Customer Reviews


326 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (86)
3 star:
 (70)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (55)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good.
No, Michael Crichton did not write a book before this movie was made, and it shows.
This movie was all about action, and there wasn't much science stuff involved. The story is pretty simple, and there were some wacky part in this movie.
The raptors were radically changed; now they have feathers pointing out of their heads, there heads were a bit longer, and...
Published on Aug. 3 2005 by RICK

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "WERE NOT GOING TO GET OF THIS ISLAND ALIVE" SAID SAM NEILL
PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY DONT BUY IT. IF YOU LIKE BIG STUPID DINOASOURS THAT EAT A COUPLE OF STUPID GUYS THAT GO ON A FANTASTY ISLAND THEN YOUELL LIKE THIS MOVIE.THE STUPIDIST PART IN THE MOVIE IS WHEN (SAM NEILL AS DR. GRANTT) SAY EITHER WAY WE WONT GET OF THIS ISLAND ALIVE. PLEASE EVERYBODY LIVE EXCEPT THE THREE STUPID GUYS THAT YOU BEARLEY SEE IN THE MOVIE AND NOBODY...
Published on Aug. 5 2002 by nilelation


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good., Aug. 3 2005
No, Michael Crichton did not write a book before this movie was made, and it shows.
This movie was all about action, and there wasn't much science stuff involved. The story is pretty simple, and there were some wacky part in this movie.
The raptors were radically changed; now they have feathers pointing out of their heads, there heads were a bit longer, and some part of them near their heads is PURPLE AND BLUE. I AM NOT JOKING. It looks dumb, and takes away from the movie. When I saw it, I'm just like, "What the crap is that??" Weird.
Another thing, the second movie was on Isla Sorna, and there was no sightings or mention of a Spinosaurus. Don't get me wrong, the Spinosaurus is my fave dinosaur in the JP series. That just seemed weird.
All in all, a great movie. A ton of fun, and it rocks. Buy the whole JP series, trust me, you'll like every single one!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "WERE NOT GOING TO GET OF THIS ISLAND ALIVE" SAID SAM NEILL, Aug. 5 2002
By 
"nilelation" (ATLANTA , GA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jurassic Park III (Full Screen Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY DONT BUY IT. IF YOU LIKE BIG STUPID DINOASOURS THAT EAT A COUPLE OF STUPID GUYS THAT GO ON A FANTASTY ISLAND THEN YOUELL LIKE THIS MOVIE.THE STUPIDIST PART IN THE MOVIE IS WHEN (SAM NEILL AS DR. GRANTT) SAY EITHER WAY WE WONT GET OF THIS ISLAND ALIVE. PLEASE EVERYBODY LIVE EXCEPT THE THREE STUPID GUYS THAT YOU BEARLEY SEE IN THE MOVIE AND NOBODY KNOWS THEM AND THE PART WHEN (MICHAEL JETER AS MR. UDESKY) DIES. PLEASE A RAPTOR SNAPS HIS NECK AND DOESNT EAT HIM WHAT HAPPEND TO THE REAL DINOASOURS THAT EAT THE PEOPLE NOT SNAP THERE NECKS AND RUN OFF VERY DUMB MOVIE. YES ITS EVEN WORSER THEN JURASSIC PARK 2. I GIVE IT ONE STAR BECAUSE ITS A SHORT MOVIE AND YOU DONT HAVE TO WAIT ALONG TIME FOR IT TO BE OVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rwar, June 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Film de dinosaur à voir, pas le genre documentaire de paléontologie mais plutôt sang et gros dinosaure méchant et survivre en pleine forêt peuplé par des bons mais aussi méchants dinosaure, qui la plupart du temps sont toujours plus gros que vous! Très bon film d'action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It works!, May 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park III (DVD)
Unlike the first one I got as part of the trilogy, this one is not scratched and plays through without incident. I guess I will just have to stay away from the used ones, and buy new from now on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Throw-outs of the two previous and that�s all., July 30 2002
By 
Fernando Castillo (Canary Islands (Spain)) - See all my reviews
The story begins when an adventurous married couple manage to persuade Grant (Sam Neil, who had already appeared in the first part), a palaeontologist that still continues his studies about prehistoric animals, in order to be him the one who will lead them in Sorna island, which is the last refuge for some revived dinosaurs by a scientist years ago. They actually want to find their lost child, but the plane crashes, so they are in danger, because the dinosaurs are everywhere, and this time, they are intelligent and have the capacity to communicate with each other. The group splits up in a moment, in which the boy finally appears, but they run up against the awful dinosaurs and they will have many problems from now to then.
This is the third part of the saga started by Steven Spielberg, and is undoubtedly the worst. When I saw it, I didn't get scared in any moment; because of the regrettable performance the actors did, above all, Téa Leoni's. They never seemed to be really shocked with the entire situation. Besides, all was so predictable and boring: the very forced crashing of the plane, the hunt, and the way they escape at the end. The special effects were nothing extraordinary, and the script looks to be written in a couple of minutes. In addition, its short length proves their effort at making this pitiful movie that is completely lacking of any good ideas. I don't understand why was so successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who green-lighted this disaster???!!!, April 16 2004
This review is from: Jurassic Park III (Full Screen Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Much could've been said about the dire results of really weak sequels to excellent originals and unfortunately, this third "Jurassic Park" movie is one of the most glaring examples of the lessons that moviemakers never seem to learn. This third entry completely ruins the legacy of the original and even the somewhat cheesy "Lost World" was entire miles above this garbage!
Almost everything that could've gone wrong on a sequel goes disasterously wrong on JP3. The movie starts when the dinosaurs are back on their island in the Pacific Ocean a hundred miles west of Costa Rica and are thriving on that island and humanity is safe from them. However, a pair of skydiving parachuters are lost and stranded on the island and one loses his life but the other is alive and on the island in danger of being killed by the veloceraptors and a team of scientists are sent in to find and rescue the young boy before it's too late.
Everything from there just dissolves in lousy dialogue and weak acting by the entire cast. Even before then, the whole story plot wouldn't have a chance of going anywhere even if the acting were good because the writers who wrote the script really dropped the ball with this p&*s-poor excuse for a movie. Joe Johnston's directing, which tries to match what Stephen Spielberg does, completely falls flat on it's face and the directing is very weak and it sinks an already bad movie. He would however bounce back with "Hidalgo" three years later.
The acting by the entire cast is just awful. The characters in the first JP movie were really excellent and funny and showed a lot of personality, whether it's fun and thrill of seeing real-life dinosaurs on a tourist attraction, or terrorized when the carnivorous raptors rampage on the island endangering the lives of the tourists. On "Jurassic Park III", the characters come off as whiny and absolutely Styrofoam-like in personality, looking more like annoyed or drunk than terrified. Sam Neill who was awesome in the first one showed a lot of the feeling that he was simply ready to leave the set and I can't really blame him.
The plot is unbelievably formulaic and it already kills this movie before it even has a chance of going anywhere. In a lot of ways, I would say that this felt like a really large hodgepodge of deleted scenes from the previous two JP movies and the script almost felt like someone foolish numbskull just took it out of the trash can before the garbage men could take away which they should have.
The first two movies benifitted from the right length of two and a half hours and allowed enough time for the fun, action, and development in the characters to show. This third movie however runs at a ridiculously short 89 minutes and it felt more like as if I were about to start taking the first bite of popcorn upon the movie starting and then as I got a second batch of popcorn, WHAM! The movie was over and I was like "What the hell was that all about?". That's what this movie was like for me. I felt incredibly ripped off and wondered why they ever released this to theatres and not straight to video.
In all honesty, while I'm not trying to knock on the second movie, they should never have made a sequel to the 1993 original because it had a special and absolutely breathtakingly original style and they should've kept it that way. The 1997 sequel "Lost World" was alright in my opinion but felt a bit thrown together but this 2001 third entry destroys the power that the first movie showed and they totally ruined a great legacy with this cruel joke of a movie. I simply don't understand why this movie gets any favorable reviews.
The extras on here are on the ho-hum side for me but it's mostly because I don't even care anymore with such a lousy and disasterous movie and ultimately, There is nothing that a "Collector's Edition" could rescue this film from the junk pile! This movie is not only boring but also incredibly stupid! I don't know if there will be a fourth Jurassic Park movie but if it is, I fear that it will do more in turning this once great franchise into a big epic joke and drive it further into the realm of cinematic oblivion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ROAR!!!, Sept. 25 2007
When Erik Kirby goes missing on Isla Sorna (InGen's Site B), his parents, Paul and Amanda, hire Dr. Alan Grant under the pretense of a "tour" in order to find him.

The plane crashes and Alan finds himself back in the same situation he's been trying so hard to forget: being trapped in Jurassic Park.

Sam Neill as Alan Grant is one of my favorite performances ever. There's such an air of seriousness and intensity that Sam brings to the role every time. He can be funny, sure, but his character presentation commands a respect from his fellow actors that you don't see that often in film.

William H. Macy, another favorite of mine, plays Paul Kirby, the bumbling yet-trying-to-be-cool dad. Terrific. He was serious, clumsy, just fantastic. Every film Macy's in has never let me down and this movie delivers a wonderful Macy performance. There's something about the pacing of his line delivery that gets to me, too. It's a guy who's insecure but tries his best to put a confident spin on things no matter what.

The dinosaurs, as always, look real. They're huge, they're scary, they're loud. The only problem with these Jurassic sequels is the dinosaurs aren't new and terrifying anymore. They were in the first movie, not so much now. However, there are a few dino attacks in Jurassic Park 3 that weren't in the others, making the viewing of this film worthwhile.

Michael Jeter (The Green Mile), Laura Dern (Jurassic Park), John Diehl (Pearl Harbor) and Téa Leoni (A League of Their Own) also star.

Language warning: Cursing and blasphemy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tired...and sedating, Feb. 16 2004
By 
Crystal (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Formulaic...insultingly so. Tea Leoni as Woman in Peril, Sam Niell as reluctant hero, Alessandro Nivola as cocky protege, William H Macy is written forgettably, and Trevor Morgan falls into place as resourceful, Spunky Kid in need of rescue. The dinosaurs are either properly villainous, or an appropriate source of harmless comic relief.
Suffice it to say: a tired rehashing of gimmicky plot twists (We're stuck on the island! Raptors are back! Raptors are smarter than we thought! So-and-so is stuck in a cage, with a raptor bearing down! There's no way they could escape this tyrannosaurus! Wait, here comes another dinosaur to distract it! They'll fight and we'll escape! )
I'll save you the suspense: they didn't skimp, they gave you a "digging through a 4-foot, steaming pile of fecal matter" scene, audible slurping and squishing sounds and all. Whoever decides to do a fourth installment should save some time and money and just write it as a romantic comedy with Sam Niell and Laura Dern's characters engaged in some wacky paleontological adventures, complete with comedic sexual tension and requisite end-of-movie wrap-up kiss. Jurassic Park III is not worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Jurassic Park 3, Oct. 5 2006
By 
Antym Pryshlakivsky (Burlington, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jurassic Park III (Full Screen Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Jurassic Park 3 is better then the 2nd Jurassic Park movie and has new kinds of dinosaurs in this movie and the special dinosaur effects are more advanced compared to the 1st Jurassic Park movie and the special dinosaur effects is good.

Even Sam Neill is a good actor in this movie.

The only 2 things are why didn't Steven Spielberg direct this movie, and 2nd why wasn't movie 2 hours and 7 minutes like the 1st Jurassic Park movie.

But I still think the 1st and 3rd Jurassic Park movies are good movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JPIII, July 9 2004
By 
This movie is just pure fun. Thats all it is! The series is going to be if not already classic. See these films! Theyre a blast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3658ec4)

This product

Jurassic Park III (Full Screen Collector's Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 35.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews