Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Hockey Movie!
Paul Newman is brilliant in what has to be the greatest hockey movie ever made. Newman plays Reggie Dunlop an over-the-hill player/coach of a last place hockey club, which is about to go bankrupt as the steel town of Charlestown is about to close its primary source of income, the steel mill. With nothing left to lose Coach Dunlop begins to "use his imagination...
Published on Jan. 22 1999

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This set should be free.
Full price for Slap Shot? No problem. Great movie. However, I'm not sure how much would be enough to make me sit through Slap Shot 2 again. $20? No. $50? No. $100? Maybe, but I better be gettin' free beer with it. And by the way, how is it that somebody gets stoned enough to say "Let's put Stephen Baldwin in a movie." I need some of that.
Published on Feb. 13 2004 by david c albert


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Hockey Movie!, Jan. 22 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Slap Shot (Widescreen) (DVD)
Paul Newman is brilliant in what has to be the greatest hockey movie ever made. Newman plays Reggie Dunlop an over-the-hill player/coach of a last place hockey club, which is about to go bankrupt as the steel town of Charlestown is about to close its primary source of income, the steel mill. With nothing left to lose Coach Dunlop begins to "use his imagination and roll with it" by getting his players to play "Old-Time Hockey" in hopes of getting intrest in selling the team to a group of Florida Businessmen. Laughs abound from an excellent supporting class that includes Strother Martin, Michael Ontkean, Jennifer Warren, Lindsay Crouse and Jerry Houser. I found the DVD quality to be excellent. The greatest addition on the DVD over the video is the restored original soundtrack, with 70's classics from Leo Sayer, Elton John and Maxine Nightengale. If you love hockey, comedy and Paul Newman, this is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAT TRICK., July 3 2004
By 
Gregory Saffady (Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slap Shot (25th Anniversary Widescreen Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Many were amazed that SLAP SHOT was written by a woman when it was released in 1977. More amazing was that Nancy Dowd's original screenplay was robbed of an Oscar nomination in 1977. Dowd got the feel of the game and the players as perfect as the paint on the blue lines (her brother Ned Dowd plays the infamous Oggie Ogelthorpe in a nano-second cameo that has reverbs throughout the film). George Roy Hill works his A-list players, Newman, Strother Martin and the now heralded Hanson Brothers, into sports (not just sports films) legends. SLAP SHOT is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a hilarious film this one, Jan. 2 2004
This review is from: Slap Shot (25th Anniversary Widescreen Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
What more can be said about a movie that endures despite its old age and that stars the Great Paul Newman next to a bunch of no-name minor hockey- rejects? Not much but this 1977 classic is definitely a keeper for anyone who likes either hockey, r fighting, or Paul Newman, or just plain having a roar of a time while watching a film. This hilarious portrayal of the grind of minor league sports has become a must-see for an entire country! Newman is fantastic as the old geezer whose best days are behind him and who can't really get a grip on what to do once his days ion the ice come to an end. His handsome yet vulnerable looks are perfect for the role and is performance is so affable and low-key that you barely notice that a superstar walks among the rest of this cast.
That supporting cast though is what really gives the film its attitude. The mix consists of a couple of old school hockey players, a couple of French-Canadian dorks, a few past-their-prime primadonnas and a couple of roughhousing drunks. Sound like a hockey team to you? Sounds great to me! The kicker though, is went the Hanson Brothers, hockey's equivalent of the three stooges sporting boxing gloves join up with the team and inject it with new life through their aluminum-foil covered fists. Once these dudes come along, the blood starts filling the ice and the laughs start pouring out of your mouth! I suggest you get nice and trashed too before you watch this, as it helps get into the mood of what's going on through the player's heads! Among all major sports, hockey players are often regarded a the most fan-friendly and approachable and that's because they never hesitate to poke fun at themselves and even the millions they earn rarely push them into taking themselves too seriously. They are after all boys playing a game and this film shows us what fun the game can be!
This film would be a nightmare to current NHL commissioner Gary Bettman and his annual plans to "overhaul the game" and make it cleaner and more popular south of the Canadian border. But for longtime hockey fans here in the Great White North, this film will always remind us of a time when hockey was just a simple game and that once in a while, benches would clear and players in their underwear would file out of the dressing room and trade punches with each other even before the beginning of the game... ahh, the good old days of old time hockey...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historically (and hysterically) accurate sports comedy flick, Nov. 18 2003
This review is from: Slap Shot (25th Anniversary Widescreen Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Think about all the movies that were made during the 1970's whose storylines actually occurred during that same time. It'll probably take you a long time to come up with a relatively short list. Next, think of how many of those movies still get shown (albeit in an edited format) in regular rotation on network, local, or cable TV. There really aren't many of them, are there? "Jaws", "Saturday Night Fever", and the James Bond movies that Ted Turner runs during his semi-annual "Bond Marathons"...and that's pretty much it.
Except, of course, for the timeless gem that IS "Slap Shot". This movie really has everything...violence (presented in a format that most people outside of Canada and the Northeastern US weren't used to seeing at the time), profanity (even Wayne Gretzky admitted in his autobiography that he tends to "turn the air a little blue" during games), drunkenness (by players and fans both on and off the ice), Canadian accents ("Two points, eh!"), bad hair ("WHY DO YOU WEAR THAT RUG?"), REALLY BAAAD clothes (they had to have raided the set of the last "Superfly" movie for some of those duds), bad cars (Reggie's Pontiac GTO...who ever came up with the notion that vinyl tops were EVER cool?), a '70's soundtrack (thankfully and blissfuly restored to the DVD) that would do Quentin Tarantino proud, and of course... (yes, that's Ralphie's mom from "A Christmas Story" in bed with Paul Newman, topless, discussing her lesbian affairs. That's enough to curdle the blood and land a kid in therapy for years). If that wasn't enough, there's also a running audio commentary track by the Hanson Brothers (sure, they have real names, but who cares?) recalling their own minor league hockey exploits from the '70's, as well as papers from various police blotters(!)
At the time this movie was made, violence in hockey at all levels had reached epidemic proportions. At the top levels, superstar Bobby Hull staged a personal one-game strike in the WHA against the level of violence that was being permitted, and the Philadelphia Flyers had made it to three straight NHL Stanley Cup Finals (winning twice) while playing the most physically abusive style of hockey in memory (has anyone besides me noticed how closely Tim McCracken's Syracuse team uniforms at the end of the movie resemble the Flyers' outfits at that time?)...and of course in the lower league levels of the pro game there was far less scrutiny and things were only magnified as players anxious to do anything for a big-league call-up would in fact do things very similar to those captured in this movie.
Yeah, okay, but what's all that really mean? Nothing of consequence. This is an entertaining movie, pure and simple. Hockey season isn't really hockey season until you get together with some friends, wrap your mitts 'round a few brews and watch this movie as it starts to get cold outside. For those of us living outside the NHL's (very limited) influence from the time the Atlanta Flames (look for their logo in the movie on an advertisement poster) left up until the NHL started to expand again in the early 1990's, this WAS pro hockey. The 1980 Miracle On Ice Olympic team was something diferent...somehow other-worldly in comparison...but the two are mutually exclusive outside of NHL markets as being the lasting impression of a fantastic sport.
On a personal note, in 1994 the Atlanta Knights (now sadly defunct) were winning the International Hockey League's (ALSO sadly defunct) Turner Cup Championship in their home arena, The Omni (yes, this is gone, too). Richard Adler, Knights VP, had hired this guy "Claude the Happy Trumpeter" (from Quebec, I think) to wear a Knights jersey, blow his horn, and lead cheers during the Playoffs. Early in the 2nd period of the clinching game, he announces himself with a fanfare, runs down the aisle to the plexiglass, throws himself up against it...and crashes through to the ice below, knocking himself out. The game was delayed about twenty minutes as they collected him off the ice and replaced the panel he'd shattered (he was okay...he came back near the end of the game wearing a neckbrace; it was hilarious). All I could think of, other than trying to keep from spilling my beer and pissing myself with laughter, was that the whole thing was just so utterly "Slap Shot"-esque...and that somewhere Up There, Strother Martin had to be smiling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This set should be free., Feb. 13 2004
By 
david c albert (butler, pa United States) - See all my reviews
Full price for Slap Shot? No problem. Great movie. However, I'm not sure how much would be enough to make me sit through Slap Shot 2 again. $20? No. $50? No. $100? Maybe, but I better be gettin' free beer with it. And by the way, how is it that somebody gets stoned enough to say "Let's put Stephen Baldwin in a movie." I need some of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Textured Time Capsule, Dec 29 2003
This review is from: Slap Shot (25th Anniversary Widescreen Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
So much has been written about the movie's content, indulge as I put it in (personal) context. I grew up playing near Buffalo, NY, where hockey was THE sport. In 1977 (I was 12), our family moved to California, and there were no sticks or pucks to be found (and this soft little game called "four square"). So my memories of hockey are frozen in the Slap Shot era. You can almost smell the black tape and feel the hits. And from current Stepfordian sprawl and Starbuckian "charm" ("Have a nice day") you can tune into the Chiefs to get a genuine feel for hometown working class heroes. Remember the 1970's, when working class, grit and realism (and plaid polyester) were good things!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best hockey movie around, Sept. 1 2003
By 
This review is from: Slap Shot (25th Anniversary Widescreen Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
the story of the worst to firts Charlestown Chiefs is a story to remember. When Reggie Dunlop (Paul Newman) finds out the team is folding he figures out the way to get people into the stands is to play dirty and to do this he gets the aid of three goofy looking goons that the GM traded a used puck bag for the team beats the heck out of everyone while Ned Braydon the team's scoring ace refuses to play dirty and struggles to keep his wife. The movie all comes down to the championship game where the chiefs play old time hockey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baldwin you are clueless, March 20 2004
By 
N. Hooghem (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slap Shot (VHS Tape)
As a hockey player and hockey coach I can tell you one thing, you are not a hockey dad. This movie is definately one of the most hilarious sports movies ever. Don't even bother with any other hockey movie, except maybe Youngblood, because those other movies, especially Mighty Ducks (puke) is not hockey, flying V my behind (did we forget about offsides?).
The Hanson brothers were everyone's heroes. While we all wished to be Gretzky or Orr, we all wanted to be the Hansons. They are some of the best caricatures of hockey players in the 1970s. Hockey was a brutal, lawless game that while some had skating skills, most had fighting skills. It was fun growing up in the 70's and early 80's playing hockey as a kid. While playing high school and college was not quite like this movie, go see a junior game or a USHL game and this is what you'll see, albeit a bit more toned down.
Mighty Ducks - please. Give me Reg Dunlop, Killer Carlson and the Hansons - which being from Minnesota gives me pleasure seeing some hometown skaters. Enjoy the movie, enjoy the hits and the humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baldwin NY totally missed the point!, March 16 2004
By 
Bath Beach Chick "sugarplum29" (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slap Shot (VHS Tape)
Um, I hate to inform you Baldwin, but you SHOULD HAVE READ THE BOX. It's rated "R" for a REASON and that means NOT FOR CHILDREN. "Slap Shot" is an incredible ode to how hockey was in the 1970's: and they nailed, it too--the cursing, the boozing, the fights, the missing teeth, bloodthirsty owners, the checks into the boards. Sportsmanship is a gracious concept, but it doesn't change the fact that hockey is a quick, brutal, and dangerous game. Your child will have to learn this, and the sooner the better! George Roy Hill produced perhaps the funniest sports story ever committed to celluloid and all the cliches ring true: the punching, the rivalries, even the refs take a beating in the final scene. Goons are still a part of hockey, although not as extreme as depicted here. (I barely survived Rangers games while in Madison Square Garden--having beer flung on you in the stands is NOT fun, but hey, I treasure those memories!) The best scene reminds you of how out-of-control hockey was--the Hanson Brothers hit the ice and pretty much everyone else around them. I saw players who wanted to leap into the stands to attack hecklers--"Slap Shot" takes this one step further by showing it. Does anyone besides me remember when there was more fighting than passing? The movie is a reflection (albeit very comical) of what really happened back in the NHL. Knowing this sport is a lot more than just sportsmanship. You might not have a bounty placed on your head like poor Tim McCracken, but it's a fairly true picture of how wild things were. And here's some trivia too: Jennifer Warren who plays Reggie Dunlop's wife in the film is ALSO in "Ice Castles" as Deborah Macklin, the coach. Both movies had shots from rinks in Minnesota and the old Broadmoor in Colorado. Watch these two films back to back--the rink shots are IDENTICAL! "Slap Shot", and the latest movie "Miracle" about the 1980 US team are two of the reasons I love hockey. No one remembers Emilio Estevez's name in "Mighty Ducks", but everyone knows Dickie Dunn, Reggie, the Hansons and Killer Carlson! By the way, did I mention I'm a figure skater? What else can I say? I adore my big brother sport. Even when the players might be missing a few teeth, the love shines right out of those black eyes! And true fans will agree. LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, plus good special features, July 26 2002
By 
Gary Braham (Glens Falls, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slap Shot (25th Anniversary Widescreen Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie itself is a hockey classic, and is a sports movie along the same lines as "The Replacements" and "Major League".
The plot is simple, the Chiefs are a losing hockey team, and the teams existance is in jeopardy as attendance is low, and the local mill is about to close. We are quickly introduced to a colorful assortment of charachters, and as the movie progesses, we learn the story of these charachters more so than in other similar movies.
Over time, the teams player-coach, played by Paul Newman, schemes his way into several plans to help the team win, increase attendance, and actualy stay in business. When the cheapwad owner hires three goons (The Hanson brothers) the action really picks up, and the team begins playing very agressively. They start to win, and earn the attention and loyalty of their fans in the process.
Overall, there is a lot of crude, low brow humor, but this movie does it well. You can easily get suckered into thinking you are actually watching a season of a minor league hockey team. The movie is indeed inspired by actual events, at least many of the charachters and situations.
Special features inclue production notes, the original trailer, and a feature commentary by the Hanson brothers. This is one of the best parts of the special DVD, and it was one of the best feature commentaries I have seen in a long time. After watching the movie a few times, it is definitly worth checking out. And this movie is one that you could watch over and over again, especially if you are a sports fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slap Shot (25th Anniversary Widescreen Special Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 13.99 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews