Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 27 2014
This review is from: Purple Rose of Cairo (Widescreen) (DVD)
Un des meilleurs films de Woody Allen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an original film!, May 1 2002
By 
Leonard L. Riggs Jr. (Christopher, Il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purple Rose of Cairo (Widescreen) (DVD)
I hadn't seen this movie since 1985 when it first came out and was excited to find it on DVD and it was a great as I remembered! This is an original fantasy that is a lot of fun. Mia Farrow is charming as Cecilia, a woman in the depression era who is addicted to movies. Jeff Daniels plays the character from the movie "The Purple Rose of Cairo" whom she fantasizes about. The fun begins when Jeff Daniels character walks off the screen and into Cecilia's life.....but reality soon sets in when the REAL actor gets wind that his character has walked off the screen.....the movie is simply wonderful and forgoes the typical happy ending....favoring REALITY over fantasy. Watch it you won't be disappointed. Even if you don't care for Woody Allen movies, I know you'll love this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and wistful comedy/fantasy, April 15 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
An utterly sweet, inventive and charming film that examines our love
affair with the movies and our need to escape into fantasy. The central
device of the wall breaking down between the characters in a film and
those watching is great fun, and both Mia Farrow and Jeff Daniels do
some of their very best work in this.

That said, for me, it lacks a little of the depth and complexity of my
very favorite Allen films. It's a little too cute and simplistic
in the middle, although the first and last third, and the uncompromised
ending are terrific. It doesn't quite hold up on multiple viewings
the way 'Annie Hall', or 'Crimes and Misdemeanors' or 'Hannah and Her
Sisters' or 'Zelig' do. But even 2nd tier Woody Allen is better than
almost anything else out there. And on a certain level, with great
filmmakers its about personal taste, not right and wrong. (e.g. Is Chapln's
'Modern Times' better than 'City Lights' ?) So, if you like Allen's
work at all and you've never seen this, you owe yourself a look to
decide for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and wistful comedy/fantasy, April 15 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purple Rose Of Cairo (DVD)
An utterly sweet, inventive and charming film that examines our love
affair with the movies and our need to escape into fantasy. The central
device of the wall breaking down between the characters in a film and
those watching is great fun, and both Mia Farrow and Jeff Daniels do
some of their very best work in this.

That said, for me, it lacks a little of the depth and complexity of my
very favorite Allen films. It's a little too cute and simplistic
in the middle, although the first and last third, and the uncompromised
ending are terrific. It doesn't quite hold up on multiple viewings
the way 'Annie Hall', or 'Crimes and Misdemeanors' or 'Hannah and Her
Sisters' or 'Zelig' do. But even 2nd tier Woody Allen is better than
almost anything else out there. And on a certain level, with great
filmmakers its about personal taste, not right and wrong. (e.g. Is Chapln's
'Modern Times' better than 'City Lights' ?) So, if you like Allen's
work at all and you've never seen this, you owe yourself a look to
decide for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and wistful comedy/fantasy, April 15 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purple Rose of Cairo 85 (DVD)
An utterly sweet, inventive and charming film that examines our love
affair with the movies and our need to escape into fantasy. The central
device of the wall breaking down between the characters in a film and
those watching is great fun, and both Mia Farrow and Jeff Daniels do
some of their very best work in this.

That said, for me, it lacks a little of the depth and complexity of my
very favorite Allen films. It's a little too cute and simplistic
in the middle, although the first and last third, and the uncompromised
ending are terrific. It doesn't quite hold up on multiple viewings
the way 'Annie Hall', or 'Crimes and Misdemeanors' or 'Hannah and Her
Sisters' or 'Zelig' do. But even 2nd tier Woody Allen is better than
almost anything else out there. And on a certain level, with great
filmmakers its about personal taste, not right and wrong. (e.g. Is Chapln's
'Modern Times' better than 'City Lights' ?) So, if you like Allen's
work at all and you've never seen this, you owe yourself a look to
decide for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating and wistful comedy/fantasy, April 15 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purple Rose of Cairo (Widescreen) (DVD)
An utterly sweet, inventive and charming film that examines our love
affair with the movies and our need to escape into fantasy. The central
device of the wall breaking down between the characters in a film and
those watching is great fun, and both Mia Farrow and Jeff Daniels do
some of their very best work in this.

That said, for me, it lacks a little of the depth and complexity of my
very favorite Allen films. It's a little too cute and simplistic
in the middle, although the first and last third, and the uncompromised
ending are terrific. It doesn't quite hold up on multiple viewings
the way 'Annie Hall', or 'Crimes and Misdemeanors' or 'Hannah and Her
Sisters' or 'Zelig' do. But even 2nd tier Woody Allen is better than
almost anything else out there. And on a certain level, with great
filmmakers its about personal taste, not right and wrong. (e.g. Is Chapln's
'Modern Times' better than 'City Lights' ?) So, if you like Allen's
work at all and you've never seen this, you owe yourself a look to
decide for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Miniature Masterpiece, April 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Purple Rose of Cairo (Widescreen) (DVD)
If Woody Allen thinks this is his finest film, I'm not surprised. It's flawless. Brilliantly written, brilliantly acted, superbly plotted. Faultless. Daniels and Farrow are perfectly stunning in their parts. Whatever happended to Jeff Daniels? Why is this the only film I've seen him in? He plays this part with the lightest of touches: it's like whipped cream. Farrow is incredible, retaining always the slight reserve of suspicion that things can't be quite what they seem, which just about makes the ending bearable. The real mastery of the writing and direction is that what threatens to be a one-joke plot never topples over and falls flat. The juggling keeps the balls in the air with such delicate skill that the only possible reaction is one of pure admiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Most Enduring Myth, March 20 2004
This review is from: Purple Rose of Cairo (Widescreen) (DVD)
Not only is this an essential add to any Woody Allen collection, it's probably one of the stories written by Mr. Yi that will far outlast any of his others, with the exception of Zelig. Please buy a copy and watch it every Valentine's Day, as it's the best flick to commemorate found love, lost love and the bitter denial of love ever filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It Was Pretty Good!, Oct. 24 2003
This review is from: Purple Rose of Cairo (Widescreen) (DVD)
I'm not a Woody Allen fan but I did like this movie, I liked the premise and I liked the acting of Mia Farrow, Jeff Daniels and Danny Aiello and I thought the fantasy of a movie character stepping out of the screen and interacting with the real world was pretty charming and I have to say that as amusing as this movie is there are also scenes that are actually pretty sad. Like I said I'm not a Woody Allen fan but I do have to reccomend this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love talking to you, Aug. 17 2003
This review is from: Purple Rose of Cairo (Widescreen) (DVD)
"How many times is a man so taken with a woman that he walks off the screen to get her?"
I had to laugh the day I watched this movie. I realized my bed is covered in purple roses. At least, that is the pattern. Who knows, maybe I will run off to Hollywood soon. I think for my whole life I've always had a fictional character living in my mind, that perfect man who is poetic, has a sexy voice and is wildly witty.
Cecilia (Mia Farrow) seems to be dreaming of the same man because had I been in this movie we could have fought over explorer Tom Baxter (Jeff Daniels). He is adorable, dreamy and romantic. His innocence, optimism and sense of wonderment is completely cute. He is present, intelligent, passionate, takes life with a dose of humor and is willing to fight for what he wants. He also loves talking to Cecilia and she can barely stop herself from fainting in his presence. She is overwhelmed when she realizes her fantasy exists.
Ok, so he is fictional and as Cecilia would say: "He's fictional, but you can't have everything."
Cecilia is trapped washing dishes in a diner, while she would rather be dreaming. She is beautiful, open to possibilities, willing to trust a man who shows her loving direction and has a healthy radiance. When she is not working or dealing with her verbally abusive husband (Danny Aiello), she spends all her free time escaping vicariously into the characters lives at the Jewel Movie Theater.
Her life is filled with hardship, while the characters onscreen live in luxury. Her husband is verbally abusive and even hits her when she gets out of line. She dreams of being with a romantic character and the thought that she will actually talk to a real-life movie star seems to be her wildest fantasy.
Cecilia is a good example of a woman with low self-esteem who is very intimidated by her husband. One day while watching "The Purple Rose of Cairo," one of the characters notices she has been watching his movie over and over again. He is so impressed, he decides to step right out of the movie and meet her. It is the stuff of fantasy!
Not only does he want to marry her almost the minute he sees her, he defends her and romances her beyond anything she could ever imagine. She is literally transfixed by his idealistic, poetic nature. That is until the real-life actor Gil Shepherd appears.
There has never been a movie that so captivated me and amused me to the core. I loved the original ideas, fantasy characters, the movie characters talking to the audience and the comedic timing is beyond perfect. Some scenes are so completely eccentric, the hilarity factor bubbles over like champagne. I was still laughing at the same jokes while watching this movie the seventh time in two days!
One is left wondering: "Are there any other guys like Tom out there?" I think there might be one left, somewhere on the earth. This movie is hilarious, short, sweet, innocent and maybe even a little sad. We are never sure if Cecilia continues to think of her inner world as a fantasy mansion or if she starts to see the sunsets in her real world and finds the real man of her dreams.
As David Deida would say: "We must see that we are afraid of the thing we most desire, and so we live a mediocre life, never bringing to consummation the primary impulse of our heart."
A movie to make you think about how you are living your life and what you would change in your life if you could "really" escape into the fantasy of your dreams. You are left thinking that perhaps you could dream a fantasy into life.
~The Rebecca Review.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Purple Rose of Cairo (Widescreen)
Purple Rose of Cairo (Widescreen) by Woody Allen (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 29.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews