Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple is often the best way...
This album captures the distinctively mellifluent, textured, Kraftwerk-inspired new wave sound that Simple Minds made their own in the 80s. "Glittering Prize", "Waterfront", "Promised You A Miracle", "All The Things She Said" (a damn site better than that awful TATU record of the same name), "Don't You Forget About Me",...
Published on Nov. 15 2003 by shy_boy2112

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars As Always, the Crucial, Defininitive Cut Isn't Here
Why, why, why is there always the one, definitive cut left off of the "Best of" disc? Beats me, but there were a few songs besides "London Calling" and "This Year's Girl" that signalled the end of the endless, interminable era of Burkhart-Abrams dominated radio (they were the nasty radio tyrants who were determined to make sure you never...
Published on Jan. 10 2002 by John D. Pride


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Simple is often the best way..., Nov. 15 2003
This review is from: Best Of (W/1 Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
This album captures the distinctively mellifluent, textured, Kraftwerk-inspired new wave sound that Simple Minds made their own in the 80s. "Glittering Prize", "Waterfront", "Promised You A Miracle", "All The Things She Said" (a damn site better than that awful TATU record of the same name), "Don't You Forget About Me", all those early classics are here.
If this record does have any shortcomings, it's that it features too much of the political dirge from the late 80s/early '90s era, when they briefly lost their way. The second disk, however, does feature "She's A River" and "Hypnotised" from their renaissance in 1995, when they dramatically returned to form.
Given that they released the dreadful covers album Neon Lights a couple of months prior to this compilation, it looked as though they'd finally gone to the point of no return, so the timing of the release of The Best Of Simple Minds could't have been better - reminding folks about what a great act they weree in their heyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100 stars would be more like it!, Sept. 1 2002
By 
maccentris "maccentris" (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Of (W/1 Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
If you're like me you've owned "Glittering Price" (US version) and were deeply dissapointed. I know I was! (The song Glittering Price was not in the US version [DUH] and the imported version missed "Stand By Love" & "Up On The Catwalk" as well!). Well, as most everyone knows, all Glittering Price's songs are here in the "Best Of", plus others that kick rear end. Better yet they are all mostly full versions. I gave my Glittering Price CD away to a friend. Anyone who knows Simple Minds' previous work (prior to Glittering Prize) must have been upset about that compilation.
Well "Best Of"; now that's a REAL compilation!! The only flaw (big one) is leaving New Gold Dream 81 82 83 84 behind (not to worry get the NGD CD and you'll be even), but that always happens with "greatest hits" CDs. To make a full "Best Of" collection for Simple Minds I think they would have needed 4 CDs (impossible, I know) but this gives people a general idea of what he group is really made of. After buying this collection I was inspired to get 5 more Simple Minds CD, and now I can't wait to finish my collection (I only need about 2 or 3). Get this collection now, you wont be dissapointed!!
My faves: See The Lights, Glittering Prize, Life In A Day, Biko, Sanctify Yourself, Stand By Love, War Babies, Alive And Kicking, GhostDancing, Let There Be Love, I Travel, Belfast Child, Up On The Catwalk & Speed Your Love To Me.
I recommend the style of Simple Minds to anyone, its a unique group and nobody has been able to match their special style and uniqueness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally !, June 4 2002
By 
This review is from: Best Of (W/1 Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
The Simple Minds' impressive backcatalogue gets compiled in a nice way on this remastered 2CD set. CD 1 is the real gem here and the tracklisting is flawless (sure it would have been nice to have album tracks like "New Gold Dream" or "Book of Brilliant Things" included as well as the early singles "Premonition" and "Changeling", but let's face it, this is way more complete than Glittering Prize and you can't complain about everything).
CD 2 is compiled of weaker material in general, exception being the outstanding 1995 singles "She's a River" and "Hypnotized". Other than that it becomes very obvious that between 1979 and 1985 (CD 1) the Simple Minds were at the front of the pack, releasing some classic singles and albums that really mattered, while from 1989 on they tried to keep the momentum going in a changing musical climate with mixed results (CD 2)
Worth 5 stars for CD 1 alone. Pick this one up. Fairly priced too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Missing tracks, as usual, but an impressive collection, April 20 2002
By 
tenohtwo (Phoenix, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Of (W/1 Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
'Best-of' compilations are usually a hit-and-miss affair. There's always going to be the one or two songs that should've been included, and the one or two songs that really shouldn't be there. Such is the case with Best Of Simple Minds. It's an impressive collection, to be sure. SM does need 2 CDs to cover their shining moments. When Glittering Prize was released, I knew that a lot of great songs would be missing, mainly because it was a 1-CD affair. To my surprise, Street Fighting Years was heavily represented on disc 2. Not a bad album, mind you, but where is "Take A Step Back", perhaps the most memorable and single-like track on the album? Their cover of "Biko" is excellent, but don't add cover songs to a best-of..it's a contradiction in terms. I mean, I like their rendition of "Street Hassle", but it's not a Simple Minds song, so don't add Biko to a "Best Of Simple Minds" compilation. Also, adding Raven Maize's "The Real Life" seems out-of-place. Another great SM song could've been added in place of someone else's cover song. This 2-CD set would almost be the perfect introduction to Simple Minds, if it weren't for these unfortunate inclusions. Where's "My Life" from Good News, and certainly a third track from Neapolis could've been added, to balance out disc 2 better. All complaints aside, this is the most thorough SM compilation out there, hence it's probably the best introduction for new fans. I give this collection 4 stars for the overall quality of music on these 2 CDs. Hey, they included Speed Your Love To Me, and that's enough to win this SM fan over! Recommended, but bring that import price down..sheesh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars As Always, the Crucial, Defininitive Cut Isn't Here, Jan. 10 2002
By 
John D. Pride (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best Of (W/1 Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
Why, why, why is there always the one, definitive cut left off of the "Best of" disc? Beats me, but there were a few songs besides "London Calling" and "This Year's Girl" that signalled the end of the endless, interminable era of Burkhart-Abrams dominated radio (they were the nasty radio tyrants who were determined to make sure you never heard The Police, REM or Blondie on American radio. They programmed the bulk of commercial radio with "Free Bird" and "Stairway to Heaven" with the notion that U2 and all that other "punk crap" was a soon-forgotten fad).One of these songs was called "All For You" by a cool but obscure European band called Simple Minds. The song incorporated the attitude, grind and instrumentation that would inspire a new generation to eschew day jobs, embrace the D.I.Y. lifestyle and sport "F**K ART, LET'S DANCE" tee shirts. It's not here, although, commendably, "Life In A Day" is. Bummer, though. So close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is a chronology, May 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Best Of (W/1 Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
"best of simple minds" is an effective double cd collection that covers all of band's most important tracks up to around year 1999. i enjoyed it and it made me get their other albums. i think it is a perfect album for someone who knows only few simple minds songs and wants to know their music better.
from the cold new wave sound up to warm and emotional pop-rock Simple Minds remained a fresh band that has their own recognizable sound. of course they had some weaker spots ("biko" sounds much better in Peter Gabriel's version,and what the heck is the last track?) but who is perfect? even the lack of presence of some tracks doesn't change the fact that it is the best and most ineresting Simple Minds collection avaible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric synth-driven music, May 14 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Best Of (W/1 Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
Disc One of this retrospective is more interesting than the second disc which draws on the period from the late 1980s onwards when Simple Minds were losing their edge. My favourites remain the atmospheric eurosynth number I Travel, another early one Life In A Day, the hypnotic Love Song plus the megahits Don't You Forget About Me, Promised You A Miracle and Glittering Prize. Their distinctive sound merged atmospheric synths with a kraftwerk-like beat and were very cinematic and evocative. Unfortunately the decline is all too apparent on the second disc where the synths meander aimlessly amongst the political sloganeering. So if you're a fan, get this for Disc One to have all their greatest hits together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true desert island fav!, July 9 2004
By 
P. C Zeller "Modster" (Scottsdale, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best Of (W/1 Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
Where do you start with these guys? My first Simple Minds album was New Gold Dream which is another must have.I picked this CD up trying to fill the gaps and really liked it. They have so many different sounds and styles and they are all here (except for New Gold Dream. Their is a different version of Promised You a Miracle which is great with a little more bounce. Just about any person who grew up in the 80's would like this CD as their is something for everyone here. There newer material on disc two was somewhat more mellow but works great at dinner or on a roadtrip. I have a ton of respect for these guys as their songs shaped my childhood and made me feel good. 5 star all the way!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't ask for more, Jan. 22 2003
By 
Ziad R. Hakim (Beirut Lebanon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best Of (W/1 Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
This is indeed the best compilation of my all time favorite band Simple Minds. This is a double CD packed with all their hits that you are familiar with in the 80s and 90s.
You could not ask for more! From "Don't you forget about me" to "Mandela Day" each song is a piece of art.
Simple Minds rule!
A Must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 'Best Of' except for..., Jan. 17 2002
By 
Jorge B. Diaz (Hialeah, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Of (W/1 Bonus Track) (Audio CD)
This is a great compilation of hits/songs from this Scot 80s group.My one nitpick is the exclusion of "Book Of Brilliant Things" from 'Sparkle in the Rain'(one of the best albums of the 80s,and arguably in rock history).You can't go wrong buying this(if you have SITR on lp or cd,like I do).Great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Of (W/1 Bonus Track)
Best Of (W/1 Bonus Track) by Simple Minds (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews