Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I Really Enjoyed This Disney Video
ATLANTIS: THE LOST EMPIRE is a good animated feature from Disney. It has great images and music by James Newton Howard. The film is divided into 3 parts. First the main character Milo Thatch presents the introduction of the quest for finding Atlantis. Secondly a team is gathered and the trek begins. In the third act Atlantis is found but the key to its secrets must be...
Published on Aug. 13 2002 by gobirds2

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good change of pace, the start of a new era for Disney
I recently checked this movie out on TV. Wasn't bad, But wasn't good either. I lked the fact that Disney was exploring new concepts and ideas in this film. Atlantis is visually nice,the animation and CGI wotrked together nicey. However, the plot fell apart. I felt bad about that had this movie's script been thorugh another round in the edits this could have been a...
Published on April 9 2003 by SHAWN JAMES


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A New Age Adventure, July 5 2004
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire [Import] (DVD)
Atlantis: The Lost Empire has the most mesmerizing, clear, crisp, animation since Fantasia. The music is also exceptional - I am going to purchase the soundtrack. The story is inventive and original, capitalizing on the intriguing mystery of the lost city of Atlantis.
Michael J. Fox is wonderful as Milo, the unrecognized and unappreciated geek archaelogist who spends his time researching Atlantis and fixing the New York Museum of Natural History's cantankerous boiler in the basement. His life takes a turn when a beautiful woman (voiced by the woman who did the Fairy Godmother's voice in Shrek 2) takes him to a reclusive millionaire who is willing to fund an expedition to search for the legendary city.
Other great voice talent brings the characters to life: Cree Summer as the beautiful Princess Kida, Leonard Nimoy as the King of Atlantis, the late Jim Varney as Cookie, and James Garner as the military leader of the expedition. The movie's creators brought in a linguist who had worked on the Star Trek movies to create an Atlantean language.
The very last scene made me cry. Grab your crystal and some popcorn. The movie is at once dreamy and inspirational, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This "Lost Empire" is Waiting to be Discovered!, June 29 2004
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire [Import] (DVD)
Any time you stray from the basic formula (even if it hasn't produced anything worthwhile in several years), people are going to question it. Whenever you attempt to try something new, people are going to have mixed reactions. And just because something is supposed to have a certain look, a certain feel, yet goes in an entirely different direction, does not necessarily label it as bad. Such is the case with Disney's "Atlantis: The Lost Empire."
This film was largely passed over by movie-goers simply because it came out during Disney's animated dry spell (which began a long time ago and is still occurring today). I consider it a hidden gem just waiting to be discovered. This movie has a lot going for it - namely because it's not your typical animated fare from Disney. Everyone involved tinkered with a formula that desperately needed an extreme makeover. And for the most part, it worked.
I don't watch a movie for deep, moving storylines. I don't plunk down my eight bucks for a film that will tug at my heartstrings. I tune in to be entertained, plain and simple. And "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" did just that. I enjoyed this movie from the opening scenes to the closing credits. For the first time since "The Lion King" back in 1994, an animated feature from Disney held my interest. And while I wouldn't place it on a pedestal next to likes of "The Lion King" or "Beauty and the Beast" or "The Little Mermaid," it does rank as one of Disney's better animated movies of all time (especially lately).
"Atlantis: The Lost Empire" is not littered with sing-a-long songs. What it does have is an awesome orchestral soundtrack by James Newton Howard (one of the best composers of any era EVER); I disagree with one reviewer who said there wasn't "a breathtaking musical score." What movie were you watching? There isn't a witty sidekick to accompany the main character on his adventure. What the movie does have is several eccentric characters which flesh out the film, rather than relying on the cliché partner/chum to spout off nifty one-liners. And the feature isn't cutesy-wutesy like most Disney animated films. It's got some attitude, it's rough around the edges, and it's just plain awesome to look at from a visual standpoint; very exotic. I agree with another reviewer who said this movie is "one of Disney's most underrated films ever made." You hit the nail right on the head.
This movie is not groundbreaking. It will not change your life. But it sure is entertaining. It's got lively voice actors (Michael J. Fox, James Garner, etc.), a delightful Disney heroine in Princess Kida (she ranks up there with Ariel and Beauty, in my opinion), and it's a visually-stunning treat that mixes standard animation with computer-generated effects.
"Atlantis: The Lost Empire" is one of the few good animated films offered from Disney in the past several years. Like I said earlier, it's a hidden gem waiting to be discovered. Give it a chance. What have you got to lose? You could waste your time with far worse movies than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Visually Satisfying/Older Kids Fare, Feb. 10 2004
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire [Import] (DVD)
Don't write off "Atlantis: The Lost Empire" as Disney's attempt to make an epic adventure tale. Instead, think of it as a modern-day telling of a story that could have easily been written in the late 1800's or early 1900's. It reminded me a lot of the dime-store novels about cowboys and fantastic voyages into outer space. It also reminded me of "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea." It plays out exactly like those old sci-fi movies from the 50's and 60's. The story is somewhat formulaic: Whiz takes up where Gramps left off on an adventure to find a lost civilization. Along the way, he escapes dangers and perils with the odds unusually stacked against him. So-called allies are enemies, etc.(you get the idea).
There is nothing terribly amazing about this movie(excepting the animation, which I thought was rather lovely). There is no great moral issue pressed upon you as in most other Disney flicks of this stature. The characters won't stick in your mind and there isn't a breathtaking musical score. What there is, however, is a rather intelligently written(though formulaic) script with a few fun lines and a really fun story. If you like movies like "The Rocketeer" and the Indiana Jones trilogy, you'll find this movie rather good to watch. If you don't like adventure flicks, keep away.
This movie will not appeal to the youngsters in your house. My two-year old enjoyed some of the brighter scenes in this movie, but it didn't hold her attention to the degree of "Lion King" or "Alice in Wonderland." Older children(between 9 and 14) will probably like this movie. I rather enjoyed it myself.
It's a fun, intelligent film that won't surprise you in any way, but will leave you satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disney's attempt at Titan A.E.?, Dec 31 2003
By 
Gregory Bartz "Gregorius" (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire [Import] (DVD)
A kid lost his father at a very young age. Said father was working on a very important yet conveniently vague project at the time. A gruff military commando type with a colorful crew of purely comic relief characters shows up a decade later to recruit said kid in a mission to continue the father's work. After some pretty explosions and whatnot, the military commando guy's secret agenda is revealed, he betrays the main character, then he is betrayed by one of his own crew et cetera. Skip to the dogfight on the exterior of a large spherical craft, the good guys win, a whole race gets saved by unlocking some hidden power or another, boy gets girl... sound familiar? It should. Not only is it the entire plot of Atlantis, but it's also part of the plot of Titan A.E., another animated movie that preceeded Atlantis by two years. The big difference was that Titan's plot was a lot more complex and involving, and didn't take a backseat during the action sequences.
The story is fine, the animation is fine, Michael J's performance is great etc. etc., but the one thing that bugs me is the disturbing number of parallels between this movie and Titan. If the plot hadn't been such a total ripoff, then I think this movie would deserve five stars. However, I have to take one off for blatant lack of creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Atlantis: the lost empire, July 15 2003
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire [Import] (DVD)
This movie was actually kind of weird. Not a typical Disney movie, although I don't know if there really is a 'typical' Disney movie lately.
Toward the end it got kind of trippy and bizarre.
It seemed like the plot wasn't actually all that strong, and there was such mystery surrounding everything - I mean, things weren't explained very well - that it was hard to get fully engaged in what was happening.
It all seemed very rushed and some of it was just weird. Other than that the movie was kinda cool, I guess... it had its funny moments and its cool moments.
Okay, I guess it wasn't the sort of movie I'd really want to see again. Not much strong characterization, not much strong plot, and some general bizarreness... it kind of gave me the impression of writers saying "ehh, I know it lacks something, but I can't be bothered working on this thing for another minute", like I do when I've finished an essay that is technically okay but strongly "lacks something".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good Film., May 22 2003
I sat down in front of the TV not expecting to be WOW'ed at all by this film. I guess they played up the hype entirely too much for me. After watching it, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the story, as well as the voice-acting.
The film follows a group of scientists searching for Atlantis. The young scientist voiced by Michael J. Fox plays the main role as the guide helping them by decyphering an old manuscript. The plot is filled with twists and turns, and would keep even the most antsy kid busy. Speaking of, the film was mainly targetted toward children, but adults should enjoy it as well.
The special edition DVD contains lots of extras, and is well worth getting. Much of it has to do with making of the film, but some of it goes into the language of the atlanteans, etc. It's pretty neat.
If you like animated films, or just like certain actors, maybe you should check this one out. If you're not into animated films, maybe you should give it a chance. I did, and now I own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SO underrated!!, May 3 2003
By 
Patrick Prevenas (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
I feel so awful for this movie. I think that its nay-sayers have forgotten (or are too young to remember) the Golden Age of action-adventure filmmaking. Watching "Atlantis" made me feel all over again like I felt as a child watching the "Indiana Jones" and "Star Wars" movies for the first time. "Atlantis" marvelously resurrects that wonderful spirit of the romance and mystery that define this long-forgotten brand of high adventure, exploration, and discovery. It would indeed have made a mighty fine fourth "Indiana Jones" movie. And when has Disney ever been lax about coupling these wonderful storytelling elements with distinct and compelling characters? The people populating this movie are as fun and interesting as the story itself, and do a far better job of making you care about them than your average modern action movies does, that's for sure. Now, you take the excellent, old-fashioned adventure story and its delightful characters, and all you need to complete the mix is James Newton Howard's epic, theme-laden score (which is an item worth purchasing all on its own!). I'll admit that the artistic style employed for "Atlantis" is a bit simplistic, angular, and jarring at first, but that wears off very quickly thanks to the nature of the story itself. I haven't stopped recommending "Atlantis" to my friends since I saw it recently on TV (and very quickly bought the amazing 2-disc Special Edition DVD!), and this review merely allows me to do my part in continuing to get the word out: "Atlantis" is a fine action-adventure movie in the spirit of those terrific '80s movies that many of us grew up with and loved, and it should be viewed by all who can get their hands on it! So buy it, sit back, and enjoy the ride. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good change of pace, the start of a new era for Disney, April 9 2003
By 
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire [Import] (DVD)
I recently checked this movie out on TV. Wasn't bad, But wasn't good either. I lked the fact that Disney was exploring new concepts and ideas in this film. Atlantis is visually nice,the animation and CGI wotrked together nicey. However, the plot fell apart. I felt bad about that had this movie's script been thorugh another round in the edits this could have been a groundbreaking film for disney.

The main problem with the story is TOO many characters. Part of successful fantasy/sci-fi is the ability to develop relationships between the characters so that we get to know them. I couldn't root for the hero because I couldn't find him. Milo is overshadowed by the large supporting cast of colorful crewmen. He has very few scenes to establish himself as a hero. His relationship with "Kida" wasn't developed either. I would have liked to seen them develop her character a bit more. Worse, I couldn't find the Villains either. The bad guy wasn't revealed until the near end. Usually in disney films such as the Lion King, Little Mermaid, or Aladddin we know who the main players are. Even in anime such as Dragonball Z we know that Goku, Vegeta and Piccolo are the good guys. Also, there were too many jokes that seemed convoluted. I wish they had played this film as a straight drama. That would have given the writers an opportunity to work out the bugs in the script. I believe another 30 minutes would have tightened the plot mase this a WAY better film.

Disney shouldn't see Atlantis as a failure. It was an ambituous departure from the usual disney fare of big strong heroes, weak heroines, cute animals, and singing dish sets. I would love to see disney try to take risks like this more often. I look forward to the day when Disney makes animated films with adult themes. Here's to hoping this and Treasure Planet aren't the end of a very unique and interesting creative era in the Disney animation division.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "I swim pretty girl, pretty good", April 9 2003
By 
Stephen Verhaeren (Palos Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atlantis: The Lost Empire [Import] (DVD)
If you thought all of Disney animated movies was all G rated. That would not be true. Atlantis: The Lost Empire is a rare Disney animated movie with a PG rating. This movie is not a musical like some of the other animated movies. And you may be disappointed if you love musical animated films from Disney. The only other Disney animated movie that I can think of that has a PG rating is last summer's movie Lilo & Stitch. Michael J. Fox joins other actors like John Goodman, Robin Williams, Billy Crystal, David Spade, James Coburn, and Jim Cummings who have all voiced characters in animated movies either down by Disney , thier arch rival Dreamworks, or other companies that does animated movies. As the movie opens, Milo Thatch (Michael J. Fox) is a scientist that dreams of fidning the lost city of Altantis in Washington D.C. in 1914. When he is given his late grandfather's book, he joins a crew that is out to find Altantis. Once there, he meets and falls in love with Princess Kidagakash (Cree Summer) whose stubborn father (Leonard Nimoy). The book was given to Milo by a jillonaire (John Mahoney). This movie was directed by Gary Trousdale and Kirk Wise who made the wonderful animated Beauty and the Beast. And Michael J. Fox's character sounds like Stuart Little. If you love animated movies, this is worth a watch, and if you want to see Stuart Little and Beauty and the Beast, if you have never seen those movies, be my quest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not Disney's Best, April 7 2003
By 
D. Allen "meeko_2003" (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Disney's Atlantis: The Lost Empire promises action and adventure and absolutely delivers it. However, that's about all the film has going for it. The plot follows Milo Thatch, a young linguist working as a janitor in the Smithsonian Institute, who joins an expedition to search for the lost city of Atlantis. After a series of well-animated action scenes, the crew finds the lost city, very much alive of the ocean floor. From that point, the film shifts somewhat dramatically from an action/ adventure to a Sci-Fi film in which the explorers discover the mysterious power source that powers Atlantis. The plot sounds good on paper, but fails to stay afloat in film for. The characters are not well developed and somewhat unappealing in appearance due to their extremely angular design (most notably their squared-off fingers). The plot is far too complicated and hard to follow in a 90 minute film. Perhaps if it was slowed down and stretched into a longer film it would not be so bad. The dialogue is fast and hard to follow, sometimes so fast that it is difficult for the animated mouths on the characters to follow their own voices. All in all, I would say that Atantis is probably Disney's worst feature-length effort .Then again the bombs of today are the cult classics of tomorrow... you never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atlantis: The Lost Empire [Import]
Atlantis: The Lost Empire [Import] by Kirk Wise (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews