Customer Reviews


474 Reviews
5 star:
 (402)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What are you going to do, bleed on me?
excellent. Possibly the funniest movie ever made. Who could forget such a line as "I fart in your general direction. Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of eldeberries." This is a great movie and a great dvd edition that gives it justice. This is completely worth the money. A comedy Classic.
Published on July 13 2004 by yister159

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but it dissapointed me.
First off I just want to say that after all the hype of this movie, I was dissapointed. I think it is a good movie but it did not live up to my expectations or the hype. I do wish that I had rented it before I bought it, but oh well. There is one scene that I liked and that was the scene with The Black Night and he gets all his limbs cut off. I did have to force myself to...
Published on May 2 2002 by gorillazfan249


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What are you going to do, bleed on me?, July 13 2004
By 
excellent. Possibly the funniest movie ever made. Who could forget such a line as "I fart in your general direction. Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of eldeberries." This is a great movie and a great dvd edition that gives it justice. This is completely worth the money. A comedy Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PYTHON AT THEIR BEST!!, April 22 2013
By 
Hellroy (Windsor, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After all these years, if you are a Monty Python fan you have seen this movie and do not need to be told to see it. Just classic Python.

Movie: 5 Stars. It is absurd, outrageous and hilarious! Writing is as sharp, or shaper, than the best comedies currently.

Video: I would rate the video a 4/5. I don't think we will ever see a release of this movie on par with 2001 (on blu-ray the picture is STUNNING!) in term so picture quality. I think the quality of film it was shot on back then just doesn't have the resolution/quality of a 2001 and this is probably the best we will get. However it is an improvement over the DVD.

If you are Monty fan, have a blu-ray player and don't have HOLY GRAIL on DVD, buy the blu-ray! If you have DVD I still recommend the blu-ray. You can get it for around $10-$12 on sale and for a classic that is a price worth paying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I told them we already got one!, Feb. 28 2006
By 
FrKurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (Bloomington, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monty Python and the Holy Grail (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
There are so many things about this (and indeed any) Monty Python movie that one hardly knows where to begin. Nothing is left out of the mix--history, religion, politics, personal relationships, prejudices, intellectual prowess or the lack thereof. My title, of course, comes from an early scene in with Arthur approaches a castle, inexplicably occupied by French k-nigits, who claim to already have a grail.
The Monty Python troupe, led by the creative talents of Terry Gilliam and Terry Jones, incorporated John Cleese, Michael Palin, Eric Idle and Graham Chapman as King Arthur, the dominant role in the film. No animals were harmed in the filming, not even an African Swallow, non-migratory as they are. A few coconuts bit the dust, however, as did more than a few comic images. Logic bits the dust, too, on more than one occasion. I did a paper once for symbolic logic which I was told ten years later was still being passed about because I had dared to use something so unconventional as this Monty Python movie in the references (I couldn't see why that wouldn't be much more common, and indeed, hope it is today--I use 'Life of Brian' in homilies, so why not this film in logic?).
The particular logical incident (or rather, illogical incident) involves the trial of a woman accused of being a witch. Through 'logic' it is demonstrated that she would be a witch if she weighed the same as a duck (which, surprisingly enough, it turns out that she does -- 'It's a fair cop' she concedes as the general rejoicing commences at the prospect of a bonfire). Those who have benefit of the 'Executive Version of the Soundtrack of the Trailer of the film Monty Python and the Holy Grail' are also treated to an exposition of the logical problems which itself concludes that 'sex is better than logic'. And who could argue with that reasoning?
However, my favourite scene would have to be the liturgical procession and reading of instructions for the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch, with the leader's instruction 'skip a bit, brother' -- an instruction which I've searched in vain in the liturgical handbooks, but would vastly improve many readings on some mornings in church. This is a perfect parody of the sonorous but deadening readings that seem to drag on interminably.
A close second would be the scene in which Arthur tries to explain his kingship to members of an autonomous collective (read, peasants without a lord) who view him as just another oppressor, and inform him that watery tarts throwing swords at you is not an adequate basis for the exercise of supreme executive power.
Those who have visions of Great Britain as royal and cultural icons are often amazed-the likes of Monty Python and Benny Hill (among others) show the inhabitants of the UK as just as human (if not moreso) than the rest of the world. And we are all the richer for it. Alas, the Holy Grail is never actually attained by the seekers, who run into trouble with more French k-nigits and the local constabulary. But, the journey's the thing, so they teach me in seminary, and thus, this journey is well worth following to the end.
The DVD comes with many extras, including the Camelot song being sung by Lego-land figures, and extensive commentary by actors and others involved in the production.
Prepare to be amazed! Prepare to be offended! Prepare the popcorn in advance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lego Camelot Number Alone is Worth the Price, July 3 2004
By 
Kelly L. Norman "li'l rock & roller" (Plymouth, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python and the Holy Grail (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Who would have thought that, after nearly 30 years, the world's goofiest movie could be made even moreso? Not only is this DVD a comedy triumph (it would be simply if it were the DVD version of the classic film, in which a crew too broke to afford horses for King Arthur and his Knights changed history and college kids' banter forever by introducing coconuts as migrating props). Oh, no, this DVD is one that may become a standard for other DVDs. Just look at this list of extras above! To be sure, some of them are fluff. The "load of rubbish" selection is simply some receipts and a few odd notes. But most of it is stupendous.
The first disc contains the movie itself, along with some choices of how to watch it.... subtitles, commentary by directors Terry Jones & Terry Gilliam or by John Cleese & Eric Idle & Michael Palin. Then "for people who don't like the film", there's subtitles from Shakespeare's "Henry IV, Part II". Now, these do not faithfully follow Henry IV verse by verse, but they do come from the play, and it's hilarious how the phrases Shakespeare wrote do actually match up with the action on the screen.
Disc Two contains several mementoes: a film of John Cleese, Terry Jones, and "Grail" production manager John Young (who also played the hapless "Historian" towards the end of the film, and the "I'm not dead!" guy) paying a return visit to Castle Doune , in 2000. At first it's fun to hear them reminisce at the filming site, but since it's a very small spot with nothing but a wall and a bit of ground, they appear uncomfortable and that quickly gets old. More interesting is the home movie made by the two Terries when they looked for prospective film locations in the seventies. Their excitement is palpable.
A somewhat painful scene (except for the chance it gives us to watch Terry Jones in action as a director) is the BBC documentary made during filming. The interviewer seems more interested in trying to be funny himself than in the Pythons. But there are several great comic extras, including words to some songs, a coconut skit, two scenes dubbed in Japanese, and best of all, an animated feature of the "Camelot" scene and song done entirely in Lego...must be seen to be believed.
Finally, someone has made good use of the storage space on a DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars by David Laing, June 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Monty Python and the Holy Grail (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
In this Python film, the comedy troupe sets out to make fun of the tale of King Arthur. Every scene in this movie is so funny, sometimes you miss some lines, because you're laughing so much. King Arthur [Graham Chapman] is seeking knights to join his court at Camelot. The first castle that he goes to to look for knights has two bird obsessed guards [you're using coconuts!], so Arthur moves on to a small town[ help, help, I'm being repressed!] but finding no help there continues his quest. He journeys through a forest where he meets the black knight in one of the funniest scenes in movie history [just a fleshwound]. After all this, he finally recruits his first knight, Sir Bedevire. The story then skips to when Arthur has all of his knights, and they go to Camelot. Arthur then decides not to go to Camelot, and when he is leaving is asked by God to find the Holy Grail. All of the knights go they're separate ways. Sir Robin journeys through a forest with his favorite minstrels, Sir Gallahad goes to Castle Anthrax, Sir Lancelot gets a letter of distress to help a prince in need, and Sir Bedevire and King Arthur meet a soothsayer. All of them meet up again, and travel to a cave where the grail is supposedly kept. But guarding the cave is a killer bunny rabbit. After disposing of the rabbit with the holy hand grenade, they must cross the bridge of death. Where they must answer 3 questions, but if they get any wrong, they die. For the love of god see this movie right now. It is the only movie that I can think of where the credits made me laugh[moose trained by...]. So go out and rent this movie, or better yet buy this movie now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 5 Ounce Bird Couldn't Carry A 1 Pound Coconut!, June 26 2004
By 
This review is from: Monty Python and the Holy Grail (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Being one of those sick little children that think of Monty Python as a religious experience, I'd say that this is, undoubtedly, the magnum opus of the most genius comedy troop to ever come out of England (or anywhere else for that matter). I find that the funniest films are not necessarily the ones that make you laugh the most, but rather the ones that make you recite all the great lines for days, weeks, months, even years on end. "Holy Grail" is one of the prime cinematic examples of my theory (alongside "Caddyshack" and every Mel Brooks movie ever made). Acting as a comedy in an epic's clothing, "Holy Grail" follows the quest of King Arthur and his brave knights on their quest to reclaim the elusive and shiny Holy Grail. As they set out, they encounter the entire alumni of the Weird Movie Characters Hall of Fame. From rude Frenchman to economic savvy peasants to paraplegic Black Nights. These are the real heroes of the film, considering that they are the ones that make us laugh the most. But what is it, truly, that makes this the single funniest film ever made? The one-liners, the best in any movie ever made (second only perhaps to "Fletch"). You know them all, so I don't even have to say them, and if you don't, well, then go see the movie. But before you do, I must warn you, that's no ordinary rabbit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Did you dress her up like this?, April 20 2004
This review is from: Monty Python and the Holy Grail (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Pythons have to be one of the funniest comedy groups (I forgot what they are called) and this is their most appropriate movie out there, I can't believe when I looked at the rating that it said PG.
Holy Grail is a hilarious movie, beware though, don't watch this movie w/high expectations, otherwise you shall never enjoy it, the story is about King Arthur, played by Graham Chapman, roaming across England in search for knights worthy of joining him at the round table and then being sent on a quest by God himself for the Holy Grail which is where all the trouble and or fun starts, after this point it is a hilarious journey of the adventures of King Arthur and the knights of the round table. One more thing about the movie, some of the humor is very subtle so if you are not paying attention or just are a stupid ignorant fiend who thinks that George W. Bush is a good president, you won't like/get it.
The DVD transfer is great. The picture and sound are surprisingly very good, I didn't expect this good of a transfer, makes me wonder why "Meaning of life" didn't have a good of a transfer as this. The special features are great, not to mention hilarious and for true DVD buffs, there are great commentaries as well, oh and by the way, did you dress her up like this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Comedy of All Time, Feb. 5 2004
By 
gesegnet (Boise, Id United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monty Python and the Holy Grail (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I recently purchased this edition of the DVD and watched it with a friend who sat there the whole movie going huh? To use the cliché, there are two types of people in the world, those like myself, who think that this is the funniest movie ever made, and those who just don't get it. John Cleese once said that Fawlty Towers was more popular than Monty Python (the TV show) because Python appealed to the intellectual side perhaps this is true.
The Holy Grail is an unlikely classic, the troupe went out and started filming with no script and literally started slapping skits together. With one theme surround all the skits, King Arthur's quest for the Holy Grail; the Pythons were able to practice their strongest asset, skits.
This movie gets my vote for the best thing that Monty Python ever made, and the best comedy ever made. Here they are in their prime, even after watching it years later it never gets boring, every scene is a classic, along the way we see the genius that made them famous. What other comedy troupe has ever introduced such a wide span of characters from the oh so serious Dennis, arguing politics with King Arthur, to the silly French "Kniggits" who don't make any sense at all.
If for nothing else, Dennis's description of Arthur's ascendancy to the throne is worth the price of the movie itself.
Repetition is a often used tool in comedy but only the Pythons would take a joke in the opening scene and save it till nearly the end of the movie.
Also, what other movie is so audacious to end in such a way as Holy Grail?
The highlights of the movie are played by John Cleese as the Black Knight, the French Knight, Sir Lancelot saving a "damsel" in distress, and Tim the Enchanter, however there is not a weak member of the cast, all fill their roles wonderfully, including Terry Gilliam whose bizarre animations fit perfectly in a medieval comedy.
I can't think of another comedy that is worth watching over and over again, even after nearly three decades, Holy Grail is, in my opinion, the greatest comedy of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ni!, Jan. 11 2004
By 
This new packaging of the Monty Python classic is to be cherished by Python fans as much (if not more) for the extras as for the film itself. I have always been a Python fan, and must confess that I actually prefer the series to the films, but the classic scenes in this film make it a must see.
The film was shot on a shoestring budget (funded largely by rock music celebrities) in horrible, wet weather by a small cast and crew, with direction from first time directors Terry Jones and Terry Gilliam. The net result is a quasi-historical, utterly warped film about King Arthur (Graham Chapman) and his knights in their search for the Holy Grail. Many entertaining diversions follow, including encounters with the 'Knights Who Say Ni' (my very favorite part of the entire film), a killer rabbit, plus a visit to the surprisingly appealing Castle Anthrax.
The extras are what make this version so desirable. Included on the two disc set are numerous diversions, including a couple of documentaries (one made in 1974 on location, and one made for this release.) One of the highlights of this package is the documentary "The Quest for the Holy Grail Locations!" in which Terry Jones and Michael Palin take us on visits to the locations where the film was shot. It is a very interesting and entertaining documentary with footage from the movie compared with how the areas look now; of particular interest are the interior views of the castles.
Also included is a collectible film cel made for this edition and a printed copy of the screenplay, so you can follow along, or clear up hard to decipher lines. This and many other little gems on the CD's (such as two scenes from the Japanese version, and a skit in which an older Michael Palin demonstrates uses for coconuts) make this a worthwhile addition to any video library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one of the angriest farces ever, Jan. 10 2004
By 
This review is from: Monty Python and the Holy Grail (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Python have been gurus in my life since I was a kid in the 70s. I've always liked their absurd attacks on every institution in the world, and their staggering creativity and originality. Their TV show is still my favorite thing they've done, but Grail has more than enough to make it classic. I love the filmmaking of this film--Terry Jones and Terry Gilliam are working on a pitiful budget, on location, and for the most part this looks great. Imagine if people in the middle ages had cameras and decided to make a documentary--it might look a lot like this. These directors are clearly knowledgeable about artistic films from directors such as Ingmar Bergman, and their knowledge gives the movie a texture and tone you just don't find in comedies. But this isn't just any comedy. If you're looking for something light and fluffy, you won't find it here. Even the rabbit is a vicious killer! Take the scene early in the film with the guy collecting dead bodies in a plague village for a fee. The animal and human dung, the groans of terminal illness, a cat being beaten to death against a wall, then a man being beaten to death for "nine pence"--you get the idea. But nevertheless the scene is funny. If you like that scene you'll like the rest of the film. Still, it is a mighty angry movie. It condemns the violence behind legends like King Arthur (a towering performance from Graham Chapman, absolutely convincing, one of the finest straight men--even though in real life he was gay--in a movie comedy), organized religion, and western philosophy. One more thing--the characters who make me laugh the most are Tim the Enchanter, Roger the Shrubber, and the Old Man on The Bridge of Death. (Terry Gilliam's presence as actor and director and animator on the movie is a marvel--a great way to see how his career as a great director started.) Like all Python films it has peaks and valleys; some scenes last too long, some are based on a thin concept, some push it as far as mixing the gruesome and the madcap, like the Tale of Sir Lancelot where John Cleese as Lancelot slaughters or otherwise brutalizes a bunch of women, children, and old men at a wedding, rather bloodily--too much here, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monty Python and the Holy Grail (Special Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews