Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Forms - Icarus, Oct. 6 2003
By 
L. Etline (NYC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Icarus (Audio CD)
Having a sort-of tie with the band (my brother went to college with lead singer, Alex Tween [or Ecco Teres, as he'd like to be called whilest recording/on stage] and still remains friends with him to this day), I've known these songs forever. I downloaded all these songs off their website, back when they were Icarus, and eventually got a copy of this album, which are the same songs, formally from the website at the beginning, recorded with Steve Albini (yes, former Big Black Frontman/Low, Nirvana, Bush, and countless other indie act producer Steve Albini).
Having listened to these songs over and over again for the last 3 years (which are 18 minutes in total, by the way) I've gotten to know them quite well. And I've yet to tired of them.
"Stravinsky" is one of the greats, with an incredible little piano part that sounds throughout the song and a 5/5 time signature. "Sunday" (A continuation/tribute to The Promise Ring's "Saturday", which itself was a continuation/tribute to Sunny Day Real Estate's "Friday") is also an incredible piece
The short length and original mixture of shoegazing, angular riffs, and spazcore makes this alternately dreamy/rockin' album go by like one big blur of a song.
It takes a few listens and some patience, but it's well worth your time and effort to pick apart these short bursts of music.
Also check out more of the releases on Three Spheres (Alex's own little Brooklyn, NY based label of incredible, like-minded indie bands) such as Math Of Birds (whose 4 song, first & last EP release is very similar to the Forms sound), A Hundred Thousand (a Ghosts And Vodka style instrumental indie outfit who rock) and the Desert Fathers (whose recently released album "The Spirituality" is absolutely incredible, and can also be found on Amazon.com as well).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars title of review, March 24 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Icarus (Audio CD)
This is a pretty nice record, but it seems to be getting a bit of excessive praise. It's basically just a throwback to the mid 90's indie rock/emo sound of bands like Christie Front Drive, M.I.J., and the earliest Promise Ring material. I guess it's nice that someone's still making music like that, it sure beats the bastardization of "emo" at the hands of pop-punk and nu-hardcore bands. Another complaint I have about The Forms is their loosely structured songs, which makes them hard to really get into. This isn't experimental music, it would be better served by being presented in structure more complimentary to their pop sensibilities. If you consider this music amazing, do yourself a favor and put it in perspective by picking up The Promise Ring's Horse Latitudes, and M.I.J.'s The Radio Goodnight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful album, Jan. 24 2004
By 
Nick C. (buffalo, ny) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Icarus (Audio CD)
i bought this album because i liked the cover art, and i haven't stopped listening to it. it takes everything i like about indie rock, distills everything i don't like about it, and then throws in some new innovations of its own (song structures, rhythms). the recording is spectacular (obviously steve albini gets some credit for that), and the singer is great. this album is only 20 minutes long, but i don't think it needs to be any longer. more records should be this length, scrapping the bad songs so people don't have to skip over them. all in all, a great record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Believe it, It's true., June 19 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Icarus (Audio CD)
Believe all of the excitement generated by this release, the countless cooing reviews and word of mouth are not to fall on deaf ears. This is music at it's best, three ordinary men who have the power to play from their guts and make you feel it in yours. A true return to the vehemence of smaller bands who do what popular "musicians" of today could not even fathom. Get this record and pay attention to The Forms for they deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is real music, June 8 2003
By 
Satch (Fresno, CA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Icarus (Audio CD)
If you don't like music(meaning you listen to radio bands) don't buy this album. If you are a true music fan, and you know who you are, get this. If you don't like it at first, then listen to it over and over again, you should like it after the second or third time through. You will love this album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just an amazing album, April 15 2003
By 
hizzoner (Forest Hills, NY) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Icarus (Audio CD)
What separates this band from pretty much every other band is the rhythm - so intricate but so fluid to the point where you don't even notice how unusual it is. And the music somehow manages to be ridiculously catchy too. The song "Stel" is a masterpiece. Get this album right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On their way., April 4 2003
By 
Ty (Columbia, MO USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Icarus (Audio CD)
If you are looking for a great indiePop album, this is where its at. These guys are amazing. Can you believe it? WOW! SO AMAZING! Mellow guitars and innovative beats tied together with fluid basslines. Dizzang. They are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars musical genius & sex appeal, March 20 2003
By 
LaZucca Minore (the city. where else?) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Icarus (Audio CD)
icarus' convoluted melodies and insane energy make you want to stand close to a stranger and bounce to the seductive, sinful music. crazy sexiness. sexy craziness. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS A GREAT ALBUM, June 8 2002
By 
Mike Dubs (Ridgewood, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Icarus (Audio CD)
OMG the music is sooooooo cool in this album, the drummer has some pretty hot beats!!!! this albums ROCKS!!!!!!!! everyone should buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Icarus
Icarus by The Forms (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews