Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams have a nasty habit of going bad when you're not looking
When Sam Lake released in 2001 his first video game, Max Payne's success was incredible. With its numerous trophies that recognized its incredible drama and writing, the dark story of a NYPD detective whose american dream is destroyed by a horrible tragedy became a classic of the video game. Filled with references from asian action movies, the Matrix and even David Lynch...
Published on June 13 2011 by Omnes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Dark Game
Really good dark crime game. You really feel sorry for Max Payne for what has happened to him. Recommend this classic PS2 game.
Published 3 months ago by Pyyro Bowman


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good Dark Game, April 9 2014
By 
Pyyro Bowman (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really good dark crime game. You really feel sorry for Max Payne for what has happened to him. Recommend this classic PS2 game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams have a nasty habit of going bad when you're not looking, June 13 2011
By 
Omnes - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne - Xbox (Video Game)
When Sam Lake released in 2001 his first video game, Max Payne's success was incredible. With its numerous trophies that recognized its incredible drama and writing, the dark story of a NYPD detective whose american dream is destroyed by a horrible tragedy became a classic of the video game. Filled with references from asian action movies, the Matrix and even David Lynch works (ex:Lost Highway), this action game has been adapted for the X-Box console, and also for the X Box 360 as a downloadable game on X Box Live. So far, I think the transfer to the XBox works very well. For example, the controls and the camera are easy to use and the game offers enough replay thanks to its various levels of difficulties one can select at the start of the game. Though some would complain that the level design is a little bit dated today, I disagree with them for I think that Same Lake managed to put what sometimes game designers don't put in certain great-looking video games. And by that I mean that Sam Lake put in his game an atmosphere, a tension in the story, the dialogues, its comic book cinematics and an upsetting presence in Max Payne's nightmares, essential scenes to the narration of the game.

Unlike Alan Wake, which is rated for teens, this game is definitely not for younger players for it is rated for mature audiences only. With all its drug references, dark occult cults and psychotic characters, I think this game may not be a relaxing treat for those that want to play relaxing game. I'm saying this because I read many reviews for Alan Wake where gamers were a bit upset by the atmosphere of Alan Wake. But playing a Sam Lake video game is never a comfortable ride. It is a strange and terrifying world, but it is one where you find great scripts, voice-acting, soundtrack, visuals, and most of all, excellent plots, unlike what the reviewer Bob Andrews is saying.

A great way to start for those that want to see more of Sam Lake's universe and excellent prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good but not that good, July 18 2004
By A Customer
I didnt buy this game. I borrowed it from my uncle. He said he couldn't figure out the controls. So since he wasn't ever going to play it, i decided to borrow it from him. I did not like the controls. I can't ever seem to get used to games that use both sticks, where the one on the left moves the guy forward and backward, but doesn't turn the guy left or right, he straifes, and the other one on the right makes him turn and moves the camera angle up and down. It anoyes the hell outa me. Why cant one stick be used to move the guy all around and the other has him straife and moves the camera angle.
At first I really liked this game, but one level got me to hate this game. I dont remember which one it was but it was one of the levels towards the end of the game. It was a dream with a very anoying baby crying and it was a very confusing maze I just couldn't seem to beat. That baby was so anoying, it wouldn't stop crying. So I stopped playing the game. I just gave up. My uncle kinda wanted it back by this time even though he probably wouldn't ever play it.
All in all, this game is alright, the graphics kinda stink, the blood kinda stinks, the weapons were cool, and the puzzles weren't too hard (Except for the dream, that darn baby, AHHH!!!) and i give it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too Repetitive, June 26 2004
By A Customer
I just recently got a PS2, and hoping to find some good greatest hits games, I came across Max Payne. I bought it instantly and popped it in. I noticed right away that the loading times were just TOO long. Not to mention that annoying graphic novel that explained the story line. This game has some strengths, like a variety of guns and lots of action, but the fun of killing baddies just wears off. The voice acting is horrible, and the graphics are sub-par. Only buy if you're a major fan of shooters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun Third Person Shooter but..., June 24 2004
By 
C. Coles "carlo_coles_mcp" (middle earth USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I doubt it if I would play it again at least once a month like my other games that I have. Yes, I agree with the editorial review on this game but I would like to add that there are two levels that you have to play/endure as a involuntary drugged-induced Max Payne running and jumping through this blood-trail maze. What really sucks is that if you step off the path you have to keep repeating the level until you make it through. This is SO STUPID! I don't know why the programmers didn't just make these into cutscenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars alright game, June 3 2004
By 
Graphics 8.5/10
This isn't what counts. As it is a PS2, they could improve the characters a little, improve them like they are in Ghost Recon. There is a lot of fire in this game but no smoke. I'm wondering why we aren't suffocating. Minor flaw. the biggest problem (as well as the biggest problem in the game) is the Frame rate per minute. the FPM kind of lags a lot during gameplay, but after a while you really get used to it, and the gameplay still remains high
Gameplay 7.5/10
The only problem I have with this game is the camera and sometimes the unfair surprise of explosions, causing the game to spend about 2 minutes loading again. Otherwise the gameplay was smooth and rather fun
this game does have the tendacy to get EXTREMELY boring, so beware
Storyline 6/10
Ehhh... it's pretty much like every other PS2 game out there. You're framed for murder and you go out to seek revenge/solitude. The whole wife and baby deal comes into play a lot in this game.
the voices suck in this game, the writing is even worse. they sound like a loser i know in the seventh grade.
Controls 9.5/10
Nicely done. the trigger button is r1, which i really respect. it takes about 5 minutes until you memorize the controls completely.
Music and Sounds 6/10
the only reason i gave this section a 6 out of 10 is because of the sole reason that there IS no music during the game. but when there IS music (main menu and some cutscenes) i completely love it. it is mere piano music, but very seductive to my ears. The sounds are superior, as the gunshots sound like gunshots, there are grunts at the right time, and it sounds like you are actually really in a gunfight!
Overall 3/5
This is not a score where if you multiply it it will come to be 8/10. i would really give this game a 7.5 out of 10.
_______------------->>>>END REVIEW<<<<----------------__________
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Max Payne, May 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Max Payne - Xbox (Video Game)
THIS WAS ONE OF THE FIRST GAMES WHICH WAS RELEASED FORTHE XBOX BUT ANYWAYZ MAX PAYNE IS ABOUT A COP WHO WAS FRAMED FOR HIS WIFE'S AND BABY DAUGHTER'S MURDER HE THEN GETS FIRED FROM THE POLICE AND IS NOW SEEKING REVENGE.THIS GAME HAS GREAT GRPHICS AND ACTION BUT THE ENVIROMENT IS NOT ALL THAT INTERACTIVE BUT IS A HELL OF ALOT FUN.
I RECCOMEND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MAX PAYNE, May 13 2004
This review is from: Max Payne - Xbox (Video Game)
If you've never played a game with slow mo dives, get this then Enter the Matrix. There's a good story line was well. The problem with this is the faces don't look rite.
Checkout
Ninja gaidan
Dead to Rights(like Max Payne)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wow, April 26 2004
By A Customer
this game is good but there is 1 flaw i am going to mention and is the scariest. u are playing in a dream i mean nightmear u are walking through the hall and it seems like ur getting farther away and when u get close to the black u see cloud wallpaper wit blood all over the place then u here the baby crying like it is dyeing then u get to the end of the hall and u see total darkness u have to walk on a blood trail trying to find the end of the dream. and the bad thing is u dont want to fall off the trail cause the baby will screem and cry really loud then u end up at the beginnig and u have to do it all over again poor baby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This game is great!!!!, April 25 2004
This review is from: Max Payne - Xbox (Video Game)
I rented this game because I had heard that it was short, and yes it is now that I have had it for one day I am already halfway through the game. But there are four difficulty levels and you will want to play it time and time again because of the extreme fun and wonderful story. Yeah, the SCRIPT is a little bit crappy, NOT THE VOICE ACTING!!! Why can't people just tell the difference between voice acting and script! The voice acting is great, wonderful quality. This game really is worth buying, because it is so cheap but you could beat it just by renting. There is a very atmospheric feel to this game.
NOTE TO PARENTS: This game is not very bad at all, I say that a 13 year old should be allowed to play it. Some of the cutscenes you may want to skip, but that's all. The only SC in this game is referenced, nothing is shown. If you let your children go to public schools, then they should be allowed to play this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Max Payne - Xbox
Max Payne - Xbox by Rockstar Games (Xbox)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews