Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Twist But Enjoyable As Drama
Anne Of Green Gables were several movies directed by Kevin Sullivan. These movies were originally made for television (the Disney Channel) back in the late 80's and early 90's. The movies were drawn from the Lucy Maud Montgomery books and starred Megan Follows as the title heroine Anne Shirley. Kevin Sullivan was also responsible for directing the Avonlea series, a tv...
Published on Aug. 18 2003

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Anne The Action Hero
I was greatly disappointed with this movie. They might as well have called it 'Anne The Action Hero'. Instead of staying true to Lucy Maud Montgomery's story, Anne and Gilbert go off to the war, the war their children were actually fighting. Instead of seeing Anne and Gilbert settle into family life with their children, the writers instead made up this crazy movie with...
Published on June 19 2005 by Jen Freedom Mountney


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Anne The Action Hero, June 19 2005
By 
Jen Freedom Mountney (New Lowell, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
I was greatly disappointed with this movie. They might as well have called it 'Anne The Action Hero'. Instead of staying true to Lucy Maud Montgomery's story, Anne and Gilbert go off to the war, the war their children were actually fighting. Instead of seeing Anne and Gilbert settle into family life with their children, the writers instead made up this crazy movie with so many plots and basically a lot of chaos. It was so sad to watch this movie knowing that they had officially ruined the Anne of Green Gables trilogy. Sadly too, the movie was made so many years after the second one that Anne looks very aged. It would have been much more appropriate to follow her family life and watch her children growing and all the great adventures they had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment!, Oct. 22 2004
By 
S E B (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This is not even worthy of being called "The Continuing Story" as it is so completely different from L.M.Montgomery's original novels. It was such a disappointment, and horrifying to see them stray so much from what were some of the best books and movies I've ever read and seen. I cannot believe the original actors signed on to this project - if they had truly stuck to the story, it would have been wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful...dreadful...disappointing..., July 8 2004
By A Customer
...and I have never read the books - this mess is inexcusable and should never have been made. The 'plot' is incredibly unbelievable, the worst sort of cliche melodrama, and the virtues that were so evidenced and detailed in the earlier films are swamped under. This is one movie you can afford to miss - I can think of nothing good to say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Anne of Green Gables & Not For Kids, June 21 2004
By 
Paul Wherry "pawherry" (Ohio, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story (VHS Tape)
What a disappointment. As a British American I was very much offended by this movie. My wife and I got this from the library to watch with our kids and it was not what we expected at all. We all loved the first two movies and my wife and daughters loved all the books. We really were hoping to have a true continuation that followed the books and this was not it.
Once the war scenes started we had to send our five kids upstairs. This movie is not for kids and definitely not an Anne movie. Anne would never have acted the way this movie portrayed her. They should have stayed with the books and then the movie would have been spot on. The only scene that really reflected Anne how she would have been is when she first greeted Gilbert and fell flat on her face in the mud.
This movie was very anti-American and not particularly flattering to the British. Though I did enjoy the scene during the enlistment of soldiers when they were being lead by a bagpiper. That would seem accurate.
In summary if you have no idea who Anne of Green Gables is and do not care then this movie would be good. But if you are looking for the Anne Shirley of the books written by Lucy Maud Montgomery you will not find her here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's Terrible!, Nov. 3 2003
Well you can count me as another disappointed Anne fan who thought this movie wasn't up to snuff with the books and the better of the Anne movies. This movie has no heart, absolutely no warmth and is rather boring. I kind of think Kevin Sullivan added war and violence so guys would like this movie just as much as their wives or their girlfriends and so they would'nt think of it as a chick flick! Sorry, but I thought this movie was terrible and I wish I had never watched it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BIG Disappointment, June 30 2004
By 
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story (VHS Tape)
"Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story" is a huge disappointment. This continuing story, sequel or whatever you want to call it should never have been made. Megan Follows' performance as Anne Shirley is horrible. This is not the Anne I remember from "Anne of the Green Gables" I am sorry to say. Her face and voice have changed radically. Megan Follows really did not age well. Her voice sounds like she's a "two-pack-a-day" smoker. It really is sad. As for the actual story I can only say that it borders on the ridiculous and ludicrous and reeks with mediocrity. The World War I sequences are foolish and laughable. The several coincidences that occur throughout this story are beyond all credibility. Sequels like this often destroy the original. I hope this does not affect "Anne of the Green Gables." "Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story" will be an eternal disappointment for many of us who loved Megan Follows in the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, Feb. 17 2003
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story (VHS Tape)
This is the third installment in a series of dramatizations of Lucy Maud Montgomery's beloved Anne of Green Gables novels. Megan Follows and Jonathon Crombie return in their usual roles. Unfortunately, this third production does not meet the high standards set by the first, faithful installment. In a total of seven Anne novels, Montgomery provided fully enough amusing, sentimental, and unabashedly romantic material for three movies. It was a pity that the second production (Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel) departed somewhat from the novels; it's a crime that this third production leaves Montgomery behind entirely, transporting her characters forward in time, pitchforking them into a trite war plot, and resolving the incoherent plot elements with a tepid, candy-coated ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sprinkled with sexual innuendoes, Jan. 24 2004
I am a great fan of Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea as I grew up with these films. Both movies are romantic and show the beauty of a simpler life. In the Continuing Story, Anne is not the young, attractive lady she once was and Gilbert has lost much of his handsomeness. Anne has a romantic intanglement with a Jack Garrison and it seems as though she is shown more with Fred Wright than with her beloved Gilbert. This moving is not heartwarming and sweet like its predecessors, but haphazard in plot. I do not recommend this movie to anyone wishing to see a clean movie, as it is sprinkled with sexual innuendoes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Twist But Enjoyable As Drama, Aug. 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story (VHS Tape)
Anne Of Green Gables were several movies directed by Kevin Sullivan. These movies were originally made for television (the Disney Channel) back in the late 80's and early 90's. The movies were drawn from the Lucy Maud Montgomery books and starred Megan Follows as the title heroine Anne Shirley. Kevin Sullivan was also responsible for directing the Avonlea series, a tv series set in Avonlea Prince Edward Island following the lives of its many young and old dwellers.
The Anne of Green Gables movies were sentimental, romantic and family-oriented, well written and enjoyable. The last film concerning Anne was released in 2000 (but could have been made earlier) and again starred Megan Followas as a now much older Anne Shirely. Anne has been engaged to Gilbert in New York but World War 1 breaks out and Gilbert is drafted. Anne takes a position as nurse. The terrible and grim reality of war sets in and makes this film a more PG-13 type of film, with some mature content involving war themes and death. The point was that Anne could stand up to life's harsh cruelty just as well as she could escape it through her writing. She successfully nurtures orphaned children and survives the bloody war to be blissfully united with her true love Gilbert Blythe.
The film is still enjoyable as drama, poignant in its tragic tone, very worth watching. But don't expect to see any of the old sentimental romanticism of Prince Edward Island from the original films. Far from the dreamy island, the film is mostly taking place in the war zone of Europe at the outbreak of World War 1. To fans of the novels, this is a major disappointment. Although Anne is still her old spirited and strong willed self, readers of the novels complain that it lacks the old magic and has unnecessary scenes of violence. Also it is inaccurate to the original novels of Montgomery. Anne's childhood and growing up into a woman days were in the late 19th century 1880's and 1890's. But Kevin Sullivan had Anne growing up in the early 1900's so that when World War 1 erupted in 1914 Anne was in her twenties as is convincing in this film. It is not suited for younger children, perhaps more for children who grew up watching Anne of Green Gables are now older. It is more for pre-teens. I still liked this film and found it to be necessary. Even Anne said once, (in Anne of Avonlea) "Everyone's life has their book of Revelations". Life can be both beautiful like a dream and as vicious as a nightmare. War is never a good thing but hopefully with war films, one can learn a lesson.. a lesson of a call for peace and unity. So I think this film should be seen by old fans of the show who are now mature enough to watch a film like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing whether you read the books or not, May 26 2003
By 
S. Reigel "rosebud76" (Riverton, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I heard this 3rd installment of the Anne of green gables series was coming out, i was so excited. I fully expected the spirit of the first two movies to be carried on in the 3rd movie. I was sorely disappointed.
Let me say that I did read the book series first. The first movie, of course, was as excellent portrayal of the frist book. Even though the 2nd movie was a departure in many ways from the storyline of the 2nd, 3rd and 4th books, the spirit and character of Anne and Gilbert were portrayed very well, and I enjoyed that story as much as the books. However, not only did the 3rd movie not even take a shred of plotline from the books, but Anne and Gilbert, as portrayed by the Actors and the script, were no longer Anne and Gilbert to me, but two entirely different people. In the books, Anne retains her imaginative spirit, even when her family experiences war and hardship. Here she becomes someone else entirely. As mentioned by others, the movie should have been set when Anne and GIlbert were married, and had children. There were 3 books about her children, certainly enough for a good movie.
Don't bother watching this one. Don't even rent it. Just hope they might scrap this one and redo it right (or re read the books)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story
Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story by Stefan Scaini (VHS Tape - 2002)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 19.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews