Customer Reviews


481 Reviews
5 star:
 (335)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Evil Dead,THIS is the version to get!
Evil Dead(released Oct/81)aka Book of the Dead....wow,what legs this film has grown.Made on a very modest budget of well under 1/2 a million dollars,and now said to have grossed somewhere around 30 million(!),this film has taken its gory place amongst its' followers high on their respective film lists.Of course as we all know this was the film Robert Tapert,Sam...
Published on Nov. 6 2011 by Robert Badgley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really DTS
A QUICK REVIEW ABOUT THE SOUND.This movie is a horror classic. My review is not about the movie itself. The DVD displays a sharp clear picture for such dated material and cheap production. My main complaint is that this is another one of those many DVD's out there that feature an old movie CLAIMING to have DTS surround sound.First off the movie never had DTS in the...
Published on March 2 2004 by CALLAHAN


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Evil Dead,THIS is the version to get!, Nov. 6 2011
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Evil Dead(released Oct/81)aka Book of the Dead....wow,what legs this film has grown.Made on a very modest budget of well under 1/2 a million dollars,and now said to have grossed somewhere around 30 million(!),this film has taken its gory place amongst its' followers high on their respective film lists.Of course as we all know this was the film Robert Tapert,Sam Raimi(later of Xena & Hercules,and Bruce Campbell all cut their filmic "teeth" on and the rest is history.The film itself deserves no more than about 3 1/2 stars,being a just above-average flick.I am no fan of Anchor bay but they have put together a three -disc set here,worthy of say a Criterion company release;but more on that later.
The plot as we all know by now involves a couple of guys with girlfriends and a sister tagging along,who all decide to head out into the remote woods to a cabin.There they find a tape recorder and a strange notebook(that we all come to know is the Necronomicon).They play the tape recorder and find it has the voice of a professor on it,and as he chants some ancient words it arouses spirits in the woods that slowly but surely attack the cabin and everyone in it.One by one the girls and eventually one of the guys all become Deadites and attack Ash,who remains the only one still standing and possession free throughout the movie.But Ash has his work cut out for him(literally and figuratively)as he has to kill each one of his friends.The spirits make it clear they want EVERYONE("join us") and at the end,as Ash stands alone outside the cabin,the strange entity comes at him in a head long rush as he screams into the lens...fade to black.
I recall the movie originally and it was quite the gorefest when it first debuted.It certainly looks tame now,as have alot of its contemporaries.They had lightened the rating system I recall in the early 70s so things got a little bit more intense,if that's the word,on screen.Filmmakers really started to push the envelope.What was rated "R" back in the 60s is now about PG today;it's amazing(the times they have a-changed!),but I digress.The special effects,as primitive as they were for the late 70s,still stand up pretty good today.Raimi and company made the most of what they had and used every trick in the book to convey that sense of isolation,dread and horror that became the trademark of the Evil Dead series.Bruce Campbell of course as Ash really makes the movie,as he goes from a very wimpish type character and converts into a much stronger one,due to the forces that he is pitted against.It's do or die and Ash doesn't want to die as his friends did.The rest of the cast do an admirable job and while it is no Citizen Kane,Campbell and company manage to pull it all off pretty well.
Technically speaking the film,though shot in 16mm,looks and sounds very good in these prints.It was originally shot full frame so Anchor Bay has gone and included BOTH the full frame AND widescreen prints here for your edification!Each disc has extras and the third is dedicated to nothing but extras.They include:Commentary on the widescreen print by the directors,commentary on the full frame version by Campbell,poster and memorabilia gallery,trailer and TV spots,make up tests,featurettes about the women of the Evil Dead,Campbell and Ted Raimi WITH the women of E/D,discovering E/D,a premiere in 2006 at a Drive In w/ the full cast,the cast at a convention,a reunion panel AND a replica of one of the original theater posters thrown in for good measure.Phew! As I said this is a release worthy of the Criterion company and as such that is why the high marks;as they just put the whole package right over the top.
All in all a highly recommended release for fans of the first of the three of this gorefest series.Though not the best it's still pretty darn good and it still has some scare the pants off of you moments throughout.This edition has both the original full frame print and the specially made widescreen print.And with all the extras,there is NO other version to get the Deadite of your choosing.Join us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, too many Evil Dead DVD versions, Dec 18 2002
By 
K. Cannon "katatonia2" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evil Dead (Full Screen) (DVD)
Well, as far as the actual movie itself the Elite DVD version is superior. I have both the Book Of The Dead Anchor Bay edition and the Elite version. The Anchor Bay version is very nice just for the extras and packaging (even though it smells like model glue!). However, the Elite version presents the movie in it's original 1:33 full-screen aspect ratio, exactly as it was filmed and originally released. The Anchor Bay versions present The Evil Dead in a new 1:85 Widescreen transfer which actually blocks out some of the movie at the top and bottom of the screen. It looks nice, but was it really necessary?
Anchor Bay is by far my favorite DVD company, but they really goofed up on the Widescreen transfer in The Book Of The Dead...they should have included both the new Widescreen and Original full-screen versions.
Oh well, the Elite version has recently went down in price to where if you are a fan of The Evil Dead you can just buy both editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Shipping, June 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead: Book of the Dead Edition (Widescreen) (DVD)
Fast shipping, Great Condition. Just wish there were pictures posted to show the item, if I wasn't desperate for this item I wouldn't have bought it without pictures, but overall I'm completely happy, item was exactly how described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classy steel book, June 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Evil Dead is a classic. This Steel Book is must for any Evil Dead fan with great art work and a retro movie poster cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The start of it all, Nov. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Evil Dead [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie had great dialogue. It was funny, campy and in the style that only Sam Raimi has the ability to master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evil dead..., Oct. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead: Book of the Dead Edition (Widescreen) (DVD)
What to say...IT'S GREAT!!!!!! I was looking for this everywhere but it was way too expensive. Found it here and its a great price. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, Sept. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Evil Dead (DVD)
arrived when it said it would, and is in perfect condition. very happy! This, as well as the other two movies are a gift to my boyfriend for our 6 year anniversary. His favourite series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best movie ever!, July 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Evil Dead [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Got this as a surprise gift, husband totally loved it! Can always find what ever I'm looking for on Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars only problem i had was slow shipping, June 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Evil Dead (Blu-ray)
product meets description. glad I have this to complete my collection. slow shipping but you get the item as it is described.

Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always creepy, May 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead (Widescreen) (DVD)
This one creeped me out a bit, ultimately, but it is clear that there is more cheese involved than anything else. The acting is pretty bad, and the reactions of the characters are really out there and unrealistic most of the time. If you just want to watch a movie that'll creep you out and make you wince a few times, this is just for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evil Dead: Book of the Dead Edition (Widescreen)
CDN$ 133.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews