Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Too Late Now
This is the story should have been used for the movie after Generations. It is superior to First Contact on all counts.
Just like Kirk is the only person capable of saving the entire universe, he was also the only person capable of saving the Star Trek franchise. It's a shame it's too late for that now. Enjoy Enterprise while it last.
Published on Dec 12 2003 by C. Jackson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but not great
After reading many Star Trek books throughout the years, it amazes me the number of stories that can supposedly occur between episodes shown on TV and film. This story by William Shatner takes place between ST VII Generations and ST VIII First Contact. It is an engaging, but not particularly exceptional story of what happens after Jean-Luc Picard buries the legendary...
Published on May 14 2004 by Paul H. Cho


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but not great, May 14 2004
By 
Paul H. Cho "chochung" (Colleyville, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After reading many Star Trek books throughout the years, it amazes me the number of stories that can supposedly occur between episodes shown on TV and film. This story by William Shatner takes place between ST VII Generations and ST VIII First Contact. It is an engaging, but not particularly exceptional story of what happens after Jean-Luc Picard buries the legendary James Tiberius Kirk in a cairn of rocks on Veridian III. Without spoiling too much (the title gives it away anyway) Kirk is returned to life, and leads another adventure against a Romulan-Borg plot to destroy the Federation. I found some of the characterizations of the main characters, particularly Spock, Kirk, Picard, and Riker to be rather one-dimensional and shallow, but overall the book was a good read and better appreciated if you forgive certain inconsistencies of character and implausible scenarios (like Kirk's confrontation with Worf). Best read if you are killing time (like waiting for a flight) or by the beach/poolside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Too Late Now, Dec 12 2003
By 
C. Jackson (Carrollton, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the story should have been used for the movie after Generations. It is superior to First Contact on all counts.
Just like Kirk is the only person capable of saving the entire universe, he was also the only person capable of saving the Star Trek franchise. It's a shame it's too late for that now. Enjoy Enterprise while it last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek The Return - One of the best Trek novels to date!, Dec 3 2003
By 
K. Wyatt "ssintrepid" (Cape Girardeau, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek: The return (Hardcover)
"The Return" is simply the most inventive and creative of the "Shatnerverse" novels I've read so far. This opinion is quite apparently a shared one considering that out of all of the Star Trek novels I've read and reviewed so far, "The Return" has the distinction of having the most reviews on Amazon that I've seen for a Star Trek novel so far.
From the very beginning of this novel to the end, you will find yourself enthralled and captivated by the story. William Shatner, quite obviously did not want himself to be completely torn away from the Star Trek universe and with this novel, his resurrection in the twenty fourth century, he quite literally guaranteed himself a continued and long life after the events in Star Trek "Generations," where we may never see the great Captain Kirk on screen again.
Although I'd say for us, the average reader, we may never know where the line of distinction is drawn between William Shatner's writing and his collaborators, Judith and Garfield Reeves-Stevens. In the end though, I've noticed that while their books are very good on their own, when combined with William Shatner, their stories seem to come alive. The premise, plot setup and overall pacing for this novel are all nothing less than stunning.
The cover art for "The Return" is quite exciting; I especially like the quote on the cover, "Legends never die..." I distinctly remember when seeing the cover for this novel for the first time, being excited that James Tiberius Kirk would be making some kind of return after being lost at the end of "Generations."
The premise:
Simply put, Captain James Tiberius Kirk will always find a way to cheat death! After the extraordinary events depicted in his first "Shatnerverse" novel, "The Ashes of Eden," and his disappearance, return and then eventual "death" at the end of "Generations," there would simply "have" to be a way for him to Return...
As Spock stood upon a rocky crag over the raised mound of rocks which entombed his life long friend, he heard a battle going on in the distance and not long thereafter, he heard the distinct sound of a transporter and saw the raised mound of rock crumble in upon itself. In that moment, he knew that in some way or another, his friend had once again cheated death...
What follows from there is, as stated above, nothing less than one of the most spectacular, intriguing and enthralling thrill rides of a Star Trek novel to have been written to date. Throw in Starfleet, the Borg, the Romulans and a very healthy dose of inventiveness and you've got Star Trek "The Return" by William Shatner and the husband and wife writing team of Judith and Garfield Reeves-Stevens.
As an additional note, the audio tape version of this novel is just as wonderful as the actual novel, albeit a much shortened version. William Shatner does an outstanding job of reading it. He apparently didn't know how to pronounce Cardassians though.
I highly recommend this novel to any and all fans of Star Trek fiction! {ssintrepid}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Return, Fact or Fiction for Shatner?, Dec 3 2003
By 
Matt Chambers (Shropshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
Having read this, and all of Shatner's books several times over (save for Captain's Peril and Captains Blood), I can honestly say that it's a triumph for Shatner, and he should be proud to have written this.
And Yes! He did write this, I find it almost insulting that anyone can say that he did not write it, I have had the pleasure of reading all of his books, and throughout there is a definate sense of style that accopmanies his writing that could not have been duplicated. Yes, he employs two accomplished writers to help him keep track of all of the developing Trek lore, and why not, Shatner is a writer, but that doesn;t mean that he can keep track of all of the different stories unfolding in the Trek universe, the way that a lot of fans can. So whoever you are, and you know who you are! Stop it! Let someone have the respect for their accomplishments they deserve!!!
Tho book itself, revolves around how Kirk is brought back from the dead, to face new challenges. The way in which this is done is revolutionary and inspiring. The Borg-Romulan Alliance is a main part of the flow, and to see Kirk and Spock Manipulated by them in such a way is wonderful story telling.
But it is in the books' ability to make the reader want to believe in these events, because they mesh so well with canon trek, that is truely amazing. I have heard it sadi that there is always a 'reset' button at the end of each book. All I can say is, good. I don't want the stories told by Shatner to shattered because he didn't leave himself a get out clause. The way it is told allows us to have Trek on TV, Shatner in boks, and no conflict.
Based on what I have read so far, Paramount would do well to make Shatner's entrie series of books, or which there are now 8 in total, into a series for TV, they would find I think that Their Ratings would go through thew roof.
Any one who is reading this, may think that I am just a Fan who is Biased, but this is not the case, I have other interests, but I hate to see an author being run down, jsut because they are able to surprise their audience with a good book every now and again.
Thanks for your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should Be A Movie, Nov. 5 2003
By 
J. A. OMeara "Kentucky Yankee" (Lexington, KY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the greatest Star Trek novel writen. The author clearly knows Trek-lore and incorporates it realistically into the Trek-universe. Long time fans will reall appreciate this. However, there is no way Shatner wrote this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK NOT A CLASSIC BUT QUITE ACTION FILLED, Jan. 16 2003
By 
Jeffrey R. Bednar (kaneohe, hawaii United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I usually don't write a review unless I feel 5 stars are warranted but, this book was an edge of your seat adventure that brings together the best TREK heroes and villans. This is excellent escapism and well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shatner is the world's greatest monster, Nov. 21 2002
By 
Joseph J Peters (MA. United States) - See all my reviews
William Shatner is a power-tripping, egotistical, buffoon. He's a terrible actor, director, producer, and writer. Don't get me wrong--he's also one of the most purely entertaining minds in Hollywood today. And this is clearly the funniest book in the entirety of human history.
"The Return" is classic Trek. It has a melodramatic plot literally covered stem to stern with plot holes that you could drive whole stars through. The entire premise itself is terribly flawed. What possible tactical advantage could ressurecting a 70 year dead minor footnote in history have? The book is clearly about what Shatner can get away with.
That's why its the funniest book in all history. Shatner thumbs his nose at Star Trek fans accross the board--while at the same time creating the ultimate mold no other Star Trek writer can ever aspire to. With this book Shatner has created the ultimate self-insertion fan-fiction. Kirk comes back from the dead then proceeds to show the entire galaxy who's boss, despite the fact that he's been dead for the majority of the past 60 or so years.
The plot is rediculous, the story is seamlessly integrated into the known Trek mythos, Kirk conquers the universe and Picard dressed up like a ninja. What more could you possibly want out of literature!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Abandon Tek, stick to TRek! Shatner CAN write!, Nov. 21 2002
By 
Legends never die. Apparently. And apparently Jim Kirk is still going strong. Directly after the events in Generations, and brought back to life, rebuilt by a deadly alliance of the Borg and Romulans, an amnaesiac Kirk is convinced he must destroy Jean Luc Picard. He subsequently sets out to find him, and battle ensues. Eventually, all is put well with the world, and Kirk, Spock and McCoy (at 145 years old!) are reunited, and team up with the crew of the Enterprise-D and take on the enemy that corrupted Kirk with an explosive conclusion.
Read this novel. It is actually the second in the "Oddessy" trilogy, but the first one set in the "Next Gen" era, so in that sense it stands alone quite nicely, and is frankly incredible. I don't own my copy any more and frankly I miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Legend Returns, Aug. 14 2002
By 
William Shatner just liked to gave the story away for Star Trek
First Contact.But this was a good book the interaction btween
Kirk&Picard was just like what we saw in Star Trek:Genrations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kirk and Picard Together Again, July 11 2001
By 
Jamy Shaffer (Edgerton, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Shatner returns the reader to Kirk's makeshift grave following the events in Generations. Kirk is resurrected by alien technology and there are Borg, Romulans, members of both generations, and mistrust between both. I was totally taken aback by a revelation about the Borg's first encounter with the Federation. If anyone saw that acomin' they are totally more adept at such things than I. There are also some very touching moments between Kirk, Spock, and the old country doctor. I can't wait to finish Mr. Shatner's first series without waiting a year between each section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6aeeb4c)

This product

Return
Return by William Shatner (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews