Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Atlantis: The Lost Empire Review
This movie is brand new. It plays well, looks brand new. It's in perfect condition. I'm very pleased with this and would recommend it!
Published 13 months ago by Megan Duarte

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie
If you love the disney's "Atlantis", I think you would like to visit the original, Gainax's "Nadia, The Secret of Blue Water".
If you can not get satisfaction with disney's "Atlantis", I recommend Gainax's "Nadia, The Secret of Blue Water", the original of disney's "Atlantis".
Published on Dec 30 2003 by K. Kent


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Atlantis: The Lost Empire Review, June 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire (DVD)
This movie is brand new. It plays well, looks brand new. It's in perfect condition. I'm very pleased with this and would recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Dec 30 2003
By 
K. Kent (Sanjose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire (DVD)
If you love the disney's "Atlantis", I think you would like to visit the original, Gainax's "Nadia, The Secret of Blue Water".
If you can not get satisfaction with disney's "Atlantis", I recommend Gainax's "Nadia, The Secret of Blue Water", the original of disney's "Atlantis".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Childhood favorite, Sept. 3 2011
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire (DVD)
I have to admit that I love this movie. The animation isn't as perfect as most Disney movies and the plot is far-fetched but it has been a childhood favorite of mine since I was young so I guess that doesn't matter. There are some really great funny moments in this movie and some moments where you shake your head thinking "this would never happen". But, I recommend this movie to anyone with kids who like Disney movies or any kids at heart. I still love it even though I'm an adult now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A New Age Adventure, July 5 2004
By 
L. Mintah "Author of the Heart" (Tucson, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire (DVD)
Atlantis: The Lost Empire has the most mesmerizing, clear, crisp, animation since Fantasia. The music is also exceptional - I am going to purchase the soundtrack. The story is inventive and original, capitalizing on the intriguing mystery of the lost city of Atlantis.
Michael J. Fox is wonderful as Milo, the unrecognized and unappreciated geek archaelogist who spends his time researching Atlantis and fixing the New York Museum of Natural History's cantankerous boiler in the basement. His life takes a turn when a beautiful woman (voiced by the woman who did the Fairy Godmother's voice in Shrek 2) takes him to a reclusive millionaire who is willing to fund an expedition to search for the legendary city.
Other great voice talent brings the characters to life: Cree Summer as the beautiful Princess Kida, Leonard Nimoy as the King of Atlantis, the late Jim Varney as Cookie, and James Garner as the military leader of the expedition. The movie's creators brought in a linguist who had worked on the Star Trek movies to create an Atlantean language.
The very last scene made me cry. Grab your crystal and some popcorn. The movie is at once dreamy and inspirational, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This "Lost Empire" is Waiting to be Discovered!, June 29 2004
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire (DVD)
Any time you stray from the basic formula (even if it hasn't produced anything worthwhile in several years), people are going to question it. Whenever you attempt to try something new, people are going to have mixed reactions. And just because something is supposed to have a certain look, a certain feel, yet goes in an entirely different direction, does not necessarily label it as bad. Such is the case with Disney's "Atlantis: The Lost Empire."
This film was largely passed over by movie-goers simply because it came out during Disney's animated dry spell (which began a long time ago and is still occurring today). I consider it a hidden gem just waiting to be discovered. This movie has a lot going for it - namely because it's not your typical animated fare from Disney. Everyone involved tinkered with a formula that desperately needed an extreme makeover. And for the most part, it worked.
I don't watch a movie for deep, moving storylines. I don't plunk down my eight bucks for a film that will tug at my heartstrings. I tune in to be entertained, plain and simple. And "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" did just that. I enjoyed this movie from the opening scenes to the closing credits. For the first time since "The Lion King" back in 1994, an animated feature from Disney held my interest. And while I wouldn't place it on a pedestal next to likes of "The Lion King" or "Beauty and the Beast" or "The Little Mermaid," it does rank as one of Disney's better animated movies of all time (especially lately).
"Atlantis: The Lost Empire" is not littered with sing-a-long songs. What it does have is an awesome orchestral soundtrack by James Newton Howard (one of the best composers of any era EVER); I disagree with one reviewer who said there wasn't "a breathtaking musical score." What movie were you watching? There isn't a witty sidekick to accompany the main character on his adventure. What the movie does have is several eccentric characters which flesh out the film, rather than relying on the cliché partner/chum to spout off nifty one-liners. And the feature isn't cutesy-wutesy like most Disney animated films. It's got some attitude, it's rough around the edges, and it's just plain awesome to look at from a visual standpoint; very exotic. I agree with another reviewer who said this movie is "one of Disney's most underrated films ever made." You hit the nail right on the head.
This movie is not groundbreaking. It will not change your life. But it sure is entertaining. It's got lively voice actors (Michael J. Fox, James Garner, etc.), a delightful Disney heroine in Princess Kida (she ranks up there with Ariel and Beauty, in my opinion), and it's a visually-stunning treat that mixes standard animation with computer-generated effects.
"Atlantis: The Lost Empire" is one of the few good animated films offered from Disney in the past several years. Like I said earlier, it's a hidden gem waiting to be discovered. Give it a chance. What have you got to lose? You could waste your time with far worse movies than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reviewed by PeaceKeeper, May 23 2004
By 
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire (DVD)
This is one of the best Disney movies I have EVER seen!!! It should be destined to join the Lion King, as one of Disney's classics!! I would recomend it to anyone who is willing to watch it!! Watch this movie and have fun. If you like it, see the sequel. Do not judge a movie from what another person has said, see it and judge it for yourself. And of all things, enjoy yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Visually Satisfying/Older Kids Fare, Feb. 10 2004
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire (DVD)
Don't write off "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" as Disney's attempt to make an epic adventure tale. Instead, think of it as a modern-day telling of a story that could have easily been written in the late 1800's or early 1900's. It reminded me a lot of the dime-store novels about cowboys and fantastic voyages into outer space. It also reminded me of "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea." It plays out exactly like those old sci-fi movies from the 50's and 60's. The story is somewhat formulaic: Whiz takes up where Gramps left off on an adventure to find a lost civilization. Along the way, he escapes dangers and perils with the odds unusually stacked against him. So-called allies are enemies, etc.(you get the idea).
There is nothing terribly amazing about this movie(excepting the animation, which I thought was rather lovely). There is no great moral issue pressed upon you as in most other Disney flicks of this stature. The characters won't stick in your mind and there isn't a breathtaking musical score. What there is, however, is a rather intelligently written(though formulaic) script with a few fun lines and a really fun story. If you like movies like "The Rocketeer" and the Indiana Jones trilogy, you'll find this movie rather good to watch. If you don't like adventure flicks, keep away.
This movie will not appeal to the youngsters in your house. My two-year old enjoyed some of the brighter scenes in this movie, but it didn't hold her attention to the degree of "Lion King" or "Alice in Wonderland." Older children(between 9 and 14) will probably like this movie. I rather enjoyed it myself.
It's a fun, intelligent film that won't surprise you in any way, but will leave you satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disney's attempt at Titan A.E.?, Dec 31 2003
By 
Gregory Bartz "Gregorius" (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire (DVD)
A kid lost his father at a very young age. Said father was working on a very important yet conveniently vague project at the time. A gruff military commando type with a colorful crew of purely comic relief characters shows up a decade later to recruit said kid in a mission to continue the father's work. After some pretty explosions and whatnot, the military commando guy's secret agenda is revealed, he betrays the main character, then he is betrayed by one of his own crew et cetera. Skip to the dogfight on the exterior of a large spherical craft, the good guys win, a whole race gets saved by unlocking some hidden power or another, boy gets girl... sound familiar? It should. Not only is it the entire plot of Atlantis, but it's also part of the plot of Titan A.E., another animated movie that preceeded Atlantis by two years. The big difference was that Titan's plot was a lot more complex and involving, and didn't take a backseat during the action sequences.
The story is fine, the animation is fine, Michael J's performance is great etc. etc., but the one thing that bugs me is the disturbing number of parallels between this movie and Titan. If the plot hadn't been such a total ripoff, then I think this movie would deserve five stars. However, I have to take one off for blatant lack of creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good film, decent features, Nov. 6 2003
By 
audrey (white mtns) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire (DVD)
An amateur adventurer named Milo is obsessed with finding Atlantis, and after he is financed by an eccentric to become part of a team going there, Milo meets the Atlanteans and finds happiness with them. As one would expect, the animation is gorgeous and the designs are phenomenal, but there were also problems with pacing and plot. I don't think the explorers get to Atlantic until halfway through the film. Also, there is a lot of gunplay and a very long climactic battle. Boring. As for plot points ... well, that would spoil things, but don't use this film to teach your kids logic. We enjoyed the film, but neither adults nor kids wanted to re-watch the film. The voice cast was excellent. There are fewer dvd extras here than are usually found on Disney disks -- commentary and some info about the "real" Atlantis. Audio is in English or French, while subtitles are available only in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The artwork is starting to become amazing., Aug. 14 2003
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
There is some seriously excellent artwork in this movie. This excellence is not consistent howevr. I am not sure how that inconsistent artwork happens, lazy director, different teams working on different parts of the movies, don't know. The same thing happens with comic books also. The quality suddenly drops off and then returns. We give it 3 stars for the story which is OK but not worthy of more than 3 stars. There are times when the story make one roll their eyes. As a Disney movie we do like 22 movies better, but 27 less.
Wow. With 315 reviews already written and an Amazon sales rank of 909 this is one of the most popular movies of any genre. Of the 50 animated movies we are ranking this would be 16 on Amazon. We liked it also, but ranked it 23rd out of 50.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atlantis: The Lost Empire
Atlantis: The Lost Empire by Kirk Wise (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.98
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews