this might be one of those albums that could do this and it was and is and it is so very beautiful. Over the years one of my favourite choirs has been The Choir of King's College, Cambridge and they are on this album several times as is The Academy of St Martin in the Fields. If you enjoy Christmas music this is an excellent album to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Adagios, Dec 31 2011
Ce commentaire est de: Christmas Adagios (Audio CD)
This is an excellent product. We had listen to it many times over the holidays. The music selection was well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational!, Nov. 10 2014
Ce commentaire est de: Christmas Adagios (Audio CD)
Just breathtakingly beautiful. If you are a lover of fine music, which I am sure that anyone who would be attracted to this genre of music would be, then I STRONGLY recommend this album! So pretty, so calm and so Christmassy, this album is the perfect background music for any Christmas party or gathering. Also, I would like to point out that the arrangement of Gabriel's Message on this album, is one of the prettiest arrangements I have ever heard! Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 21 2014
By 
N. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Christmas Adagios (Audio CD)
Beautiful Christmas carols, many rare ones, including some German ones. This was a great find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, Jan. 7 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Christmas Adagios (Audio CD)
Heard it at a friends & immediately ordered it. Played it through Christmas & New Years. Even bought 2 more & gave them as gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas Adagios
Christmas Adagios by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews