Customer Reviews


547 Reviews
5 star:
 (429)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game that changed the world!
When "Grand Theft Auto 3" first debuted in October 2001, almost every American (including the world) were shaken up from the aftermath of 9/11. This game wasn't an instant hit; it slowly became a blockbuster after a huge word of mouth from gamers and especially from the news who argued that "GTA 3" was the most violent game ever. What they didn't know was that since they...
Published on Feb. 2 2004 by Frank Ponce

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Car sick
The game save feature isn't working although I have two memory cards installed. The riding around is making me car sick.
This might be more fun for kids who don't yet have a license for the sense of cruising around that it DOES provide. But, for this 50 year old, it is pretty close to torture to play this game. I can appreciate the programming, but the game play...
Published on July 15 2002 by The Honest Conn Man


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game that changed the world!, Feb. 2 2004
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (Video Game)
When "Grand Theft Auto 3" first debuted in October 2001, almost every American (including the world) were shaken up from the aftermath of 9/11. This game wasn't an instant hit; it slowly became a blockbuster after a huge word of mouth from gamers and especially from the news who argued that "GTA 3" was the most violent game ever. What they didn't know was that since they complained about it, more people listened to the hype and it became a video game icon.
It revolutionized the industry, it caused backlash from parents, made kids play it despite censors, and simply made video games fun again. I don't know how many hours I played this game, but it was alot!
Everybody knows that you play a criminal, who roams around Liberty City, steals cars, works for various gangs, beat and kill pedestrians, do many missions and make the police very mad! It just sounds great, doesn't it? There is also many weapons and cars to choose from. Liberty City is amazing to look at; every detail in the game is almost realistic. And the audio and music soundtrack is perfect.
Although "GTA: Vice City" was a better game overall, there's still a reason to play this "GTA 3". It was a radical new departure in video gaming, and no other game will make that such an impact ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Car sick, July 15 2002
By 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (Video Game)
The game save feature isn't working although I have two memory cards installed. The riding around is making me car sick.
This might be more fun for kids who don't yet have a license for the sense of cruising around that it DOES provide. But, for this 50 year old, it is pretty close to torture to play this game. I can appreciate the programming, but the game play isn't for me. Driving around doesn't cut it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Car sick, July 15 2002
By 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (Video Game)
The game save feature isn't working although I have two memory cards installed. The riding around is making me car sick.
This might be more fun for kids who don't yet have a license for the sense of cruising around that it DOES provide. But, for this 50 year old, it is pretty close to torture to play this game. I can appreciate the programming, but the game play isn't for me. Driving around doesn't cut it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait till San Andreas, Oct. 19, July 13 2004
By 
Tobin Sparfeld (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (Video Game)
This is the classic Sony Playstation 2 video game. No other game is as much fun to pick up and play. Although I took some time off, I finally finished all the missions.
In this game, you play an ex-con who acts as a criminal free agent around the three-part town called Liberty City. As you work for rival crime bosses and gang leaders, you earn money by completing each mission.
The entertainment of the game is its sheer amount of freedom. If you are not ready to try to complete each mission, you are free to roam around the city at will, stealing cars, collecting hidden packages, even making money as a cab driver, firefighter, or "vigilante cop."
Although the graphics could be a little better and I hate the aiming system for some of the weapons, the game is ultimate fun. There is a reason that this game is so popular, despite its main criticism.
GTA3 has been derided continuously for its mature rating and questionable moral code. In the video game, your character increases his health by hiring prostitutes, and can get away with killing cops and innocent civilians. Because of this, GTA3 is NOT for kids to play. I'm always surprised to find too many young kids playing this game.
All that being said, GTA3 is not as horrible as it may sound. All of the characters you are required to kill are criminals (there is a one dirty cop or two) and lawless thugs. Crimes against innocent civilians could get you arrested. I don't think the game gives any impression that crime pays.
I strongly recommend GTA3 (as well as GTA: Vice City). It's a fun game, and has many side-missions and games which can keep you entertained for a LONG time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grand theft Auto III..!! -Is great for my downtime..?, July 9 2004
By 
Robert the Psychoman (Fontana California..) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (Video Game)
This game was really spectactular. -I've have succesfully
completed all the mission's.. -It took me a decade.. -Ever
since this game came out. -I've first spotted it when a
friend loned me it. -Then my parents bought it.
So I loved the graphic's; -the violence..! -The cinema
looks realistic.. -The camera angles are great for the
movie mission's..! -I don't care about crusing around for
the city. -I've care about the dang pesky mission's..?
becuase two me; -driving around.. -Shooting at people
is kind of boring.. -Don't you think..! -Give the mission's
credit for making your joinment a breeze..
Rockstar games made this for you two play the missions
and then enjoy killing a lot of people and throwing
grenades or bombs; -blowing up the city.. -Something
like that.. -But the only thing that really suck's
about the game.. -Rockstar can't let you even blow up
the city's; -building's.. -That wooed of been a blast..?
All right.. -May be in the next game..! -The game is
not that fun then going around and killing a lot of
people and getting the coppers two bug you on your
gamming journey.. -I really had fun with this game..?
even; -this game was meant two be for the; -"Godfather.."
and; -Goodfella's.. -Fanatic's..! -But I love it
becuase you get two get into a car and drive around..?
Which was the easiet dang part of the game..? -The
game begins when your girl shoots you in the gutter
for dead.. -Then hull off two prison..! -Then an
explosion leaves several dead.. -Which leads two
believe the cartel was behind this lates new
incident.. -Even the newsreporter makes a lot of
sense.. -Then it's off two a guy name.. -Luigi.
You go downtown two get change..! -Then you are on
your way with some black guy.. -Ho will give you your
boss.. -A Mafia gangster..! -Ho works at his pub in
Chinatown.. -So he give's you these mission's..! -Such
as taking his girl for a ride and bring's her back
from the clinic..! -So on.. -I even thought picking
up those whose's where so easy..?
I finally have the code's two not let the time two
interfere with my gaming. -The timming seem so dang
annoying.. -This game came out in the late 90's..!
but it took me so long two finally beat it..? -Much
like the next one did..! -I really enjoyed the
Vice City..! -I'll get my review on that one sometime..?
Their..! -I did not spoil threw the hole mission story's.
just two make sure that I am not that type of guy
ho will ruin everything for you..?
So I hope this review help you..? -Also; -I enjoy
the gore of the game.. -That's why I wanted two play it..!
the graphic's look's really better..! -I've never really
gotta chance two play; -Grand Theft Auto 1, -or; -II..
Sorry if I didin't.. -But I still play this; -over and
over for my downtime..!
Enjoy..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Carjacking, Civilian Beating, Joy-Ride!!!, June 28 2004
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (Video Game)
This IS whithout a doubt the best (not to mention most addictive) game I have ever played. It's just a downright, Carjacking Romp. If you haven't played this game yet, you MUST play this before you play it's sequel GRAND THEFT AUTO: SAN ANDREAS.
To be honest, I thought this game would be a terible game, Infact, I was avoiding buying this game. Man have I missed A LOT! Honestly, I's not that bad, to all of you "uptight" mom's. Ofcourse the premise of the game is to steal cars, but it's still very tame for it's mature rating.
Alright, first of all, the ability to just jump grab any car you want and just jump right in, is AWESOME, I mean it really doesn't matter, as long as it has wheels and doors, you can drive it. From Station Wagons to Stallions and Ambulances to Firetrucks.
When you're in a Firetruck or a Policecar can do these vigilante missions where you foil crooks, put out fires and rescue the injured.
In this game there are 3 islands you can travel and roam in, irst of all there's Portland which is pretty much the same as New York. You get you're street reputation in Portland.
Alright this game has it all, the violence, the story and even the hot chicks. And something that is really different is that the game is just enjoyable all the way through and you look forward to your next mission and you're always suprised and amazed by the bizarrely fun missions you have. From running away from the Triads is a Souped up Mafia car, to crrying a dead body to a car crusher, it's just all out F..U..N!
The story evolves very well, and goes up as you would expect it, you start out as a lowly guy and work for Luigi, a pimp (to certain rights) and then, as your reputation gets better, and word starts to spread on your feats, you get contacted by Joey, Toni Cipnelli and Diablo himself. Wow, I want to play this game even more now that i'm writing a review about it.
Oh, and the game has pretty much infinate replay value becasue of (1) it's length (by the time you beat it and star over again you won't remember most of the missions) and (2)Ther's just so much to do in between missions. From beating innocent civilians to "'Jackin' some sweet wheels" you can make a day out of it.(Honestly).
Breakdown:
Graphics: 15/10 Great, really crisp and really responsive, from busting up a car to shooting people...it looks real alright!
Gameplay: 15/10 TONS of Fun, yet still simple. Of course it would deserve a 20, if you could crouch and commit drive by's.
Fun: 25/10 This is THE best game EVER (well so far) you get to run around and kill hookers and civilians, and get to steal cars...it doesn't get much better than this.
Difficulty: 10/10 can be a real "toughy at times", especially when you're trying to take down an armored car, while tons of cops swarm around you..it's a real nail biter.
Overall:65/40 what is there to say, just look at the total. haha.
Alright first of all, Buy this game, then play it and the first time you get bored of the game (about 12-18 months after you get it, research Grand theft auto San Andreas, it looks awesome.
This is esential to any teen's PS2 game library. It's really a lot of fun to play, no matter who you are. I mean anyone with a PS2 should and must own this game. Even the most "Uptown" people will find beating innocent civilians a lot of fun.
Buy it. Play it. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ENOUGH WITH THE BS PARENTS, June 8 2004
By 
sammyG "sammyg" (LIMP BIZKIT SUCKS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (Video Game)
MY GOD YOU "PERFECT" PARENTS COULD U LEAVE THE GAME ALONE!!!U ALL SAY WHATS THIS WORLD COMMING TOO? WELL THIS WORLD IS COMMING TO SOME TERRIBLE BS CENCORSHIP LAWS. ANYONE WHO RATED THIS GAME 1 STAR OBVISLOY DIDNT PLAY THE GAME THERE JUST PARENTS WHO ARE OUTRAGED THAT THEY MAKE A GAME LIKE THIS AND IT MAKES THEM FEEL BETTER TO GIVE IT A BAD REVIEW. O AND TO ALL YOU "PERFECT" PARENTS THERE IS A MATURE RATING ON THE GAME THATS THE SAME AS A RATED R MOVIE-DRRR IF YOU WERE SUCH A GOOD PARENT YOU WOULDA OF CHECKED AND MADE SURE IT WASNT MATURE--AND IF YOU CLAIM THAT A STORE CLERK SOLD THE GAME WITHOUT PARENTLE PERMISSION WELL SHOULDNT U CHECK WHAT YOUR SON OR DAUGHTER BRINGS HOME-DRRR O YOUR SUCH "GREAT" PARENTS--NEXT THING YOU KNOW YOUR SON GOES AROUND ON A KILLING SPREE WITH A FLAME THROWER AND WHOS TO BLAME BY THESE PARENTS--WELL THESE PARENTS BLAME STUFF LIKE GTA CUZ THEY CANT REALIZE HOE BAD OF PARENTS THEY ARE AND IT IS ALL THERE FAULT-YEAH MOMMY ALL YOUR FAULT-WHY DONT THESE "PERFECT" PARENTS STOP ATTENDING ALL THE DANG PTA MEETINGS AND PAY MORE ATTETION TO WHAT YOUR CHILD HAS POSSETION OF...
Now that thats outta the way im going to review the game cuz i have acually played it and own it.
this game has a genois storyline too it-the only flaw is your charecter dosent talk-but this game makes up so much for it--you earn respect on the streets from local gangs and local figureheads by compleating missions-you become more high ranked and well known through out the city as you complete missions-takes place in liberty city but i think it is just a replica of NYC-great guns and weapons-cool charecters-good grapihics-cool cars-and just a flat out great game!!
I PERSONALLY LOVE THIS GAME AND I SUPPORT THE GTA MOVEMENT AND I HOPE THEY MAKE THOUSANDS OF MORE GTA GAMES IN THE FUTURE-GREAT GAME GO BUY IT YOULL LOVE IT
AND TOO ALL YOU PARENTS WHO NAY SAY-I HATE YOU VERY MUCH GO BURN IN...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Better than Vice City in many ways., May 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (Video Game)
I'm sorry to say but GTA3 is better than GTA: VC. The story, the plot, the scenes, the lines, the characters, the city, the gangs, the beginning and I must say that GTA3's ending is much, much, much better than Vice City's dumb ass ending was. That's for f***ing sure!!!
Liberty City is a better setting. It's a lot more, darker dangerous and out of control city but yet at the same time it's an under control city by it's Mafia's and gangs, it's main character is a lot more darker and dangerous than Tommy will ever be. For, the main character not speck or saying anything in the game is pretty original and he somewhat reminds me Japanese actor/director Takeshi Kitano. The kind of characters he played in movies like Brother, Sonatine, Hana-bi and Violent Cop, a character who doesn't talk that much at all. Action, speak louder than words. It's better than hearing some annoying English voice actor.
GTA3 had much cooler gangs like the Italian Mafia, the Japanese Yakuza, the Colombians Cartels, the Chinese Triads, the Jamaican Yardies, and South Side Hoods. Those characters and their bosses and there missions are a lot more, cooler a lot more interesting, and their lot more, tougher to fight in the game.
Vice cities gangs are nowhere near as cool or interesting or tough or even in anyway realistic. VC's gangs and just about every character in the game and their, lines are just way, way too goofy, cheesy and f***ing stupid. When GTA3 came out, it surprised everyone. Vice city only added a few new things to the game. You can ride bikes, helicopters and own businesses. That's it. Tommy makes s*** when you do missions, only a 100 or 1000 bucks. In one of the missions in the game you blow up a building and that is basically the biggest one in the game and you only get a, 1000 bucks. You should get least 50,000 or 100,000, or even a, 100,000,000 dollars for doing something like that. And the weapons in Vice city are just way, way too expensive. GTA3's character got paid a lot better.
Vice City just has a 'Scareface,' 'Carletos Way' and a 'Mini Vice' feel and setting to it but with the really dumb opening to it. GTA3 has more of a 'Godfather 1, 'Godfather 2,' 'Payback,' 'Brother' (A Takeshi Kitano film), and 'Goodfellas,' feel and setting to it.
10/10
Can't wait for Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Forgetaboutit. A really different kind of "game", May 10 2004
By 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (Video Game)
(Reviewed in my best "wiseguy" voice...)
Look. Youse lookin for a good game with lots of people bein' whacked and what not? Nothin for nothin, this is the game for you, pal. But watch out. This here game is not a game for the kiddies, if you know what I mean. There are lots of swearin' and adult type situations with women, drugs and people bein' whacked. Your job is to move up in the organization. See? If you do a good job for the crew, you get rewarded by bein' moved up in the family. You gotta jack some cars and other things to keep up with the game. You gotta break bones. You gotta smach some heads. You gotta do some hits on undesirables. What else could you ask for? There are lots of side missions and a big old army tank to play with if you play the game right. So you have been warned, pal. Don't come cryin' to me if it looks too violent cuz I already wised you up. It ain't a game for every wiseguy, so you better check it out at your rental store foist before ya buy it. But as for me and my crew, we had a ball playin' with it. I woulda given it a "5", but there are some problems with it like finding different places, which is sort of hard if you ain't a cabbie that knows how to get around. Goin' from here to there and back again sort of got on my nerves. See? The side missions were a little lame but I'll give the developers a pass this time and let them go. So, whatareyoulookinat? Go play it for cryin' outloud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Best Game ever made., May 7 2004
By 
J.D. (USA/TN/Memphis) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (Video Game)
This game started alot of things that is looked over. True Crimes is good and all but was there any game like this one before than. Driver is a little like it. but anyway you can steal cars and shoot people up on this video game. Which is too much for some people because they go around killing people. This game is going as a classic in gaming history. Vice City is a good game too but what started it, Grand Theft Auto 3 did. And That's why alot of games try to use that same style of High Jacking cars and having very dangerous weapons. Police chasing you, other games just change thiers up so you will not really notice the diffrence. But to alot that is easy to notice, To me there is no game no game that is better than this one. That is out right now, except my number one game. And if you a true game fan you will know why I picked it. but anyway back to this game, the things to do on here are endless. You can listen to the radio as you drive your car, or busted up car if it gets messed up. Yo ucan even fly a plane if you do it right. This is a good game that I'm sure took a lot of thinking. That is why this is my number 3 pick of the best 3 games ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto III
Grand Theft Auto III by Take 2 (PlayStation2)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 4.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews