Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bitter man find himself relieving the same day over and over again until he gets it right (4.5/5)
this movie never loses it's charm and effect,even after repeated
viewing.it's the story of a bitter,lonely arrogant,empty man (Bill
Murray)who find himself reliving the same day(Groundhog Day) over and
over again.each time he goes through he begins a slow transformation
until he learns what life really means.he becomes a better man for the...
Published on Aug. 21 2007 by falcon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars GroundHog Day the Classic comedy film by Harold Ramis
In 1993 , director Harold Ramis genius of dark comedies like ''Analyze This'' casted Bill Murray as Phil Connors in this dark but mostly enjoyable movie named GroundHog Day.
Bill Murray plays Phil Connors a weatherman, who covers everything from weather to Ground Day. Phil isn't happy with his life, in fact he realizes that he is repeating the same routine over and...
Published on May 1 2004 by GreatWriterChrisJames


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bitter man find himself relieving the same day over and over again until he gets it right (4.5/5), Aug. 21 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
this movie never loses it's charm and effect,even after repeated
viewing.it's the story of a bitter,lonely arrogant,empty man (Bill
Murray)who find himself reliving the same day(Groundhog Day) over and
over again.each time he goes through he begins a slow transformation
until he learns what life really means.he becomes a better man for the
experience.Andie MacDowell plays the love interest and Chris Elliott
put in a good supporting performance.also has this movie is at it's
heart a life lesson movie,a morality fable,if you will.many of these
types of movies are maudlin and inspirational ad naseum.not this one.it
manages to avoid going down that route.i think this is due to the
strong writing and direction.Danny Rubin wrote the story,and he and
Harold Ramis co wrote the screen play.Ramis also directed the
film.what's also good about this film are it's light comedic touches
and even some flat out hilarious moments. 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Bill Murray's best movie, Sept. 15 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This movie has several layers, not all of which were apparent to me at first viewing.

On a surface level, it's an outstanding romantic comedy, where Bill Murray's cynical character has to live the same day over and over. It's time travel back to the same day. It's all done very humorously. Yet as you peel away the layers, and look deeper there is a profound message to be discovered.

Have you ever felt stuck in your life, and no matter what you do, it does not seem to make any difference. You get frustrated, desperate, even depressed. Then you make a decision to solve the problem no matter what. This movie is a metaphor for self improvement. Phil's journey is our journey.

So, we see the journey this character takes from cynical, sarcastic and negative, and self absorbed, and not likable. Then he is presented with the same situations over and over and is forced to adapt, or be forever stuck.

Some of the lessons here include: you create your own experiences, so when you change your perceptions you change your reality, the transforming power of true love, all change comes from within. When you change your view of the world from being cynical selfish, and exploitive to truly loving and compassionate, the world responds to that change, and so do people.

The character does play with the day on a surface level at first, and eventually improves how the day goes, although he has certain aspects under control, other issues such as how to seduce the Andie McDowell character remain elusive, because his motives are transparent. The movie keeps going in interesting and amusing ways.

In the latter part of the movie he is saving the same person's life every day, he has gone from not playing piano to a professional standard piano player. Of Course, he has also kidnapped a groundhog, but that was just a phase. In the end, he masters his reality, and is ready to move on.

If you're like me this movie clicks with you and you will think about it for a long time afterwards. I consider this to be Bill Murray's best movie, and I highly recommend it. If you found this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, Nov. 21 2007
This review is from: Groundhog Day (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
It is said that if we don't learn from history we are bound to repeat it. Could it be that the actors journey in this movie shows a little glimpse as to the souls journey if we assume that we have a soul? That we only really graduate once we have learned the lessons that are here on this planet and that otherwise we will just get reincarnated over and over and given another chance at learning.

Initially the character, once he realises that he is "stuck" starts abusing his power and sees how he can fulfill his hedonistic desires by manipulating events and people. As he gets bored with himself and his tricks, he discovers the creative principle, and starts on the journey of serving others and contribute to life and thus he starts learning.

So this movie had a strong effect on me and I rate it highly both because it a highly entertaining movie, which is well acted, but especially because of the deeper layer that is there to be seen.

I would recommend the book "The Secret History of the World and How to Get Out Alive" by Laura Knight-Jadczyk, as it explores in depth the idea that life is a school, where we have the possibility to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, Nov. 21 2007
This review is from: Groundhog Day (VHS Tape)
It is said that if we don't learn from history we are bound to repeat it. Could it be that the actors journey in this movie shows a little glimpse as to the souls journey if we assume that we have a soul? That we only really graduate once we have learned the lessons that are here on this planet and that otherwise we will just get reincarnated over and over and given another chance at learning.

Initially the character, once he realises that he is "stuck" starts abusing his power and sees how he can fulfill his hedonistic desires by manipulating events and people. As he gets bored with himself and his tricks, he discovers the creative principle, and starts on the journey of serving others and contribute to life and thus he starts learning.

So this movie had a strong effect on me and I rate it highly both because it a highly entertaining movie, which is well acted, but especially because of the deeper layer that is there to be seen.

I would recommend the book "The Secret History of the World and How to Get Out Alive" by Laura Knight-Jadczyk, as it explores in depth the idea that life is a school, where we have the possibility to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murray the Marvellous...,, Aug. 17 2007
Bill Murray is superbly cast as the nasty but somehow likeable Phil Connors, who is on what he perceives to be the assignment from Hell. He has been sent to Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, to cover the Groundhog Day festival. As if things could not get any worse, Phil finds himself trapped in Hell as he is forced to live this day over and over and over again. Phil goes through a few stages of thinking: to use this reoccurring nightmare to chat up woman or to do whatever he wants on this day without recriminations. (He has a few stabs at suicide, managing to kill himself and the groundhog on one occasion.) His final thought, and the one that will eventually save him, is to use this opportunity to make a difference and woo his colleague Rita (Andie MacDowell). In theory, this film could have been monotonous drivel, showing you the same situations over and over again, but clever writing and excellent editing saved the viewing public from this. So we are shown a comedy with laugh-out-loud jokes and a few moments of subtle pathos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundhog Day, Jan. 8 2012
By 
Dee - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I've probably seen this movie as many times as February 2 repeats in the movie! It's a classic and I enjoy it immensely every time I watch it. Bill Murray and Andie McDowell are great, as are the supporting actors. An original story line and very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, Nov. 21 2007
This review is from: Groundhog Day [Import] (DVD)
It is said that if we don't learn from history we are bound to repeat it. Could it be that the actors journey in this movie shows a little glimpse as to the souls journey if we assume that we have a soul? That we only really graduate once we have learned the lessons that are here on this planet and that otherwise we will just get reincarnated over and over and given another chance at learning.

Initially the character, once he realises that he is "stuck" starts abusing his power and sees how he can fulfill his hedonistic desires by manipulating events and people. As he gets bored with himself and his tricks, he discovers the creative principle, and starts on the journey of serving others and contribute to life and thus he starts learning.

So this movie had a strong effect on me and I rate it highly both because it a highly entertaining movie, which is well acted, but especially because of the deeper layer that is there to be seen.

I would recommend the book "The Secret History of the World and How to Get Out Alive" by Laura Knight-Jadczyk, as it explores in depth the idea that life is a school, where we have the possibility to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Renaissance Man Extraordinaire - Carpe Diem, July 13 2004
By 
Joseph J. Slevin (Carlsbad, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Groundhog Day (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
There are so many messages behind this great movie with Bill Murray and Andie MacDowell. He is head over heals for MacDowell from the start, but as an arrogant weatherman, he seems to just tick her off from the start as well.
Imagine waking up every morning and it is the same day over and over again? Well, Murray has this happen to him. Every time he does his day becomes one disaster after another until he finally gives in and figures out he can use each day to improve himself and his life a little at a time.
The message here is clear. We all have a life that is made up of the same day everyday, what we choose to do with that day is really up to us. Do we want to improve our lot in life or just go along with being ourselves in a boring unfulfilled endless life that is a cycle of recurring themes?
This movie shows anyone, even though it is a comedy, that each day we have a choice to make the day what it can be. Murray plays Phil Connors, on Ground Hog Day when the ground hog's name is also Phil...go figure. Connors is as arrogant as they come and he just keeps trying so hard to impress people.
He goes from egotisical and self serving to seeing himself to get the girl of his dreams, Rita. It would be nice to know how many days of Ground Hog Days he spent there. You can see him go from this to a renaissance man who really cares about people, loves life and takes each day and uses it to improve himself.
Rita, although the same person and not being influenced or affected by being in Ground Hog day, comes to really like Phil. This movie makes us laugh at ourselves and our humanity. And by the end of the movie, he shows that he can have a positive effect on everyone he comes in contact with.
So when you hear the song, "I've Got You Babe," and the announcers saying, "It's Ground Hog Day....." remember to use the day to its fullest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Groundhog Day a classic, July 9 2004
This review is from: Groundhog Day (VHS Tape)
In 1993 , director Harold Ramis genius of dark comedies like ''Analyze This'' casted Bill Murray as Phil Connors in this dark but mostly enjoyable movie named GroundHog Day.
Bill Murray plays Phil Connors a weatherman, who covers everything from weather to Ground Day. Phil isn't happy with his life, in fact he realizes that he is repeating the same routine over and over again. From work in the morning,to
talking to the annoying Ned Ryanser( Stephen Tobolowsky), while listening to Sonny and Cher in the morning to covering the stupid GroundHog Day, Phil is repeating the same day over and over again. Of course the irony here as done by the plot, is that he is the only that knows it. It's like an episode the ''Twilight Zone'' (which I reviewed too on other sites). Eventually Phil has a mental breakdown in which he plans to do whatever he wants. He comes completely unglued when realizing how wasted his life had become, and thus wants to change it.
I use the term breakdown because well Phil isn't exactly a nice guy, he's arrogant and obnoxious. We hardly sympathize with this guy, much less that he is miserable.
However, the point the movie makes is the guy realizes he has been wasting his life away and wants to change it, although Phil's change doesn't go ahead smoothly.
He drives reckless around the train tracks, gets arrested, steals a bagfull of money from a couple of dumb cops, charms his way into sleeping with a beautiful young girl and yet finds out that he still isn't happy. Until he puts the moves on Rita (Andy McDowell), his producer. McDowell is the few actresses that I know that has limited acting potential but her beautiful presence can convey some emotions making her sympathetic.
However, in order to get close to Rita, Phil has to get info on her likes and dislikes from her friends. This angle in the movie, really made me a little sick, because even we are suppose to sympathize with Phil, he hasn't really changed all that much. Rita, eventually finds out Phil's motives and slaps him in the face, and telling him to get lost. LOL No surprise there, in fact Rita's action sums up my argument that Phil hasn't really changed all that much despite his aim to not repeat the same day, he is still repeating his same behavioral patterns.
Phil though in order to impress her and to change himself, starts doing bizarre, yet unreal things that get him attention and he does start to become nicer. This is where the movie gets ridiculous, because even though this is a comedy, I found the rest of the movie to be predictable, superficial, yet enjoyable
Phil becomes a gifted ice sculpter (who knows where he learned this) as one scene, where his cutting a sculpture of an ice angel is shown. Then Phil saves a guy from choking to death, a kid from a falling tree and a host of other surprises. LOL
Yes Harold Ramis does go a bit over the top with this Phil guy, obviously a lot of the stuff he pulls of is almost impossible giving Phil's background, but Ramis is again trying to show the point (although laughingly bad) that Phil is changing. He now has a heart and will do anything to be with this nice woman and of course by Phil doing this he has filled that empty void that he had when he was repeating the same unfulling routine of covering that stupid Groundhog Day in Pennsylvania.
Ramis is actually a buddy of Murray going back to the old days of their ''SCTV'' days, and ''Ghostbusters'' days, so these two talented comedian can pull the hijinks in the film with some realism.
Still though Ramis does do a good job of making us think about the movie and Phil itself and gives us that scary thought that we perhaps might end up like Phil, a shriveled, ugly man who has been repeating the same stupid routine yet doesn't have the capacity to see that this misery is at his own doing.
LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comic perfection., June 30 2004
By 
E. Bukowsky "booklover10" (NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Groundhog Day (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Phil Connors is a real piece of work. He is a weatherman based in Pittsburgh, whose sarcasm, egotism, and cynicism repel most of the people he meets. He is on assignment for the fourth year in a row, covering another Phil--Punxsutawney Phil, the groundhog who every year, on February 2, prognosticates how long winter will last. Along with Connors are his producer, Rita, played by the lovely Andie MacDowell, and his long-suffering and much abused cameraman, Larry, played hilariously by Chris Elliott.
Phil hates the groundhog, whom he calls a rat, he hates the people of Punxsutawney, whom he considers little more than boring hicks, and he hates people who are warm and sensitive. Phil is counting the seconds until he can leave this miserable town and get back to the big city. Little does he know that a quirky act of fate will doom him to relive February 2nd, over and over and over again, until he gets it right.
Bill Murray is comic perfection as the cranky and impatient Phil, a person who could not stop and smell the roses if his life depended on it. Thanks to a brilliant screenplay by Danny Rubin and Harold Ramis, who also directed, Murray has ample opportunity to show off his impeccable timing and priceless facial expressions. Whether he is greeting his unctuous landlady at his bed and breakfast, trying to fend off a pushy old classmate, or smoothly convincing a gullible woman that he loves her, Murray nails this self-absorbed and misanthropic character.
The look of epiphany on Phil's face when he realizes that he can do whatever he wants with no repercussions is unforgettable. Since he is doomed to live the same day over and over again, he can hit on women endlessly, spend money like water, and eat as many cholesterol-laden desserts as his heart desires. Soon, however, the novelty wears off, and Phil begins to realize that the same-old, same-old is no longer bearable. To move his life past Groundhog Day, he will have to change inside, where it counts.
If you want to laugh until you cry, see "Groundhog Day," a film that is destined to become a comedy classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Groundhog Day (Special Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 33.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews