Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing "Orwellian" here...
There have been some reviews of this re-release by people who obviously don't know much about WHY it was re-mastered & re-mixed. This isn't just a case of CDs sounding better than analog tape. There are some guitar parts on this that weren't even on the original release. Those aren't newly recorded parts either, they were recorded with the rest of the original...
Published on Nov. 12 2004 by Mike Dekaucher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A so-so cd, technical, yet undeveloped
I have the old version of the cd but I have listened to the remastered version and there's not much difference, the original didn't have bad production anyway. As for the bonus tracks, the cover of These Boots just sucks because of the annoying beep, the demos aren't bad but aren't something you're gonna listen to much.
The band is talented at this early stage. Kerry...
Published on May 23 2004 by Cory G.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of an era, March 27 2006
By 
Derek Puzak (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
KIMB holds a special place in many Metalhead's hearts for being such a departure from medium-paced, carefully thought out song structures. This album is blazingly fast, and seems to race right to the end of it's relatively short running time, but you'll have windburn by the time it's all over!
Dave Mustaine's drug dependancies are quite obvious here. A simple listen to the highly aggressive structuring of each track will reveal the intensity, energy, and anger of the man at that time period. In fact, I dare say that if it were not for the incredible skill of Gar Samuelson on drums (a former jazz-fusion player), the album could have been reduced to an absolute mess. Odd-time signatures run rampant throughout the album, but the double-whammy assault of Samuelson on drums, and Chris Poland on guitar manage to add a very keen sense of harmony and flow from beginning to end.
The tracks themselves are quite bleak and angry, but contain a high octane energy and a sneering sense of humour that keep the material from becoming depressing. This album is driven by rhythm, first and foremost, with melody coming in a somewhat distant second. It certainly isn't the greatest Megadeth offering, nor the most technically precise, but it's a debut album that refused to settle in nicely, and instead just drove through the doors like a Mack truck. It certainly gives Metallica's "Kill Em' All" a solid one-two punch, being faster, harder, more complex, and a bigger joy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing "Orwellian" here..., Nov. 12 2004
By 
Mike Dekaucher (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
There have been some reviews of this re-release by people who obviously don't know much about WHY it was re-mastered & re-mixed. This isn't just a case of CDs sounding better than analog tape. There are some guitar parts on this that weren't even on the original release. Those aren't newly recorded parts either, they were recorded with the rest of the original album. Not only that, but it sounds to me like there are alternate takes of guitar and vocal parts used here. The way it sounds now is the way the band wanted it to sound back then, with full advantage taken of advances in sound technology. As for the people complaining about the bleeping in "These Boots", they obviously never read what Dave Mustaine wrote in the CD booklet about it. For legal reasons, the song would have either been left off or altered the way that it has been. For those who don't want it on the album: make a copy of the CD and leave "These Boots" off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ultra heaviest, ultra furious thrash metal, Nov. 11 2013
By 
Derek Draven - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Dave Mustaine's unceremonious and ugly departure from Metallica in the early 1980s is the stuff of heavy metal history books. Mustaine's heavy drug and alcohol use fueled his loose-cannon temperament; itself fueled by the seething rage and angst of a messy childhood, an abusive father, and an inferiority complex. In short, the perfect cocktail for manic, terrifying heavy metal rife with lyrics certain to anger Sunday churchgoing parents and left wingers everywhere. 'Killing Is My Business' was the first aural delivery by Megadeth, the band Mustaine formed for the sole purpose of getting revenge on Metallica, and it has stood as a vital pillar of the early thrash metal movement to this day.

Low production values and frequent spats with Combat Records meant that the original version of 'Killing' never lived up to the band's original vision. The Expanded Remix edition rectifies all of these issues, right down to the album artwork, making it a better, stronger, more cohesive record. The new remix is much more full, and sounds wonderful, with Gar Samuelson's thundering drums in the middle of the frantic guitars, instead of wedged in the background. Samuelson's fluent jazz fusion skills marry perfectly with the remix, creating a sense of fluency within Mustaine's psycho-violent song structure. David Ellefson's bass guitar hangs like a dark canopy over the cacophony of aggressive riffs and screaming solos, never intrusive, yet never far away. Then there's the tag team of Mustaine and Chris Poland, both of whom bounce back and forth between skin-shredding rhythm work and blazing solos, each attempting to outdo the other. Where Mustaine is a chaotic wrecking ball of rhythm genius, Poland is far more diverse, and able to hit notes and scales that most other guitarists would be unable to do, thanks in part to a finger injury endured in his past. 'Killing's' songs are just as you remember them. 'Last Rites...Loved to Deth' is a trip into possessive madness on the rails of rapid-fire double bass kick and noisy riffing with an off-time verse and sloppy (on purpose) lyrics that serves as the launchpad for the entire album, propelling its frantic vertical pace at the speed of light, and serving as one of the album's strongest tracks. 'Killing Is My Business' is a tongue-in-cheek ode to the Marvel Comics character The Punisher. The song jumps back and forth between biker rock and speed metal, sticking to a straightforward approach right up until the end. 'The Skull Beneath The Skin' tells the tale of Megadeth's mascot, Vic Rattlehead, giving insight into the dark occult ceremony that turns him into the being which would later shift his attention towards political and social issues. 'Rattlehead' is a blindingly fast anthem that glorifies the sheer fun of rock n' roll music, while 'Chosen Ones' pays goofy tribute to the killer rabbit from Monty Python's Holy Grail. This double-dose of snicker is traded for a much more somber tone with 'Looking Down The Cross,' Mustaine's own interpretation of what Jesus Christ might have felt at the time of his death. 'Mechanix' is a re-working of Metallica's 'Four Horsemen,' ditching the latter's fictional elements for a focus on sexual double entendre. The album closes with 'These Boots,' a cover of Nancy Sinatra's original song, but with portions of the lyrics bleeped out due to legal red tape. Mustaine goes into detail in the liner notes regarding the reason for this approach, but unfortunately, it ruins the song. Because of this, the Remix album falls short of 5 stars to a respectable 4.

Sonic purists tend to cry the blues whenever a Remastered or Remixed version of their classic albums is released. Personally, I want to hear albums the best way possible, with full sonic range and dynamic quality enhanced. You can't get that on the original version of 'Killing,' but the Remixed edition is the best you're going to hear this landmark thrash metal classic. Turn it up, shatter the windows, and irritate your neighbors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not to good, July 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
This album is the firt ever done by Megadeth but remasterd. (I have the old one) but I think I can revie it.
The album is more a collector thing it's not the record you would put and listen to beacuse you think it's good. The producing has made it sound cheap and bad, you can almost not hear the singing and the sound is very raw.
Even tho ther are some good bits and Killing is my bui... are quiet okay but I would not recomend it for a new fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Birth of Deth, July 6 2004
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
I've always liked this album, and the remastering job is pretty good (though I still like the original as well). The CD also has liner notes from Mustaine and Ellefson which are interesting and sometimes funny. The downside is that to include "These Boots", the band had to censor any lyrical differences from the original version. It's actually kind of funny -- by the end, there's just a continuous beep to censor the altered lyrics. A very good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Business is very good, July 3 2004
By 
Janine Lizarraga (San Marcos, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Im only 14 years old but Megadeth is my favorite band. All that kids listen to is crap like rap and wannabie rockers. This is one the most underated Speed/Thrash Album. Metallica's "Kill em All" was the first thrash album but Megadeth made it faster, harder, and meaner. It might take a while for new listeners I would recomend "Rust in Peace" or "Countdown to Extinction." The demos on this CD are pretty cool and the commentary by Dave Mustaine and David Ellefson on each track are really cool.
Last Rites/Loved To Death (9/10)
Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good (11/10)(The best track)
The Skull Beneath The Skin (10/10)
Rattlehead (10/10)
Chosen Ones (9/10)
Looking Down The Cross (9/10)
Mechanix (11/10)(Pretty much "The Four Horsmen" by Metallica but two times faster and two times better)
These Boots (4/10)(Would be a 9/10 but the F*king blips kill it)
This is a great Megadeth album but very very far from thier best. They're just getting warmed up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A so-so cd, technical, yet undeveloped, May 23 2004
By 
Cory G. (Vic, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
I have the old version of the cd but I have listened to the remastered version and there's not much difference, the original didn't have bad production anyway. As for the bonus tracks, the cover of These Boots just sucks because of the annoying beep, the demos aren't bad but aren't something you're gonna listen to much.
The band is talented at this early stage. Kerry and Dave? Excellent guitar work, but their song writing is still undeveloped and although amazing skill is shown, things can get a tad boring occasionally. Also, they are very fast and the solos are damn excellent! Dave's vocals are pretty annoying, but they get better as time goes by on other albums. Drumming is pretty good. Nothing too special, but not bad by any means. Better than Lars Ulrich! The bass is fantastic but in some songs it's very hard to hear.
Some of the lyrics are stupid, but then again so are some of Metallica's, although their debut was better. Do I have a problem with Dave getting kicked from Metallica? No way! It worked for the better. Now after that happened we ended up with two great thrash bands instead of one!
As for the songs there is some filler(probably not intentional, as I said their song writing skills aren't fantastic yet), and that coupled with Dave's vocals led me to the verdict that this album deserves 3 stars, not a bad cd, but not essential. If you're an old fan, it's up to you whether you buy it or not, new fans, start elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Remixes, Remixes, May 6 2004
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Well, here we go, time to buy another version of a classic album you already own. Don't get me wrong, this album is excellent, and provides a stunning document as to what a band can do when they don't yet see the potential profit to come. But that aside, I noticed some bitching about how the sound quality isn't what was expected. So they took the same master tracks they recorded WAAAAAY back in 1985, mixed them together digitally instead of analogously, pooped it out on a CD that I bet was "digitally mastered", and here we are. A long time ago (not as far back as 78s), LPs were recorded in one track mono. Along came two track stereo LPs, and record companies started reissuing mono recordings as "stereo", and would cheese it up by echoing the mono track in the second "stereo" track, to "enhance" the recording. Well, what do you think this is? Record companies reissuing albums on CD, and claiming they sound better when really, all you're hearing is the wider, flatter dynamic range inherent of CDs over their antiquated analogous counterparts. In other words, THIS IS WHAT THE MASTER TAPES SOUND LIKE. You can't change that. You can't make that better. You can't add detail that isn't there. Don't be duped by orwellian terms. Buy it if you don't own it, or you want the bonus tracks, not because you think it's going to sound better than your record or tape, or older CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100 star!, May 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
this is a great thing, this is a real remastered
you can hear all thing very clear, dave vocal is full of emotion , the riff are crayy , also the solos, bassline and the drumming
wht a great debut album
these boots was edited on this album but you get 3 bonus track , the demo from this album which sounds raw & awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, April 12 2004
By 
This review is from: Killing Is My Business...And Business Is Good! (Remixed / Expanded) (Audio CD)
pour un cd fais avec 4000 dollars tres bon un de mes cd preferer de megadeth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc39871a4)

This product

Only search this product's reviews