Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game. Single click difference.
This is a great game for the PC or Mac. I actally prefer the Macintosh version because you don't have to do complex key-strokes or left-right click. The one button Apple mouse does it all much simpler.
While the graphics of some similar games can be and are better, this remains one of my favorities. The game remain true to the time periods of the game. In contrast,...
Published on Dec 2 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars AI?
I found this game tedious keeping up your different resource lines. Where it got really silly were situations where one has twelve or more enemy (AI) attacking and the defenders are all dead, yet one can play on and on making a new fighter now and then who gets killed pretty quickly while the attackers destroy one or two buildings at a time meanwhile your villagers work...
Published on Nov. 7 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game. Single click difference., Dec 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Age of Empires II Gold with Expansion (Mac) (Video Game)
This is a great game for the PC or Mac. I actally prefer the Macintosh version because you don't have to do complex key-strokes or left-right click. The one button Apple mouse does it all much simpler.
While the graphics of some similar games can be and are better, this remains one of my favorities. The game remain true to the time periods of the game. In contrast, Microsoft's Rise of Nations quickly moves through the Ages so you can end up with aircraft shooting down footsoldiers with spears. It doesn't make much sense.
Age of Empires graphics, and sometimes humorous sound, are always entertaining. The various prayers and incantations of the monks are always great entertainment. Having owned the game for several months now, and sometimes playing for 8-10 hours at a time, I still haven't completed all of the permutations and combinations. The game remains interesting and challenging.
That said, this is a more sophisticated game than something like WarCraft. If you are just getting started in this genre of software, you might consider starting with WarCraft (or StarCraft if you prefer Sci-Fi up and over above Sci-Fi down and under with Orcs).
Newer games like Age of Mythology have greater detail, but can also be slower as they require more computing resources. And the great complexity sometimes detracts from the game more than adding to it. Age of Empires offers the best balance of quality, speed, and great fun in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly-exact, excellent transition of the PC version., May 10 2003
By 
ignis075 "ignis75" (Fort Collins, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Age of Empires II Gold with Expansion (Mac) (Video Game)
Those who doubt the quality of Mac games transitioned from original PC versions... doubt no longer. Bold Destineer and Westlake Interactive have taken the PC version of "Age of Kings" and "Age of Conquerors" and brought them to the Macintosh in ALL of their full glory. I have played the PC version for countless hours... I have extensive experience in AoE2. So when I recently bought a Macintosh Powerbook and purchased this game as one of the classics of strategy gaming, I expected a "decent" but not-quite-faithful rendition of the PC version. How wrong I was! This version is *identical* to the PC version in essentially every way... the graphics, the sound, the speech, the control interface, etc. Simply a perfect clone of one of the greatest real-time strategy games ever created.
Macintosh gamers... this is a MUST-BUY game if you have any interest in real-time strategy. The graphics might not be "fancy" by today's standards, but let the gameplay prove its worth and you will be convinced. Along with the Conquerors expansion (included in this version of course) this is one of the most detailed, balanced, and long-lasting games you'll ever play. To miss out on Age of Empires 2 would be a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and Fun, Aug. 23 2003
By 
Ben (West Newbury, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Age of Empires II Gold with Expansion (Mac) (Video Game)
This game is so much fun!! You choose from some of the greatest civilizations of this plant. You choose from the Britons to the Celts to the Persians to the Saracens to the Mayans and much more. You then change your tiny civilization into a triving empire, conquering your enemies and expanding your empire. You can build so many things. Castles, seige workshops, archery ranges, barracks, docks, and even your own Wonder of the World. The Age of Kings campaign is great, you start with William Wallace, where you learn how to play the game, while you help the Scottish drive the British out of Scotland. From there you can help Joan of Arc win the Hundred Years' War, or join Saladin in the Middle East. In the Conquerors campaign ride with Attila the Hun, help El Cid of Spain or Emperor Montezuma of the Aztecs. So, the choice is yours. You will have a blast with this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best game ever, June 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Age of Empires II Gold with Expansion (Mac) (Video Game)
I have played some great mac/apple games but this one is AWSOME! I think this is the best computer game,wait its the best video game in the world!Its a strategy game with great action. It isnt close to a rpg,but it is still awsome!actually it better than any RPG I have played! I got it more than a year ago (feburay2002) and I still play it for hours just about every day! I mean, in this period of time I have goten a ton load of video games but AOE2 is still the best game I have ever played. So any body who loves stratagy games or just needs something to do you should buy Age of Empires2 Gold Edition!
also check out the amazing prequel to age of empires 2, age of empires1 and age of empires1 rise of rome!
and check out the outstanding sequel to age of empires 2, Age of Mitholigy (I don't know if I spellelt that right)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!!!, Feb. 24 2004
By 
Jose (Kearny, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Age of Empires II Gold with Expansion (Mac) (Video Game)
Few games can combine the art of strategy and history AND do it correctly. The game offers an easy to read and precise instruction manual. PLUS there's a
great tutorial which explains EVERYTHING you need to know. Everything is veryy versatile and can be customized to how you want to play. There are few things in life that can really give you your bang for your buck and AOE 2 is one of those rare things. It's difficult to not enjoy the game because of how every option offered can fit your liking. There is a reason why AOE is such a popular game and that's why -it can please just about anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars AI?, Nov. 7 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Age of Empires II Gold with Expansion (Mac) (Video Game)
I found this game tedious keeping up your different resource lines. Where it got really silly were situations where one has twelve or more enemy (AI) attacking and the defenders are all dead, yet one can play on and on making a new fighter now and then who gets killed pretty quickly while the attackers destroy one or two buildings at a time meanwhile your villagers work on right by the fighting. In fact I moved a villager to repair the barracks while it was under attack and this one worker often repaired faster than the six or seven attackers did damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Age of Empires II Gold Edition, July 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Age of Empires II Gold with Expansion (Mac) (Video Game)
This is one of the best strategy games for mac. It has some of the best graphics and has great gameplay. Out of all the games I have ever played, this beats them all. There are many different campaigns that you can play from medival times, including Genghis Khan, Joan of Arc, and El Cid. You can play as eighteen different civilizations, and each of these has there own unique units and technologies that you can research. This game has taken days, maybe weeks out of my life already. I guarentee you will not be sorry if you buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, But Gets Old Like Most, Aug. 18 2003
By 
Jared Ripplinger (Salt Lake City, UT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Age of Empires II Gold with Expansion (Mac) (Video Game)
Age of Empires II is a great game. There is no doubt it will keep you entertained for many, many hours but eventually it does get old. I play it and The Sims and between the two totally different games I stay entertained all the time. If I'm not in the mood for one, the other suffices. This game has old graphics, but they work. I wish you could rotate or zoom out a lot of the time. I thouroghly enjoy this game, but make sure you have some others for when you get sick of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games ever ... but ..., July 25 2003
By 
Gordon K. Werner (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Age of Empires II Gold with Expansion (Mac) (Video Game)
Age of Empires (1, 2 and the Star Wars versions) are prehaps one of the best strategy games available for any platform. You will find yourself spending countless hours playing this game.
The only problem with this series of games is ... that you will find yourself spending countless hours playing this game. This is how one forgets to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Age of Empires Yeah!, July 19 2010
By 
Therese Gravel "Book angel" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires II Gold with Expansion (Mac) (Video Game)
I've been playing this game for years, ever since it first came out on PC. Now I have a brand new IMac, so had to buy it for Mac right away. I love this game. The battles, the strategy, but most of all building empires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Age of Empires II Gold with Expansion (Mac)
Age of Empires II Gold with Expansion (Mac) by Microsoft Software (Macintosh)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews