Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars So funny!
I don't care what critics said for this movie. I had so much fun for watching this movie. Ivan Reitman makes funny movies and I love his movies! David Duchovny seemd making fun of his government conspiracy TV show of " X-Files". Orlando Jones is really funny here considering he is serious in TV show " Sleepy Hollow".
Published 2 months ago by The Comedian

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better the 2nd time around
The first time I watched this movie, I though it was terrible. However, after watching a 2nd and 3rd time, I've learned to appreciate the humor. It's a fun and lighthearted movie. The special effects are quite good, the monsters are impressive and the acting is not bad. David Duchovny isn't a great commedian, and some of his lines are terrible, but overall, he does a...
Published on June 17 2004 by Lodge2


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better the 2nd time around, June 17 2004
This review is from: Evolution (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
The first time I watched this movie, I though it was terrible. However, after watching a 2nd and 3rd time, I've learned to appreciate the humor. It's a fun and lighthearted movie. The special effects are quite good, the monsters are impressive and the acting is not bad. David Duchovny isn't a great commedian, and some of his lines are terrible, but overall, he does a good job.
It's the kind of movie you put on when you are depressed and just want to drink a beer and be amused. In the same league as Caddyshack and Stripes. Great mindless fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So funny!, May 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evolution [Import] (DVD)
I don't care what critics said for this movie. I had so much fun for watching this movie. Ivan Reitman makes funny movies and I love his movies! David Duchovny seemd making fun of his government conspiracy TV show of " X-Files". Orlando Jones is really funny here considering he is serious in TV show " Sleepy Hollow".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, family kid favourite, Nov. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evolution [Import] (DVD)
Old funny classic we had to have our own copy.
Some laugh out loud scenes in this movie, a real sleeper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Funny Sci-Fi Movie, March 26 2003
By 
Jason Waldman (Laguna Niguel, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evolution (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
"Evolution" isn't the best sci-fi comedy ever, but it's certainly very good. It's one of those guilty pleasure films that you enjoy over and over again.
The plot is nothing special. Two community college professors (played by David Duchovny and Orlando Jones) discover that a meteor that crashed in the desert is teeming with life that is rapidly evolving. The military comes in and screws things up, leaving the two profs, a government scientist (Julianne Moore), and a wannabe firefighter (Seann William Scott) to stop the alien menace before it takes over the world. There's also a funny cameo by Dan Akroyd as the governor of Arizona.
The acting is good. Duchovny and Jones have excellent chemistry together, really playing off each other well. Duchovny plays more the sarcastic, cynical scientist, while Jones is more manic, particularly in a scene where they're in the cavern. Moore is decent as a very clumsy and socially inept scientist. Scott's a little flat as Wayne, but that's part of being a character who's dumb but trying to look smart. There's also other bit players that are really funny, including two fat guys who are hysterical.
The story and script move along briskly, with only a few really unnecessary scenes. The jokes comes at a similarly brisk pace and are very funny for the most part. It's not a very realistic movie, as some of the things that are said and done are things most normal people wouldn't do, but that's part of the charm of this movie.
The effects are also very good for a movie that's more comedy than anything else. Things really look very realistic and are on-par with a movie like "Men in Black" and "Harry Potter".
As far as extra go, there's not a whole lot. Most of it has to do with the special effects, although you do get some funny deleted scenes. The commentary track is the biggest treat, with Ivan Reitman, Duchovny, Jones, and Scott all in a room at once. It's really funny.
Overall, this is a good film if you're just looking for some laughs. It sort of has the charm of "Ghostbusters" and "Men in Black" with some great interplay between Jones and Duchovny. Definitely a must-see if you're a "Men in Black" fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BUGBUSTERS, March 4 2004
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evolution (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Perhaps David Duchovny is doomed to follow in the steps of many tv stars who just can't make it "big" on the big screen. The X-FILES star did well enough in the feature-length film of that series, but other than that, he's floundered. EVOLUTION does have some wonderfully wacky moments, and some brilliant special effects. What it lacks is a consistency in tone and a good team of actors. Julianne Moore is hilarious as the clumsy CDC rep; Orlando Jones is as effective as Ernie Hudson has been; and Seann William Scott does his usual goofus stint. Ted Levine is very good as the greedy general, and Dan Akroyd is wasted in his role as the governor.
There are funny sequences, but there seems to be a lot of time when you're waiting for something to make you laugh again.
Inventive, but not the movie it should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good effects, good cast, good fun, Dec 16 2003
By 
J. N. Mohlman (Barrington, RI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evolution (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Let's be entirely honest here, "Evolution" is a silly movie based upon a barely palpable grasp on science. However, it doesn't matter because it is genuinely entertaining. The plot is just plausible enough to allow the viewer to enjoy a great cast offering up some genuinely funny lines amidst some very good CGI (and I write this two years after the film was released).
The story revolves around rapidly evolving alien life forms that arrive in Arizona via a meteorite. This nod to the theory of Panspermia shows that while the link to real science may be tenuous, it won't be severed altogether. This is an element that the viewer comes to appreciate as it allows a reasonable suspension of disbelief, which adds to the movie's appeal.
As these "aliens" become more sophisticated they wreak a rapidly escalating amount of havoc on a nearby medium sized city. It is here that our rag-tag band of heroes, David Duchovny as a disgraced biologist, Orlando Jones as a geologist who is more interested in anatomy than rocks, Julianne Moore as a hard driving CDC researcher and Seann William Scott as...well, Seann William Scott, come to the rescue. OF course, along the way they face the requisite bone-headed general, not to mention the rigors of a Division III women's volleyball schedule. Nonetheless, they rally together and triumph in fine style. The reason why this journey is fun to watch is simple: while each one of these actors offers up an excellent performance (particularly impressive given Moore and Duchovny aren't known for comedy), it is as an ensemble that they really shine. In particular, the exchanges between the three men are always hilarious as Duchovny plays a perfect straight-man for Jones and Scott. Moreover, Moore shows a remarkable ability for prat-falls that are the highlight of some strong physical acting.
As the film progresses to an inevitable showdown with the aliens, the viewer is treated to more great performances from the supporting cast, including a cameo from Dan Akroyd that is perfectly delivered. At the same time, the effects, which are contemporaneous with "Jurassic Park II" still view well, even if they aren't cutting edge. In particular, there is a dragon -type creature that ranks among the best CGI creations I have encountered (pre-Gollum of LOTR, of course).
Finally, unlike far too many DVD's, "Evolution" offers a great value in terms of quality and extras. The sound and picture are both excellent, but that is becoming more of the norm than the exception. Where the disc really shines is in the bonus features. The deleted scenes are well chosen and include commentary that offers an interesting look at the film making process. Moreover, storyboards, commentary and visual effects features all make for an entertaining, interesting viewing experience.
What this review really comes down to is this: if you don't appreciate silly humor, if you pick apart movies for the slightest flaws, skip "Evolution", you won't like it. Conversely, if you enjoy the give and take that comes from a cast that obviously enjoys working together, if you appreciate good special effects, and if a good "popcorn" movie is what you crave, "Evolution" is right up your alley. I've watched it literally dozens of times and I never get tired of it. It's eminently quotable, fun to watch, and makes great use of its cast, and silly or not, is a movie I never get tired of.
Enjoy!
Jake Mohlman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just Plain Fun, Dec 13 2003
This review is from: Evolution (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
It's clear that as long as Ivan Reitman works in sci-fi comedy he will never achieve the greatness he did with Ghostbusters. That movie was a masterpiece of genius. Evolution is nothing but a fun ride that comes nowhere near the class of Ghostbusters. But it's still well worth it.
Weird really when you consider that Ghostbusters: Go to Hell, the second sequel in which hell got so full that spirits started spilling out into the real world, was re-written and redrafted that it became this...something completely different. You probably know the story. A meteor crash lands in the desert and the single celled organisms living on it very, very quickly become multi celled and then little worm creatures and then...many other things. The movie repeatedly calls them aliens but since they evolve from nothing on earth and are conditioned by earth's environment they are, effectively, earth creatures. Watching them run riot and cause havoc is the main fun of this film.

Ghostbusters had a dry, sarcastic sense of humor, like a fine wine. Evolution has a crude, gross-out sense of humor like American Pie, which seriously lessens the overall quality of the film. The lead trio of actors perform rather well together. Duchovny is much looser and easy-going here than his stiff, X-Files character. Seann William-Scott once again plays a dufus but he's more endearing here than he has been in other roles. Orlando Jones is kind of good but he too often takes his role in the stereotyped 'only black guy in a white movie' direction. Sadly though, Julianne Moore's accident-prone scientist just isn't funny and her clumsiness seems false and forced.
But obviously when you judge Evolution next to something better it seems an inferior movie. Judge it on it's own terms and you'll definitely enjoy. The DVD is in 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen (though it really could have benefited from a scope 2.35:1 aspect ratio) and is in rather lacklustre Dolby 5.1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stupid but funny, Dec 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Evolution (VHS Tape)
This movie rocks! when i first heard of it and i thought it was really stupid. However, when i finally saw it over my friends house i loved it. It was so funny, i laugh about it still today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Coming to wipe that silly smile off your planet., Sept. 30 2003
This review is from: Evolution (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Evolution, while a very slick movie, ultimately fell flat for me. I love good science fiction movies and I love good comedy movies, but in this case two great tastes did not go great together.
This movie stars David Duchovny (Dr. Ira Kane), Julianne Moore (Dr. Allison Reed), Orlando Jones (Prof. Harry Block), and Seann William Scott (Wayne Grey) and while I am sure all four actors were happy to work with such an accomplished director, Ivan Reitman, I wonder if they were equally pleased with the final product. As far as the actors' performances, Duchovny played his part pretty well, while Jones seemed to go overboard as the comic sidekick. Moore seemed a little out of place compared to some of her other roles, and I kind of felt sorry for Seann (no, I am not misspelling his name as it really has two n's at the end of it. What's up with that?) William Scott in that his character was so moronic. I felt he could have offered a lot more to this movie, given a chance.
In the beginning (no, not that beginning), we see a meteor slam into the Earth, and soon discover that it's teeming with alien life. The alien microorganisms start growing and evolving at an exponential rate, creating some rather nasty life forms. Ira and Harry, who both work at the local community college, are the first scientists on the scene. Their discovery and dreams of fame and fortune go down the tubes as the government arrives on the scene and assumes control of the situation. Dr. Reed, a member of the CDC, working with the government, begins to find herself at odds with the military and they way they're handling the infestation, and slowly starts to align herself with Ira and Harry. Seems like a pretty standard sci-fi plot, but did I mention this is also a comedy?
Evolution follows the formula of Ghostbusters, one of Reitman's biggest hits, but the comedic chemistry between the actors in this movie just doesn't seem to gel like it did with the stars of Ghostbusters. I read that this was at one time a straight up science fiction movie, until Reitman got hold of the script and rewrote it, adding the comedy elements. I would have liked to see this movie before that happened, see what could have been.
The special effects are really good, providing lots of gooey alien stuff, and interesting looking creatures, but all that seemed a little wasted in this movie. You can see the movie is based on science fiction, with the comedy forced into the picture like a square peg into a round hole. Some parts were pretty funny, but I think the mix is a hard one to make work, and the effort fell flat. Another reviewer mentioned Tremors, a movie where these two elements worked well together, creating a more palatable end result, and I would agree.
A decent effort, but not Reitman's best. I think we've come to expect more from him based on his past efforts. This movie has plenty of eye candy, but not a lot of substance. It's easy to watch, geared more towards the not so discriminating viewer, but ultimately forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOL, Aug. 8 2003
This review is from: Evolution (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
This is a very funny movie. I wouldn't exactly classify the idea behind it as an alien attack as a previous review has done. It doesn't really involve a premeditated attack as much as it does survival of the fittest.
At any rate, this movie is a straight comedy and does not pose any philosophical questions or contain serious dialog. I have seen this movie reviewed as being "another such and such type of movie." I really found it to be quite original and clever.
The acting and effects are great, the casting is perfect, and the special features...aren't really that special. This is definitely one of those comedies that you can pull out and laugh at again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evolution (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import]
Evolution (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] by Ivan Reitman (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 25.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews