Customer Reviews


527 Reviews
5 star:
 (399)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A hallmark of a great Soundtrack
I love this CD, because it is a throwback to when music was used to tell a story. People who loves Classical music may get more out of the CD, because they would able to hear the nuasances within each tune. The Howard Shore knew how to bring the various parts of the orchastra together, as well I loved Enya contribution to this soundtrack. Everyone enjoy it.
Published 4 months ago by Glen Mercier

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, Poor CD Quality
The music composed is great, but you can tell they are withholding more important tracks so we will pay them more money later on for a more decent set. You won't get the distinct track FOTR actually opened with, what we do have is a lot of tracks that sound different at the beginning and quickly turn back into a repetitive clank, which is nice at first, but there should...
Published on Dec 12 2002 by D.N.


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A hallmark of a great Soundtrack, Dec 10 2013
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I love this CD, because it is a throwback to when music was used to tell a story. People who loves Classical music may get more out of the CD, because they would able to hear the nuasances within each tune. The Howard Shore knew how to bring the various parts of the orchastra together, as well I loved Enya contribution to this soundtrack. Everyone enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blast from the past, Aug. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I was obsessed with this soundtrack in high school and I memorized it... this is perfectly exactly as I remember it, and I'm so happy to have it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Are you kidding?, Jan. 28 2010
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I understand that everyone is entitled to their own opinion... But I'm sorry, some people are just too stupid and close-minded that I get angry!

I personally am bedazzled by this amazing, emotional soundtrack... And I believe it easily makes it to the top of my list! And this comes from someone who has collected many unique soundtracks from many movies... by MANY different composers. There is no reason this is any lower on the scale of amazement, then John Williams unforgettable Star Wars soundtracks..

I believe that each piece of music deserves it's own appreciation... no matter how hard one must look to find it.

People who say it is boring evidently can't understand the beauty of classical music.... So it's not your cup of tea: that doesn't mean you need to say that this music is crap! Obviously some people will enjoy it much more as the background music on the movie, but to some, this kind of music is just as enjoyable using the imgination, or while cleaning the house(like me :))!

I find, for soundtracks, if they can create a well developed atmosphere for me, and change my mood to that of the music... Then it has acheived it's goal of making my favourites list...

To those who say it sounds like "carmen whatever"... WHO CARES!!! GET A LIFE! Seriously, I don't care if it sounds like Beethoven's Fifth Symphony... its's brilliant and it gets the job done! So shhuut up! Seriously, if you can't reuse ideas, then you would never get anywhere... NO OTHER MUSIC WOULD JUSTIFY THESE MOVIES OTHER THAN WHAT IS ALREADY BEING USED!

Just enjoy all music for it's own specific beauty and get on! If you have something bad to say, at least think of something reasonable... Not close-minded garble!

OH and some of my other recommondations include: Star wars (especially the 3rd and 6th...), Beetlejuice, Peter Pan (surprisingly amazing!), Titanic and many many more :P:P:P:P:P oh and Sleepy Hollow (Danny Elfman!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great...and long, July 23 2007
By 
I love this cd, I love this movie, I love this book, I love this author, I love this composer, and I love these actors. Need I say more? Not really, but I will. Fave tracks are "Concerning Hobbits", "The Bridge of Khazad-hum", and "May It Be". Each encompasses a different aspect of the sountrack and the story. "CH", the happiness and innocence of the hobbits, "The B of K", mysticism, creepiness, heroism, and sadness", and "M it B", the wistfulness and grace of the elves. This music is wonderfully composed, masterfully directed, and satisfyingly intricate. My father and his high-brow classical music tastes even admitted that it was a "half-decent soundtrack" and then promptly went out and bought it, along with ROTK's soundtrack. However, if you're impatient, it's kind of long to sit through, at 71 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Musical Score!, May 16 2004
By 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
In my opinion, the original motion picture soundtrack to the Lord of the Rings is the perfect musical score. The music is composed, orchestrated and conducted by Howard Shore, who in my opinion can be listed among the greatest music composers such as John Williams. Enya also contributes to this soundtrack, having composed and performed the music score for the ending credits, and performing the theme for Aragorn And Arwen. Contains 18 tracks:
1. The Prophecy
2. Concerning Hobbits - the music theme for the sequences set in the Hobbit-inhabited land of the Shire.
3. The Shadow of the Past - the music score that blends in with the part where the nature of the Ring is discovered.
4. The Treason of Isengard - One of the best scores of the soundtrack. It is the theme for the sequence in which Saruman becomes a traitor and battles with Gandalf.
5. The Black Rider Another great musical score. This theme is for the journey of the four Hobbit companions through the Shire and for the encountering of the Black Rider.
6. At the Sign of the Prancing Pony - Frodo Baggins adventures in the town of Bree at the Inn of the Prancing Pony is what this score is for.
7. A Knife in the Dark - The theme for the continuing journey of the hobbits in which sequence they arrive at the ruins of a temple and find themselves battling Ringwraiths.
8. Flight to the Ford - The Theme for the flight of Arwen and Frodo to Rivendell to escape the Black Riders.
9. Many Meetings - The theme for Rivendell, where the Elves abide.
10. The Council of Elrond - This is among the best scores in the album. The theme for the Council in Rivendell concerning the fate of the Ring. Also features Enya performing Aniron, the theme for Aragorn and Arwen.
11. The Ring Goes South - The theme for the sequence in which the Fellowship of the Ring sets out on their journey to Mordor.
12. A Journey in the Dark - The theme for Moria
13. The Bridge of Khazad Dum - The theme for the treacherous journey to the Bridge of Khazad Dum in Moria and the crossing over and escape from Moria. Another of the ones that are among the best scores on this album.
14. Lothlorien - The theme for Lothlorien, the woodlands of the Elves, through which the Fellowship of the Ring passes through in the film.
15. The Great River - The theme for the departure from Lothlorien.
16. Amon Hen - The theme for the encountering of the stone of Amon Hen.
17. The Breaking of the Fellowship - The score for the dispersion of the Fellowship of the Ring, in which only Frodo and Sam are left to continue the quest to destroy the Ring.
18. May it Be - The song performed by Enya. It is the score for the end credits of the film.
If you loved the film, buy this soundtrack. It is well worth the purchase price. For more information there is a site called ... I eagerly anticipate the soundtrack for the next LOTR film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars (Respectfully Untitled), May 9 2004
By 
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
In this world, there exists a handful of human creations so epic, finding words for such things almost seems a way of devaluing the work. Unfortunately, as this soundtrack is one of them, we have but no choice other than cave in and write. If we do not, it would essentially be as if such grand feats were never accomplished in the first place.
To keep the review to a moderate and digestable length, there will be no specific documentary of each period instrument, harmonic change, melodic theme, and relation of how the audio translates to supportive information for the visual cinematic cues. Just know that 1) there has been a supremely creative effort to have very specific instruments enhance the mood and storyline, 2) a new and surprisingly fresh (though ironically reminiscent of a time long ago) chord change awaits the turn of every corner, 3) the carefully constructed (while non-academic) themes seem to come alive in a character every time while on screen, and 4) the music for each respective scene is so powerful in the film, it convinces the audience - if subconsciously - that there is indeed no other choice of sounds other than the precise ones that have been chosen and printed to film and cd forever. Don't get me wrong, there are also items # 5-infinity which we'll omit for interest of time.
Ladies and Gentlemen, Howard Shore is a living legend and genius to the fields of both musical composition and speaking to the soul. With all of the aforementioned elements, he has done what perhaps Professor Tolkien himself would bow down to: he has taken the ridiculously detailed blueprints for a whole different world, and created the same world all over again, in the form of auditory stimulation. The laborous contriving of entire ficticious languages are masterfully superimposed as thunderous choirs, on top of what sounds like a 10,000 piece orchestral behemoth soundscape.
From the characteristic playful music of the Hobbits to the hellishly heavy thunder of Mordor itself, this soundtrack will take you through an emotional journey of its own when you have nothing to watch along with the music. The way the themes cross moods and reappear reincarnated at later locations, in different forms, proves an intuitive influence at work in Shore's mind- much from Bach and Beethoven themselves, but not just in the traditional sense. Much successful experimenting with all musical elements make the resultant cd unpredictable and largely enjoyable all at once. Although anyone can appreciate this soundtrack, I do maintain that a firm knowledge of the literary masterpiece "The Lord of the Rings Trilogy" will augment the listening experience beyond belief. To love the story, as I do, blows it through the stratosphere.
A word should be put in for Enya as well. Whereas many soundtracks are comprised of an agitatingly asymmetric combination of composed music and [category: other], "Fellowship..." just can't seem to do any wrong. Indeed, when watching the movie, her passionately moving "May It Be" feels right at home with everything else. It was smart to include a derivation of one of the score's main themes as Enya's own melodic inspiration. Her music, too (represented by two pieces here), is masterfully executed and produced. Whoever included her made a wise call as talent/booking director.
Howard Shore, and all involved, deserve more than can be offered in any tangible reward. The three movies/soundtracks as a whole will have taken a few years out of everyone's lives who were dedicated to the project, and those years shall go down as a triumphant landmark on the achievenment of mankind, as opposed to a vague haziness of wasted time for each individual. Howard Shore and director Peter Jackson have done more in three years of their lives than what most hope to do in a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, April 30 2004
By 
Annaleise Ferreira "Acolyte of Cthulhu" (Marina, California ,United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
The FotR soundtrack is near the top of the list of my favorite movie soundtracks, along with The Two Towers and Whale Rider. The only complaints I have about it are that some of the pieces are obviously different versions than are heard in the movie, which would be alright except that some are truncated, such as the Bridge Of Khazad-Dum track. Obviously all the music in the movie can't be included on one cd, but it's just a little dissapointing. Otherwise, I highly recommend it as one of the best movie scores ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rates as one of the best scores ever written for cinema, April 27 2004
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Before The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, I never paid much attention to Howard Shore, but after I heard his excellent score, I started to get more music composed by him, yet none of his other work compares to his Lord of the Rings Trilogy. The Fellowship was the first of the Trilogy and as such, Shore established his themes for the landbreaking film. The music revolves around five basic themes: The theme for Isengard, the theme for the Black Riders/Mordor, the theme for the Fellowship, the theme for the Ring and the theme for The Shire. The range of music is extremely wide. The Black Rider theme is a very dark, gothic theme, while the Hobbit theme is very light and playful reminiscent of an old countryside folktune. The theme for Isengard is very strident percussion and brass with emphasize the evil building under Orthanc. The Fellowship theme is a very bold theme, only heard in its full glory 2 times on the soundtrack on tracks 11 and 13. The hints of most of these themes play in almost all the tracks of the film, however all of these tracks stand alone. For example Amon Hen track 16 is one of my favorite tracks, because it provides a visual picture of what is happenning on the movie screen. Choir is used effectively to heighten the emotion of any particular track. The cd is over 70 minutes long, and I wish it could be longer simply because the music is so enjoyable. Shore's score to this epic film belongs on the top ten score's of all time and it truly deserved the Academy Award that it won. It is simply magnificent! Also used excellently is the solo voice of Enya. Her haunting melodies in the final track of the cd as well as track 10 create a moving visual picture of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Piercing Beauties Midst Darkest Night, April 26 2004
By 
kjenfan (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
For those of us who may have at one time or another withdrawn in daydream to the wonders of Tolkien's Middle Earth, one finds in this soundtrack a peerless reflection of those feelings. The myriad of emotions aroused by Shore sweep us along into Middle Earth, and involve us deeply in the story and its characters. From the ethereal beauty of the Elven songs to the sinister foreboding invoked by Sauron's evil minions, to the wistful melancholy of the Fellowship theme, this is truly a work of art. The solos and the choral pieces are immeasurably beautiful and worthy of the sense of timelessness they invoke. It is with genuine admiration and awe that I thank everyone involved in this magnificent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreakingly beautiful, March 25 2004
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring - The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Very rarely have I heard a soundtrack that is so heartbreakingly beautiful in its ability to not only penetrate deeply into the depths of your emotions but also to evoke the fantastic imagery of the film that it was a concomitant party to. Howard Shore is one of the few contemporary composers creating original scores whom I honestly feel rivals the classics. Very Wagnerian in style, although touched here and there with Enya's new age Celtic tinged "pop" Shore has created a masterpiece that will stand strong against the disintegrating waves of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad1b5a74)

This product

Only search this product's reviews