countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
99
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$44.34+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 4, 2004
Having toured Normandy, St. Mere Eglise, Aromanches, Bayeux, Caen and several other sites, I have to say that this movie is about as accurate as you can get, especially the part about the bridge over the Orne River, the Pegasus Bridge. Also, the scene where PFC John Steele is hanging from the steeple of the church at St. Mere Eglise conforms to the real scene right to the "t."
You have to go to Normandy and see the Longe batteries, St. Mere Eglise, Pegasus Bridge etc..., then see the movie and you will walk away with nothing but appreciation for what was done by the "Greatest Generation." I wish I had been a part of it.
A movie of this type, coupled with actually seeing the real sites makes you proud to be an American.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2000
I've seen this movie so many times I lost count, but it still captivates me. You can smell the fear, the tension, relief, all the emotions are there. It's the best movie of it's kind, no movie ever surpassed it and never will.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2013
My husband wanted this movie and of course he loves it. He and my grandson watch it together. It's been watched a few times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 1999
writing this again as i forgot 2 put name of movie....well not 2 happy with this movie as u only seen paul about 2-3 x and for about 4 seconds, he should have had a bigger part in the movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 1999
i was not 2 happy with is movie because u only seen paul about 2 or 3 times, and only for about 4 seconds, he should have had a bigger part and be shown more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2004
This is one of the only movies that acctually use the book. The movie follows the book perfectly. Every detail in the book is in the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2009
This film is amazing. I had recently visited the Canadian War Memorials in France and used this film as reference for each battleground I saw. It puts into perspective how huge the D-Day Operation: Overlord was.

Although, it doesn't have the graphic intensity as "Saving Private Ryan" did as they stormed the beaches, Ken Annakin gets his point across, thoroughly.

If you ever want to see 1 war movie in your life, this one is it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2013
Very accurate portrayal of the events of that day! The bunkers and landscapes are real locations......good castings in the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2012
Highlights the most dramatic events of these crucial 24 hours with the correct blend of reality, propaganda, and human frailties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
wow what amovie i really enjoy all the good guys all in one movie have to wait till can get some more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse