Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars unleashed in the east
one of the all time classic metal albums,in fact youd be lucky to find anything better in that decade metal wise
The Sinner,apocalyptic lyrics and vocals with KKs guitar work summoning the ghost of Jimi Hendrix to the modern metal age!!!
Classic!!!!
Published on July 15 2011 by chesney71

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars LIVE OR STUDIO?
If this was really a live recording, it's the best ever. If it was totally re-recorded in the studio, shame on you, Judas Priest!
Published on March 5 2003 by PATHERSON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I'm astonished!, March 17 2003
By 
"rat-bag" (BALLARD, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unleashed in the East (Audio CD)
Every time I listen to this album, I get goosebumps.
Who cares if Rob Halford rerecorded his vocal tracks; who else could sound that incredible, live or in a studio?
These guys helped write the book of hard rock, and everyone who came after them owes something to them.
These musicians had it all: chops; tone; attitude; production; songwriting; and most of all, solid gold BALLS.
These guys are pure rock 'n roll.
Hats off to them. This record shows a band in the form of a spitshined battalion on parade, with guitars, sex, and rock n' roll in lieu of bullets, as it should be.
FIVE BIG STARS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars LIVE OR STUDIO?, March 5 2003
This review is from: Unleashed in the East (Audio CD)
If this was really a live recording, it's the best ever. If it was totally re-recorded in the studio, shame on you, Judas Priest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Live..?, Jan. 24 2003
By 
L. B. Ivarsson (Rock City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unleashed in the East (Audio CD)
This is a very good record and could be regarded as some kind of "best of" for the period prior to "British Steel" (Judas Priest's best album ever). When it first came out I believe it was the magazine Kerrang that called it "Unleashed in the studio" and I suppose they were right. I even think Judas Priest have admit that the only live thing about it is the drums - everything else is re-recorded in a studio. Maybe that's the reason the sound quality is so good, the guitars are even split. In fact I don't mind this "cheat" since I don't really see the point in releasing live albums...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best, Nov. 23 2002
By 
Tim (Nashville) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unleashed in the East (Audio CD)
I remember when I was in 9th grade living in Atlanta and could not wait for the release of this album--yes, album,not cd--I still jam like hell to it at the age of 38.Trust me when I say this one is priceless---how could anyone not like "victim of changes" or "Sinner" ! This is Priest at their finest ! Considering the lost art of true rock this day and age....it is a MUST HAVE !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Priest Closes Out the 70s with a Great One, Oct. 28 2002
By 
A.J. Taylor (Sparta, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unleashed in the East (Audio CD)
On Judas Priest's first live album, Unleashed in the East(1979), they manage to package most of their greatest songs of the period onto one great live album. Every song is a proven winner in the studio, and most sound even better live. The tracks off Sad Wings are greatly aided by Les Binks' fantastic drumming(chekc out that solo in Starbreaker). Glenn and K.K. fire off some sizzling guitar work, while Rob Halford(with some help from the studio) lays down some great vocals. However, Ian Hill begins his descent into mediocrity here, but for the most part his bass lines are effective and well-played. Overall this is one great albums, arguably the best they ever made, and I would STRONGLY recommend you buy this album first if you're new to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live version of Tyrant, Aug. 14 2002
This review is from: Unleashed in the East (Audio CD)
Sorry I have to reply to an easiler review.
How can anyone say "avoid" the live version of Tyrant!?!? It's one of the defining moments in heavy metal history. Judas Priest blazed a trail that many followed, and this album is one of the all time greats within the genre. If you love metal and this isnt in your collection, you're seriously missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best metal album ever, July 28 2002
By 
This review is from: Unleashed in the East (Audio CD)
Avoid 9, 12, and 13 song versions. 15 song version is the definite one worth obtaining.
"The Ultimate Priest in the East" - Ultra Boris World Domination Enterprises
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing!, April 26 2002
This review is from: Unleashed in the East (Audio CD)
If you've heard the original and thought it was outstanding for its time, you'll agree that it left you wanting more. This remastered version is the way it should've been from the start. The original nine core songs sound amazing, and the four extra live tracks (from the same tour) seamlessly make this album complete, finally. After listening to this release from start to end, you won't remember that once upon a time, it was four tracks shorter. The folks at Legacy (Sony Music) have managed to make of the greatest live rock albums of all time even better. This CD is a MUST HAVE for any Judas Priest or heavy metal fan. Even if you're not into metal, but you're a hard rock fan, you will definitely enjoy the power of the performances captured in this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unleashed, Feb. 12 2002
By 
Stuart W. "stupor1962" (Tacoma, Wa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unleashed in the East (Audio CD)
I had this on cassette when it came out over 20 years ago, it kicks...! It is Judas Priest before they became radio friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Creeper, Jan. 2 2002
By 
Jerry G. (shaker hts, oh United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unleashed in the East (Audio CD)
When I first listened to Unleashed in the East I thought it was a bit monotonous and similar to other hard rock/heavy metal that I'd heard - probably because the style here has so often been imitated. Then after a few years I found myself listening to it more often and more closely until I realized I was hooked. Now, I consider it one of my favorite albums. Here's a short list of reasons why:
1) The energy and power of the music, which is backed by fantastic riffs and leads that burn a hole in your consciousness. 2) Incredible musicianship. This includes the previously mentioned guitar work as well as the surrealistically talented Rob Halford on lead vocals and the drumming, which far outclasses that on later releases by Priest. 3) Lyrics that match the complexity and force of the music. 4) The quality of the recording. The sound has a depth that captures the feel of a concert hall in the way it fills and expands in your ears.
Like many other great albums, Unleashed in the East transports you into it's own atmosphere and keeps you riveted by it's intensity. In the end, you feel as if you've been on a journey. One that you want to take over and over again. There's a subtlety to it that might take some repeat listenings to notice. This includes various little effects and noises as well as the countless twists and turns in the music. Overall it's a disc that creeps up on you gradually until all the sudden you don't know what hit you. So put this one in your pipe and smoke it. You'll soon wonder what the point of living is without it (to paraphrase Running Wild).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unleashed in the East
Unleashed in the East by Judas Priest (Audio CD - 2001)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews