Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars série fabuleuse
J'ai acheté la série à votre compagnie, quoi de plus satisfaisant avoir une série que l'on peut regarder quand l'on veut. Merci
Published 13 months ago by Louise Thibaudeau

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Anne The Action Hero
I was greatly disappointed with this movie. They might as well have called it 'Anne The Action Hero'. Instead of staying true to Lucy Maud Montgomery's story, Anne and Gilbert go off to the war, the war their children were actually fighting. Instead of seeing Anne and Gilbert settle into family life with their children, the writers instead made up this crazy movie with...
Published on June 19 2005 by Jen Mountney


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Anne The Action Hero, June 19 2005
By 
Jen Mountney (New Lowell, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
I was greatly disappointed with this movie. They might as well have called it 'Anne The Action Hero'. Instead of staying true to Lucy Maud Montgomery's story, Anne and Gilbert go off to the war, the war their children were actually fighting. Instead of seeing Anne and Gilbert settle into family life with their children, the writers instead made up this crazy movie with so many plots and basically a lot of chaos. It was so sad to watch this movie knowing that they had officially ruined the Anne of Green Gables trilogy. Sadly too, the movie was made so many years after the second one that Anne looks very aged. It would have been much more appropriate to follow her family life and watch her children growing and all the great adventures they had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment!, Oct. 22 2004
By 
S E B (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This is not even worthy of being called "The Continuing Story" as it is so completely different from L.M.Montgomery's original novels. It was such a disappointment, and horrifying to see them stray so much from what were some of the best books and movies I've ever read and seen. I cannot believe the original actors signed on to this project - if they had truly stuck to the story, it would have been wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful...dreadful...disappointing..., July 8 2004
By A Customer
...and I have never read the books - this mess is inexcusable and should never have been made. The 'plot' is incredibly unbelievable, the worst sort of cliche melodrama, and the virtues that were so evidenced and detailed in the earlier films are swamped under. This is one movie you can afford to miss - I can think of nothing good to say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's Terrible!, Nov. 3 2003
Well you can count me as another disappointed Anne fan who thought this movie wasn't up to snuff with the books and the better of the Anne movies. This movie has no heart, absolutely no warmth and is rather boring. I kind of think Kevin Sullivan added war and violence so guys would like this movie just as much as their wives or their girlfriends and so they would'nt think of it as a chick flick! Sorry, but I thought this movie was terrible and I wish I had never watched it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't do it!, April 7 2010
By 
Ms. EA Byrne "Noble-reader" (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a terrible production which murders the much loved series of the 1980s. I like to pretend it doesn't exist. It has nothing to do with the books or the stories surrounding Ann and Gilbert. It doesn't even make sense within the time frame. PLEASE don't buy it and remember these great actors in a series of quality that did their talents justice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Anne of Green Gables & Not For Kids, June 21 2004
By 
Paul Wherry "pawherry" (Ohio, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story (VHS Tape)
What a disappointment. As a British American I was very much offended by this movie. My wife and I got this from the library to watch with our kids and it was not what we expected at all. We all loved the first two movies and my wife and daughters loved all the books. We really were hoping to have a true continuation that followed the books and this was not it.
Once the war scenes started we had to send our five kids upstairs. This movie is not for kids and definitely not an Anne movie. Anne would never have acted the way this movie portrayed her. They should have stayed with the books and then the movie would have been spot on. The only scene that really reflected Anne how she would have been is when she first greeted Gilbert and fell flat on her face in the mud.
This movie was very anti-American and not particularly flattering to the British. Though I did enjoy the scene during the enlistment of soldiers when they were being lead by a bagpiper. That would seem accurate.
In summary if you have no idea who Anne of Green Gables is and do not care then this movie would be good. But if you are looking for the Anne Shirley of the books written by Lucy Maud Montgomery you will not find her here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where did they come up with the plot?, April 13 2004
By 
Laura G (Monroe, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story (VHS Tape)
Well, I finally watched this and I just can't figure out how the writers went so far away from the plot of the books. I would have much preferred for them to have continued the story the way it was meant to be instead of making up something completely new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sprinkled with sexual innuendoes, Jan. 24 2004
I am a great fan of Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea as I grew up with these films. Both movies are romantic and show the beauty of a simpler life. In the Continuing Story, Anne is not the young, attractive lady she once was and Gilbert has lost much of his handsomeness. Anne has a romantic intanglement with a Jack Garrison and it seems as though she is shown more with Fred Wright than with her beloved Gilbert. This moving is not heartwarming and sweet like its predecessors, but haphazard in plot. I do not recommend this movie to anyone wishing to see a clean movie, as it is sprinkled with sexual innuendoes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely diappointing, July 20 2003
By A Customer
I love the "Anne" books, which was why I found this movie so disappointing. The story line of the movie had nothing to do with the story in L.M Montgomery's books. I think it was rude of the makers of this movie to take L.M. Montgomery's character names and make up a story entirely of thier own -- one that is totally inferior to the characters and stories of the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, Feb. 17 2003
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story (VHS Tape)
This is the third installment in a series of dramatizations of Lucy Maud Montgomery's beloved Anne of Green Gables novels. Megan Follows and Jonathon Crombie return in their usual roles. Unfortunately, this third production does not meet the high standards set by the first, faithful installment. In a total of seven Anne novels, Montgomery provided fully enough amusing, sentimental, and unabashedly romantic material for three movies. It was a pity that the second production (Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel) departed somewhat from the novels; it's a crime that this third production leaves Montgomery behind entirely, transporting her characters forward in time, pitchforking them into a trite war plot, and resolving the incoherent plot elements with a tepid, candy-coated ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story
Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story by Stefan Scaini (VHS Tape - 2002)
CDN$ 34.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews