Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great record and uderrated
There's a lot to say about this album, personally i think is much better than the Frewhellin', why? Don't know. This bug hit me harder.
This is the LAST album by bobby featuring "finger-pointing" songs, so in my humble opinion the best of this record are the pesonal ballads, with a lot of intimicy and with a great tecnique of smooth...
Published on March 17 2004 by Alejandro Caputi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good CD, Even if They're all Similar and Depressing!
FREEWHEELIN,the earlier release, is for sure the best early Bob, and probably the best of any. It is amazing that he did some novel things at such a young age, better than his later efforts. Still, listening to TIMES THEY ARE A CHANGIN in 2002, much sounds really dated, especially the title track,along with "My Generation", a real generation divider way back...
Published on Jan. 17 2002 by Hans Castorp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bob dylan cd times are a changin, Jan. 8 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bob dylan is the most poet,writer,musician,icon,and much more I always admired his music and his point of ,This album was really good.Personally its my favourite album of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sophomore in HS appreciates Dylan, Dec 15 2000
My dad and aunt acutally turned me on to this CD and to Another Side of Bob Dylan. When I get tired of the loud angry tirades of EMINEM and other rappers, I put on the quieter angry tirades of Dylan. "The Lonsome Death of Hattie Carrol" really touched me and I think all of his songs make points that are still valid today. If anyone is reading my review and you're not sure whether or not to but this cd, I'll tell you buy it! You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The height of his folk style protesting, Aug. 30 1999
By A Customer
This is a great album. all the songs offer insight to the period and Bob's own thoughts. Personally, I like just about every song, but if you're into the electric Dylan, skip this album. He sticks with his acoustic and harmonica and doesn't make exceptions. But as I said, all the songs are great. Gems: One too Many Mornings, North Country Blues, Only a pawn in their Game, The LOnesome Death of Hattie Carrol, Restless Farewell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dylan, and The Times They Are A-Changin�, April 6 2004
By 
James E. Duckworth "oahu-street" (Clinton, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dylan's first three albums: Bob Dylan, The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan, and The Times They Are A-Changin' immediately established him as a songwriter of great distinction. If you like Bob Dylan these three albums are a must for your collection.
May I also recommend a book that is available on this web site: "The Bob Dylan Albums" by Anthony Varesi. The book by Varesi is a fair and honest review of the albums by Dylan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific songs, July 27 2000
By 
Michael Dyckman (West Orange, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like much of Dylan's earlier albums, this one contains songs that are very political (the title track, and Only A Pawn In Their Game, which speaks with bite of racism), tragedies (The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll), and war (With God On Our Side). But like many of his albums, there is humor and some aspects of love songs (Boots of Spanish Leather). Always a voice to hear and songs always worth hearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Before Dylan Went Electric!, July 13 2000
By 
M. Scagnelli (Brandon, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Before Dylan went electric in 1965 with the incredible Bringing it All Back home, Dylan was acoustic folk rock. The Times They Are A-Changin' is one of these albums. It is better than Another Side of Bob Dylan, but not quite as good as Freewheelin'. It is an essential early Dylan album with great songs such as The title track, With God On Our Side, and The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dark Depressing Dylan, Jan. 2 2004
By 
This album looks and feels like a John Steinbeck novel. I get somewhat depressed just looking at the cover, and the effect increases when actually listening to the album. Dylan writes some solid folk/protest tunes here. It's nowhere near Freewheelin' but it's enjoyabie, although it's my least favorite folky Dylan album. Get this if you already have Freewheelin' and Another Side Of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great...for true folkies only, Aug. 25 1998
By A Customer
The Times They are A-Changin' is one of the best of Bob Dylans works, but it is straight out protest folk which will turn some off but not true fans. Dylan's most forward and political album, includes of course the famous title track and other classics "The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carrol" and "When the Ship Comes In".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pessimistic but great, Sept. 19 2003
By 
I really like Dylan's music, lyrics, how he plays the guitar and harmonica, he's a great artist. This is one of the first Dylan's records i bought and still one of my favorites. His not-so-good voice sounds perfect for this songs. Hear "Only a pawn in their game" and "One too many mornings" and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most powerful album ever made, Aug. 13 2001
By 
dek (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This album represents the most powerful use of music I've ever heard. The songs on this album still move me to tears, even after years of listening. Dylan is inspiring, and his lyrics are gripping. This album represents the very best in folk; Dylan tells stories that are simple, honest, and profound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Times They Are A-Changin (Vinyl)
Times They Are A-Changin (Vinyl) by Bob Dylan (LP Record - 2006)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 4 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews