Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable till the fourth time in a row!!!!
My son is 2 years old and used to watch the Veggie Tales movies all the time untill he was introduced to Tom and Jerry. Now this is the ONLY movie that he will watch. I beleive that this movie shows that even though you are differant you can still bve friends and that is the lesson that I want to instil into my child. I feel that this movie is a nice change for this...
Published on July 19 2004 by kristina metz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars As a stand-alone title, it works
Okay, lots of people hate this movie because it goes against just about everything Tom and Jerry stands for. There's a lack of random fighting, the two enjoy each-other's company WAY too much and the plot really has nothing to do with Tom and Jerry in the slightest.

However, does it stand out on its own? If this didn't have "Tom and Jerry" in the title and...
Published on Aug. 7 2009 by Neil Dunsmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars As a stand-alone title, it works, Aug. 7 2009
This review is from: Tom and Jerry: The Movie (Full Screen) (DVD)
Okay, lots of people hate this movie because it goes against just about everything Tom and Jerry stands for. There's a lack of random fighting, the two enjoy each-other's company WAY too much and the plot really has nothing to do with Tom and Jerry in the slightest.

However, does it stand out on its own? If this didn't have "Tom and Jerry" in the title and starred a different cat and mouse duo, would people like it better?

As a matter of fact, it could. It's a typical everyday family film in the eyes of one who isn't a hardcore Tom and Jerry fanatic. The songs aren't quite as bad as people say they are, though cheesy nonetheless, and the jokes feel a little dry if you've been watching Tom and Jerry all your life, but it passes.

The plot's alright, but nothing special. It's mostly about a little girl trying to find her father while also trying to escape from a bunch of people who want her for money, and for some odd reason, Tom and Jerry just HAPPEN to get involved. You all saw it coming, right?

Again, for the songs, even the villain songs aren't really anything special. However, they're not nearly as bad as people say they are. I actually like the song "Friends to the end" even if it was the song that turned Tom and Jerry into... *Cough* "Really good friends" and in the Nostalgia Critic's eyes "Destroyed them". However, they're not the kinds of songs you want to listen to all the time. If you did, you'd probably hate them.

All in all, as a Tom and Jerry film, it fails. It has little to no relevance to the old cartoons and didn't even seem to be about them more than half the time. However, as a stand-alone title, it's kind of like Final Fantasy: Spirits Within. If you can ignore the fact that it's supposed to be Tom and Jerry, you can at least enjoy it to some extent. Not a great film, but a good one. C+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars VERY WEAK, June 1 2003
This review is from: Tom and Jerry: The Movie (Full Screen) (DVD)
I can't believe that this got a theatrical release. The standard of animation is worse than direct-to-video and the ramshackle story is among the weakest and cliched in this sub-sub-genre. How Phil Roman (Garfield, Simpsons) managed to unleash this on cinemas is crazy. It's watered-down and safe PC rubbish for the generation that regard the original Tom and Jerry as too violent. Puh-lease!
All Tom and Jerry shorts from the 1950's were made in "Cinemascope" widescreen but this wasn't. Did the makers learn anything from the past. Clearly not as the short cartoon quality is far superior to this 90's effort.
The plot concerns the Cat and Mouse duo, who have been made homeless, helping a lost orphan escape from her evil aunt. These are all major cliches in kiddies cartoons. But guess what? Tom and Jerry become friends, so there is no combat or action. It's just all infantile slush.
If you really want to buy a cartoon movie for your kids or want to advise them on what to watch then direct them towards the new Scooby Doo animated movies and forget that this rubbish exists. After all, the people who made it forgot what Tom and Jerry originally were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Awful. An insult to true Tom & Jerry fans..., Feb. 2 2002
By 
thespaceboy@excite.com (Hamburg, Germany/Smethwick, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tom and Jerry: The Movie (Full Screen) (DVD)
In the later period of the Tom & Jerry shows, a European
animation company (Dutch, I think) made some of the worst
ever attempts at Tom & Jerry ever seen. They had none of
the atmosphere or spirit of the classics. They were badly
drawn, had terrible sound effects and little of the
memorable big-band orchestra music which Tom & Jerry was
well-known for...
Why do I mention this?
Well, I'll tell you...
It's because even those awful, late Tom & Jerry episodes
were a whole lot better than this absolutely terrible movie.
"Tom & Jerry - The Movie" is an insult to the fans and almost
tarnishes the memory of the greatest cartoon characters of
all-time.
Stick to the originals!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable till the fourth time in a row!!!!, July 19 2004
By 
kristina metz (shoetsville, ny) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tom and Jerry: The Movie (Full Screen) (DVD)
My son is 2 years old and used to watch the Veggie Tales movies all the time untill he was introduced to Tom and Jerry. Now this is the ONLY movie that he will watch. I beleive that this movie shows that even though you are differant you can still bve friends and that is the lesson that I want to instil into my child. I feel that this movie is a nice change for this generation where children see too much violence. My son would watch this movie non stop all day if I allowed him too. I have bought other classic Tom and Jerry movies for my son and the other ones don't compare to his favorite the Tom and Jerry movie. I would like to see another movie come out then maybe I can get two movies into rotation!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, Oct. 22 2011
This review is from: Tom and Jerry: The Movie (Full Screen) (DVD)
Was in perfect condition, the little boy I gave it too was so excited and loves it. I am goint to order a few more for my nephews for christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, May 11 2003
By 
WG (Minneapolis, Minnesota United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tom and Jerry: The Movie (Full Screen) (DVD)
I expected this to be a movie with lots of chases (it has 1)Tom & Jerry make friends during the movie and can all of a sudden talk. This is not at all like Tom & Jerry. I did not expect this to be like this. It was a major dissapointment for me. If I were you I would skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not the real Tom & Jerry, Feb. 10 2000
By A Customer
Not only has Turner ruined movies by colorizing them, they have ruined Tom and Jerry by giving them voices! In this newly made cartoon, all we learn is that they have nothing interesting to say. Stick with the classic Tom & Jerry's and forget about this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Nov. 23 2002
This review is from: Tom and Jerry: The Movie (Full Screen) (DVD)
If you ever watched the cartoon youd probably realise that they dont talk. This was the only time they did talk. They never talked in their episodes, Tom & Jerry kids, Tom & jerry:The magic ring, or even in their video games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars WHY!? Why can't I give it NO Stars?, March 14 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tom and Jerry: The Movie (Full Screen) (DVD)
Good lord, why are they re-issuing this film? With the hundreds of Tom and Jerry cartoons made for theaters and television from 1940-1980, all of which were much more watchable, why do we need to see this stupid movie again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Claudia Clark, April 11 1999
By 
caclark@trib.com (Riverton, Wyoming, USA) - See all my reviews
My address is: Claudia Clark P.O. Box 1306 Riverton, Wy 82501 U.S.A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom and Jerry: The Movie (Full Screen)
Tom and Jerry: The Movie (Full Screen) by William Hanna (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 24.98 CDN$ 10.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews