Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed
thanks for the dvd it arrived in perfect time and packaging. The movie is anb excellent collection the twins totally know how to shine on the screen !!!
Published 14 months ago by Darryce Zimmer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best film...
Chloe and Riley, along with some other school friends jet off to London for their school's model un comp. However the story is more about the girls, and their guys than the competition itself. It has quite a cute story line, which is unfortunitly spoilt by the boring and predictable ending. All in all a relativly good film, worth watching. Oh, and could'nt they have got a...
Published on Jan. 25 2003


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed, Jan. 27 2013
By 
Darryce Zimmer "freeziez" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winning London (DVD)
thanks for the dvd it arrived in perfect time and packaging. The movie is anb excellent collection the twins totally know how to shine on the screen !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Winning my vote, April 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Winning London (DVD)
Winning London is a well-done children's movie with some glowing scenes. While the girl-meets-boy theme is, as always in an Olsen twins' movie, included, this movie is not so focused on it.
The main point of the story is this: go to London to win a competition.
The underlying stories that I love are these: a boy growing up and standing up for himself (the Peter Pan aspect), and a girl who learns and grows up (to be less competitive). These things really made the movie for me. A little bit of culture and comedy made me smile, and a somewhat more grown-up theme (than usual) for a twins' movie kept my interest.
While there are very predictable scenes and sometimes annoying parts, the movie is worth seeing.
In the end, the group doesn't so much "win London", but the each character wins a discovery of themselves and a new view on life. In this way, it wasn't the competition that made them grow so much as their experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Winning London, Feb. 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Winning London (VHS Tape)
Mary-Kate and Ashley are really good actresses and all of there movies rocks.I like this movie because I do studys on London and it is really cool to see 2 things that I like in one place!So I think that is a really interesting movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS SO STUPID/TERRIBLE!!, Feb. 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Winning London (DVD)
This Movie is so.... stupid. Don't get me wrong; I'm a HUGE fan ,but this movie is just plain dumb. Parents, if you want your kids to have a good example of a movie. Don't get this one. There is like 5 kissing scenes. Got one word for this movie. STUPID!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uncle Joey?... more like Uncle Randy!!, Feb. 6 2004
By 
E-Dawg (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Winning London (DVD)
In this adventure the Olson twins take a trip to good old London. In fact they love it so much, they decide to use a small portion of their Billion Dollar Empire to purchase all of good old England. Uncle Joey gets lost on a double decker bus, so the girls hire an Uncle Joey impersonator. The uncle joey impersonator is an absolutely hilarious cameo by an actor who defined a generation: Randy Quaid. Absolute hijinx. Donald Trump: take notes because these girls could teach you a thing or two about running an empire. They could buy your Trump Tower and turn it into a "Full Waffle House", their new chain of restaurants coming in the Spring of 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Winning London- A Decent MK & A Film, Jan. 17 2004
By 
Daniel K. (Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Winning London (DVD)
Mary-Kate and Ashely Olsen are simply two of the hottest rising stars. Well actually they're no rising stars, they've practically been stars since they were adolescents on a funny sitcom called Full House. They're career started off to a huge success. They soon made movies, tv shows, and apparrel of all sorts.
Winning London, which was relased in 2001, was another typical Mary-Kate and Ashley film. I have to say for its nice locations, it's worth a look. But the movie's plot is pretty formulaic and similiar to all their other movies, which can be a bit boring as well disappointing. So you wonder why I honored this movie with 4 stars, I just can't get it out my head to be honest. Ever since they showed it on the MK & A marathon on ABC Family on New Year's Eve of 2003, I became upssesed with it. Infact, I thought of buying on DVD, I still haven't yet. There's just something about the movie with is so attractive, I suppose it's Mary-Kate and Ashley, I just like the film and the setting too.
The plot, I don't even know why I'll bother is simple as anything. Mark Kate and Ashley play Chloe and Riley, not like on their show So Little Time, which is the opposite. They're participating in a United Nations game/contest. They are the winners of the preliminary competition and are asked if they'd like to compete in the real competition in London. Of course they agree and are sent to London, where they meet cute guys who they hang out it. Jesse Spencer plays Mary-Kate's love interest James. Oddly enough Jesse Spencer is Australian and is being portrayed as British. There are a few sterotypes and/or flaws in this movie. What movie doesn't have flaws?
The film is rated G for General Audiences. It contains nothing extreme obviously. Mild sexual innuendo, mainly some kissing. No profanity obviously. A fine pick for all ages.
All in all entertaining, and am looking forward to Mark-Kate and Ashley big screen debut, New York Minute due to be released in May. See Winning London, I suggest renting it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star ONLY for the amazing London!, Dec 23 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Winning London (DVD)
Iï¿m getting sick of them as they do more movies like this! They should stop making movies cos all of them have the same story! They go to a foreign country, somehow for a job or for school (like you would go halfway around the world to do a school project. THEY ARE IN HIGH SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!) Then suddenly the twins have an eye for some guys and the guys mysteriously like them back. I think they like to make-out than make good movies. I like Mary Kate and Ashley, but I hate some things they do, like ALWAYS having to kiss someone and they think too much about fashion and boys!
Ashley: "it is a crime to wear unmatching clothes". I think they should stop thinking so much about fashion and get more serious about what's really a crime. If i were a guy i would want to date a girl who thinks about the REAL crimes. And not the crimes about fashion cos only those girls who haven't mature yet think about "crime fashion" (or "fashion crime", I dont know) the only interesting thing about this movie is the views of London. I always wanted to go there.
PS: they were better actresses when they were little. "It takes two" is better than their movies now all put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but not the best MKA film, Oct. 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Winning London (DVD)
Mary-Kate stars as Chloe, and Ashley as Riley (NOT like So Little Tiime!) and they are heading off to London, to compete as China in the Model United Nations. But then they find a "database error" and another group is also doing China.
They then have to do UK instead, and go around the UK doing research. Soppy love scenes make this movie gross, and not THAT interesting on the whole.
London IS a fun place (I've been!) but they do not wear bubble dresses, they shop at Harrods!
Not very good at all, I paid good money as well. Only buy it very cheaply for a 7-9 year old, any older and it'll be moan, moan, moan...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars OK, but grossly innacurate, Sept. 30 2003
By 
"smudged_rainbow" (London, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Winning London (VHS Tape)
As sugary Mary Kate and Ashley movies go, this was OK, but I thought the ending was too predictable, and the portrayal of London and the English was so bad it was hysterical. The actor, Jesse Spencer, who played Riley(Mary Kate)'s boyfriend was so obviously NOT English, that it was no surprise to discover he was Australian. Nobody in England speaks like that, and most English kids don't have fancy luncheons and play polo on the weekends! It was gnerally poorly done, but then again, most American movies about London are. I just think that if the plot was spruced up a bit and the footage of London (and the accents) were made A LOT better, it would be a great film.
....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't like this at first they think London... (updated), June 5 2003
By 
R (England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Winning London (VHS Tape)
UPDATED VERSION- I AM NOW 13
It has the perfect mix of romance, comedy and adventure. Mary-Kate's performance was brilliant and Jesse Spencer (James) is so hot! Ashley did well too. The soundtrack is also quite good, (again Holiday In The Sun's is better) but lacks pop and R'n'B.
This is really good, better than Getting There and so on, mainly because the girls don't act dumb and this has an original storyline. Anyway, the PLOT: Chloe (Mary-Kate, this time) and Riley (Ashley)are taking part in Model U.N., that particular year taking part in London, England. Chloe is the intelligent one and Riles just wants to have fun. But it is a great film. If you have not already, I urge you to CHECK THIS OUT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbd07a9fc)

This product

Winning London
Winning London by DVD (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 16.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews