Customer Reviews


333 Reviews
5 star:
 (209)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars All good!
All good! Met expectations as advertised such as disk quality and delivered within the time promised. Price was much than commercial store costs
Published 1 month ago by S. McDonald

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good moments, and a lot of moments easily forgettable
The creation of this album is really commendable. The songs are long and orchestrated, and probably took many hours to write. If only more musicians put that much effort into creating an album. Reminds me a lot of Fates Warning, one of my all-time favorite bands. These guys are very talented, and "Glass Prision" is a really awesome song that I just cant keep still when...
Published on Feb. 5 2003 by Mark W. Kulacz


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars All good!, March 12 2014
By 
S. McDonald (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
All good! Met expectations as advertised such as disk quality and delivered within the time promised. Price was much than commercial store costs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Theater 2001., Oct. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely necessary to own if you are a true fan of Dream Theater. Every song on the first disc of this album is remarkable, and memorable, and beautiful in their own respective ways. I've been a fan since Octavarium, and when I listened to the older stuff like this, and Train of Thought, I knew I'd love these guys forever. The 42 minute long masterpiece of the title on the second disc is one of the most beautiful songs ever written. Buy this mind blowing, speechless-making super duper double album. You will not regret it. Dream Theater lives on forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just a fantastic album, April 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
Just recently became a DT fan, An incredible mix of influences to make thier own music. Can't wait to listen to all thier other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Theaters best Album, Dec 28 2006
By 
Chris R. Call (Oakville Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
If Train of thought is a Metal masterpiece, then this is the crowning jewel of the DT collection. Less Metal songs, and more Alternative rock, every song on this double CD is DTs best work. The Glass Prison is simply awesome, though a little long, Blind Faith, Misunderstood, The Great Debate, and Disappear are all better than anything DT has done before. The Solos put Under a Glass moon to shame.

Disk two is equally brilliant. About to Crash and Solitary shell are bona fide #1 hits. War inside my Head and The test that stumped them all are what Voices should have been. Honestly, Voices is outdated, and need not be a part of DTs catalouge anymore.

Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence is a testament to a band that is growing over the years. Buy this over anything else available. Buy this first, as it will live in your record collection until the day you die. Then, when you die, bury it in a mountain cavern so that in 5,000 years, next gen humans discover it and add it to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, Jan. 6 2010
By 
Shane Bot - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
Awesome 2 Disc set! The always amazing "The Glass Prison" kicks off the first disc and keeps going strong with "Misunderstood" and "The Great Debate!" The second disc contains one extremely long (42 min) epic taking its name from the title of the CD, which is now easily atop my favourite Dream Theater pieces! If your a Dream Theater fan, buy this CD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Theaters Best Album, July 16 2004
By 
Christopher M. Jones "Xeroth" (Elk Ridge, UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
This album expresses everything about rock. Dream Theater can express pretty much every mood in music with just five expert musicians. John Petrucci on his guitar blows me every time I listen to his solos. This shoots right up with Scenes from a Memory, equally matched. When I first heard Glass Prison, I thought it was impossible to make such a combination. If you're interested in Dream Theater I recommend this album along with a few others. The guys know how to make a good ballet; they've been doing it for about 12 years. Their technicality and talent is one that's lead them to my absolute favorite band. These guys brought out the way of Metal in this album, including the mixture of soft, hard, and medium level songs. Once again, I highly recommend this album to Metal and Rock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Overall A Success, May 12 2004
By 
This review is from: Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
Where do you go? You just made one of the best albums of all time, and for my money THE BEST album DT could ever make, in "Metropolis 2, Scenes from a Memory." It was all an evolution up to the most mighty and magical concept album possible. So what next?
Answer: a near-45-minute-long-song.
When I first heard about it when they were in the studio, I didn't flinch. "Yeah," I thought, "that's all they know how to do and it probably will lack some focus." Nobody can touch them for their virtuosity, but those who've got the Transatlantic, LTE, and Explorers Club stuff are well aware that this family of progrockers doesn't have to work quite as hard as, let's say, Blink 182 or Matchbox 20 (that's my little joke), to bypass radiofriendlyness and do a song that lasts for a half hour or so. I'm all about epics, and GIVEN that the mighty DT's release is guaranteed to squash anything the majority of kids are picking up these days (another little joke, I'm only 23), I'm only finding flaws with DT on the hardest of grading criteria. You'll notice this double set is still an easy 5 stars, according to me. But a 42 minute long song in and of itself isn't immediately guaranteed exemption from scrutiny...
AND...I don't know how they did it, but they did it. The epic 8 movement song is a near masterpiece afterall. ESPECIALLY when held up against Metropolis 2, Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence isn't a whole lot weaker than the former. Still not quite as good, but so much better than I would have thought possible. They really did "do it again."... Again Mike, Jordan, James, and the Johns have the maturity to balance excessive overplaying with songwriting, yielding the ideal scenario from virtuosic performers: strong compositions.
The overture is amazing, quite suited for a filmscore really, but it displays Jordan's multitalented brain, as he doesn't just do a good job playing, but he's got great arranging skills as well! "Goodnight Kiss" is my favorite of the movements, as it is paced perfectly, the timbres are experimental yet not "Ladies and Gentlemen, The 21st Century and Ms. Spears!", and the chords are to die for. It molds slowly into "Solitary Shell," a song that proves good music CAN be catchy, and builds to one of my other favorite moments, a blues-tinged solo from Petrucci that seems to pay homage to Slash and his work in GNR's epic "Coma." Oh so soulful! James's climax at the end is a bit underclimactic after all the buildup (42 minutes for God's sake!) but it doesn't ruin anything either.
Oh, right, the first disc.
Well, to be honest, it's not all that great. If that were all there was, I would be MAJORLY disappointed. Except for a few obvious spots (the last song was defintely inspired by Bartok), there's not a whole lot of creativity or soul, and the recurring theme of mental illness sounds more intellectual than heartfelt. "Glass Prison" really baffled me, as it's a real bad way to lead off the album; lack of originality is bad enough, but to drag it on for too long is even worse. That said, all of the songs on the first disc are still good, just not like the level of DT one would have been hoping for.
Nonetheless, I am very amazed at how good and relevent this whole offering turned out, especially given the shoes of 3 years back that had to continue to be filled. Also this band is extremely patient and humble. They aren't clamoring for mainstream success, but they wouldn't mind it either. In another 10 years, maybe enough people will know them so they will debut PAST the 40's (where this one was)! If anyone deserves mass recognition, it's Dream Theater. But either way, in a world of so much turmoil, things are looking up; good music is alive and well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sorry dream theater!, May 11 2004
This review is from: Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
Ooh ooh my turn to rate this album.
Basically for this album it all comes down to the 2nd disc. Oh sure there might be a few times where it can become rather awesome on the first disc (what I'm thinking is John Myung's glass prison) anywho 2nd disc is what I got this for and I don't regret this buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Dream Theater's best, but great anyway, April 9 2004
By 
R. Seehausen "aeroblaster2" (Cypress, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
Dream Theater has never quite matched the heights they achieved with the classic "Images & Words" from over a decade ago. The closest they came, according to most fans, was "Scenes from a Memory", the album before this offering.
Enter "Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence". An eclectic mix of songs, to say the least. The album opens with a progressive metal masterpiece, "The Glass Prison". This is arguably Dream Theater's greatest purely metal song, with great riffs, varied and interesting progression, and a heaviness seldom found in the band's work.
The other songs on the first disc of this two-CD album don't quite equal the opening track. They represent a competent if somewhat uninspired effort, and while they get tiresome after awhile, are still excellent songs. This first disc suffers a little from "wankfest syndrome", in that it does contain long, uninspired instrumental sections in some places. The best example of this is the outro of "Misunderstood", which essentially degenerates into Petrucci messing around with his wah pedal and seeing what kind of cool sounds he can make with his guitar. A shameful conclusion to an otherwise excellent song.
The second disc is much better. The songwriting is mostly tight, and it definitely sticks to a theme while remaining varied and interesting. It's hard to pick stand-out tracks, because all but "Overture" and "Goodnight Kiss" are outstanding. It's not quite as good as "Scenes from a Memory", but the 45-minute 'song' (I say this skeptically because though it's organized as a medley, each track is clearly its own song) represents powerful and intelligent music that doesn't forsake emotions as some prog-metal bands--including Dream Theater itself, at times--do.
Overall, "Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence" is uneven at times, but a worthy album nonetheless. This is Dream Theater through-and-through, and serious complaints as to its quality are unfounded. Get this CD, but only after you pick up "Images & Words" and "Scenes from a Memory".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TRUE METAL MASTERPIECE, April 4 2004
By 
Viktar Kanasevich (frederick, md) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (Audio CD)
i'm not a great fan of regular DT so when they have come up up with this album i started to like them much more and they have become one of my favorite bands. The only thing that i don't like is that it could have been a single cd. I liked only a half of the second cd. The overture with it's stupid hymn-like music makes me want to puke. it's not talented music comparing to what dream theater did on the first cd. The Glass Prison is probably one of the best they have ever done and so is The Great Debate. And the soft Dissappear is a great finish for this cd. they could have taken War Inside My Head and About to Crash from the second cd and leave it at that but such great songs as the ones from the first cd make up for the second cd crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6e3118c)

This product

Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence
Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence by Dream Theater (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews