Customer Reviews


326 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (86)
3 star:
 (70)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (55)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good.
No, Michael Crichton did not write a book before this movie was made, and it shows.
This movie was all about action, and there wasn't much science stuff involved. The story is pretty simple, and there were some wacky part in this movie.
The raptors were radically changed; now they have feathers pointing out of their heads, there heads were a bit longer, and...
Published on Aug. 3 2005 by RICK

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who green-lighted this disaster???!!!
Much could've been said about the dire results of really weak sequels to excellent originals and unfortunately, this third "Jurassic Park" movie is one of the most glaring examples of the lessons that moviemakers never seem to learn. This third entry completely ruins the legacy of the original and even the somewhat cheesy "Lost World" was entire miles above this...
Published on April 16 2004 by Distant Voyageur


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who green-lighted this disaster???!!!, April 16 2004
This review is from: Jurassic Park III (Full Screen Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Much could've been said about the dire results of really weak sequels to excellent originals and unfortunately, this third "Jurassic Park" movie is one of the most glaring examples of the lessons that moviemakers never seem to learn. This third entry completely ruins the legacy of the original and even the somewhat cheesy "Lost World" was entire miles above this garbage!
Almost everything that could've gone wrong on a sequel goes disasterously wrong on JP3. The movie starts when the dinosaurs are back on their island in the Pacific Ocean a hundred miles west of Costa Rica and are thriving on that island and humanity is safe from them. However, a pair of skydiving parachuters are lost and stranded on the island and one loses his life but the other is alive and on the island in danger of being killed by the veloceraptors and a team of scientists are sent in to find and rescue the young boy before it's too late.
Everything from there just dissolves in lousy dialogue and weak acting by the entire cast. Even before then, the whole story plot wouldn't have a chance of going anywhere even if the acting were good because the writers who wrote the script really dropped the ball with this p&*s-poor excuse for a movie. Joe Johnston's directing, which tries to match what Stephen Spielberg does, completely falls flat on it's face and the directing is very weak and it sinks an already bad movie. He would however bounce back with "Hidalgo" three years later.
The acting by the entire cast is just awful. The characters in the first JP movie were really excellent and funny and showed a lot of personality, whether it's fun and thrill of seeing real-life dinosaurs on a tourist attraction, or terrorized when the carnivorous raptors rampage on the island endangering the lives of the tourists. On "Jurassic Park III", the characters come off as whiny and absolutely Styrofoam-like in personality, looking more like annoyed or drunk than terrified. Sam Neill who was awesome in the first one showed a lot of the feeling that he was simply ready to leave the set and I can't really blame him.
The plot is unbelievably formulaic and it already kills this movie before it even has a chance of going anywhere. In a lot of ways, I would say that this felt like a really large hodgepodge of deleted scenes from the previous two JP movies and the script almost felt like someone foolish numbskull just took it out of the trash can before the garbage men could take away which they should have.
The first two movies benifitted from the right length of two and a half hours and allowed enough time for the fun, action, and development in the characters to show. This third movie however runs at a ridiculously short 89 minutes and it felt more like as if I were about to start taking the first bite of popcorn upon the movie starting and then as I got a second batch of popcorn, WHAM! The movie was over and I was like "What the hell was that all about?". That's what this movie was like for me. I felt incredibly ripped off and wondered why they ever released this to theatres and not straight to video.
In all honesty, while I'm not trying to knock on the second movie, they should never have made a sequel to the 1993 original because it had a special and absolutely breathtakingly original style and they should've kept it that way. The 1997 sequel "Lost World" was alright in my opinion but felt a bit thrown together but this 2001 third entry destroys the power that the first movie showed and they totally ruined a great legacy with this cruel joke of a movie. I simply don't understand why this movie gets any favorable reviews.
The extras on here are on the ho-hum side for me but it's mostly because I don't even care anymore with such a lousy and disasterous movie and ultimately, There is nothing that a "Collector's Edition" could rescue this film from the junk pile! This movie is not only boring but also incredibly stupid! I don't know if there will be a fourth Jurassic Park movie but if it is, I fear that it will do more in turning this once great franchise into a big epic joke and drive it further into the realm of cinematic oblivion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tired...and sedating, Feb. 16 2004
By 
Crystal (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Formulaic...insultingly so. Tea Leoni as Woman in Peril, Sam Niell as reluctant hero, Alessandro Nivola as cocky protege, William H Macy is written forgettably, and Trevor Morgan falls into place as resourceful, Spunky Kid in need of rescue. The dinosaurs are either properly villainous, or an appropriate source of harmless comic relief.
Suffice it to say: a tired rehashing of gimmicky plot twists (We're stuck on the island! Raptors are back! Raptors are smarter than we thought! So-and-so is stuck in a cage, with a raptor bearing down! There's no way they could escape this tyrannosaurus! Wait, here comes another dinosaur to distract it! They'll fight and we'll escape! )
I'll save you the suspense: they didn't skimp, they gave you a "digging through a 4-foot, steaming pile of fecal matter" scene, audible slurping and squishing sounds and all. Whoever decides to do a fourth installment should save some time and money and just write it as a romantic comedy with Sam Niell and Laura Dern's characters engaged in some wacky paleontological adventures, complete with comedic sexual tension and requisite end-of-movie wrap-up kiss. Jurassic Park III is not worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good., Aug. 3 2005
No, Michael Crichton did not write a book before this movie was made, and it shows.
This movie was all about action, and there wasn't much science stuff involved. The story is pretty simple, and there were some wacky part in this movie.
The raptors were radically changed; now they have feathers pointing out of their heads, there heads were a bit longer, and some part of them near their heads is PURPLE AND BLUE. I AM NOT JOKING. It looks dumb, and takes away from the movie. When I saw it, I'm just like, "What the crap is that??" Weird.
Another thing, the second movie was on Isla Sorna, and there was no sightings or mention of a Spinosaurus. Don't get me wrong, the Spinosaurus is my fave dinosaur in the JP series. That just seemed weird.
All in all, a great movie. A ton of fun, and it rocks. Buy the whole JP series, trust me, you'll like every single one!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "WERE NOT GOING TO GET OF THIS ISLAND ALIVE" SAID SAM NEILL, Aug. 5 2002
By 
"nilelation" (ATLANTA , GA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jurassic Park III (Full Screen Collector's Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY DONT BUY IT. IF YOU LIKE BIG STUPID DINOASOURS THAT EAT A COUPLE OF STUPID GUYS THAT GO ON A FANTASTY ISLAND THEN YOUELL LIKE THIS MOVIE.THE STUPIDIST PART IN THE MOVIE IS WHEN (SAM NEILL AS DR. GRANTT) SAY EITHER WAY WE WONT GET OF THIS ISLAND ALIVE. PLEASE EVERYBODY LIVE EXCEPT THE THREE STUPID GUYS THAT YOU BEARLEY SEE IN THE MOVIE AND NOBODY KNOWS THEM AND THE PART WHEN (MICHAEL JETER AS MR. UDESKY) DIES. PLEASE A RAPTOR SNAPS HIS NECK AND DOESNT EAT HIM WHAT HAPPEND TO THE REAL DINOASOURS THAT EAT THE PEOPLE NOT SNAP THERE NECKS AND RUN OFF VERY DUMB MOVIE. YES ITS EVEN WORSER THEN JURASSIC PARK 2. I GIVE IT ONE STAR BECAUSE ITS A SHORT MOVIE AND YOU DONT HAVE TO WAIT ALONG TIME FOR IT TO BE OVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Newer Dinos Means A Fresh Film, June 30 2004
By 
The Dark Knight (Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
Being a lifelong Dinosaur fan, I had to check out JP///. The trailers were making the movie seem really big and fresh with bringing Spinosaurus in to replace Tyrannosaurus as the starring role as super-predator in the JP series. The film moves at a pretty fast rate which can be good and bad. The Dinosaurs in the film are more believable now that the CGI programmers had the ability to make the Dinos' skin wobble when they moved and to have other parts of their body be in sync with the rest of their body.
The characters really don't have much development in the film which is okay considering you came to see Dinosaurs. But there is just enough character development for the moviegoer to understand each character.
My only gripes are with the film that it just seemed like the Dino action seemed to go downhill as the movie progressed. It starts off very well with the Spinosaurus attacking the plane and then eventually battling Tyrannosaurus (which I was hoping wouldn't show up until the final minutes of the film, giving it a climatic ending). After that, the Dinos seemed kinda sparse and the action shorter and shorter. The raptors also kinda got old. Like with T-rex, the filmmakers should have replaced the raptors with other Dinos. Maybe Baryonyxs? Also some science is forgotten in this film. But they had Jack Horner as their Dino supervisor, so it was a given some wrenches would be thrown in the mix. Also, the film seemed really short. With some newer dinos added to the screen that have never been seen before, I was hoping that they would have some pretty nifty Dinosaur battle sequences and Dinosaur-human encounters.
All in all, while JP/// was, somewhat, of a letdown for me, it still provided the goods for the most part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Redeeming Qualities, June 26 2004
By 
Lonnie E. Holder "The Review's the Thing" (Columbus, Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes, this movie does have some plot holes, and it is not as good as the first movie in the series, but this movie is definitely better than "The Lost World." Somewhat formulaic at this point, but still a decent movie with a simpler and more plausible plot line than the previous movie.
A couple's son is parasailing off the back of a boat off Isla Sorna when something unseen happens to the people driving the boat. The boy's parents, Paul Kirby (William H. Macy) and Amanda Kirby (Téa Leoni), enlist Dr. Ian Malcolm (Jeff Goldblum) to help get the boy back. However, they have to trick Dr. Malcolm into returning to the island, because he, rightfully, thinks being on that island is a very bad idea.
As it turns out, landing a plane on the island was a very bad idea, and now the erstwhile rescuers are running for their lives. Along the way they find Erik Kirby (Trevor Morgan), and the only remaining task is to escape from the island.
Several new dinosaurs are introduced in this movie, including really cool pteranodons and a spinosaurus. The pteranodons act like giant birds, and are appropriately scary. The spinosaurus shows that the tyrannosaurus was not the king of the world. The encounters with the dinosaurs recall the thrills of the first movie in this series and are interesting and enjoyable.
There are a few plot holes in this movie, but fewer than in the previous movie. By keeping the plot simple and having fewer characters with a simpler motivation the movie avoids the incongruities of the previous movie. This movie was more creative and intriguing and favored adrenaline over depth, as in the first movie. The shorter length of the movie also minimizes opportunities to overly analyze the plot, keeping the focus on the action. A sequel not quite as good as the original, but superior to its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ive seen the film, but found it had flaws, May 7 2004
By 
B. Souter (canberra, ACT Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've seen the third film of the Jurassic park series. But ive noticed some troubles with it. Particularly the plot contrivances.
Most notably, the opening sequence where the crew on the boat are killed by we-know-not-what. I expected a scene near the end that would show the audience what killed the men. It never occurred. Unless we are to assume it was the fin-backed dinosaur.
The plot is as contrived as the first film, with the hangliding episode a means to get the people onto the island, so we can see their numbers depleted by voracious dinosaurs that one is amazed any sensible scientists would have created in the first place.
I found the adventurous couple annoying. I almost wanted that woman with the megaphone mouth to be eaten alive.
It was amazing given the noise they made and the great number of raptors that the whole crew wasnt wiped out.
The film made a feeble effort at providing a theme: man playing god; but since the film was only an excuse for an adventure where men are pitted against dinosaurs, for the tittaliation of the audience (like ancient rome, if nobody was killed and eaten the audience would want its money back)the theme of the dangers of playing god seems hypocritical.
On the plus side: the effects were very good, and we finally get to see some pterodactyls; the thrill is continuous and we have the pleasure of seeing men eaten alive. But is that fin-backed 'super predator' real?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Insulting, Feb. 19 2004
By 
Robert Graves (Thompson Station, TN USA) - See all my reviews
"Computer geeks playing with their toys" would be a good way to describe the plot of this film. In this age of rampant technology we're seeing more and more movies being made based upon the technology available. Plot is an afterthought - the focus is in finding ways to exploit new computer graphics.
The fact is, there was no reason for this film to be made. There is nothing in it that cannot be found in one of the first two films. I mean this literally, for in some cases actual "plot" lines were borrowed. The worst part about this film may be that its one redeeming quality - the effects - were actually poorer than the original which came out in '93.
The ridiculous unrealism that crept into "The Lost World" runs rampant in JP3, providing us with memorable scenes such as a cell phone's ring being heard through a giant dinosaur's body (he swallowed it), raptor's speaking to each other, Grant learning their language and communicating with them (why yes, I speak Raptonian...), and a kid who in a few weeks alone on the island has become a dinosaur and survival expert.
There is no reason whatsoever I can give to you to go see this film, especially if you've seen the first two. But, if JP4 comes out, maybe they'll give the raptors subtitles. I'd pay to see that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Actually Terrifying & a LOT Better than JP-2:The Lost World, Feb. 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Jurassic Park III (VHS Tape)
I did not see this movie when it came out. In fact, I SWORE off any more Jurassic Park movies after the abominably BAD Jurassic Park 2-The Lost World.
I caught this on ABC TV and was only going to give it a few minutes, but after the opening sequence I was thoroughly hooked. Yes, the plot and story did have plot holes the size of T-Rex, but you had to overlook those.(Case in point: raptors and other predators ONLY show up when the humans are near a facility that they can hide in, etc. If the pteradactyls are caged in a huge bird cage, what were they eating to survive?) But the movie makers made you feel how frightened and vulnerable you'd be by being marooned in a jungle full of big things who want to eat you. I just wish whiny, BIG MOUTHED Tea Leoni would have been eaten right away! I was on the edge of my seat the whole movie and figured I might be having some nightmares after seeing this one.
Like I said, it was MUCH better than the previous Jurassic Parks and I thought maybe Steven Spielberg had gotten back on track. Then I saw he DIDN'T direct JP-3 and that was why it was so good. Spielberg has gotten too rich and famous and so full of himself his quality has taken a nose-dive.
This one is definitely not for small kids due to all the humans being graphically eaten alive, but for a fast moving, scary movie, rent this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Trio, Feb. 11 2004
By A Customer
"King Kong" was probably the only dinosaur film ever to incorporate a good pulp adventure story along with the thrill of dinosaurs on the loose. "Jurassic Park III" doesn't even come close in that sense, but, having said that, it does give more to its story than do its predecessors or any other dinosaur film. The story is familiar: rescuing someone who is lost amidst extreme danger. The added ingredient is the secondary story of watching two estranged people finding their way back to each other; the screenplay steering many of those moments with levity. William H. Macy is one of those actors who is always enjoyable no matter how good or bad the film may be in which he appears. The Macy-Leoni pairing has wonderful chemistry and Sam Neill is, as always, highly likeable as well as heroic in a believable way. The 90 minute length reflects the film's cut-to-the-chase (literally in a lot of moments) attitude. The previous two films were cumbersome. JP III has better animated dinosaurs and some classic moments. The trip down the river, in a small boat, is reminiscent of story lines of the Far East right out of the works of Joseph Conrad or of Jules Verne, etc. Jurassic Park III is a fun film, a thrill ride and should be taken as no more than that. The screenplay and the film makers do their jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jurassic Park III (Full Screen Collector's Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 26.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews