Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No band sounded like that in those days... simply superb!
Sin After Sin is often received with mixed emotions. Firstly, it isn't a commercial music product at all, which makes it fascinating. A masterpiece to be slowly digested. This album is one of Priest's most intriguing, yet brilliant productions. It touches many musical ranges... it is heavy (ie. the Sinner), brutally heavy (Dissident Aggressor), furious (Call for the...
Published on Nov. 9 2003 by electricphase

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Judas Priest + Deep Purple = "Sin After Sin"
Considered Judas Priest's first "real" record and debut on a major record label with a major producer (Deep Purple bassist, Roger Glover), 'Sin After Sin' is not one of the best of the records, sonically speaking. In fact, the production quality of their debut efforts, 'Rocka Rolla' (1974) and 'Sad Wings of Destiny' (1976), is arguably superior (for example, compare...
Published on Nov. 9 2001 by S B


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No band sounded like that in those days... simply superb!, Nov. 9 2003
By 
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
Sin After Sin is often received with mixed emotions. Firstly, it isn't a commercial music product at all, which makes it fascinating. A masterpiece to be slowly digested. This album is one of Priest's most intriguing, yet brilliant productions. It touches many musical ranges... it is heavy (ie. the Sinner), brutally heavy (Dissident Aggressor), furious (Call for the Priest), soft and moody (Last Rose of Summer), atmospheric (Raw Deal) and soulful (Here Come the Tears), et all.
Rob Halford's vocals and lyrics are at their peak here. Glenn and KK's guitars are imaginative, skillful and impressive. Ian Hill's bass is... hmmm, let's better skip that with Simon Phillip's (then still an teenager!!!) incredible drumming. Until this day I still can't believe some of the prodigious and intricate drums parts he laid down for those sessions (unfortunately, he only acted as a session player). Simon started a whole thrashy drum movement with his dexterity in Sin After Sin.
Roger Glover's production here is frequently critized for not achieving a heavier sound, but I disagree with that, as the end result is just what was needed musically.
The real beauty of Sin After Sin is that one can actually listen to many new subtle things each time one listens to it, no matter how many times played back... and that simply doesn't happen often these days. IT HAS MAGIC ALL OVER IT. This is a must item in any rock CD collection. A timeless classic and my favorite Priest album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sin after sin, priest's 2nd classic album, Jan. 14 2003
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
After releasing their 2nd minor label album "Sad wings of destiny" in 1976, which I consider being Judas Priest's first classic and most crucial to what's going to be heard in metal for the following years, the band released in 1977 "Sin after Sin". Though I find it not as good as the previous one, excellent pieces of metal can be heard on this album.
This album was the only one to feature the session drummer Simon Phillips, replacing Alan Moore, who had apparently no idea of how great the band was going to be. Simon Phillips will later join the group Toto : you can hear his drums on the albums "Tambu" and "Mindfields".
My personnal ratings are :
Sinner - A
A classic rock song. It's good but quite fast boring at the end.
The chorus is average.
Diamonds and Rust - A
Another classic, but the chorus is just average and a little annoying.
Starbreaker - A+
This is my favorite song on the CD. Rob Halford sings all lyrics. This song has an excellent rhythm.
Last rose of summer - C- : I was looking for a good Judas Priest ballad, but this one is pretty asleeping
Let us prey... - C+
D+ for the beginning of the song which is a plain Queen imitation (not that I don't like Queen but this is annoying),
A+ for the guitar solo which is excellent.
Raw deal - A+
This one is pure enjoyment, melodic guitar, slow rhythm, best Halford's vocals.
Here come the tears - B-
This is another quite boring ballad, but better than the 'Last rose of summer'.
Dissident aggressor - D+
This song is awful, it's noisy, messy, not the Priest I like ! Though, many like it and it was included on 'Metal Works' compilation.
I should put 4 stars since I don't think this is Judas Priest's best album, but I find it excellent, and I think I still deserves 5 because this is quite inventive for heavy metal in the 70's. Though, Deep Purple and Black Sabbath had already started the movement. By the way, Deep Purple's bassist Roger Glover participated in the production of this album.
Line-up :
Glenn Tipton - Guitars
Robert Halford - Vocals
K.K. Downing - Guitars
Ian Hill - Bass
Simon Phillips - Drums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, Feb. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
Hafta admit, I dig Priest. At this stage, Halford was still exploring as a lead voice. Songwriting is solid. Put out with a session drummer, but works great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile Trip, March 9 2004
By 
David Higgins (Greenville, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
The only worthwhile moment in three years of visiting my parents in South Carolina while I was in college was that one afternoon I picked up a radio station playng "Sinner". It was a new album at the time and I would have probably never heard it if not for that afternoon. It would be difficult to pick a high point on this CD, with Sinner, Diamonds and Rust and Call for the Priest, it doesn't let up. Great find, great buy, great disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars �Good intentions pave the way to hell�, Feb. 18 2004
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
This album is showing former Deep Purple and future Rainbow bassist Roger Glover as producer - but the way he could have pushed f.e. Nazareth four years earlier didn't succeed alike with Judas Priest. I mean this case he pushed forward the Deep Purple-scheme of complexity, long solos etc. but with songs of which neither the riffs nor the vocal melodies were catchy enough to keep the excitement along. (Oh if he has pursued this receipt on the later Rainbow albums!)
So all in all I have to say this album - of which title is taken from the classic song 'Genocide' - as some tracks on it are a bit too long. (And I don't mean the long and monotonous but very atmospheric ballad 'Here Come The Tears'.)
It praises the ingenuity of these musicians how they covered Joan Baez's acoustic song 'Diamonds And Rust' that became one of their finest hard and at the same time catchingly melodious tunes. But when you listen to 'Unleashed In The East' it becomes obvious how some tracks from this album could hit with a better sound. Another summit of the record is the short and extremely aggressive closing track 'Dissident Aggressor' - no wonder that it was covered by Slayer on 'South Of Heaven'.
In short this record is not bad, by far not the worst, but if preceding 'Sad Wings Of Destiny' is a thunder, it is just a plopping rain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Columbia Debut, June 21 2003
By 
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
This was Priest's first USA release. It was released in 1977 on Columbia Records, and the result is a solid piece of work. I would rank this in the Top 5 of all of their albums. It is better then the previous SAD WINGS OF DESTINY and even the later HELL BENT FOR LEATHER. SIN AFTER SIN shows Judas Priest maturing as a band in a big way. The opening track is my favorite, and a defining moment in their career. "Diamonds and Rust" is good, and "Starbreaker" is a fast-paced rocker with a catchy beat. "Last Rose of Summer" is a nice ballad that shows off Judas Priest' talent. It is a nice song to listen to on a quiet summer day. "Let Us Prey/Call For The Priest" starts out with a sad opening before speeding up into a ripping rocker. Not to forget "Raw Deal," a mid-paced song with a good beat. This album is very underrated, and deserves a look from any hard rock fan. Don't miss out on it Priest fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A highly underrated tour de force!, April 23 2003
By 
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
I think Sin After Sin is the greatest Judas Priest album of all time. Other albums like Stained Class and Sad Wings of Destiny are also amazing, but it's just something about this album that makes it much better.
The record kicks off with the incredible "Sinner" with amazing vocals by Rob Halford and plenty of guitar solos. "Diamonds and Rust" (originally done by Joan Baez) is one of the greatest cover songs I've ever heard. "Starbreaker" is great, but could have been improved a little. The ballad "Last Rose of Summer" is magnificent and rather catchy. "Let Us Prey" is a fast-tempo song that totally rocks. "Call for the Priest/Raw Deal" is another hard rocking song with a powerful closing. "Here Come the Tears" is another ballad with amazing guitarwork. Finally, the incredible "Dissident Aggressor" will blow you away.
I am reviewing this album based on the original version (I have the old cassette) and I am very pleased with this record. Even if you are a casual Priest fan, you'll be doing yourself a favor by getting this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A highly underrated tour de force!, April 23 2003
By 
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
I think Sin After Sin is the greatest Judas Priest album of all time. Other albums like Stained Class and Sad Wings of Destiny are also amazing, but it's just something about this album that makes it much better.
The record kicks off with the incredible "Sinner" with amazing vocals by Rob Halford and plenty of guitar solos. "Diamonds and Rust" (originally done by Joan Baez) is one of the greatest cover songs I've ever heard. "Starbreaker" is great, but could have been improved a little. The ballad "Last Rose of Summer" is magnificent and rather catchy. "Let Us Prey" is a fast-tempo song that totally rocks. "Call for the Priest/Raw Deal" is another hard rocking song with a powerful closing. "Here Come the Tears" is another ballad with amazing guitarwork. Finally, the incredible "Dissident Aggressor" will blow you away.
I am reviewing this album based on the original version (I have the old cassette) and I am very pleased with this record. Even if you are a casual Priest fan, you'll be doing yourself a favor by getting this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weak but good, Feb. 3 2003
By 
E. Sharon "saggi" (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
This is the first priest album I got, and it was the original version. On Saterday 23/6/01 my older brother gave it to me along with Quiet Riot's Metal Health, and Anthrax's Attack of the Killer B's. I learnt right away that this album came out in 1977, had 8 tracks and a low sound. When I saw the Painkiller video on VH1 I got that album as the re-mastered version and then I learnt that the bonus track on Sin After Sin made the album wearth replacing the original. It now sounds a little louder than before. But I woudn't call this a must get...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - I Think of It as Sad Wings Part 2, Dec 4 2002
By 
Ghost of Metal Past (Circle Pines, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sin After Sin (Audio CD)
Sin After Sin is a great metal album. Fantastic composition and musical execution. I like to think of it as Part 2 of Sad Wings of Destiny. The production has a 70s tone to it but the songs do not sound dated in any way. The songwriting on Sin After Sin is true to classic heavy metal. The songs sound much heavier when played live using more modern sound technology. For proof look at Slayer's South of Heaven where they included a cover of Dissident Aggressor. If it's heavy enough for Slayer, you aren't going to mistake it for generic 1970s arena rock. The remaster has improved the sound a lot compared to the original version I had on tape. The studio bonus track is also decent. Better than the ones included on the other remasters. The live track of Jawbreaker is run of the mill.
To sum up. None of the original tracks is weak. The composition avoids all rock songwriting cliches. The guitar work is masterful. Simply stated - Sin after Sin was years ahead of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sin After Sin
Sin After Sin by Judas Priest (Audio CD - 2001)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews