Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of an era
KIMB holds a special place in many Metalhead's hearts for being such a departure from medium-paced, carefully thought out song structures. This album is blazingly fast, and seems to race right to the end of it's relatively short running time, but you'll have windburn by the time it's all over!
Dave Mustaine's drug dependancies are quite obvious here. A simple...
Published on March 27 2006 by Derek Puzak

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A so-so cd, technical, yet undeveloped
I have the old version of the cd but I have listened to the remastered version and there's not much difference, the original didn't have bad production anyway. As for the bonus tracks, the cover of These Boots just sucks because of the annoying beep, the demos aren't bad but aren't something you're gonna listen to much.
The band is talented at this early stage. Kerry...
Published on May 23 2004 by Cory G.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of an era, March 27 2006
By 
Derek Puzak (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
KIMB holds a special place in many Metalhead's hearts for being such a departure from medium-paced, carefully thought out song structures. This album is blazingly fast, and seems to race right to the end of it's relatively short running time, but you'll have windburn by the time it's all over!
Dave Mustaine's drug dependancies are quite obvious here. A simple listen to the highly aggressive structuring of each track will reveal the intensity, energy, and anger of the man at that time period. In fact, I dare say that if it were not for the incredible skill of Gar Samuelson on drums (a former jazz-fusion player), the album could have been reduced to an absolute mess. Odd-time signatures run rampant throughout the album, but the double-whammy assault of Samuelson on drums, and Chris Poland on guitar manage to add a very keen sense of harmony and flow from beginning to end.
The tracks themselves are quite bleak and angry, but contain a high octane energy and a sneering sense of humour that keep the material from becoming depressing. This album is driven by rhythm, first and foremost, with melody coming in a somewhat distant second. It certainly isn't the greatest Megadeth offering, nor the most technically precise, but it's a debut album that refused to settle in nicely, and instead just drove through the doors like a Mack truck. It certainly gives Metallica's "Kill Em' All" a solid one-two punch, being faster, harder, more complex, and a bigger joy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing "Orwellian" here..., Nov. 12 2004
By 
Mike Dekaucher (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
There have been some reviews of this re-release by people who obviously don't know much about WHY it was re-mastered & re-mixed. This isn't just a case of CDs sounding better than analog tape. There are some guitar parts on this that weren't even on the original release. Those aren't newly recorded parts either, they were recorded with the rest of the original album. Not only that, but it sounds to me like there are alternate takes of guitar and vocal parts used here. The way it sounds now is the way the band wanted it to sound back then, with full advantage taken of advances in sound technology. As for the people complaining about the bleeping in "These Boots", they obviously never read what Dave Mustaine wrote in the CD booklet about it. For legal reasons, the song would have either been left off or altered the way that it has been. For those who don't want it on the album: make a copy of the CD and leave "These Boots" off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Business is very good, July 3 2004
By 
Janine Lizarraga (San Marcos, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Im only 14 years old but Megadeth is my favorite band. All that kids listen to is crap like rap and wannabie rockers. This is one the most underated Speed/Thrash Album. Metallica's "Kill em All" was the first thrash album but Megadeth made it faster, harder, and meaner. It might take a while for new listeners I would recomend "Rust in Peace" or "Countdown to Extinction." The demos on this CD are pretty cool and the commentary by Dave Mustaine and David Ellefson on each track are really cool.
Last Rites/Loved To Death (9/10)
Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good (11/10)(The best track)
The Skull Beneath The Skin (10/10)
Rattlehead (10/10)
Chosen Ones (9/10)
Looking Down The Cross (9/10)
Mechanix (11/10)(Pretty much "The Four Horsmen" by Metallica but two times faster and two times better)
These Boots (4/10)(Would be a 9/10 but the F*king blips kill it)
This is a great Megadeth album but very very far from thier best. They're just getting warmed up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A so-so cd, technical, yet undeveloped, May 23 2004
By 
Cory G. (Vic, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
I have the old version of the cd but I have listened to the remastered version and there's not much difference, the original didn't have bad production anyway. As for the bonus tracks, the cover of These Boots just sucks because of the annoying beep, the demos aren't bad but aren't something you're gonna listen to much.
The band is talented at this early stage. Kerry and Dave? Excellent guitar work, but their song writing is still undeveloped and although amazing skill is shown, things can get a tad boring occasionally. Also, they are very fast and the solos are damn excellent! Dave's vocals are pretty annoying, but they get better as time goes by on other albums. Drumming is pretty good. Nothing too special, but not bad by any means. Better than Lars Ulrich! The bass is fantastic but in some songs it's very hard to hear.
Some of the lyrics are stupid, but then again so are some of Metallica's, although their debut was better. Do I have a problem with Dave getting kicked from Metallica? No way! It worked for the better. Now after that happened we ended up with two great thrash bands instead of one!
As for the songs there is some filler(probably not intentional, as I said their song writing skills aren't fantastic yet), and that coupled with Dave's vocals led me to the verdict that this album deserves 3 stars, not a bad cd, but not essential. If you're an old fan, it's up to you whether you buy it or not, new fans, start elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Remixes, Remixes, May 6 2004
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Well, here we go, time to buy another version of a classic album you already own. Don't get me wrong, this album is excellent, and provides a stunning document as to what a band can do when they don't yet see the potential profit to come. But that aside, I noticed some bitching about how the sound quality isn't what was expected. So they took the same master tracks they recorded WAAAAAY back in 1985, mixed them together digitally instead of analogously, pooped it out on a CD that I bet was "digitally mastered", and here we are. A long time ago (not as far back as 78s), LPs were recorded in one track mono. Along came two track stereo LPs, and record companies started reissuing mono recordings as "stereo", and would cheese it up by echoing the mono track in the second "stereo" track, to "enhance" the recording. Well, what do you think this is? Record companies reissuing albums on CD, and claiming they sound better when really, all you're hearing is the wider, flatter dynamic range inherent of CDs over their antiquated analogous counterparts. In other words, THIS IS WHAT THE MASTER TAPES SOUND LIKE. You can't change that. You can't make that better. You can't add detail that isn't there. Don't be duped by orwellian terms. Buy it if you don't own it, or you want the bonus tracks, not because you think it's going to sound better than your record or tape, or older CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ooh boy a remastered early thrash classic with extra tracks!, April 4 2004
By 
J. Parmelee (Spring Lake, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
This is probably Megadeth's most undderated album.Although Hit Parader magazine was smart enough to put this in the Top 100 Hard Rock CDs Of All Time most critics overlook this album.Although not as good as Peace Sells or Rust In Peace it is better than Countdown To Extinction which had I felt was a little too commercial(but still had a lot to like).This album hints at the direction they would be taking with Peace Sells.More punky and dark than either Rust In Peace or Countdown To Extinction, this album remains one of the classics of mid eighties thrash.I remember walking into a record store when the album first came out and I liked the name of the band and was to curious to find out what it sounded like I was definitely not disappointed.I guess Im sort of a wuss which is probably why I like the moderated thrash stuff more than the extremes of Slayer or even Pantera.Still this stuff is still pretty heavy just more accesible which is one of the reasons it remains a classic.If youre a Megadeth fan and dont already own it whats wrong with you?Do anything you can to pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly Good, Feb. 25 2004
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
I first started listening to Megadeth a little under 2 years ago. I've always liked em but never been that big of a fan. Sure Rust in Peace is a great album, and Countdown and Peace Sells are both good, but those last 2 never seemed to be as good as they were made out to be. None of there other albums were nearly as revered as those three, and if they weren't going to be even on the level with Peace or Countdown I didn't see any real need to run off and pick any of them out right away. I dunno about the rest of their discography, but I was foolish to put off picking this up for so long. I may be the only person alive who feels this way, but I think this is much, much better than Peace or Extinction, and even tops Rust in Peace, as well.
I have not heard the original version, but I can tell you that this version sounds fabulous. This version sounds multitudes better than the other thrash albums from the era. It sounds way, way better than Peace Sells or Rust, and even better than Countdown, imho. It's got great clarity, perfect balance and still plenty of power. On top of this, Mustaine's typically subpar vocals are much better here. I would dare say he's even 'good' on this album, for the most part.(This is especially important, because Megadeth were actually atypically good at writing vocal melodies, which were, obviously, hurt by Mustaine's not so good voice.) The album is very solidly constructed as well. The songs are generally short, all between 3-5 minutes, but they are always complete and nicely formed. Plus they still manage to have plenty of great leads with out just tacking them on endlessly, as they would later do. The rhythm section is just great. Gar never impressed me too much in Peace Sells, but perhaps I'll have to go re-evaluate his work there after hearing. He's not the very best thrash drummer, but he's pretty distinctive and very tasteful throughout. As an added bonus, you can actually hear Ellefson's bass, and he's got some nice lines and a few very brief, but entertaining leads.
In the end, the reason I like this album best is simply cause I think it's got better songwriting then the others. It's very consistent, with the only slip-up being Chosen Ones, which isn't bad, just kinda average. The obvious standout is Looking Down the Cross, which is easily my favorite Megadeth song. It kinda seems like a darker, more ominous Hallowed be They Name. It has loads of atmosphere, blazing solos that always compliment the song, great melody without sacrificing the riffage, intense and powerful vocals and is instantly memorable despite not having a chorus. An all time classic. The title track, Rattlehead and Loved to Deth are all first class straight up pounding metal tracks. The title track is especially terrific, and is a perfect condensation of what thrash is all about. The Skull Beneath the Skin is a bit more along the lines of Looking Down the Cross, and is probably the second best track here. Not as much atmosphere or melody, but it's still unconventionally structured, and has got plenty of powerful riffwork. The much famed Mechanix is quite good, despite having the stupidest lyrics of any song I can think of. Fortunately, I don't care about lyrics at all. (on a side note, I prefer The 4 Horsemen. The middle break they added absolutely makes that song, and the riffs sound better played a bit slower. Mechanix is still cool though. On a further tangent, yeah I think this is better then Kill 'em All, but that ain't really a valid comparison since this came two years later. In many ways, Kill 'em All is Dave's debut album even though he didn't play on it. Both Dave and Metallica got a whole lot more experience in those 2 years, and frankly it would be a lot more valid to compare this to Ride the Lightning. But enough of that.) These Boots is found in an edited form here. I've never heard the original, and it would probably be better if it weren't edited, but it's still quite good. (and the prolonged beeps are kinda amusing) It's a joke song that work as both a joke and a song, so it's quite worth while. The demo tracks are a waste of time, but they didn't cost me any extra so who cares.
Anyways, this is a damn good thrash album, and one of high historical improtance to boot. Pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't get much better than this, Nov. 29 2003
By 
F. Muccino (Dunwoody, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
This was not only my first megadeth album, but my first real thrash album, sure i have old metallica albums but nothing as ferocious as this. so it took a bit of getting used to, after my first listen i knew i'd love it once it get used to it. so after about a week of listening, a whole new world opened up infront of me. i was in love with this cd. every song, with the exception of These Boots, was in my head all day at school. before i knew it i was bringing this into my guitar teacher for months getting him to show me how to play Rattle Head and Mechanix. the gutiar work is AMAZING, i haven't heard any other band's guitar playing move me so much, Dave Mustaine and Chris Poland, i don't know much about bass, but David Elefson's bass solo in Chosen Ones is nothing short of cool, i also know nothing about drums, but Gar Samuelson was a madman. I've read that alot of people don't like Dave's voice, and i don't know why, i love daves voice- i think it fits in perfect. Even today this album is insanely heavy. my favorite songs are Rattle Head, Chosen Ones, Looking Down The Cross (SPEAK NO EVAAAAAL!) and Mechanix, that's not to say that the others aren't slamming though. Warning, if you buy this you'll probably end up buying anythign and everything else Megadeth or Dave Mustaine has ever or will ever do. this album rocks, through and through, it's the Blizzard of Ozz of Thrash and just an amazing cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Remastered Edition of a Classic Thrash Album, Oct. 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
This album sounds so much better than the original - it's unbelievable!. Gar Samuelson's drums are the main improvement, they sound f#ckin great! My favorite songs are KIMB (the title track, which Mustaine wrote about the punisher (comic book character), Looking down the cross, which has great lyrics and music. The Mechanix is the best song, Mustaine wrote this song before even joining Metallica, then Metallica jacked it from Mustaine along with several other great songs. Mustaine's version is much faster and I like it better. The situation with "these boots" just sucks. Lee Hazelwood, the author of the song threatened to take legal action against Mustaine if he didn't edit out everything that Hazelwood wanted him to (most of the bleeps aren't even bad words!). Fortunately I was able to find an old used copy of this album, which is the only version that has the song unedited, it's a great cover. That's the only problem with the album. I'm not going to write anymore cause I'm tired. If you want a smart detailed review of this cd read der kommissar's review, it's really accurate and honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth's debut - remastered at long last! Sort of..., Oct. 11 2003
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
In later 1981 or early 1982, Metallica was formed. These guys were, as you know, bound to become heavy metal legends. And contrary to what some people may think, Kirk Hammett wasn't always the band's lead guitarist. The original guitarist in that band was a red-haired guitar genius named Dave Mustaine. Unfortunately, things in Metallica didn't work out too well for Dave (he was a heavy drinker), so he was expelled from the band in 1983, prior to the band recording its debut LP, Kill 'Em All.
Revenge was the only thing on Dave's mind. He wanted to play harder, faster, and above all, better than the band that stabbed him in the back (and in recent years, stabbed EVERYONE in the back.) Dave put together his own little band. Teaming up with David Ellefson, a bassist in his apartment complex, future Slayer guitarist Kerry King, and drummer Lee Rausch, he formed Megadeth - named for a term that meant "one million deaths". Of course, he altered the spelling a little. Mustaine held auditions for singers, but couldn't find one he liked - so he decided to do the vocals. King and Rausch left the band, and they were replaced by Chris Poland and Gar Samuelson. In 1985, the band released its debut album - Killing Is My Business... And Business Is Good! And now it's gotten the remastering it has so desperately needed! Read on for my review.
Last Rites/Loved to Death - This one starts off innocently enough, with a classical piano solo (believe it or not, Mustaine was a piano player once!) Needless to say, no Megadeth song stays that way long. It becomes all-out heavy and raw thrash in no time at all. The theme here is a boy losing his girl, so he wants to kill her so no one else can have her. A good opener overall.
Killing Is My Business... And Business Is Good - The title track of the album is another straight-up thrasher. The theme of this song is actually a hired assassin - who soon finds himself running from an assassin hired to kill him! Not a bad little tune.
The Skull Beneath the Skin - One day in a bookstore, Mustaine saw a book entitled "The Skull Beneath The Skin". He LOVED that title, and just had to do a song by that name. The end result? More of the raw thrash that made early Megadeth so cool.
Rattlehead - The theme of this thrasher is, as the title may have implied, the birth of Vic Rattlehead, the band's skeletal mascot. Another good track overall, but not really one of the stand-out ones.
Chosen Ones - The theme of this song is actually rather comical - It's based upon the classic comedy film Monty Python And The Holy Grail! But with the all-out thrash assault the band has going, you're not going to know that unless you study the lyrics very closely - or read this. Good song.
Looking Down the Cross - Here the band writes a song about what Jesus was experiencing when he was crucified. This is the slowest track on the album, but it's still a heavy one.
Mechanix - This is the original version of the Metallica classic The Four Horsemen - performed by Megadeth. This is MUCH faster than Metallica's take on the project, and in my opinion, much better as well. Rather than being about mythical souls that come to take your life, this version is about a man who works at a gas station and wants to sleep with all the hot women that come in. Weird theme, GREAT song.
BONUS TRACKS:
These Boots Are Made For Walkin': Four major things wrong here. First of all, the song is listed as These Boots. That isn't the complete title. Second, this should be between song five and six, not after the rest of the album. Third, this is NOT a bonus track. It was always intended to be part of the album. Fourth is the complaint you'll hear most often - IT'S BEEN EDITED (with bleeps)! The song's writer threatened legal action if Megadeth didn't edit the song or delete it from future album pressings. Oh, well. I guess an edited version is better than no version.
Last Rites / Loved To Death (Demo): This demo isn't too far off from the original version of the song. Still, the sound quality is far worse - NOT what I'd expect from an album Amazon refers to as "original recording remastered".
Mechanix (Demo): The demo of this song is about the happy medium between Metallica's original demo recording from the No Live 'Til Leather demo tape (NOT The Four Horsemen) and Megadeth's final version. Good demo, but the sound problem is still present.
The Skull Beneath The Skin (Demo): This version of the song doesn't have the opening guitar solo. Other than that, it's pretty close to the original. Still, the sound quality isn't very good.
Edition notes: There are three editions of this album - Original pressing with These Boots Were Made For Walkin' left intact, Original version with it deleted, and this version, in which it has been edited. I strongly suggest getting the original pressing for the uncut version, but I doubt you'll find it in any store. THIS is the only pressing still being produced, and the demos are pretty cool, so if you can't find the original pressing, just get this version. Make sure it's the Explicit Lyrics one though (TBWMFW is edited on ALL versions of this new pressing, so be warned.) This new version also has expanded linear notes, lyrics, and notes for every song, making it ideal to any Megadeth fan.
Overall Megadeth's debut is a cool album, BUT NEW MEGADETH FANS SHOULD START ELSEWHERE. If you're new to the band, skip the band's eighties material and go directly to their 1990 offering, Rust In Peace. Their eighties stuff isn't bad by any means, I just think it pales in comparison to their nineties material. Final verdict? This is a cool album, but it's for true Megadeth fans only. Still, it's not hald bad assuming the band used half their record company advance on illegal drugs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews