summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars41
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: LP Record|Change
Price:$39.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 15, 2000
My dad and aunt acutally turned me on to this CD and to Another Side of Bob Dylan. When I get tired of the loud angry tirades of EMINEM and other rappers, I put on the quieter angry tirades of Dylan. "The Lonsome Death of Hattie Carrol" really touched me and I think all of his songs make points that are still valid today. If anyone is reading my review and you're not sure whether or not to but this cd, I'll tell you buy it! You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2014
Not quite up to the standards of subsequent albums or its predecessor - Freewheelin' - this is, nevertheless, quintessential Dylan. Angry protest side by side with haunting love songs should have prepared his audience for what was to follow, but it didn't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 1999
This is a great album. all the songs offer insight to the period and Bob's own thoughts. Personally, I like just about every song, but if you're into the electric Dylan, skip this album. He sticks with his acoustic and harmonica and doesn't make exceptions. But as I said, all the songs are great. Gems: One too Many Mornings, North Country Blues, Only a pawn in their Game, The LOnesome Death of Hattie Carrol, Restless Farewell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2004
Dylan's first three albums: Bob Dylan, The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan, and The Times They Are A-Changin' immediately established him as a songwriter of great distinction. If you like Bob Dylan these three albums are a must for your collection.
May I also recommend a book that is available on this web site: "The Bob Dylan Albums" by Anthony Varesi. The book by Varesi is a fair and honest review of the albums by Dylan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2000
Like much of Dylan's earlier albums, this one contains songs that are very political (the title track, and Only A Pawn In Their Game, which speaks with bite of racism), tragedies (The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll), and war (With God On Our Side). But like many of his albums, there is humor and some aspects of love songs (Boots of Spanish Leather). Always a voice to hear and songs always worth hearing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2000
Before Dylan went electric in 1965 with the incredible Bringing it All Back home, Dylan was acoustic folk rock. The Times They Are A-Changin' is one of these albums. It is better than Another Side of Bob Dylan, but not quite as good as Freewheelin'. It is an essential early Dylan album with great songs such as The title track, With God On Our Side, and The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2004
This album looks and feels like a John Steinbeck novel. I get somewhat depressed just looking at the cover, and the effect increases when actually listening to the album. Dylan writes some solid folk/protest tunes here. It's nowhere near Freewheelin' but it's enjoyabie, although it's my least favorite folky Dylan album. Get this if you already have Freewheelin' and Another Side Of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 1998
The Times They are A-Changin' is one of the best of Bob Dylans works, but it is straight out protest folk which will turn some off but not true fans. Dylan's most forward and political album, includes of course the famous title track and other classics "The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carrol" and "When the Ship Comes In".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2003
I really like Dylan's music, lyrics, how he plays the guitar and harmonica, he's a great artist. This is one of the first Dylan's records i bought and still one of my favorites. His not-so-good voice sounds perfect for this songs. Hear "Only a pawn in their game" and "One too many mornings" and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2001
This album represents the most powerful use of music I've ever heard. The songs on this album still move me to tears, even after years of listening. Dylan is inspiring, and his lyrics are gripping. This album represents the very best in folk; Dylan tells stories that are simple, honest, and profound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse