Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Canadians Present?
The Longest Day was a great epic film, but it's hard to believe that no Canadians of influence in Hollywood at the time could have leveraged a small part of the film to depict Canada's contribution on D-Day. Someone should take the film now and insert a Canadian segment using CGI or whatever they did a few years ago to creat those commercials with John Wayne or Bogart in...
Published on June 8 2008 by Captain Midnight

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Canada's Participation Almost Completely Ignored
Yes, this is one of the finest war movies ever made. However, I have to shake my head at those who talk of the film's accuracy when the Canadian participation is almost completely ignored. Virtually no mention is made of Juno beach. The film certainly doesn't mention that Juno was the second bloodiest Normandy beach, behind only Omaha. In spite of that, the Canadians...
Published on July 23 2003 by Allan W. Goodall


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Historic Movie, Nov. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
AN important and very historic true movie and who better to play the part than the true, proud and committed American himself the great John Wayne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where are the Canadians?, May 28 2004
By 
This review is from: Longest Day, the (VHS Tape)
How can anyone consider this to be an accurate interpretation of D-Day with barely a mention of the Canadian involvement. Juno beach was one of the more well defended beaches and the location a key to the success of D-Day. The Canadians fought against the best the Germans had in Normandy and never get the credit they deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great war movie based on a great book, May 8 2004
By 
D. Brown (Springfield, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Longest Day (DVD)
This is one of the only movies that acctually use the book. The movie follows the book perfectly. Every detail in the book is in the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Normandy landings accurate, July 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Longest Day (DVD)
Very accurate portrayal of the events of that day! The bunkers and landscapes are real locations......good castings in the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wartime classic, March 1 2012
This review is from: The Longest Day (DVD)
Highlights the most dramatic events of these crucial 24 hours with the correct blend of reality, propaganda, and human frailties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT WAR MOVIE, Feb. 25 2013
By 
Lorraine Rogers (Halifax NS Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My husband wanted this movie and of course he loves it. He and my grandson watch it together. It's been watched a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie - but my father (early on the beach ..., Sept. 26 2014
By 
Royston P. Lewis (Mount Carmel, Newfoundland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great movie - but my father (early on the beach and at Pegasus Bridge) considered it more of a comedy movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best holly wood disnt leave anyone out, Aug. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Longest Day (DVD)
wow what amovie i really enjoy all the good guys all in one movie have to wait till can get some more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone needs to own this film, April 27 2009
By 
E. Hall (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is amazing. I had recently visited the Canadian War Memorials in France and used this film as reference for each battleground I saw. It puts into perspective how huge the D-Day Operation: Overlord was.

Although, it doesn't have the graphic intensity as "Saving Private Ryan" did as they stormed the beaches, Ken Annakin gets his point across, thoroughly.

If you ever want to see 1 war movie in your life, this one is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a movie not a historical documentary, Jan. 9 2012
Reading some of the reviews forced me to write my own. It is a movie based on one of the bloodiest battle that ever took place. I have seen this movie many times and I still cannot recall ever this movie claiming to be a precise and accurate historical documentary. It is a movie and if you are into war movies, it is one to own. The cast is incredible and it won the highest awards. If more than 60 years after the end of WWII you are just learning of D-Day from this movie, it is time to head to the history book section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Longest Day
The Longest Day by Ken Annakin (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 52.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews